BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sick HIDs meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sick HIDs include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sick HIDs
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 24, 2012 Business started: 05/09/2009 in CA Business started locally: 05/09/2009
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Brian Tremblay, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Tremblay, Owner
Business Category

Auto Accessories Motorcycles - Supplies & Parts Truck accessories


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Non-delivery of sold product I paid ***** ******** $1350 on 6/21/13, $65 on 8/14/13, and $40 on 9/26/13 for a custom motorcycle part. He promised a 8-12 week turnaround. It's been over 6 months. Every time I contact him about it, he says it's in his queue. Two weeks ago, before Thanksgiving, he promised he would work on it that weekend and send it to me the next week by expedited shipping. That did not occur. The timeframe for a chargeback by my credit bureau has elapsed and they've advised me to file a complaint through you is now my only option.

Desired Settlement: refund of $1455.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Mr *** did in fact place an order with my company for a custom service on 6/21/13. He was notified (in first email response to his inquiry) that our current estimated minimum turn-around at that time, was at least 8-12 weeks ("at least"). This was also stated in the confirmation email of his payment received. Mr *** then contacted me with a request of change-order on 8/14/13.... I invoiced for changes & informed him that the changes may extend turn-around. Mr *** then contacted me with yet another request for change-order on 9/26/13. I invoiced for more changes & informed him again that this change/addition would require dis-assembly of some completed features to accommodate, which would again have an effect on turn-around time. One of the last times Mr *** contacted me (just before Thanksgiving), he requested the current status of his order & I expressed that it would be completed & shipped in a matter of just a couple more weeks. I just emailed Mr *** yesterday (12/11/13) to notify him that his order was complete & ready to ship...... I did not receive a response to this email, but instead received this complaint. At this time (today - 12/12/13) Mr ***'s order is packed, labeled & shipping immediately (as expressed in previous email to him). Package has posted & this is the tracking #9463009699937162244135 (USPS). Let it be known that Mr *** was fully aware of company policies (this is a commitment to a custom service & no refunds will be issued at any time) before & after he placed his order and was in full agreement of all terms/conditions of the process as well as policies. I do also have copies of all email contact between Mr *** & I to confirm truth & validity of all statements provided in this response.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Do you think you're the only one with email records? In what universe does 8-12 weeks minimum turn-around time equate to SIX MONTHS WAIT? Why don't you just tell them it's a one day estimate? Again, ***** had sent multiple images of the product in various incomplete stages. I can only assume those were for customers with similar orders when he pretended they were in fact mine. Also note that ***** threatened to send an incomplete order than refund when that was requested in November. Also note it's been more than one week since ***** claimed he's sent the package "expedited". Gotta love the ******** being spewed. That should be the new company motto.

Final Business Response
All statements made & images provided to the customer were factual, correct, up to date & directly related his order. All communication was prompt & immediate, providing status, progress & answers to all of his questions. All photos shared were exactly what the customer ordered & confirmed with every communication. All work performed & product completed was in full accordance/agreement with the customer & was confirmed/approved with satisfaction (via email communication) multiple times during phases of the process. His completed order is exactly what he ordered & was authenticated/approved in all email communications. His order was in fact shipped in accordance with prior notification (status did not change when contacted by BBB). This customer is obviously fabricating info about status notifications & images. I have all email correspondence between the customer & I throughout the process to support my statements & I can provide if necessary. The customer was fully aware of company policies (no refund policy, estimated minimum turn-around & warranty coverage/terms) before he placed his order (all was expressed if first email response to his inquiry). These policies are also clearly posted on the website, in all literature provided & on his invoice for his order (before payment was made). By paying invoice he has consciously approved & agreed with all policies, terms & conditions within.

