BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Chase Chevrolet Co.

Additional Locations

Phone: (209) 475-6600 Fax: (209) 475-6650 PO Box 8349, Stockton, CA 95208 http://www.chasechevrolet.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chase Chevrolet Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chase Chevrolet Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chase Chevrolet Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 17, 1971 Business started: 06/06/1947 Business started locally: 06/06/1947 Business incorporated: 06/06/1947 in ye
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Chase, President Mr. John Ferraiolo, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Chase, President
Customer Contact: Mr. John Ferraiolo, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Online Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

Chase Chevrolet Co. is a new and used car dealership.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 6441 Holman Rd

    Stockton, CA 95212 (209) 475-6620 (209) 475-6770 18002424273

  • PO Box 8349

    Stockton, CA 95208

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent my care in for replace exhaust manifold\ converter. When I picked up my car fuel fumes where over whelmed my respiratory system and burned my eyes. This was not a problem when I took my car to their shop beforehand never did I smell fuel fumes until they worked on my car. Now its $475 to fix a problem that was fraudulent created by them to extort monies from me!

Desired Settlement: refund and or medical bills paid!

Business Response: Mr ***** purchased an exhaust manifold from our parts department over the counter. He stated he would put it on himself. After a period of time he came back and had us install. AFTER THAT Mr ***** came back complaining of a fuel smell, he was advised he had a leaking fuel pump. He states that we caused the problem. The part we in stalled is in the front of vehicle, fuel pump is in tank in the back. We still agreed to fix his problem charging cost on the fuel pump and installed for free after he agreed. I feel we went above and beyond and Mr ***** does not have any thing else coming.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
The fact that im aware of cars just as much as anyone else in the filed an before i took my car in to the dealer ship there was nothing wrong other then what i asked to be fixed. the dealer ship is practicing what i call fraudulent problems claims to its clients in order to get them to buy products and/or repair's from its dealer ship! and the fact that i had my car looked at before i took it to them assure me of their illegal pratices not only would i like my money back id like to be compensated $9,000 in USA currency for mental anguish/damages etc.. i also would like to know if there are any other law suites or class action in similar effects regarding fraudulent practices from this corporation and ask to be contacted/connected with the individuals legal team to participate in the resolve of this illegal practices this dealership is entangled within.
Sincerely,

Curry

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am sickened by the way Chase handles buy backs within two weeks of original purchases.I purchased a Tahoe 2 weeks ago and I had a personal issue that led me to have to downgrade to a cheaper vehicle. I went to the dealership because I was told to go back in by salesperson ******. I was told that they could help me. I went in and was told they would give me 35k for a truck that I had just paid 42k on two weeks prior. This is 7k less than purchased for. Immediately I was told to look at it as "they are doing me a favor by even talking to me about trading it in". This is not doing me a favor when I am losing 7k on this SUV and offering another car with minimal discount and asking for 5k as down payment that would change my payments from $649.00 to $545.00. I was looking at my options and after 3 hours I was not ready to buy so I asked for my keys back and ****** brought them to me and stated" Don't think that I will be calling you back". I said ok, thank you and left. ****** stated o me that he would get told something in their next sales meeting because he was with me for so long and he did not make a deal. I told him that I would not close a deal just to satisfy his his selling ability. After 1 hour I received a call from ****** saying that I could think about it and go back the next day. I go back the next day and look at more cars. I leave and get call after call from ****** saying come in and see more cars, I told him I would try. He calls me a few more times and I answer. We talk and tell him I need to sleep on it tothink it through. I go to hang up and decide to stay on the line and I hear ****** say" I'm not ********** waiting. I am disgusted with the way they handled my business. I decided not to go back because of this incident. I percieved that the ONLY intention by Chase and ***** was to sell me another vehicle and gain another commision.

Desired Settlement: to give back the actual paid value on my trade in that was bought 2 weeks prior.

Business Response: It is not always easy to satisfy a customer. We do try though and are successful most of the time. Maybe in this case we misunderstood the customers goal. It is not always easy to simply cancel a purchase because they had something come up or changed their mind. I do apologize for the perceived treatment (I was not there). If customer wishes to contact me I will try to help.
**** ********* 
###-###-#### 
Thank You.

