BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Big Valley Ford?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Big Valley Ford

Additional Locations

Phone: (209) 870-4400 Fax: (209) 870-4427 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 690398, Stockton, CA 95269 http://www.bigvalleyford.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Big Valley Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Big Valley Ford include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Big Valley Ford
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 01, 1982 Business started: 05/01/1982 Business started locally: 05/01/1982 Business incorporated: 05/15/1982 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056
The number is 00734.

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 95069.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Paul Umdenstock, President Mr. Darlene Gibbons, vice president administration
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Darlene Gibbons, vice president administration
Principal: Paul Umdenstock, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

Big Valley Ford carries a large selection of new and pre-owned vehicles.

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 3282 Auto Center Cir

    Stockton, CA 95212

  • PO Box 690398

    Stockton, CA 95269

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 952-2978 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was taken in for service after it started malfunctioning.The service department called me in to sign the work order to replace my air intake sensor & hose which the Lincoln customer liaison stated was the cause of my car stalling with no RPM in the engine also informed me that the diagnostic noted I have a bad coil& suggested that I have all my spark plugs replaced.I told them I just paid for that service 10k mile ago and still covered in the service guarantee.I asked to have my parts I was replacing returned to my property and check the box on the invoice stating it.It was a quick fit and they'll call me when completed.A week later I call for a status no one ever call or seem to know what I was taking about. After jogging there memory they, remembered who I was and said I can pick it up the next day.When I got into my car the first thing I noticed was the battery was dead.Which wasn't a problem when I left it. After jump starting my car I check the system info and it read 0 miles to empty. I ask the rep. what happen to my gas? I never been 0 miles ever I had gas when I gave you the car?He apologised and said he would put gas in for me.Upon returning he gave me a puzzled look & didn't know why it still read zero he put 5 dollars in it for me. I started laughing asking if he was serious because I'm late for work and need to go. He said the odometer should change soon. As i drove off my sensors started to appear and every time I turned my car off I had to get a jump again just to start 5 times before I returned it the next day.I called the service manager Tamm who was condescending and didn't seem to care.I reported it to corporate they advised me in the future to get my car serviced at a different service dept but my claim was going to filed.I received a text message from Jessie Lincoln Liaison saying I can get either a full tank of gas or a new battery but his boss wasn't approving anything else no even my parts ignored my phone calls and didn't return any messages I & my wife left.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement:For 2 coils and spark plugs I replaced,Aug of 2013.I shouldn't of been charged.Ford knowing install defective spark plugs in their vehicles.(*See Attached)I ask to be refunded my full bill.My car is still malfunctioning,stalling with the same sensors it showed from before there "service".They refused to provide my parts I paid to have replaced,no prove they even done the job.That took almost two weeks to do.I want the gas that disappear replaced.I feel like fraud was committed on me

Business Response:

- The Service Advisor that initially wrote this customers repair request left our employment during the repair process. Unfortunately we did  not realize this vehicle was pending repairs so it was here for longer than it probably should have been. For that we apologize.
 
-When we completed the repairs to this unit the battery was dead at the point the customer returned to pick it up. Since this customer actually works in the Ford warehouse distributing parts he is more than likely aware of the fat batteries can test fine one day and fail the next. The battery tested fine at first and didn't  present an issue during the repair process.
 
-Once the battery was replaced the other issues reported by this customer cleared up. The low voltage the battery was producing caused the vehicle to act as if it needs further repairs.
 
-As to the gas loss reported by the customer, we have no idea how much gas this vehicle had in it when it was left for service. Additionally Mr. ********* was not the individual that dropped it off. However rather than argue about the gas loss we in fact put five gallons of gas not five dollars of gas in the vehicle.
 
-When Mr, ********* complained about the gas and the battery we gave him the option of a full tank of gas or  a new battery to resolve his concerns. Mr. ********* chose the battery and at no charge to him we installed  a new battery in his vehicle. This was an acceptable resolution for him at the time. Now Mr. ********* wants a full refund for repairs that  actually repaired his vehicle, tow vehicle services and nine months later, he choose to complain again and request further assistance.
 
- It is unfortunate but we are unable to assist this customer any further.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

I am rejecting this response because:
On point two of Big Valley Ford/Lincoln's response they state that the battery tested fine during the repair process and could have gone out any day. The fact is when I got into my vehicle and noticed the battery was dead, along with the other issues and unfinished repairs, I noticed a light in the car had been left on. This light was not on when I left the vehicle and as any person knows, leaving things such as interior lights on inside a vehicle will drain the battery, especially when left sitting for longer than normal periods (as Big Valley admitted to in point one of their response). So I believe the battery went out due to negligence on the part of Big Valley and therefore they should have been liable for replacing it. They were not doing me a favor and I was not complaining about it to get something free or just complain. I believe if you are negligent then you should fix your problem. That's why I addressed this issue with them.

I'm also rejecting their response on point three that states, "the low voltage on the battery was what caused the vehicle to act as if it needed further repairs." Since Big Valley did replace the battery, I have taken my vehicle for a full diagnostic evaluation and the printout of the evaluation shows that sensors were turned off and the coils malfunction that I originally brought the car in for a few service repair dates back has still never been fixed even though I was charged for this numerous times and was verbally told it was fixed by a Big Valley employee as well as receiving it in writing on my statement of services paperwork upon pickup of my car (the blue receipts given by Big Valley when any service is reported or done to a vehicle). I have provided you (BBB) copies of these service statements and can provide a copy of the diagnostic report  and pictures of the computer readings on my car stating that sensors are still not working upon your request

I am further rejecting this response by Big Valley as they never responded to the fact that I asked for my old parts back each time I brought in my vehicle for service. Now that I continue to have the same issue over and over, I find it convenient that I don't have the old parts to show that Big Valley  actually did their work and replaced the coils and repaired sensors as they claim.

Another reason I am rejecting this response is because Big Valley is incorrect in their statement that I did not drop off my vehicle (point 4). My wife physically drove it in but then we walked in together and I signed off on the reason I was bringing it in as well as signed to request for old parts to be returned. You can speak with her yourself but she will also report that the gas tank was nowhere near 0 miles. She would totally freak out and be worried if it was anywhere close to it. It's ridiculous they are arguing this simple matter. I don't even want them to fill the gas, it's just the principle and fact of being honest and not lying about something you've done or something that happened to a customer's vehicle while under your care.

And lastly, I am rejecting Big Valley's response because as they point out in point five of their reply, I do want a full refund because as I've stated, I have proof (via pics of my computer settings in the car and from the diagnostic I ran) that show Big Valley did not do the work they claimed to do and charged me for. That is called fraud and is a crime! Also, in the paperwork I sent to you (BBB) I enclosed a memo from Ford/Lincoln to their dealers that stated there were issues similar to the ones I brought my vehicle for that stated dealers were to fix this and not charge customers. Well, I was charged and again, charged for work that really wasn't even performed!! Of course I want my money back for work that was never done. I don't want to pay for nothing!

Finally, I find the last line of Big Valley's response to be a cop out! They are not unable to assist me any further; they are refusing to correct their mistakes and apologize for their lies and fraud!

I thank you for giving me this opportunity to reply and look forward to hearing from the BBB soon on a more agreeable solution to this unfortunate matter.

Thank you for your time,

***** *********

 

 

Business Response: We have received the additional information from the complainant referenced above. While it is extremely unusual for us to have dissatisfied customers it is something we must accept. We stand by our original response to this complaint and can only add that since the time of the repair this customer is complaining about the vehicle has been back to our service facility for two (2)  maintenance services without so much as a mention or a concern.

 
Even more unusual, is the fact that we now find it necessary to have Mr. ********* find a new service facility for his service needs. We strive to have satisfied customers and employees. When our employee's are subjected to abuse by any of our customers it is necessary for us to take action. We now find it necessary to protect our employee from the abusive behavior displayed by this customer.
 
If we can be of further assistance to the Bureau please don't hesitate to contact us.
 

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because in paragraph one of their response, Big Valley Ford Lincoln claims I have "been back to (their) facility for two maintenance services without so much as a mention or concern." This is absolutely false. I went back for those two visits complaining about the same issue and did mention to them that was why I was there. It should be documented on the service reports that I was coming in for similar issues as the first visit. They are simply just denying their respnosibility and it is a shame they cannot be an upstanding business and accept and correct their wrongdoing in regards to my vehicle. I am appalled at such dishonesty!

Also, I find it ridiculous and insulting that they claim their employees are subject to abuse because of this incident. I have never yelled at them, cursed at them, caused a scene or made any threats. Yet, now they are defaming my character with this accusation! How dare they! I would really like to know what "abusive behavior" they claim I displayed because you can't just make up accusations to cover your own mistakes. That's the wrong way to do business, it's dishonest, and it's unlawful.

And furthermore, they do not have to ask me to go elsewhere to service my Lincoln. I would NEVER go back to this facility when they cannot even service my vehicle appropriately. I do not trust them and I am tired of throwing away money! My wife and I have purchased two brand new Lincoln's from them in the last 4 years and plan to continue purchasing Lincoln's. But now because of their dishonesty in regards to my Lincoln Navigator, we will no longer do business with them or recommend them. They have lost a lot of future business because of their fraudulent and dishonest actions. I can only hope this situation teaches them a lesson on how to do business the right way.

 

Furthermore, I would like the Bureau to do something about this incident! I reported this to you (BBB) so that you could help me solve this issue. I need more than someone sending messages back and forth between Big Valley and myself. I am looking for a resolution. I hope that you can help me soon. If not, I will be forced to take this matter to the courts for legal action against Big Valley Ford Lincoln. This is clearly fraud and I've provided enough evidence to prove my claim. All Big Valley has is their words; no proof. This has gone on long enough! I am out of pocket for work and services that were never performed and now it's time I get my money back so I can take my vehicle elsewhere to get the issues repaired once and for all. I am eagerly awaiting your decision.

Thank you,

***** *********

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of Arbitration. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID .********, , and find that arbitration is necessary. Please contact me with further details and what I must do. 

Sincerely,

***** *********

Business Response: Company has sent notification declining arbitration.

Business Response:

Company states that they are willing to go to arbitration.

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I still do not have my owners manual for my new vehicle. I purchased a new 2013 Ford Focus in August 2013, The vehicle did not have a second key nor did it have the owners manual. I was advised they would add this to the due bill and I would get both with a week or two. I was told that due to them recieving the car in a dealer trade they did not get all items. After about three weeks and no call my husband went down to inquire about are missing items. They acted like they had no idea they were missing but were going to have to order them directly from the manufactor rather then getting them from the other dealer. We were told another two weeks. No this is really inconveinent becuase my husband and I bought the car to share for who ever drives further each day with our travaling jobs. Now we were forced to trade the one key each day. After several weeks and no call we went back. Now they acted like they dont know us and sent us to the parts department. The young gentlman behind the counter stated that he would look up if anything was ordered. After about 5 minutes he walks away and comes back with a key which now has to be programed so they was another hour wait. I asked what about my manual and they stated that it was never ordered.... So he states that he has to call to see about when it will be in because I refuse to leave with out a date. Of cousre this happens to be the time that this department was closed, so he assures me that they will call back the day first thing in the morning to let me know. Now days go back and still no call, I stop by again... Now I let know how up set and disappointed I am but no one cares. No one had called to even check the status of my manual like promised days prior. The gentleman this time calls and finds out it is back ordered until end of November. Through all of this all every time I call or come in they keep trying to sell my warranty coverage for both my Ford vehicles.

Desired Settlement: I want my book so I will no how to service my vehicle or look up items I question. I also believe that my time and efforts should be compensated.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ** ******* ExecVP Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@bigvalleyford.com We have resolved this complaint with our customer as of this date. The owners manual is on backorder until sometime in November. However we have provided a copy of the Owners Manual and Warranty guide to the customer on a flash drive. Additionally we gave the Customer a $50.00 credit on their Owner Advantage card for use on future visits to our Service, Parts, Quick Lane or Collision Center.

7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sunday May 19 2013 we went to Big Valley ford to by a car with a pre approved auto loan with Capital one and the X-plan program through my work Explained to car salesman what we had and what we wanted in the car On May 29 2013 I received as call from the finance manager form Big Valley **** telling me there was a problem with our loan and had to make some changes to the price so we need to come back and sign a new contract Since then we have received 3 decline letters on behalf of Big Valley Ford for a auto loan through them

Desired Settlement: Big Valley Ford to fix the error that has caused serious issues with our credit Bu trying to get a auto loan form these places without our knowledge

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* J. ******* Execut Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXX Contact Email: ********@bigvaalleyford.com This concern has been addressed and our customer is now satisfied with the explanation. Unfortunately the individual's that she spoke to prior to filling the complaint did not give a complete explanation and therefore an unsatisfactory explanation as to the chain of events and the necessity for same. 1. We are required as a retailer to determine if we legally can sell a vehicle to any individual therefore we have to go through some very specific steps (red flag rules) to protect ourselves. 2. Her credit score was negatively impacted because she walked in owing roughly 5,000.00 dollars on her trade vehicle and left owing 22,000.00 on her new vehicle. This increased debt load is what dramatically affected her credit scores. Once this was explanined satisfactorily our customer was satisfied.

12/4/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ****** ******-****** along with my husband ****** ***** ******. On 9/22/12 we purchased a vehicle from a dealership by the name of Big Valley Ford Lincoln in Stockton, Calif. The agreement between Big Valley and our selves was that they would hold onto the contract for 5 days so we could obtain an auto loan through my credit union ********* ***** which I (******) previously had an auto loan through and knew they would provide us a better rate then Big Valley auto financing. This they agreed to. They put the contact on a 5 day hold so we could get the loan established. Never, let me make this clear, NEVER did we give them the okay to outsource our loan to any other establishment i.e. banks, credit unions, etc. We have been abused by them on our credit reports which has significantly hurt our credit scores. We are in the process of selling our home and purchasing another. Due to Big Valleys abuse on our credit, my husbands especially, has been hit where we no longer can qualify for a loan from a very established bank due to the heavy hit on his credit score. We are devastated. Once again we did not authorize this dealership to run our credit, mind you not once, but 12 times. This is unacceptable. We are asking that something is to be done to re-establish our credit scores to the place they were before the abuse of power by Big Valley. Big Valley violated their ethical promise to us the consumer. Now, we are left to pay the price. This is not fair or acceptable. We are asking that you look at all the inquiries done on 9/22/12 determine how we can make our credit scores right. We do not tolerate abuse. We would of never found this out, the multiple inquiries until we were informed Product_Or_Service: 2005 Jeep Wrangler

