Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Central Valley Automotive, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (209) 526-3300 Fax: (209) 526-2761 4460 McHenry Ave, Modesto, CA 95356 http://www.centralvalleyauto.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Central Valley Automotive, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Central Valley Automotive, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Central Valley Automotive, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 12, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1963 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1963 Business incorporated 01/02/1968 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056
The number is 27482.

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 5017.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
John Gardner, President Brent Gardner, Sales Manager Mr. Spencer McSherry, Marketing Director
Contact Information
Principal: John Gardner, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Spencer McSherry, Marketing Director
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Central Valley Chrysler, Jeep, Dodge Central Valley Nissan Central Valley Volkswagon, Hyundai Infiniti of Modesto Payless Car Sales of Modesto
Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 4320 McHenry Ave

    Modesto, CA 95356 (209) 557-9997

  • 4460 McHenry Ave

    Modesto, CA 95356 (209) 526-3300

  • 4530 McHenry Ave

    Modesto, CA 95356 (209) 526-3320

  • 4620 McHenry Ave

    Modesto, CA 95356 (209) 524-6811

  • PO Box 577587

    Modesto, CA 95357

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I APPLIED FOR AN AUTO LOAN. I WAS INFORMED BY THE SALES MANAGER AT CENTRAL VALLEY DODGE THAT THEY WERE GOING TO RUN MY CREDIT THROUGH FOUR BANKS. I ASKED BECAUSE I DIDNT WANT ALOT OF INQUIRIES ON MY CREDIT. THE SALES MANAGER TOLD ME THAT HE WAS GOING TO SUMBIT TO FOUR BANKS SO I WOULD HAVE FOUR INQUIRIES. WELL IT HAPPENS TO BE THAT IT WAS RAN TO NUMEROUS BANKS AND THROUGH ALL THREE CREDIT BUREAUS. I AM A MEMBER OF ********** (MONITORS YOUR CREDIT) AND WAS ABLE TO SEE THAT A TOTAL OF 16 INQUIRIES APPEAR ON MY CREDIT REPORT. I APPLIED FOR A LOAN FOR A TRAILER AND THEIR SALES MANAGER CALLED TO ASK ME A FEW QUESTIONS. SHE WANTED TO KNOW WHY I HAD SO MANY INQUIRIES ON MY CREDIT REPORT. I EXPLAINED TO HER WHAT HAD HAPPENED AT CENTRAL VALLEY DODGE AND SHE ENCOURAGED ME TO DEFEND MYSELF AND SPEAK UP FOR MYSELF. SHE INFORMED ME THAT FROM HER PROSPECTIVE IT DID NOT LOOK GOOD ON MY CREDIT. AND HAD SHE NOT SPOKEN TO ME AND HAD ME EXPLAIN MY SITUATION THEN SHE WOULD HAVE DENIED MY LOAN. I BELIEVE I WAS MISLEAD AND I WAS TREATED UNFAIRLY. I WOULD HAVE BEEN OKAY IF THE SALES MANAGER WOULD HAVE TOLD ME THAT HE HAD TO RUN IT THROUGH NUMEROUS TIMES AND THROUGH ALL THREE CREDIT BUREAUS I WOULD HAVE BEEN FINE WITH THAT BECAUSE I WOULD HAVE BEEN INFORMED. BUT NOT KNOWING IS UPSETING. I PUT MY CREDIT AND ESPECIALLY MYSELF INTO THE HANDS OF CENTRAL VALLEY DODGE BELIEVING WHAT THEY TELL ME AND COME TO FIND OUT THEY WERE DISHONEST. THAT IS NOT FAIR. THEY HAVE SO MUCH POWER OVER US AND LEAVE US FEELING HELPLESS. AS A CONSUMER, WE ALL JUST WANT TO NOT BE MADE A FOOL OF... TO BE TREATED WITH FAIRNESS.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE FOR MY INQUIRIES TO BE ELIMINATED FROM MY CREDIT REPORT. I WANT ONLY THE FOUR THAT THE SALES MANAGER AT CENTRAL VALLEY DODGE TOLD ME ABOUT WHICH ARE: GOLDEN ONE, CHRYSLER, CENTRAL VALLEY DODGE, ******.I WOULD ALSO LIKE FOR THIS NOT TO HAPPEN TO ANYONE ELSE. IT IS NOT FAIR TO THE COMSUMER THAT WE GET INFORMATION FABRICATED TO US. ALL THEY NEED TO DO IS BE HONEST AND UPFRONT. WE (CONSUMERS) ARE THE ONES THAT PUT ALL OF OUR SELVES, OUR CREDIT, AND OUR REPUTATION ON THE LINE.

