Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

California Creative Surfaces

Phone: (916) 226-5055 Fax: (209) 522-2552 View Additional Phone Numbers 8777 Balmoral Dr, Newcastle, CA 95658 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.californiacreativesurfaces.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that California Creative Surfaces meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for California Creative Surfaces include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on California Creative Surfaces
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 13, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2004 Business started locally: 01/01/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 907082.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Steve Morgan, Manager Ms. Jennifer Morgan, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Morgan, Manager
Business Category

Artificial Turf Landscape Contractors Artificial Rock Scapes Concrete Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Grip IT - NSF
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: November 2013 ***** ****** dba California Creative Services installed artificial turf at our home. Our contract specified the grass we were to receive, and we expected quality installation. The grass installed was not what we ordered and the installation was uneven, rippled and generally bad. ***** has not been able to provide what we ordered and will not refund our the money he was paid.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $1800.00

Business Response: Company states: We did the job for them and we did some artificial turf. 9 months to a year later they wanted to add a section. We told them color and yarn colors change so when we came out there we installed the other grass. 6 months went by and they said they did not like it. We tried to call the manufacturer to have a match to best suit what was existing. That did not work. We offered to take it out and do the hardscape instead. She was upset and we believe they got upset and put in their own. I told them we could have come out there and pulled out what was there and re-use. We were even willing to work out for paying half of what was there. We did not ignore the situation and we even have the correspondence with her. The attempt was there and we understand that they were upset. But it is very hard to get the exact match and the fact is yarn does change. I have been out to their house three or four times. I still am willing to split that difference with them. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

When ***** came to give us a quote for additional grass, we told him we only wanted to add the grass if the color matched and there was a barely visible seam.  He said the grass came with a 10 year no fade warranty and he would do a great job on the seam.  The color is not the same and the installation is unprofessional.  But this is only part of the problem.  The problem is that he was unable to provide the same type of grass.  His quote states “CalGrass Pro Luxury blend”, which is supposed to be the same grass we have. This is not the grass he installed so there was never a chance that it might match.

He knew within 2 days that we were not happy with the grass.  During the next 6 months he told us he was calling factory representatives, trying to find the same grass. We were told a representative was coming out. No one came to the house. We had to initiate every call to get any information. He was told the grass had been discontinued.  The factory representative sent us samples from some old rolls, but they were NOT the same as the grass we had.

When it was confirmed that the wrong grass had been installed and the matching grass was discontinued, these are the solutions ***** offered:

1.  We could pay for the grass from an old roll and he would install at no charge.  We already paid for grass and the old roll was not the correct grass.
2.  He would give me back $900.00.  He said the grass was of no use to him because we have a dog. He would take the grass out.   We paid $1800.00 for the wrong grass.
3.  He would help with some other kind of landscape that we would pay for.  We don’t want any more hardscape and we don’t want to pay him any more money.

*****’s “attempts” to correct the situation were unacceptable.  We did not get what we ordered.


10/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Installed a putting green in backyard and after 3 months notice some settling on the green. Called CCS 3 times and left a message about the problem and have not returned my calls. Installed the putting green in July of 2013. Now I have several dips on my putting green that makes it difficult to putt.

Desired Settlement: Would like to have repaired.

Business Response: Company states: We have been in touch with the consumer and are currently working on a resolution.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. The company did contact me on 10/07/2014, but only to let me know that they did get the information from the BBB. The company will contact me within the next couple of weeks to schedule an appointment to fix the problem with my putting green. I will update when the company resolves the problem.

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered into a contract with CCS to have artificial grass installed, along with some other work. The original contract called for bender board to be installed between the grass and the rock bed (it's documented in the contract). The contract also states that there is a warranty on labor and materials for 10 years. The board wasn't installed and I didn't notice it. The owner, *****, claims that we discussed this in detail, but that's not what I remember. One day he stated that he installed a rock border in the front yard in order to prevent the neighbor from mowing or hitting our turf with a lawn mower or weed eater/edger. After he left rocks would end up on the grass and it becomes a rather annoying process to move the rocks back to the rock bed. I don't think a board would stop all the rocks, but it should cut down on the number that move across. The neighbors grass also is starting to grow into the rock bed because there is no border. I would like to have the boards installed as specified in the contract.I contacted ***** and spoke to him on the phone. He became very aggressive and stated that he did so much extra for me and I should be grateful for that. He comes across as aggressive and arrogant. He won't respond to me via the phone or text and he called me a liar (through the use of other words) via text. I don't think he has any intent on fulfilling his end of the contract and I'd like to figure out what options I have. I would be satisfied with the following.

Desired Settlement: Based on his behavior, I'm not sure that I want him on my property.1. He can come out and take the grass and rocks and give me a full refund.2. He can hire someone to fix the issue.3. He can pay me some agreed upon sum and I'll hire someone to finish the job.4. I would be willing to void the entire contract and warrant for $9,000.

Consumer Response: Consumer states complaint issues have been resolved.