Consumer Response:  I am not satisfied with this response. I believe that Chase can at least offer some sort of recompense for the bad service provided. I would appreciate either extended warranty or any other compensatory item for this inconvenience. Thank you for your time.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company provided unapproved services that did not resolve the problem. Also took my SUV from another shop and promised to return it fixed no the case. Had my SUV towed to the shop for a warranty repair, left out of there paying $300 for something that was not approved for them to do. I was told (by ****** ****** that the problem was resolved. The very next day had to have the SUV towed home for the same problem, chose not to take it back to chase due to being unhappy. Called the service manager (****) to complain, ****** ended up convincing me to let them go get the SUV from the other shop. They've had my car for 8 days and the problem has yet to be resolved and are now returning the truck to me with nothing resolved after I was told that the SUV would be promptly fixed and returned. Instead I'm getting my truck back with the continued problem and a few hundred miles more added to the odometer.

Desired Settlement: Not sure how this issue can be resolved.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Customer authorized $246 invoice #XXXXXX over phone with ******. We also could not get the customers problem to duplicate which is not uncommon. ****** is still waiting for return phone call to discuss a possible solution to problem. Until we can get the problem to duplicate we do not want to spend the customers money. Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: onaugust 12th took car in for repairs was called and told i needednewwater pump permission authorized then told air conditioner needed to be repaired permisssion gave to do all recommended work at that time.on august 28th picked up vehicle paid 1,750.37 at timeofpick up i heard a sissing sound like air or something escaping i told ****** he stated it was a belt he sprayed some solution on it he stated it would go away this soundnever wentaway from thetimeofpick up to date returned. onseptember 5th i noticedmy gage going toward hot very litlle so i went to buy the hoses recommended by ****** on the 6th. on the 6th i wentto auto zone5 minutes away from my HOUSE the car went all the way to hot antifreeze began to comeout and information center flashed ENGINE HOT TURNOFF CAR i did just that i called ****** at ****** chevrolet he towed car in later that day he called and stated gases has got in the system and destroyed my motor and i needed a new one i stated how could that had happened when i had nothing wrong with my motor he stated he just didnt checkfor gases when the car was being repaired it was an oversight hefurther stated because i has justspent so much money for other repairs he wanted to return my 1,7750.37 and look for me a motor i was so devasted i just hung up the phone.on 9/10/12 went to ****** chevrolet to discuss car and pick up refund offered by ****** chevrolet at that time ****** gave me an estimate of 6000 to repAIR MY CAR AND STATED THIS WOULD BE AT MY EXPENSE I WOULD HAVE TO BRING 3,000 TO GET WORK STARTED REFUSING TO FIX MY CAR. SEPT 14TH WENT TO ****** CHEVROLET TO GET MY CARI MET **** I EXPLAINED TO HIM THE DAMAGE DONE TO MY CAR WHEN WILLIE STATED IT COULD HAVE BEEN PREVENTED IF HE HAD NOT FAILED TO DO PROPER WORK ON MY CAR I THEN SAW WHERE **** HAD MY MAINTENANCE RECORDS FROM ****** HE ADMITTED TO TAKING MY PROPERTY OUT OF MY CAR WITHOUT PERMISSION I REQUESTED IT BACK HE THEN TOOK A PHOTO COPY MY CAR IS 2003 CADILLAC DTS I HAD NO ENGINE PROBLEMS NOW I HAVE NO CAR (HELP)

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I WANT THE REQIURED AMOUNT TO REPLACE A NORTHSTAR ENGINE AT 6,000 PER THEIR ESTIMATE AND PICK WHO I WANT TO FIX MY CAR I AM NO LONGER WANTING TO BE A CUSTOMER OF ****** CHEVROLET AS I HAVE BEEN IN THE PAST

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Customer requested service on 2003 Cadillac with 164,023 miles. We advised and replaced water pump. Customer also stated that A/C was inop and we repaired the A/C. Service Engine light was on and we determined that the intake neede repair and we repaired the intake. Total bil $1750.37 Customer returned saying the car would not run and was overheating. At that time the documents showing she had previously been to ****** were taken from her car in an attempt to identify to whom the car belonged because it had been sitting here for quite some time. Upon looking at the documents we saw that she had the vehicle at ****** on 8/22/2011 with 150,801 miles and they advised her at that time that she needed to have the intake replaced and she refused the repair. Then she drove the vehicle another 15,000 miles before she brought it to us. Then drove another 1400 miles after the repairs that we did. We have already reimbursed her the total amount she has spent with us but do not feel we owe her anything else since she already knew the intake needed to be replaced but drove an additional year and XXXXX miles after that. We feel we did everything we were obligated to do and we hold no further responsibility to this customer

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved