This business is not BBB accredited.

California Superstores - Sacramento Kia

Phone: (916) 576-8300 2820 Fulton Ave, Sacramento, CA 95821 ! There is an alert on California Superstores - Sacramento Kia !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on California Superstores - Sacramento Kia
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 26, 2012 Business started: 10/13/2010 Business started locally: 10/13/2010 Business incorporated 10/13/2010 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 266435.

DMV Occupational Licensing
2415 First Ave., Mail Station F101 , Sacramento CA 95818-2606
Phone Number: (800) 777-0133
The number is 45427. On 1/13/2015 BBB confirmed that California Superstores - Sacramento Kia had not obtained a necessary license from DMV Occupational Licensing.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mrs. Shelly Mason, Executive Assistant Mr. Joseph Clementi, GM Mr. John Gould, Sales Manager Mr. Pablo Zegarra, CFO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Joseph Clementi, GM
Principal: Mrs. Shelly Mason, Executive Assistant
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

California Superstores - Sacramento Kia offers the following product(s): Company sales new and used vehicles.

Alternate Business Names
Sacramento K, LLC Sacramento Kia Y Transport, LLC
Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations


    2820 Fulton Ave

    Sacramento, CA 95821


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2005 Ford Mustang from Sacramento Kia in November. I was given a clean CarFax report and told that the car had never been in an accident, so purchased the car as is. The tires were in poor condition (bald) and I replaced theme as soon as possible.Unfortunately, I had an accident with a deer in February. I was not injured, but the car sustained some body damage, so I took it the Big Valley Ford Collision Center in Stockton. While they were repairing the damage from the deer to my vehicle, they found extensive damage from a previous accident. They also found that the new tires (which had about 5000 miles on them) were bald and separating due to the condition of the vehicle.I had the damage from the deer repaired, had it aligned, and purchased a new tires AGAIN. These tires lasted less than 10,000 miles and after taking it to another repair shop to get to the root of this specific problem, they found that the shocks were bad (and had been for a very long time), thus causing the tire damage. I had to purchase new tires (AGAIN) and am now stuck with another repair bill. I have now spend $1400 on tires, need $600 for shocks, $600 for brakes and rotors, and THOUSANDS for the body repair. When I tried to contact Sacramento Kia directly, I found that they had closed their shop and were gone within weeks of buying the car.The damage to this car is not normal wear and tear and I never would have purchased this vehicle if I had known that it had been in an accident, especially after the way I was treated by staff during the purchasing process.

Desired Settlement: I expect that Sacramento Kia will pay for the repairs to this car. I am incredibly disappointed in this company and the disregard for my safety when they sold me wrecked vehicle.

10/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2012 Kia Soul (used) from Sacramento Kia, 2820 Fulton Av., Sacramento, CA 95821. My sales agent was ******* *** & the Finance Manager was ******* (don't have last name). When I took delivery of the vehicle, Mr. *** said he'd contact the prior owner for the 2nd key as well as the Owner's Manual. Mr. *** said that if he couldn't get the key & owner's manual from the previous owner, he'd get the 2nd key & owner's manual for me. My wife, ***** ****** observed everything that transpired. She was also to be on the contract. I was promised a 2nd key & Owner's Manual, however, never received one. (Also, my wife was to be on the contract also, however, Santander Bank said that if she were to be on it, then I'd have to return the vehicle. So her name was taken off & I'm the only one on the contract). The 2nd contract was signed on August 20th, 2014. The amount financed, before taxes, license, & finance charge is $16,707.00.Also, the vehicle had damage to it when it was turned in. We agreed to take the car with damage as long as the price was reduced. The cost of the damage was, per Mr. ***, was $1,800 for the damage. They were going to deduct the $1,800.00 that was on the car from the price of the car. They never did.No one from the Car Dealership has ever bothered to call us about the 2nd key or the owner's manual. I've called them on numerous occasions, however, they've never returned my phone calls.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a 2nd key plus the owner's manual. Since the dealership never got the key & owner's manual from the prior owner, nor did Mr. Kim ever bother to get the owner's manual from another vehicle of comprable year & model, we're requesting these from Sacramento Kia. We're also requesting the $1,800.00 that was to be deducted from the vehicle for the damage that was on the car that Mr. Kim had promised to have deducted be sent to us via certified funds immediately.

Business Response:

Mr. ****,


Thank you for submitting your request for a second key and owners manual.  As you know, we don't always recieve a second key and owners manual from the previous customer.  While I'm sure you asked *******, it was never translated to upper managment or the response was not clearly stated to you.  In an effort of good will we will make your second key and provide you with an owners manual.  As you know. all of our vehicles are sold "as is" and if we sold you the vehicle with previous damage than we properly indicated that to you.  If the vehicle was financed through ********* than there was a bank fee that wasn't transferred to you it was included in the pricing we disclosed.  Therefore, we will not be sending a check for the proposed damage on your vehicle.


Best regards,

*** ********

General Manager


Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: Since I have to bring the car to the dealership, will they supply me with a tank of gas for the return trip home?  They should have provided another key to me when they repaired the seat belt that was torn.  It's not my fault that the sales person did NOT communicate with upper management regarding the credit of the repairs to the car since we took it like it was.  Mr. ******* *** did say that if we'd take the car with the damage, he'd make sure the fees for the body shop to repair the car would be credited to the amount of the car.  My wife was present & heard the whole conversation.

They also said "previous sales person."  Does this mean Mr. ******* *** no longer works for Sacramento Kia?

Business Response:

Thank you for the response.  The purpose of the visit to the dealership is to order the correct key, have it cut and then programmed to the vehicle.  There is simply no other way to provide the key.  In an effort of good will we would be happy to provide some gas for the trip to the dealership.  We appreciate the forum where we can respond to claims in a professional environment.  Mr. ****** can contact our service department at ###-###-#### to schedule the visit and to have his second key made and coded.


General Manager

1/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In September of 2013 me and my mother-in-law purchased a 2008 Jeep Wrangler X. Little did we know what a nightmare this vehicle would be. About 2 weeks after we bought the vehicle my fianc who is the main driver of the vehicle noticed it was having a lot of issues, like the "death wobble", top leaks, breaks and harmonic balancer issues. We brought the vehicle to Sacramento Kia were we financed it from. The technician said its a Jeep get used to it, and told us there was nothing wrong with it. We then the next day took it down to there sister store Sacramento Dodge down the street. When they were finished looking at it the vehicle has $2,500.00 worth of issues with it. After about 3 trips to Sacramento Dodge they were able to have fixed the problem for the time being. Now almost 2 months later, the harmonic balancer pulley is going bad, the Jeep is squirrely on the road, it doesn't track right. Now the biggest concern that we have is that we were able to obtain paper work from Kia from the Used Car mini inspection that they knew of all of these problems and wanted the vehicle to go to auction, because they didn't want to sell it on the lot. However not even auction would take it with the issues it has, and the vehicle has been a pain in the butt the whole time we have had it. We simply would like them to take the vehicle back and wash the deal, it is not worth the $24,000 for 5 years that we financed it for, and I have already spent about $1,300 on payments towards something that Kia doesn't want to stand behind. Now we have in the beginning talked with the General Manager *** ********, and he has simply brushed the issue aside like it is not his problem. Auction didn't want this vehicle and now neither do we. Kia said people get them for toys, we needed a reliable vehicle. We just want the deal washed and them to take there piece of * back. Is there anything we can do. Thank you for reading my story and hopefully checking into it. Sincerely,****** *****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) We want the deal washed and them taking the vehicle back and if possible to pay me back 3 months worth of car payments I have already put into this vehicle.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: *** ********
Contact Phone: 916-576-8300
Contact Email: ***.********
This Jeep was purchased knowing that it was built for off-road purposes. The cusotmer wanted the vehicle the way it was built and understood the "as-is" purchase. Sacramento Kia agreed to repair nearly $2200 worth of repairs as a good-will gesture. The customer is an ex-employee who knew what they were buying when they made the decsion. The original call to our dealership was that they wanted to bring the vehicle back as it rode harder than a street vehicle. The mother of the employee wanted to return the vehicle because the daughter and son-in law both lost their jobs. The Jeep was purchased with the knowledge that it was an off-road built Jeep. Whether or not the vehicle was originally slated to wholesale is not relavant. The customer made this purchase with full knowledge of its limited capabilities and "as-is'. Af some point the cost of maintaining such a vehicle becomes the responsibilities of the owner and not the dealership.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is the mother Cheryl Burgess: I spoke to *** regarding the fact that the Jeep was sold to us as an unsafe vehicle, period!! Not becasuse ****** lost her job. Which is another issue we will be taking care of. Unlawful termination?
We are thankful the repairs have been paid for. After all we did purchase a warranty for the jeep. We now have all documents necessary to prove this vehicle was unsafe to sell to anyone, even to auction off. Riding harder was expected. We have videos of the way the jeep handled, which is unsafe. Oh BTW: the track bar is now broken. Sheered off as the jeep was being driven. What else will go wrong? We are lucky people are still alive. This jeep needs to be purchased back for the balance of the loan.

12/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing this letter of complaint because I believe I have been deceived by Sacramento Kia located at 2820 Fulton Avenue, Sacramento, CA XXXXX. On Saturday September 7, the following deceptions and misrepresentations occurred: a. My agent ***** ******* reported after some negotiation that his approval/negotiation verification department had accepted my second offer for a 2014 Kia Forte EX of $12,500.00 trade in value for my 2006 BMW 330 CI convertible and 60 payments of $350 per month. Later I learned that the period of the loan had been changed to 66 months or $2,100 more than the negotiated amount. b. Upon getting home with my 2014 Kia Forte EX, I discovered it as an LX minus a reverse warning system. The engine is 1.8 liters instead of a 2.0 that is equipped with special fuel injection (GTI). c. As I left, after four and one half hours of negotiation, I discovered the car had a dent above the driver's door. I was assured it would be repaired immediately, but have not been notified as of this date of repair accommodations. As I expressed concern about the process of financing the car for 6 more months than agreed, two concerned staff members subtly slipped me the phone number of the Vice President of the local Kia store. They both suggested I use this number to contact ******* ******** who they believed had high integrity and would fairly iron out my situation. I contacted ******* ******** on Monday, September 9, 2013 and arranged to meet with him on Tuesday, September 10. During the meeting ******* expressed concern about my frustration, but also justified the additional 6 months of payments as his employee's way of helping me make a purchase. It wasn't long and he made it clear that I had purchased a car which was now considered used and this was my responsibility, not Sacramento Kia's. He attempted to offer several proposals fo leases and purchases all of which had built in penalties because I now owned a used car. All of the offers including leases were at least $20 per month more and one offer was even extended to 72 months. His final solution was that I drive this wrong car for one year and return it one year to get a wonderful deal. I had spent two and a half hours of stalling and wheeling dealing to learn that nothing had been improved by the so called miracle worker. I left with simple parting words that I was mad but did not rage or name call. I have never been treated this way by an auto dealer, especially one who staff purported to have high morals and integrity. I felt betrayed and cheated out of a settlement to atone for Sacramento Kia's errors or deceptions.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ************ Thank you for allowing Sacramento Kia to respond to the complaint filed by Mr. *****. Mr. ******** is no longer operating Sacramento Kia as General Manager. We reviewed the complaints presented and it appears that Mr. ******** offered reasonable solutions to Mr. *****. There are areas of the contract that Mr. ***** would have to sign referencing his trade-in values, interest rates and terms. Mr. ***** would have substantial opportunity to object to a number or pre-agreed figure upon reviewing his original documents. Any concerns could have been addressed and resolved. The repairs for the "dent" in the driver's side door can and will be addressed at Mr. *****'s earliest convenience. We will stand by the offer to repair the dent. Since there were no "resolutions" requested, I am unaware of a solution to offer. Credibility, integrity and professionalism are paramount at Sacramento Kia.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While they have not accepted responsibility for the deception that I incurred, the Dealership would concede that both persons responsible are no longer in the positions they had at the time of the sale. I did recognize during the contract signing that 6 extra months were added to the contract and was assured by staff members, who gave me *********** phone number, that he would correct this error on the following Monday. The contract which Mr ******* refers only stated that I was purchasing was a Forte with no mention of which Forte model I was purchasing. The whole event of purchasing and trying to negotiate fairness the following Monday fatigued me beyond my normal alertness. So, I quess Mr ******* must be alluding to my lack of alertness in the paper process. So, to summarize I would saI was bilked in two ways: 1) the contract did not match the agreement. 2) I did not get a Forte EX as several staff members had implied. Mr ******* should understand all concessions offered by Crawford involved more money for your company and that the problem was mine not yours. Is Mr ******* implying that I should have had an attorney during the paper manipulations or shoud now get one. I would also wonder if I should alert the media about the deceptions.

12/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: First Service call for our vehicle was 7/25/13. Both driver and passenger **** windows have constant wind noise while vehicle is being driven. Windows are not open at all during wind noise. Wind noise was verified by dealership and window run channels were replaced to correct the problem. We experienced the same problem after repair of window run channels so vehicle was taken back to dealership on 8/7/13 new trim was replaced. Vehicle still had the same issue and was taken into service on 9/4/13 for third repair again noise was verified by dealership. After repairs the vehicle was still experiencing the same problem so we contacted customer service and spoke with **** ******* at XXX-XXX-XXXX She set an appointment for us to meet with one of the Regional Analyst by the name of ****** at the dealership on 10/15/13. He went with us to test drive our vehicle an did verify the wind noise. We then test drove another vehicle off the lot that had the same exact issue as our vehicle. He stated that the vehicle was designed to make the wind noise to which we strongly disagreed. He stated that Kia would not do anything further to repair our vehicle that is was something we just had to live with. We were dissatisfied with what we were told and decided to file a complaint. This is an issue that has to be resolved being that the vehicle is under warranty. Please see attachments.

Desired Settlement: We want our vehicle repaired properly. When we purchased the vehicle we did not have any issue with the vehicle until over time. It does not make sense to pay for a vehicle that was purchased brand new and it has not been a year and we are dissatisfied with both the vehicle and the service from Kia. If the car was designed in this manner why would the dealership try and correct the problem on several occasions if it was meant to run with wind noise.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************ We thank you for providing us with the opportunity to address the concerns Mr. and Mrs. ******** have with regards to their complaint. Kia has sent a factory representative out to meet with the *********** to discuss the concern. While here the customer and the Kia representative drove another new "like" vehicle together to determine if the wind noise was considered normal or excessive. While driving the "like" vehicle Mr. and Mrs. ******** agreed that the wind noise was similar. The determination made was that the wind noise falls into the guidelines of being commercially acceptable levels and a characteristic of the vehicle. The manufacturer (Kia) has determined no additional repairs are necessary. As you know, Sacramento Kia cannot perform any additional diagnosis or replace parts that are not authorized by the manufacturer. We would be happy to assist the ********'s by offering a fair market value as a trade-in towards another new or used vehicle. We welcome an open dialogue with our guest to see if there are additional solutions we can provide.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We never agreed that the wind noise was similar. It was noted on our receipt dated Oct.15th 2013 that we the customer disagreed with the DPSM's findings and that we were very unhappy. We have a ten year warranty on our vehicle which we purchased brand new. Kia has never attempted to go the extra mile to ensure that our vehicle be repaired correctly. If the wind noise is commercially acceptable of the characteristic of the vehicle then why did Kia on several occasions try to fix the problem which they also identified and failed to fix???? Kia should have never attempted to correct something which they claim is the characteristic of the vehicle!!! The weather strip on the vehicle is weak and needs a thicker strip to correct the wind noise. We do not want to dialogue with Kia for purchase of another vehicle we want our vehicle repaired ASAP!!! Their Tech line department is aware of how to repair this problem and we the customers have done research and have found a solution to also fix the problem. It is not the customer's responsibility to help Kia to do their job to ensure that repairs or made. Kia has not met our needs and we are prepared to go further with this case if need be. We want Kia to do their job find a solution to the wind noise for our vehicle and fix it. Kia needs to basically do their job or stop selling vehicles. Like stated above we have a warranty and Kia needs to fulfill their obligation by repairing our vehicle no matter how many times it takes. We have owned numerous new vehicles this is our first owning a Kia and by far this is the worst experience we have ever been through with a dealership. Any dealership we have ever dealt with in the past met our needs and took very good care of us as a customer. Our rating for Kia is extremely poor when it comes to customer service. Fix the vehicle!!!!!!!!

Final Business Response
The matter listed is now between Kia Motor Company and not with Sacramento Kia. As stated, the factory representative has responded and there are no further recommended repairs. As the dealer, we are limited to the repairs that the Manufacturer will authorize. Best regards,