BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

River City Appliance Repair Inc.

Phone: (800) 634-1604 Fax: (916) 359-0441 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 255501, Sacramento, CA 95865 http://www.rivercityappliance.net

! BBB Business Review on River City Appliance Repair Inc. is being Updated by BBB!

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.



Additional Locations

  • PO Box 255501

    Sacramento, CA 95865 (800) 634-1604

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 483-1988(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

BBB's Business Review on this business is currently being updated. Therefore BBB cannot provide you with any information at this time.


Complaint Detail(s)

12/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While on site for a repair the service tech damaged my washer with estimated repair cost of over $800. The business now refuse to repair the damage. While trying to repair a faulty sensor in my washer, the service tech from river city appliance sheared off a bolt which holds the tub and motor together. This new damage will cost over $800 to repair as per River City appliance. Due to a lack of communication last week regarding when and if River City will agree to fix the damages at their cost I have become dissatisfied and untrusting of their service. When contacted by RC appliance on 11/9/2012 I was informed the replacement parts are in and ready to be installed. I then asked if they would only replace what they damaged so that I can contract another company to replace the sensor, a common problem. RC appliance office technician Jasmine informed me that 'management' has decided that both problems must be repaired by them or nothing will. I feel RC appliance should repair what they broke due to their negligence without conditions. Furthermore since this problems has gone on for two weeks I feel RC appliance should make all possible effort to repair said damages as soon as possible.

Desired Settlement: I would like River City appliance to repair the damage they caused without condition. Once those repairs are complete I would like the freedom to find another repair center to repair the original problem

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Company states that they are willing to go to the customers home and fix the damage done by their technician.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged a service call, but received no service.I called six times to speak with a manager to resolve the bill and have not received a call back I had a four year old LG dishwasher that was broken. I first call ***** appliance to come and look a it, and they determined that the motor was burned out. I paid them for their service call. With the knowledge of the problem I call River City Appliance Repair the only authorized LG repair company listed for Sacramento. When I spoke with there receptionist on April 26 she let me know she was new. I told her about my experience with my dishwasher, that it had already been looked at and they had determined that the problem was the motor. I asked her to set up an appointment for a repair and to order a new motor for the dishwasher. She asked me for the model number and serial number, and told me it would take a few days to order the part and then gave me an appointment. When the serviceman came to the door I asked him if he had brought the part with him. He let me know it was his day off and he had got called in so didn't know anything about it. He returned to his truck, to call the office. After 5-10min. he again rang the door bell and said he didn't believe the part had been ordered. So I said well I guess there is nothing that can be done today and I let him know my story of having already had it looked at and trying to decide whether or not to fix it or replace it. He did not do anything to the machine and he left. Several weeks later I received a bill for a service call. I promptly call River City to discuss the bill because I was sure it was just a misunderstanding. I spoke with the staff at length and asked her to please have the manager call me back. She said the manager was on vacation so it might be a week or so. I waited 10 to 15 days and called back, hoping to catch her. The office staff said she was out but would let her know to call me back. I never received a call and every time I have asked if I could speak with ***** the manager they said she was on vacation again or out of the office. Six different attempts to call and resolve the matter and I have yet to speak with ***** the manager for what seems to be just poor communication on their part to their own serviceman. This resulting in a bill for service that I never received and I clearly stated at the original phone conversation that I needed the serviceman to bring the part with him because I already paid for a service call that had determined the problem with the dishwasher.

Desired Settlement: River City should retract the bill for $75.00 and it would be nice if ***** the manager would call me to tell me.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We received a phone call for service on 4/26/12 for the following complaint on her appliance.(MOTOR WILL NOT MOVE OR ENGAGE. LIGHTS COME ON BUT WILL NOT WORK. FILLS W/ WATER ERROR MESS. "LE") We set up service for 5/3/12. She was advised of the service fee of $75.00. We did not guarantee we had the part in stock but that we do keep them on the truck as they are a fast moving part. We cannot determine over the phone what the problem is until we go out to the customer's home and diagnose the appliance. We cannot guarantee we have each and every part for the repair on the first visit. We do not go by alternate company diagnosis as an LE error code can be several different problems including a burnt wire. Our call takers are not service technicians and do not diagnose appliances over the phone. Our call takers cannot guarantee the technician will have the parts at the time of service. The customer did not pay river city appliance a trip charge for coming out to the home. If th customer paid an alternate company for a trip charge that is in addition to ours. our trip charge is not waived just because an alternate servicer diagnosed the appliance first. This is not a diagnostic charge. According to state of CA rules we do have the legal right to collect a trip charge even if we don't have a part on the truck as long as we advise the customers of the fee first. She was advised or our trip fee. CA law states ' an estimate as required (section 9844 of the California Business and professional code for repairs shall be given to the customer by the service dealer in writing, and the service dealer may not charge for work done or parts supplied in excess of the estimate without prior consent of the customer. WHERE PROVIDED IN WRITING, THE SERVICE DEALER MAY CHARGE A REASONABLE FEE FOR THE SERVICE PROVIDED IN DETERMINING THE NATURE OF THE MALFUNCTION IN PREPARATION OF A WRITTEN ESTIMATE FOR REPAIR. for information contact the Bureau of Electronic and Appliance Repair, Department of Consumer Affairs, Sac, CA XXXXX. We understand she wanted her appliance fixed that day. No one wants to wait for their appliance to be fixed but we could have ordered the part the day we came our and fixed the appliance within 2-3 days. She refused to pay the service charge fe but still owes us the trip charge if she had us fix it. Our estimate total included trip charge. The part required to fix her appliance is a fast moving part. It could have been on the truck the day she called in but used it on another customer's repair that same day. That is why we cannot guarantee we have the parts on the first visit. She refused to repair her unit and now is refusing to pay our fees for service based off a part we did not have on the truck. I advised the office to let her know we are due the trip charge even if she refuses to wait for the part to repair. In the service industry we use parts as needed. She believes just because another company diagnosed it that means she doesn't have to pay the next company because they didn't have the part. The office has relayed exactly what I instructed them to do, collect our service fee charge. I'm not sure if she has another issue. Most customers want to fix their appliance even if we have to order the part. Why she would refuse to repair her appliance based on the fact that we didn't have the part is questionable. Maybe she was upset because she realized she had to pay two trip charges and it cost her more than if she just had one company out to repair the appliance. I'm not sure why she didn't want to fix her appliance but we are still due our service fee call.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business mislead customer on warranty status of washer, leading to unnecessary service call. Will not offer refund based on their deception. On July 2, 2012 I called River City Appliance about the warranty status and service options for a Frigidaire washing machine that had been making unusual noises and subsequently stopped spinning. We had bought the machine around this time last year at a garage sale from a person who stated that it had been their grandmother's who had passed, and so it did not come with paperwork. We provided *******, the receptionist for River City Appliance, with the Model #********** and Serial #XCXXXXXXXX and she told us that it was a 2009 model and according to the owner's manual both the motor and tub were currently still under warranty (motor for first 5 years, tub for first 25 years), and we set up a service call for July 3 at a cost of $75. The next day the technician named ******, who I later find out to be the manager, comes out and assesses that the tub, tub seal, and shell rear bearing all need to be replaced, and that the shock and pulley might still be ok but he couldn't make that conclusion yet. Of those parts, only the tub is under warranty, which would have cost $302.25, but should be covered by Frigidaire. He also now believes the unit is a 1999 model and leaves with $75 cash in hand, leaving two quotes: $640.94 for repairs if the shock and pulley are good, $802.84 if they are not. Either way he needs "authorization" to continue work. My brother, who was present during all the service call (I was not), calls me and relays all of this to me. I immediately call River City and speak to ******* again to ask what authorization means. She says we need authorization from Frigidaire to get the warrantied part, and that now she needs paperwork stating proof of purchase, which she never indicated we would need at any point before this time. I call Frigidaire and they tell me that according to the model and serial number it is a 2009 model and it is out of warranty, because all models from 2006 only have 1 year warranties. I also ask if we would need paperwork or proof of purchase to continue had it been covered, and the Frigidaire employee says that if we have the machine, we own the machine, no paperwork needed. I call ******* again and demand to know how an authorized Frigidaire repair center and Frigidaire cannot come to the same conclusion about the warranty status of my machine. She says that she'll try to get ahold of them today as there are only a few minutes left before they close. If she can't, she get back to me Thursday July 5 as they are closed for the July 4. Forward to today, Friday July 6, ******* calls me early in the morning leaving a voicemail that she spoke to Frigidaire, it is in fact a 1999 model, that it was registered to another owner, and that the warranty is non-transferable. To be clear, it was never at any point eligible for warrantied parts or service once it was in our possession. I call her back and tell her that she was the only one who had ever indicated that it was under warranty, and had we known that not a single part was covered, there was no way that we would have made the service appointment. I ask for a refund due to the fact that we were completely mislead about the warranty status of my machine. She denies my request, saying she never meant to mislead me. I refuse to accept her position, as her business should claim responsibility for any misinformation they divulge, especially when it leads to out of pocket and wasted costs for the customer. She again refuses my request. I say that whether or not she meant to mislead, River City Appliance must be responsible for their actions, otherwise this is a dishonest business practice and I will file a claim with the BBB. She advises that I do so. I am doing so now.

Desired Settlement: I simply want the $75 back that we would have never spent had River City Appliance done their due diligence and told us that our machine was not under warranty.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** DOMINGUEZ Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@SUREWEST.NET RESPONSE- CUSTOMER CALLED IN ASKING WHAT OUR CHARGES WERE TO COME OUT AND DIAG HIS UNIT. I ADVISED HIM OF OUR $75.00 SERVICE CHARGE FEE AND LET HIM KNOW THAT WE ARE FACTORY AUTHORIZED FOR HIS PRODUCT AND THAT IF THERE WERE ANY EXTENDED WARRANTIES ON HIS UNIT THE TECHNICIAN WOULD LET HIM KNOW AT THE TIME OF SERVICE. THE CUSTOMER THEN ASKED IF I COULD FIND OUT OVER THE PHONE WHAT MAY BE COVERED AND IF WE CAN TELL WHEN THE PRODUCT WAS MANUFACTURERED. I ADVISED HIM THAT HE COULD LOOK ON HIS OWNERS MANUAL TO SEE IF THERE WERE ANY EXTENDED PART WARRANTIES AND THAT PER THE SERIAL NUMBER IT LOOKS LIKE IT WAS MADE IN 2009. WE DO NOT HAVE A COMPUTER SYSTEM THAT TELLS US EXACTLY THE DATE WE CAN ONLY READ THE SERIAL NUMBERS. HIS SERIAL NUMBER IS XCXXXXXXXX. THE BREAKDOWN OF READING THE SERIAL NUMBER IS THE FIRST NUMBER IS THE YEAR IT WAS MANUFACTURERED. TO ME THAT READ 2009. SINCE HIS UNIT WAS PURCHASED USED IT WAS ACTUALLY A 1999 MODEL. THE CUSTOMER ADVISED ME THAT HE DID NOT HAVE AN OWNERS MANUAL SO I LET HIM KNOW THAT IF HE HAD HIS MODEL NUMBER THAT THEY ARE AVAILABLE TO VIEW ON FRIGIDAIRES WEBSITE. HE STATED THAT HE WASN'T AVAILABLE TO LOOK ONLINE SO I ADVISED HIM THAT I COULD READ THE WARRANTY SUMMARY TO HIM IF HE WOULD LIKE. I READ FROM THE OWNERS MANUAL ONLINE THAT THE UNIT HAD EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THE TWO PARTS LISTED ON COMPLAINT BUT THAT IN ORDER TO TRUELY KNOW WHAT MAY BE COVERED AND WHAT WILL NOT BE COVERED THE TECHNICIAN WOULD HAVE TO COME OUT AND DIAG THE UNIT AND LET HIM KNOW AT THE TIME OF SERVICE REGARDING ANY WARRANTIES THREW THE MANUFACT. THE CUSTOMER DID NOT MENTION THAT HE PURCHASED THIS UNIT USED AND PER FRIGIDAIRE WARRANTIES ARE NON-TRANSFERABLE. I LET THE CUSTOMER KNOW THAT WE ARE JUST A DISPATCHING OFFICE AND I CAN ONLY READ OFF INFORMATION TO HIM. I ADVISED HIM MULTIPLE NUMBER OF TIMES THAT THE TECHNICIAN WOULD LET HIM KNOW OF ALL WARRANTIES AT THE TIME OF SERVICE AND THAT I WAS JUST READING OFF INFORMATION TO HIM THAT IS NOTHING IS DEFINITE UNTIL THE TECHNICIAN COMES OUT AND DIAG HIS UNIT. I ALSO LET HIM KNOW THAT IF HE WAS NOT HAPPY WITH THE ESTIMATE AT THE TIME OF SERVICE FOR ANY REASON THAT ALL HE WOULD BE RESPONSABLE FOR IS OUR SERVICE CHARGE FEE IF HE DECIDED TO SCHEDUL. HE THEN PROCEEDED TO SCHEDULE SERVICE WITH US. THE TECHNICIAN WENT OUT AND SERVICED THE UNIT AND FOUND THE PARTS WERE NOT COVERED. CUSTOMER THEN CALLED ME AND STATED HE WOULD LIKE A REFUND BECAUSE HE FELT THAT OUR COMPANY MISLEAD HIM. I ADVISED HIM THAT I WAS JUST ANSWERING HIS QUESTIONS TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE AND RESOURCES BUT THAT NOTHING WAS GUARANTEED BEFORE WE EVEN SCHEDULED.