Business Response: Mr *** did in fact place an order with my company for a custom service on 6/21/13. He was notified (in first email response to his inquiry) that our current estimated minimum turn-around at that time, was at least 8-12 weeks ("at least"). This was also stated in the confirmation email of his payment received. Mr *** then contacted me with a request of change-order on 8/14/13.... I invoiced for changes & informed him that the changes may extend turn-around. Mr *** then contacted me with yet another request for change-order on 9/26/13. I invoiced for more changes & informed him again that this change/addition would require dis-assembly of some completed features to accommodate, which would again have an effect on turn-around time. One of the last times Mr *** contacted me (just before Thanksgiving), he requested the current status of his order & I expressed that it would be completed & shipped in a matter of just a couple more weeks. I just emailed Mr *** yesterday (12/11/13) to notify him that his order was complete & ready to ship...... I did not receive a response to this email, but instead received this complaint.

At this time (today - 12/12/13) Mr ***'s order is packed, labeled & shipping immediately (as expressed in previous email to him). Package has posted & this is the tracking #********************** (USPS).

Let it be known that Mr *** was fully aware of company policies (this is a commitment to a custom service & no refunds will be issued at any time) before & after he placed his order and was in full agreement of all terms/conditions of the process as well as policies. I do also have copies of all email contact between Mr *** & I to confirm truth & validity of all statements provided in this response.

Consumer Response: Two week after the order was placed, ***** stated he had the hardware and was near completion. On Aug 12, I INQUIRED about my order status. ***** forwarded stock images of what I assume is from another customer because the parts did not match my order. I had specifically asked him to match the order from a previous customer. When I inquired about this again, ***** stated it was indeed different and I would have to pay extra. This happened again in Sept when I inquired about order status and realized the preview pictures did not match what I expected.

Also note that the shipping status changed finally changed when I was forced to contact the BBB. Curious.

Business Response: All statements made & images provided to the customer were factual, correct, up to date & directly related his order. All communication was prompt & immediate, providing status, progress & answers to all of his questions. All photos shared were exactly what the customer ordered & confirmed with every communication. All work performed & product completed was in full accordance/agreement with the customer & was confirmed/approved with satisfaction (via email communication) multiple times during phases of the process. His completed order is exactly what he ordered & was authenticated/approved in all email communications.

His order was in fact shipped in accordance with prior notification (status did not change when contacted by BBB). This customer is obviously fabricating info about status notifications & images. I have all email correspondence between the customer & I throughout the process to support my statements & I can provide if necessary.

The customer was fully aware of company policies (no refund policy, estimated minimum turn-around & warranty coverage/terms) before he placed his order (all was expressed if first email response to his inquiry). These policies are also clearly posted on the website, in all literature provided & on his invoice for his order (before payment was made). By paying invoice he has consciously approved & agreed with all policies, terms & conditions within.

Consumer Response: Do you think you're the only one with email records? In what universe does 8-12 weeks minimum turn-around time equate to SIX MONTHS WAIT? Why don't you just tell them it's a one day estimate?

Again, ***** had sent multiple images of the product in various incomplete stages. I can only assume those were for customers with similar orders when he pretended they were in fact mine.

Also note that ***** threatened to send an incomplete order than refund when that was requested in November.

Also note it's been more than one week since ***** claimed he's sent the package "expedited".

Gotta love the ******** being spewed. That should be the new company motto.

Consumer Response:

The original claim that was submitted in December was for non-delivery of the product I purchased from Sick HIDs. He sent me the product two days after I submitted that claim. During that last month I that I had waited, he refused to refund my purchase and threatened to send me an incomplete product.
 
I need to re-open the case, now that it was received and the product is not as functioning as described. I have tried to work out a solution with him, but he is less than cooperative. I waited until Feb 1 before seeking BBB help and refrained from responding to the Dec complaint. But that didn't help. ***** refused to speak with me on the phone, ignores my phone calls now. And now I will explain my side of the story.
 
In Nov, Thanksgiving weekend, ***** again claimed that the product was almost finished (as he had been claiming for six months ongoing), and that he would expedite the build and ship it out that weekend, using express mail. Sadly, that never happened. It wasn't shipped until Dec 13 using standard USPS post (their slowest option).
 
Here is what I submitted to your website on Feb 1:
 
***** Tremblay sold me dual-headlamps complete with halos and HIDs for my Triumph STR. It was guaranteed to be "plug-and-play", and that the HIDs would have a separate ON/OFF switch. Sadly, neither are true. I installed the product myself but found the wiring harness was impossible to reach. I was forced to take it to my local, factory-authorized dealer (plus ***** refused to provide me with direct support, even though his installation docs stated he could help during daytime hours).
 
The dealer had to remove the fuel tank, engine cover, and console just to be able to wire everything. This is NOT plug-and-play (contention #1). They then discovered that the headlamp plugs stick out so far that they block the turning of the forks past 30% of normal. ***** refused to acknowledge a build error and stated this was normal. Imagine if your car's steering wheel could only turn 30%. Is that normal or safe or usable? (contention #2.) The dealership refused to release the bike due to safety and because ***** refused to fix it, I had to fabricate a spacer myself. It took 3 weeks and only then could the dealer continue.
 
Then electrical issues were found (contentions #3-6):
* 30% chance that both lamps will turn on simultaneously.
* Halos will light w/out HIDs, or HIDs light w/out halos, or a halo is normal while the others are dim. (***** said the wiring cannot be zip tied, which is not in his documentation. The dealer advised that mine is a naked bike, but ***** insisted everything just dangle freely. How is this possible or safe?)
* OEM high/low switch turns the halos ON/OFF, not the HID high/low beam. ***** acknowledged a wiring error.
* *****'s switch doesn’t work. It’s supposed to turn the HIDs ON/OFF. ***** acknowledged a wiring error.
 
I previously filed a BBB complaint because Brain took 6 months to finish the project with a 8-12 week estimation. He retaliated by saying my complaint to the BBB voided his warranty. (contention #7)
 
 
My bike has been at the dealer for 2+ months now and is unusable.
 
Please advise on how to proceed. The dealership is preparing a statement for me regarding the incident. I am also seeking counsel to sue him in small claims. Of course, if you could help obtain a refund a refund for me, I'll gladly accept it and put it behind me. I'm also attending the documents I uploaded to your server on Feb 1.
 
Thank you.
 
 

Business Response: Most of Mr ***'s claims appear to be unfounded & some even completely fabricated. 


 Mr *** submitted change-order requests multiple times during the duration of his order thus prolonging the process (as he was made aware at the time of each request)... the details/dates of these requests were in fact provided in response to the original BBB complaint. Immediately following notification sent to the client (by me) stating that his order was complete & shipping the next day, I then received the BBB complaint suggesting that he has not received the product (rather than communicating with me or even responding to my notification of shipment). 

 The client continues to claim that the product is not "OEM" (original equipment by manufacturer).... the product is in fact not OEM (as the client was aware & as he requested to be a "custom build"). He also continues to demand a refund for the order, which is not available & covered in company policies (both on the website & his invoice). The original invoice for Mr ***'s order also included the following terms/conditions (viewable before even placing his order)..... "All sales are final. No Returns accepted (except warranty or service related). No Refunds issued (no exceptions). Payment of this invoice confirms agreement/acceptance of any/all Sick HIDs Policies, Warranties & Disclaimers with NO exceptions (policies are available for review on the website). A copy of Sick HIDs policies/warranties/disclaimers will also be provided with included literature in your shipment."

