BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Appliance Warehouse?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Appliance Warehouse meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Appliance Warehouse include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Appliance Warehouse
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1993 Business started locally: 01/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronics and Appliance Repair
4244 South Market Court, Suite D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
Fax Number: (916) 921-7279
HomeProducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 42124.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Kerry Toscano, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kerry Toscano, Owner
Business Category

Appliances - Small - Service & Repair Appliances - Small - Dealers


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Appliance Warehouse has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4926 Auburn Blvd

    Sacramento, CA 95841

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First of all Appliance Warehouse is baiting and switching potential customers of appliances using BBB leader ads. I went to the store on the morning of 8/6 looking for a top and bottom refrigerator because they ran a ad that said they were blowing out refrigerators and prices started at $135 and up all week. So I got $200 in cash and went to Appliance Warehouse because my family is moving and needs a cheap new refrigerator figuring I could get one "no problem" for that amount.I arrived at Appliance Warehouse and the first thing that struck me was how hot the inside of the store was and you also have to navigate a unsafe set of wooden rickety stairs to get to the outside "showroom" which was not anywhere close to the advertised prices on Craigslist that they had listed. They had one refrigerator listed for $165 that was a 1970's or 80's Roper model that when I opened it was filthy and smelled like old rotting meat, like I want to put my families food in that piece of trash, I think not. They had no other refrigerators for under $200 for top and bottom models. They were also advertising side by sides for $200 and up and they did not have one for under $275 this is classic bait and switch and they are using the BBB name to lure honest people like myself who only deal with business's that are registered with the BBB.Furthermore when I tried to ask about the Craiglist Ads they acted like they did not know what I was talking about price wise and said it was just a general ad they had placed on the site. I said no it was a very specific ad that you can see here **************************************************** that they are not honoring and have no intention of honoring at Appliance Warehouse. I feel Appliance Warehouse is a very shady business who are using the BBB name to make a profit off unsuspecting consumers who are in need of appliances quickly. Appliance warehouse are misrepresenting themselves online at Craigslist with bait & switch ads and what they are doing is wrong and illegal.

Desired Settlement: I want a apology and my gas money re-imbursed that I used to go down to Appliance Warehouse.

Business Response:


Dear *******,

I'm sorry you feel this way we definitely do not try and misrepresent our merchandise or our prices. We have been in business for over 20 years and have made a reputation that our children would be proud of and I am very proud that we have been members with an A+ rating for so long. In the used appliance business that is very rare!

Our inventory literally changes from hour to hour as we fix all kinds of our appliances all day long. We are used and what you may consider junk others do not. We try our best to clean and keep our items free from smells but staying closed up all day long sometimes yes they do get musty and sometimes flat out need to be rewashed !

As for our showroom and rickety stairs , which we had our contactor re do about a year ago , I assure you they are safe.

We again are used and this showroom is a huge step up from the chicken coop my husband and I started at 24 years ago.

 As you are upset with our store I am upset with all of the illegal home businesses and small shops that pay no workers comp, no sales tax, no Federal or State taxes for their employees, let alone no paid vacation and no sick leave.

These are the people that we are in competition with on **********....or they are flat out lying to people pretending they are private individuals when they are dealers in disguise!

We sell our cheap top/bottoms @ $135.00 as soon as we get them out on some days then other days they sit. But if we do not advertise our lowest prices how will our new customers know what they start at? In the last 3 days with the heat we have sold lots under the $200.00 price range but we restock everyday.

We also go over to our wash pad and check for new inventory for our customers all the time and you did not want to speak to a manager you just wanted to turn us in to the Better Business Bureau. I don't understand why people can't just talk anymore?

Why couldn't you just say hey what can you do for me? Can you see what's coming out?

And by the way, "you have a stinky frig back there...it needs to be rewashed!

It's all about expressing themselves on social media instead.

I am sorry for your experience and I will put on our new ads " while supplies last "

As for your compensation for your gas, it's with a heavy heart that it's come to this but I will send you a check today for $10.00 although I feel it's ridiculous since even if we had 10 refrigerators at $135.00 I highly doubt if they would have suited you.

Sincerely ,

***** *******

Appliance Warehouse

**** ****** *** *********** *** ***** ************


Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

 
I am being personally attacked and accused of going "social media" and being a unreasonable customer that would not be satisfied with a cheaper model which is simply untrue, I  went on to buy late 90's side by side refrigerator for $150 delivered from Midtown Appliances about 3 hours after I visited Appliance Warehouse which I also found on Craigslist. And to speak on the going "social media" I didn't blow you up Twitter or Facebook or any social media sites at all, but I can do that if you would like *****. All I did was simply filed a complaint with the BBB because what you are doing is wrong and illegal your just upset that you were called on it after 20 years of doing this to customers. Oh and by the way it has been very cool the last 5 days in Sacramento with the cloud cover and only on the day I came on the 6th did temps climb above 90 degrees so try again, and I am afraid your assurances as far as the safety of those stairs means nothing after seeing your lack of integrity when it comes to advertising. And you keep your filthy check because it was probably earned with a bait and switch scam on a more unsuspecting consumer. I find it very hard to believe that your a A+ rated business with the BBB after my only visit to Appliance Warehouse and your response back from this complaint should only further show the BBB that you are not worthy of the A+ that you purport to have *****.
 
**** ******

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used refrigerator on 4/14/14 from Appliance Warehouse found cockroach on refrigerator then found nest of them under and behind fridge by the motor area I have been in my home for 7 years never had problem like this before I take care of elder woman and have 2 great grandkids in the home age 5 and 8 months old , I called the company asked to speak with manager the person stated that they were not there and told them the problem they told me they don't have roach problem and they would have the owner or manager call me which I did not receive call back so I called again today on 7/1/14 asked for manager she told me no exchange and that she would speak to them again and call me back they did not . They also told me that they lived in my area and moved out because of roach problem which this comment upset me because like I said I have lived here for 7 years and never seen a roach , I am asking for resolution to this issue. please call me asap Thank you ****** **** ************

Desired Settlement: I told them I did not want money back but just to replace refrigerator they seemed like they did not want to talk to me .

Business Response:

On the customers 1st call in she called and asked for a manager or owner which we do screen our calls for solicitor purposes. When she told ****** what it was regarding my husband and co owner got right on the phone. He asked her how long she has had this refrigerator and her response was since the date of purchase of 4-14-2014 it was actually delivered on Tuesday 4-15-2014.  She stated that she had being seeing roaches for about 2 weeks but could not figure out where they were coming from. He told her that if the refrigerator had cockroaches that she would have seen them immediately.  She also stated that she saw them on the back bottom cardboard. I told her we  fully inspect all backs of refrigerators because we clean the fans and condensers of dust build up while checking the compressors. I also told her we have had Clark Pest Control coming to our shop for the last 20 years of business to do preventative maintenance. He told her at that point there was no way it's gone this long from the refrigerator and we don't feel the cockroaches came from us.    We later talked to our ***** ********** that comes weekly and he reconfirmed my husbands belief that they would have seen them within the 1st week.

My husband did tell her he would speak to me if to see if I had a different opinion which I didn't. But as members of the Better Business Bureau we will offer a full refund even though we truly do not believe that we are the cause and out of our 60 day warranty.   The refrigerator may in fact have cockroaches now as they will tend to go to the stove, refrigerator , dishwasher...basically anything where food is and can be brought in from anything.

 

Thank you for your help in this manner,

***** *******

Appliance Warehouse

************

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

6/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service