Business Response: Tell us why here...

********,

On behalf of Central Valley Automotive I apologize for the fact that your credit was run well over the number that was promised to you.  There is no way that this should have happened but please understand that I will get right on granting you your wish of having these inquiries removed.  We will be reaching out to you to keep you posted on our progress.  Again, we are very sorry that this happened and will work very hard to make this matter right.

***** *******

Consumer Response: On March 19, 2015, i called *** at Central Valley to get an update on the progress of the removal of the inquiries. He explained to me that the inquiries were legit and i explained that of course they were since they were ran through my credit.  The problem was that i was told that it was only going to be ran 4 times.  Then i informed him that he already knew what the complaint was.  He told me that getting the inquiries removed was nearly impossible. And that he could not promise me anything.  I then told him that in a response made to the BBB by a member of his company,  i was assured it was going to get taken care of.  That is why i had originally agreed to the response.  He then told me that is why he had offered a couple hundred dollars worth of parts to me. I then told him that had nothing to do with getting the inquiries removed. And that i didn't need his couple hundred dollars worth of parts.  I never asked for them.  They were offered to me by him for my troubles there at Central Valley.  He then told me that he was going to try his best and To remember it was a difficult process.  I then informed him that the process was not difficult because i had a inquiry removed 2 days ago after another company made a mistake and reran my credit within 30 days. I called and got the inquiry removed immediately. I informed him that i would be calling him back to see the progress.  He said okay. 
I just want was is fair and owed to me. I want the inquiries removed as agreed to originally. Thank you.

Business Response:

Unfortunately, we were not successful with the removing of the credit inquiries on the subject complaint. The reason is that the inquiries were not made in error. The subject customer signed a credit application allowing us to run their credit in order to secure financing for the vehicle that they were purchasing. We were ultimately able to secure an interest rate of 5.49% for the customer after applying for credit at multiple banks. The first credit approval that we received was in the 8-10% range. We sent the customer’s credit application to multiple banks so that we could secure the lowest interest rate possible which ultimately resulted 5.49% and allowed for the monthly payment to be lower.

 

We apologize for any miscommunication that may have resulted from trying to resolve this matter.

 

Thank you,

 

**** ********

Central Valley Automotive

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern......

I have accepted because I have no other option. I believe
that I was treated unfair. I was lied to. But my hands are tied by the ropes of
Central Valley. I was born and raised in Modesto. I have many family, friends,
and acquaintances here in Modesto and all around the Central Valley. If I am
ever asked about a  recommendation for a
purchasing a vehicle I will proudly stand up and make sure that they know what
kind of service Central Valley offers…. a crappy one who is dishonest and does
not keep to their word. They will only hear negative comments and I will spread
the word. I have every right to make sure everybody I come in contact with know
what happened to me.  I guarantee that their
business will never be at Central Valley. With my business of car hauling
becoming more and more successful, I will travel as far as I need to purchase
another Dodge 3500 because I will never be back to deal with the dishonest
people of Central Valley.
**** told us that he was submitting to 
four banks and lied. Central Valley needs to remember that in the original response
they promised to remove the inquiries and did not keep to their word.

My journey of getting the word out about the dishonest workers at Central Valley has just begun.
 