 Once contacted by Mr *** (after receiving his product), he claimed that there were issues/complications regarding install (by a local dealership that he contracted to install for him). Though my company clearly states on the website that Sick HIDs is not responsible for any/all fees incurred by any shops/installers if buyer chooses to have others install, I made "good faith" effort by calling the installer myself to offer any assistance with questions/concerns regarding the install. Upon speaking with the shop Service Manager (****), he suggested that the install was in good hands & well under control..... and the issues on hand were not pertaining to the install, but the issues were in fact with the client being extremely difficult & refusing to pay his bill for the install. The shop installer informed me that Mr *** not only refused to pay them to complete the install, but also refused to pay for the work they had already completed (thus putting the project "on hold" until payment for work completed was paid to date). I have never refused or ignored any contact with Mr *** (I've always responded promptly). In his last effort to contact me, he left a message on my voicemail demanding that I submit a credit card to the installer to pay for his install labor (which is out of the question & clearly covered in company policies). Mr *** is obviously trying to avoid paying for his shop fees by attacking my company with these pointless claims.

Please let me know if I can/should provide any more information, as I have all communication & contracts documented & available.

Consumer Response:

***** can put whatever disclaimers he wants on his website, and claim that he’s sold a perfectly fine product. But the fact is, he did not, and the State of California is very good at protecting consumers from fraudulent sales, plain and simple. During the last round of complaints, I submitted 7 points of contention. Please let the BBB note that NONE of the points were addressed, and he instead reraised older issues, including some that are completely fabricated. My responses:

  • Yes, I submitted 2 change requests because after I patiently waited 2 months in-between each request for updates, his previews did NOT match the expected order. The original order was to match the build of STR #1, except for black chrome paint. Each time, there was an additional thing ***** upsold in order for me to get the build of STR #1.
  • Obviously *****'s product is not OEM. This is not an issue of contention. However, his product was sold under the guise that it can easily be installed (plug-and-play) and be 100% compatible with OEM components (like the HI/LO switch). Sadly, neither are true.
  • He suggests that the two minor mods are the sole reason why an estimate build time of 8-12 weeks would elapse to SEVEN months, is outrageous and simply laughable.
  • He promised to send the product the week after Nov 22; see evidence. The order wasn’t sent until three weeks later, and was not expedited. This is only one of many examples of broken promises.
  • Original BBB complaint was submitted before he FINALLY mailed the order. Again, this is an irrelevant point, so once again I will point out he plainly refused to provide service for me both in writing and over the phone, because of this complaint. See evidence.
  • Terms and conditions are irrelevant if the product doesn’t meet the terms of the sale. I’ve included picture evidence of the flawed mechanical design (Exhibit A) and also picture evidence of the flawed electrical design (Exhibit B-F). Also see testimony by the dealership to validate all claims that I’ve submitted, including the previously-submitted, uncontested 7 points. So, if *****’s somehow got evidence where I specifically asked for the lights to behave in manners shown in Exhibits B-F, God himself would love to see it.
  • I can easily submit phone logs as evidence that ***** refused to take calls and return calls. The dealer also told me multiple messages were left without a return phone call. I can ask them for written confirmation since ***** will of course deny this.
  • Finally, ***** is falsely claiming that I did not pay the dealer. Again, ***** displays a great ability twist the facts, or has a serious deficiency is understanding English. Perhaps both. I did indeed pay the dealer (see evidence), but the dealer refuses to perform ANY REPAIRS to the headlights which ***** wanted the dealer to make ON HIS BEHALF. Of course they’re not going to do it for free. The dealer installed the headlights as they were supposed to, and they got paid for that effort. Anything extra is not done for free.

The order: Dual HI/LO HIDs, with inner and outer bevels. A new switch would allow the HIDs to be turned ON/OFF. The halos would remain on at all times.

What I got: Dual HI/LO HIDS, with inner and outer bevels. The new switch was functionless, and wired backwards (it is powered when in the OFF position). Both the halos and HIDs have intermittent issues where lights randomly work and do not work. The OEM HI/LO switch is supposed to retain the HI/LO function for the HID, but instead it turns the halos ON/OFF. Rarely do all the lights illuminate all at once and at the proper level of brightness.