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) For the finance department to make sure they do not violate other buyers agreements. I want our credit scores adjusted to where they were before 9/22/12. We want our credit re-established. We would like an explanation as to why they felt the need to go behind our backs and do as they thought was okay.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** J. ******, V.P. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@bigvalleyford.com Ms. ****** is correct when she states that we agreed to hold her "contract" for a period of five days so that she could secure an auto loan from her credit union. She in fact did secure the auto loan from her credit union and the contracted amount was paid to us some 30 days after the purchae on 10-22-12. However, at no time did we or would we agree NOT to run the credit reports for the sale of a motor vehicle. In fact Ms. ****** and her husband signed a credit application on the date of purchase authorizing us to do so and further authorizing us to submit their application to other financial institutions for consideration. This is done in the normal course of our business in order to protect our interest in the transaciton. To further substantiate our position both Mr. and Ms. ****** signed that they received their credit scores from all three (3) bureaus from us on the day they purchased the vehicle. While running the credit report does have a negative impact on an individual's credit score for some types of loans it is also negatively impacted when the amount of debit owed by a person increases. It is more likely that the debit to income ratio has met a threshold on Mr. ******* report if in fact his scores have droped as dramatically as Ms. ****** indicates. We have no knowledge of their current FICO scores or reports so we are not able to determine the ultimate cause for the decrease.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As .The statement clearly indicated that per our agreement we did secure our own financing and their financial obligation was satisfied. Yes, we did sign purchase papers, but once again the 5 day agreement was made and once again, Never did we give permission to run our credit "12" different times. We did not give our authorization to submit our credit for consideration for a loan. This is over 7700.00. This is credit abuse. Yes we did receive a copy of our credit scores and that is why I asked to be financed though my Credit Union so it would not impact our credit. They are trying to cover their unethical practices. The above was never agreed upon. Once again, as indicated, the loan was established through my credit union..as I stated this was what would occur.

Business' Final Response
Ms. ******, "Holding" a contract for a funding source is very different that not running credit. We agreed to hold the contract before cashing it for a period of five days. In fact we held the contract for thirty days until your credit union paid the balance for you. When we accept a credit application for the purchase of a vehicle we submit it to several institutions for consideration of payment. This is approved by you on the credit application where it states "Yau are notified pursuant to the Fair Credit Reporting Act, that your application may be submitted to the finnancial institutions named below or to other Financial Institutions." Your's and your husbands signatures are beneath this statement on the credit applicaiton. We have to make sure that if your funding doesn't come through we have an institution that will accept your purchase contract and reimburse us for the merchangise you are purchasing. We have a number of financial institutions that we deal with on a daily basis that your appliction was submitted to so that we could secure financing for your vehicle purchase. Frankly when your credit union had not reimbursed us on the fifth day after your purchase we would have done this to get reimbursed for the vehicle you purchased and the situation would be no different than it is today. However, we check for funding during the purchase transaction so as to protect our investment. Sincerely, ****** J. ****** Executive Vice President *****@bigvalleyford.com (209)XXX-XXXX

10/15/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealer sold me a CERTIFIED truck with improper tires on it and will not address issue Purchased a CERTIFIED used 2008 F250 on 12-17-2011. I had a tire issue the dealer told me to check with the tire manufacturer for warrenty. I had to purchase a new tire. Had another tire issue on X-XX-XXXX this time the tire store told me the tires on the truck were not rated for the truck and should not be on the truck. I took the truck to Elk Grove Ford they verified the information and agreed the tires were the wrong size and rating. Truck has 8 ply D load tires and require 10ply E load. I have a 169 point dealer Certified checklist that Big Valley did when they sold me the truck and it states tires are correct size per the manufacturer. I went to Big Valley on X-XX-XXXX talked to **** and he told me they would give me two tires and I would have to pay for the rest. It is a CETIFIED truck and they said on that certification that the tires were correct. They are not!

Desired Settlement: A set of the correct tires for the truck

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We have contacted this customer and made arrangements to have him bring the vehicle in for inspection and correction. He has indicated he will be in the dealrership between now and Friday.

4/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service