******** *********



3/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my vehicle to the service station on 3/9 for the following reasons:-Check engine light was on-ABS light came on 3/8-Metallic, grinding sound and rolling feeling from the front axle tires primarily on the right side 3/8The service people said that there was nothing wrong with the tires or front axle and because the ABS light came off during the inspection there were no further checks. After their inspection, they fixed the following: Replaced the part for the check engine light and did an oil change.I left the dealer on 3/9 , shortly after the ABS light came back on again and the grinding/metallic sound started to occur again. On 3/10 I had the vehicle towed to the their dealer out fear that I may get into an accident. They said that wheel bearing was bad and they also noted that belts were lose and needed to replaced. Why wasnt this caught the first time during the initial inspection?The service station did poor quality work and allowed me to leave the site with a bad wheel bearing causing further damage to my truck and potentially causing me to get into an accident. The service manager demonstrated a lack of empathy, rudeness to my wife and poor customer service along with a poor job in evaluating my vehicle.

Desired Settlement: - A written and public apology. That I get reimburse for half of $946 total charges since I took the vehicle to them and the service station missed significant maintenance problems causing further damage to the vehicle.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Business Response:

After reviewing the customer issues, Central Valley Nissan has decided to reimburse the customer the $473.00 he requested. Central Valley Nissan apologizes for the inconvenience that Mr. ****** experienced and hopes
that Mr. ****** will entrust our dealership for his future automotive needs.

Sincerely,

**** ********
Operations Manager
Central Valley Automotive Group. 

11/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October 2012 my wife and I leased a Hyundai Elantra. We were told during the contract signing that we could return the vehicle before the 3-year lease matured and only have to pay $400. Today we were informed by Hyundai representatives that this is not the case. Not only would we have to pay the $400, but an additional $400, plus the value difference the vehicle happens to be at the time of early return, which is currently $3200. Not only does the car not perform in fuel economy as it was advertised, but the lease deal was misrepresented.

Desired Settlement: We want to do an early lease return of the vehicle and pay only the $400 early return fee we were told we'd have to when we leased it, and have that backed up in writing by Hyundai.

Business Response:

I spoke with Mr. and Mrs. **** on several occasions. We are working on taking their Hyundai Elantra on trade, and keeping payment close to the same. Payment is still not agreeable, but dealership is working with lender and customer to resolve this matter and keep customer happy. I will follow up today.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

The matter is under review. Central Valley Hyundai is trying to resolve it. Thanks.

 
******

Consumer Response: In 2012 we leased a 2013 Hyundai Elantra. The vehicle has not lived up to its mileage rating by at least 6 miles per gallon. We leased the car solely for its mileage rating, and feel that we should not have to ride out the lease because of the false advertising. We have received some very inadequate mileage compensation (somewhere around $100) for the two years we've had it. We did try to work out a solution with the dealership in Modesto, CA, to switch the lease to another vehicle that gets the mileage it's supposed to, without incurring more expense; but the options proved unsatisfactory.

In light of the recent headline news regarding the 6 miles per gallon false advertising by Hyundai--in addition to them not making up the mileage difference sufficiently--I would like for Hyundai to terminate our lease agreement a year early, without additional fees. I feel that this is the least they could do, considering that they have been fined $100 million for the false advertising.

Consumer Response: ?Please cancel my complaint against Hyundai. It is what it is. We'll just ride out the lease for another year and not do that again.

10/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently bought a 2006 Dodge Charger on June 19, 2014. After about 4 months of owning this vehicle, I have spent over 600 in repairs for it. On top of my monthly payment of 270. As of now, the vehicle can't even be driven due to my financial situation and cant pay for the remainder of the repairs that has to be done. Before I bought the vehicle, the heater core was replaced. I was in and out of the dealership for what I thought was transmission issues multiple times within my warranty. Was told they couldn't help me & that they don't think there's any problems with my car. The hard down shifting is apparently normal. Now I am out of warranty I have had overheating issues. Took it to a shop and have now had to replace my water pump, thermostat, timing belt, tensioner, & radiator. Now I'm being told that I have something wrong with my cylinder heads. Numerous mechanics have told me that if a heater core is not replaced in time, it can cause a car to overheat and damage the cylinder heads. This car has been nothing but problems. I have called and left voice mails for the sales manager in charge and still haven't received any calls back and it's been almost two weeks. Still without a car. Still making payments.

Desired Settlement: I want them to pay for ALL of the repairs.

Business Response:

Mrs. *********' vehicle was towed into our dealership and inspected at no charge. She stated that she paid another repair shop over $600.00 to repair the water pump and thermostat for an overheating condition.
After our inspection, it was determined that the previous repair facility installed the thermostat backwards causing the coolant not to flow and the engine to over-heat. We replaced the thermostat at no charge to the customer and Mrs. ********* was very happy. She picked up her vehicle and we haven't heard of any issues with her concerns ever since.

5/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2007 I purchased a vehicle from Central Valley Auto during the purchase I was offered GAP Insurance which I did purchase. In 2010 someone hit me and my vehicle was totalled, There was a balance not paid for by the insurance company of a little over $2200. I contacted the GAP Insurance CO and was told that they will not pay for the vehicle since the trade in I submitted had negative value. The GAP Ins should have never been sold to me being that it was voided from the time of purchase. I am now being sued for over $4000 by the finance company. I called Central Valley Auto and asked why they sold me a contract that was not valid they had no answer but agreed they should not have sold it but refuse to settle the balance owed to the finance company. Back when the vehicle was totalled I went to the dealer and asked them to pay they said they will not and it was suggested to me to cancel my GAP insurance and get some money back for it. Clearly it is now obvious they did this knowing they were wrong in selling the GAP Ins. I would have never made the vehicle purchase if I knew the dealer lied to me. I want them to settle this balance with the finance company.

Desired Settlement: I want the dealer to do what is right and pay for the amount I am being sued for since they sold me a bogus contract.

Business Response: I have been in communications with Mr. ***** **** and the *** ****** ** ********* * ***** (###-###-####). The law office is handling the collection process. The case file number is *******. I have spoken with **** ******* from their office to negotiate a lower balance. The balance at this time is $4316.16. I will hear back from **** ******* after 4:00pm today. At that time I will discuss with my manager, and Mr. **** to bring a resolution to this matter.

4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i recently bought a 1997 Nissan Altima , it ran perfect and turned off and on so the same day i bought it the check engine light turned on . so i took it to a shop called H&M muffler on paradise rd. , in Modesto , they offer a free diagnosis .. The code came up ( p0705 transmission rang sensor a circut ). So I then took it to ***s Transmission , down the street so they could tell me what that meant , *** told me it meant ineeded a new Neutral Saftey Switch and that I could only buy that at the dealership . So i called the Nissan dealership on ******* and i ordered the part for $89.40 and payed $125.00 for them to install it . when i went in ***** asked how do I know that i need the saftey switch and i told him about me going to the shop and they told me the code so he said he was going to run another diagnosis to make sure that was the problem . I called and spoke to ***** he told me the car was ready but he needed to explain something to me . So i went in he said that the car is working fine but ONE cord from the switch to the transmission was burnt and he fixed what he could see , i then asked him how long would the car last he said he couldnt tell me that exactly but he had me under the empression that it wud be awhile and i also asked him was the check engine light off he said yes and i if i have anyproblems give him a call i said okay .So i drove the car less than five miles to my residence All the lights were off while I was driving so i pulled up to the house and i turned my car off and removed the key , and got picked up by a friend and went to her house for a few hours i recieved a call from a family member saying that my lights on my dash board were on my check engine light , my water light , the air bag , the battery light , and a light saying od was flashing and a couple other lights . so i came home and relized the key was turnt off the right way but the car just wouldnt turn off so i had to disconect the battery. I called the dealership and the car service part was not open s

Desired Settlement: i just want my car to turn off and on like it was before the Nissan dealership touched it . ( I ran out of CHARACTERS IN THE COMPLAINT DESCRIPTION )

Business Response: On 2/18/2014 ******* **** brought her 1997 Nissan Altima with 161,541 miles on it in for check engine light being on and was advised by another party that the neutral safety switch was defective. We found the power wire to the neutral safety switch had no power and found a melted wire at the connector. We repaired the wire and installed the switch. We cleared the light. We also stated that the vehicle may require more wiring repairs because of the melted wires. RD # 320399 
On 2/19/2014 ******* **** brought her Nissan in again with the check engine light on and the vehicle needed to be jump started. The dash lights are on with the key out of the ignition. We checked the vehicle and found many more wires melted in the harness (may have had an electrical problem melting wires causing a feed back to the system. Recommended to the customer to remove wire harness and repair since a new harness is not available anymore. The customer declined repairs at this time. The customer stated they just purchased this vehicle from a private party and they said it was in perfect shape. We advised the customer to go back to the private party and seek a resolution. RO # 320527 

 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:when i gave them my car it turned off and on and wen they gave it back it wouldnt turn off 
also the i feel that they caused more wire damage and as soon as i pulled up to my house the check engine light came on i  tried calling them to tell them and the service part was closed so i camd back the next day and also ***** told me i did need the part and the other two men told me i didnt needv thd piece and that he didnt run a diagnosis and ***** told me i did need it  idont understand how they can give me my car back in worser condition than it was when i gave it to them & the only reason i rejected service at that time is because they told me i was looking at a 1500$ estimate and a wire was cut when i looked under my hood and another had taped wrapped around that they never told me about
Sincerely,

****

Business Response: Our Dealership still stands by it's original response to this complaint.

2/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 30, 2009 I purchased a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee with the odometer reading at 58,658. A month after I purchased the car, the back window motor went out. Also within the next two years two more window motors went out. In two years of owning the car, 3 of the 4 windows in the car had 3 motors go out. But that isn't even the biggest issue. On Jan 1st 2014 I went down to car max to try and get a estimate on what they would buy my car for. When i went to meet with the sales consultant and talk about the inspection they pointed out that my jeep which miles were now reading at 93,766 were actually at according to the vin number 187,348! The consultant informed me that the people i purchased the vehicle from did what they call a "roll back" on the odometer. He also stated that the transmission was "slipping gears" which would make since because the car in actuality had 187,348 miles. On the Auto Check report it states on 10/16/2002 it was recorded at 34,000 miles and on 6/02/2009 it was recorded at 58,628 and the on our purchase date of 6/30/2009 58,648. The next recorded mileage was on 10/11/2010 when we got our first smog check on the vehicle. So Central Valley Automotive sold us a car and lied about the mileage due to the roll back on the odometer. This needs to be addressed to the public to warn them about their scams. The worst part about this story is that we paid cash for this vehicle so Central Valley made us out for fools and now my family of 4 is forced to drive a 2 door honda because we cannot afford another car.

Desired Settlement: I think they owe us for what we should have got for the vehicle. Car Max could only offer us 900 because the odometer had been rolled back and because the transmission was slipping. In reality it was worth a lot more. I also want the BBB to make the community aware of the situation. We are going to the dmv to address this problem. We need to be compensated for something because they completely ripped us off.

Business Response:

In response to your BBB claim against our dealership, we have enclosed
a CarFax history report showing proof that the mileage discrepancy in
question came about on or about October 12
th 2012 at SpeeDee Oil
Change.  This is noted on page four of  history report.  As you can see,
up that point, the miles were reported correctly and in a chronological
order.

 

If you are in need of any additional information, please feel free to call
me anytime.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

**** ********
Operations Manager
Central Valley Automotive
###-###-####

6/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicled towed to dealer, I originally approved $110 investigative fee, was called two days later, need authorization to $270. Want refund. No est. Vehicle was towed to dealer on Monday, May 26th. Was called by dealer, informed and authorized $110 Investigative Fee. Was called 2 days later to authorize additional fee to $270 as nothing had been found wrong so far. Was called next day and given verbal est. of $4300 plus tax to repair, suspected transmission failure. I got other estimates and had vehicle towed to another facility after I paid Dealer, Central valley $270 in Cash on 5/30/2013, vehicle was repaired for $2700 at ***** on 6/5/2013. Dealer states on Invoice, They suspect torque converter failure. I don't feel I should be charged for something they suspect, when it was actually a Bearing, not the Torque Converter. ***** gave me multiple Error Codes from Vehicle Computer, multiple failures....Dealer did not advise of any? Daimer/ Chrysler is having Re-call issues with the same Transmission I have and I have had previous transmission issues that were done under Original Warranty, but I have been told by a Lemon Law Attorney that I don't qualify, because I bought car used from Dealer.

Desired Settlement: Since Dealer could not provide an Exact and Detailed Estimate or even find Actual Problem, I should not be charged so much money, I would settle for the difference between $270 and Original Est of $110 for $160 Refund, but feel I am due 100% of what I paid.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
In response to the above mentioned claim, Central Valley has reimbursed the customer in full ($270.-). This will close the case against Central Valley Automotive.

3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After spending close to $2,000, there was minimal improvement and now car is almost in the same condition as when I took it in On 02-20-13) I took my car to Central Valley VW service Dept on and met Service Representative **** ***** and explained my car problem and symptoms (my car is driving rough hesitant and motor is shaky and makes rattle noise and engine light comes on and please identify the problem and perform a diagnostic with estimate )... one hour later **** ***** showed me a diagnostic report with an estimate of the complete repairs to be performed, I asked for a copy of the diagnostic and written report but he indicated that I will receive a complete detail estimate AFTER the job completed. **** ***** told me that the main repair would be to install a new Catalyctic Converter, second repair would be a Valve Cover Assembly, third repair would be Fuel Injection Cleaning and for a total of $1720.... I told **** ***** that in addition I would like some new spark plugs and a Smog Test and after all repairs I would not want the "Check Engine" light to appear. ( Total verbal estimate was $1900 plus tax ) ( I dont remember the exact estimate per job because **** ***** did not provide me with a written estimate when I asked him twice, one while he explained the estimate and second time I asked him about an estimate when I called him on the phone, later in the day... I told him that I was dissapointed I did not have a written estimate so that I would use it as a reference during our conversation... so he told me write it down over the phone briefly and not in detail... I told ***** ***** to cancel the reapirs because I was not comfortable about spending a large sum of money on the car... he said to call him next day in the morning. The next day 02-21-13... I called ***** and said that I approved the repairs and to continue... at around 5 pm I went to pick up the car and I met with ***** ***** and he said that the car was tested and passed smog and his technician said the car was "like new" again... I was excited and I wanted to test drive it but I was escorted by ***** to the Cashier and said I would get the key afterwards... so I paid the total of $1987.29 and I went outside and was greeted and ***** and I turned the car on and started driving out of the dealership and I noticed that it had similar symptoms rough and hesitant and there was some improvement but it was not respoding favorably, I drove it for 5 minutes and came back to the dealer, unsatisfied and told ***** that I feel it did not get repaired correctly and after spending $2000 dollars I am disspointed and I feel that a Specialty Shop should not be guessing at my expense... I decided to take ***** for a test drive and car performed a little better but it was still sluggish and hesitant but there was some improvement and ***** said that car settles down and it memorizes my driving habits... so we finished the test drive and I decided to drive home with car and I told **** that if I was not satisfied I would bring it back and he said it had warranty... As I was driving home a few minutes later car started to make rattle noise and sluggish at slower speeds and jumpy and higher speeds and Engine Light started flashing and immediately came on... Now car is alsmost in the same condition as when I took it in... I called ***** at 5:55 and told him engine light came up and car is worse now and sluggish at slower speeds...he said to bring it the next day.

Desired Settlement: Dealer did not repaired my car completely... Dealer is not competent to IDENTIFY the problem to my vehicle and they are guessing repairs at my expense... Refund me the labor and parts for the Cattalytic Converter and Cover Assembly expense ($1720... OR Repair my vehicle as they promised at their expense).

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We re-installed the customer's catalytec converter, refunded the customer's money and now he's happy. Called the customer a few days later to verify his concerns, and he is still completely satisfied.