 

This case is very simple. ***** sold a product that DOES NOT meet the terms of the sale (improper mounting, electrical problems). Part of HIS sale terms was that this product can be installed easily, and that it’s plug-and-play. They're not. *****’s fine print then suggests that if I took it to a dealer to get it installed, it’s on my own dime and he’s not responsible for it. (1) ***** has shown a history of specifically refusing support to me. When I was unable to install it myself (I’m an engineer by trade, so this should be straightforward), I was forced for dealer assistance. (2) The dealer has testified that the install is pretty much impossible by a non-professional. (3) This clearly voids the plug-and-play part of the deal.

 

In short: mechanical design flaw, electrical design flaw, multiple violations of *****’s own sale terms, and failure to provide a product within a reasonable time limit. Unless ***** somehow has evidence of me saying the product is working 100% as advertised, I fail to see how many more times I need restate the facts and that my order was immensely botched by this amateur. For the reasons above, I seek a 100% complete refund, including the amount paid to LA Cycle Sports for the REQUIRED professional installation. Should ***** demand his product back for a refund, he can pay LA Cycle Sports to remove the headlights, and provide a pre-paid return shipping label.

Business Response: First, let me say that I am offended by the fact that Mr *** is now referring to me as an "amateur", and feel that he has since been slandering my name with these allegations. For the record, I am the sole owner/operator of this business with MANY other orders in progress.... I have many years of experience with the specialty services that I offer (as well as 15 years as a Licensed Electrician). Also note that I do not retail anything (because everything is 100% custom fabricated per client preferences).... this is a custom specialty service (not a store) and no items are pre-built, or built the same each for each order. Mr *** requested my services to build something unique and completely custom for his bike. Yes, I have always had policies and disclaimers posted on the website not only to protect myself but to protect the clients as well (thus why they are brought to each client's attention & understanding well before they even place their order, which was presented to Mr. *** immediately upon first contact). All terms/conditions are/were very clear, confirmed by the client and accepted by making payment on original invoice (which also states all terms/conditions). 

 
Mr *** continues to state that I am not addressing his alleged points of "contention" & in this response I will be addressing each of his alleged claims in detail and in the order he has listed.....
 
1) During the build process Mr *** periodically requested additional features/changes to be made to his order (which was made clear that it would prolong the process, as the project had to be started from the beginning each time he requested changes). Changes/additions were never forced on Mr *** by me, nor did I even suggest any additions. Basically, every time I posted a new project he saw something else he liked & immediately requested changes/additions.
 
2) The services that I offer do in fact suggest that the install wiring is "plug & play" (which can definitely be open for some interpretation, but is clearly provided as described). The wiring harness that I include for each order is not only custom built by me, but is also very unique to each application as a component system. All connections within the provided wiring harness DO in fact include "matching/labeled plugs" as a "plug-in system", and that is exactly what he received with his finished product.
 
3) Turn-around time for each order is/was never a promised completion date. Turn-around time are "estimated" MINIMUM expected times that may be effected by many factors throughout the process (including, but not limited to change-orders, backordered parts, defective parts received, personal health, etc). The turn-around suggested to Mr *** at the time of this order/request was clearly stated as "at least 8 weeks". He was NEVER promised any exact completion date regardless of his claims and I have all evidence to prove.
 
4) Again, no promises of completion or ship date were promised to Mr ***. I did suggest that his order could be expedited if he wished, but he never responded.
 
5) The BBB complaint was in fact received only AFTER Mr *** was notified of completion/shipping.
 
6) Mr *** did receive EXACTLY what he requested. Despite the testimony he has provided, when I spoke to **** (installer) over the phone.... he suggested that Mr *** was not happy with the order in which the switches controlled specific features. I immediately suggested to installer that changes to functions could be easily altered with very little effort. The Installer then stated that they would/could handle any necessary alterations with easy, however they refuse to spend any more time/labor on his project as long as he was refusing to pay his shop bill for all preceding work performed up to that point. I also suggested that they could also just remove wiring harness for the client to send back to me and I could evaluate and/or perform any alterations if applicable. The installer AGIAN stated that removing the wiring would also include additional time/labor and refuse to spend any more time on his project until his bill was paid to date. This is clearly covered in my policies within my website addressing "installs by others".
 