2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Car purchased is a lemon. Chrysler has agreed to a buy back, but will not reimbursement for the extended warranty purchased from dealer. Purchase Date: 8/26/12. 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Problems from the beginning. Chrysler has agreed to buy back, but Chysler claims they will not reimburse for extended warranty that I purchased from dealership calling it a "non-manufacturer added accessory". It was represented to me as a a Chrysler/manufacturer warranty, I believed it was until this issue arose on 2/1/13. The only item that was purchased in addition to how the car came from the manufacturer was the extended warranty. This was fraudulently represented to me as a manufacturer warranty. Now in addition to the major inconvenience this vehicle has been, I am forced to pay for this and receive nothing - much like what I got when I purchased this car. I have asked only for my money back, less the mileage/usage fee (what little usage there was while it was not in the shop). Chrysler now claims the warranty represented to me as a manufacturer warranty is not a manufacturer warranty at all. They should not be allowed to sell warranty(s) in this manner. It is a fraudulent and unfair business practice. Included in the warranty, as explained to me when we bought the car was a fee for JMA (glass etching) of $318.00 and Ultra Coat of $495.00. I had agreed with Chrysler to pay these "under protest", just to get rid of this problem, but not the extended warranty fee of $1,081.00, because I do not understand how they claim that this is a non-manufacturer warranty. It was represented to me as a manufacturer warranty, I believed it was a manufacturer warranty and paid for a manufacturer warranty. This was falsley represented to me at time of purchase.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the cost of the warranty not reimbursed from Chrysler. JMA fee: $318.00 Ultra Coat: $495.00 "non-Chrysler contracts" $1,081.00 Total: $1,894.00

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
CONSUMER STATES: on Thursday 2/7/13, I received a call from the dealership with an offer of $1,2401.02. I have agreed to this partial refund of $1,241.02. I am very dissatisfied, and feel that this practice of selling extended warranties at the dealership that are NOT actually manufacturer warranties, without disclosure is grossly unfair and just plain deceptive. Nonetheless have agreed to settle. I will use the $652.98 as a valuable reminder of the experience. I do hope that others are not taken advantage of in this manner in the future. The practice is simply wrong.

12/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i took my van in to the dealership for the fallening reasons 1.breaks 2.the light switch wasnt working right 3.the oil light would come on and off 4.the engine light would come on for a few days and then go off & then in a week or two it would do it again. the van is still under factory warrenty plus bought a extended warrenty at the time we bought it. they told me they were going to keep my van for a few days and they would give me a ride home but when they found out i lived more then five miles they wouldn't give me a ride home So a they got us a rental in doing so we had to put up a $50 deposit witch i didnt have a credit card and my husband was working out of town so i called the dealership and explained to them they wouldnt help me at all so i had to weight all day until my hubbie got off work to be able to get to my kids. after a day they called & was saying that the light switch wasnt working because of the alarm i told them the alarm was in it when we bought it from them they replaced it and it burned out again so they had to order a new one after a few days they had called said it was ready tobe picked up leaving the dealership got down the road the engine light came back on so back it went kept it again this time they said it needed & brain and they would have to order it to bring it in when the part was in. would take about a hour was there for 5hrs i left once again the engine light came on again took it back they said it was the sensor i told them thats what u replaced last time they said that they only replaced two of them but has 4 sensors they keep my van again after a couple days they called & said it needed a hole new wiring harness i talked to them i ask why did it need a new brain & wiring harness when it only has 83,000 miles they didnt have anything to say they have had the car for 4weeks went by there and it was parked out back w/flat tire no work been done. now the rental place is charging us for the car. told us the part wood b n on 6 or wood be fixed the 6th Product_Or_Service: 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement we put 7,000 down payment and is still making payment because they are not able to fix the problem im not able to smog & lic my car witch at this time it is due now. im not going to make payments on a car that i cant use we feel that the car is a lemon and the dealership needs to take the money we've paid toward another car. and that they need to pay for everything but the gas on the rental car witch our extended warrity allows us toget while our car is in the shop.i have all the work orders

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Since we received this complaint, the issues have been resolved with the customer. No futher action is needed.