7) I have never refused or ignored any contact attempts from Mr ***, and I have already confirmed his claims of multiple messages from installer as 100% fabricated. Again, I am the sole owner/operator of this business and sometimes receive upwards of 60-100 phone calls per day. Since I do everything here, I am not always available for the phone and do not run to it whenever it's ringing. That said, most missed calls do not always received call-backs (messages are required for call-backs - this is also stated on the voicemail announcement and always has been). If he has ever called, I have answered and/or responded promptly unless I was not available or no message was left.
 
8) Any statements regarding payment or non-payment to the shop for his install were quoted directly from **** (installer/manager) and is clearly not the responsibility of Sick HIDs.This is clearly posted on the website policies, shared with client upon original contact and a copy included with his completed package. I've only shared these quotes/statements in response to Mr ***'s claims that "I" have held up his install at the shop/dealer, when this is the sole responsibility of Mr *** and no one else, as he has suggested.
 
Finally, Mr *** has received exactly what he ordered functioning exactly how he requested. He was provided with progress reports periodically throughout the process and he approved of all progress before continuing each time. I have attached a short video of his lights, taken from the bench-test just before they shipped, showing them fully and flawlessly operating (to his approval) exactly how he requested. I've also attached photos submitted to me by just a few very satisfied clients that not only ordered similar lights to his, but in fact own the same exact year/make/model/application as his motorcycle and they have not had a single concern or complaint regarding install or operation.
 
Again, all orders/sales from Sick HIDs are "FINAL" and will not be subject to refund (no exceptions) as stated on the website, in first contact with the client, in the literature provided with shipment and most of all stated very clearly on the invoice (before he purchased). This is necessary with all custom builds, as all of the parts/components are modified to client's personal preferences, are irreversible, are non-retunrable and is a commitment made by the client. These terms and conditions are accepted by the client upon payment of invoice for the order, as stated on the invoice before purchase.
 
I feel that I have made every attempt to address the issues he has claimed to have, within reason, but I am in no way responsible for any installation fees regardless of his allegations. I take my business very personally and try to provide the best customer service that I can, as a business and as an individual. 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business shipped back wrong part and wants to me to pay to fix there error. I purchased a set of retrofitted headlights from SICK Hids. The bulb burnt out and was covered under warranty. I was asked to pay the shipping to send bad bulb back to Sick HID and they would send me a new one. I'm ok with this. Then they charged me return shipping. I'm ok with this but don't agree with it. Once I received the new bulb, I realized they sent the wrong bulb. I inquired about a return and the correct bulb. Sick HIDs informed me that I must pay AGAIN to return the bulb shipped in error before he would send out the replacement bulb. Shipping was to be $10. I don't agree that I should have to pay more money because of Sick HID's error. I explained to ****** at Sick HID that since receiving my lights in May, they have been inoperative on three different occasions prior to this event. I asked if he would please ship me a knew bulb because HE is the one that sent me the wrong bulb to begin with. He refused. Also, I now have one incorrect bulb that he shipped and the second bulb is burnt out. I now have a product that I paid approximately $1,000 that cannot be honored under warranty because he doesn't believe he should have to pay the $10 to allow me to return an item that he incorrectly shipped. I would appreciate two new bulbs - I will ship the bad ones back. I do NOT expect that I should have to pay AGAIN for his inability or lack of attention shown by shipping me the wrong bulb after I had already paid the shipping to and from his business. I paid that $20 for both shipping charges and did NOT receive what was promised. I don't believe that I should have to continue to pay more money to this business regardless of the fact that the business is the one who made the mistake.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for this business to permit me to send back the damaged bulb and incorrect bulb at their expense, replace the bulbs with the correct bulbs and return them to me at their expense. Both bulbs will fit in one package. There is zero need to separate these two bulbs for shipping purposes. (Sick HID did state they would cover the shipping back to me but refused to cover the shipping of the wrong bulb back to them)

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Mr. ******'s request for replacement bulbs was received & he was promptly reminded/instructed as to the requirements necessary to return defective items for warranty replacement (all defective parts must be returned for evaluation & credit from the manufacturer to be eligible for replacement). The buyer is responsible for all shipping (both ways) for any items shipped (including warranty related items) as stated very clearly on the website policy page as well as in all literature included in Mr ********** package. Mr ****** in fact refused to ship the "alleged" defective items back for credit & insisted that he be shipped replacements immediately anyway with no charge. I then offered to cover return shipping (in this one instance) for him as a kind gesture & he still refused to ship defects while demanding more new parts. I have yet to receive any evidence of defective parts (in the way of parts returned or even photos of alleged defects). Sick HIDs is more than happy to replace any defective items received & honor any warranties advertised within. However, Mr ********** request for Sick HIDs to send new/replacement parts without any proof of defects or returned defective items is insufficient & does not meet warranty requirements. Mr. ****** was, is & always has been more than welcome to ship defective items for warranty replacement, but still refuses. I can also provide proof of my defense against any/all of Mr ********** claims in the form email and/or photos.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While I appreciate Mr. ****** responding to this report, I would disagree with him in some of what he stated. I have emails showing that I offered to send back the wrong item prior to him sending me anything as long as he would agree that if in fact he mailed me the wrong part he would cover the cost of shipping both ways. So, to state that I REFUSED to ship back the "alleged" defective items back" was incorrect. I REFUSED to send them back because he refused to reimburse me for the shipping costs due to HIS ERROR. As stated before, I don't feel that I should have to pay for shipping TWICE to correct his shipping error. I will gladly pay to have this item shipped to him for inspection. Upon receipt of the item and his inspection I would ask that he send the CORRECT item back to me at his cost and reimburse me for the shipping charges I paid to ship back the WRONG (Not Defective) item that he sent me. I, like Mr. ****** can also proved proof of my defense against any/all of Mr. ******'s claims against me. There is serious misunderstandings here and I am just asking to be credited back the shipping charges I paid just to receive the WRONG (Not Defective) item. I will gladly mail these items for his inspection prior to him sending ANYTHING to me. I completely understand that policy and accept it. Since this, I have had another part fail, I have a ballast that has gone bad. I have swapped the ballasts and verified that it is indeed the ballast. I would have had to pay to ship this item to Mr. ****** as well. In short, I will be returning the WRONG bulb and the bad Ballast. I would ask that Mr. ****** inspect and send back the correct parts which s/b covered under his stated warranty. I will pay for the return shipping as well since I would have paid for this new issue anyway per his return policies.

Business' Final Response
Sick HIDs never stated that shipping "both ways" will be covered, but that "return" shipping (in that case only > due to simple misunderstanding) would be covered (if he had shipped back for evaluation). Initially, Mr ******'s request was for "FREE" bulbs (pair) without returning defects for evaluation.... now his request is for a one bulb & one ballast (this is exactly why there is a strict return policy requiring "defective" items to be returned "first" for credit/evaluation, otherwise I would be shipping free parts without any confirmation of defects & Mr ****** would still be claiming that parts shipped are "wrong" because he is only "guessing" & not following a procedure of evaluation necessary for confirmation). Mr ****** is, has & has always been aware of procedure & was/is always welcome to return any defective items for credit/evaluation & replacement if necessary. Rather than simply sending defective items, I feel that he is causing an unnecessary scene, abusing the system (BBB, etc) & slandering my business name for no reason when this issue could have been resolved in a timely/reasonable fashion per "procedure". Mr ****** can/should ship any/all "defects" immediately & any confirmed defects will be replaced asap as promised & stated in all policies/previous emails...... I will be waiting for shipment & confirm when received/replaced. I expect that procedure will be followed at this point & I am not interested in disputing any further, as this could have been resolved immediately without taking these "unfounded" measures.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1