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lowes called river city appliance river city appliances sent a service tech to our house,to diagnost our washing machine.well the guy was performing the diagnost from the machine his office called him called him alot after him not answering the phone his office called my wife phone and saying that he has to go to another job and leave the technition said he is not done diagnosting the machine and they said for him to go to a different job during this time, our washing machine was running, with laundry inside for him to diagnost the machine.after the call he left without doing anything but push a button to the machine and asking my wife for the manual.and saying its new model machine and doesnt know how to open it. in the end he gave a bill and asking for money. my wife said lowes has to take care of them and refused to pay, because of them not doing anything to the machine. the next day we went to lowes and talked to stephanie the store manager,and told them the story about what had happened with the technition at our house. we have benn having the washing machine for over a year, and lowes came out and took the machine, the next 3 days and replaced it with a brand new one.the machine had manufacter defects, smelly clothes, and rinse cycle was bad and not squezzing the water out. that was what we wanyed to show the technition from river city appliances, but he did not wait, he left in the middle of the cycle before the machine stopped. now they are sending my wife to collection for unpaid bill and ruining her credit.

Desired Settlement: we are seeking for them to dismiss the 100 dollar bill and retriet our name from the collection.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response We advised Mrs. ****** regarding limitations of her Whirlpool warranty before setting up an appoitment and she was advised that if the diagnosis was not covered under her factory warranty there would be a service charge fee for coming out. Mrs. ****** agreed to it over the phone. An appointment was made for service by *******. Our service technician **** spend over an hour trying to find a problem with the appliance and he could not find any problem. Whirlpool warranty does not cover our trip charge for nothing found wrong with any appliance as stated in the owners manual. Our service technician tried collecting payment of $75.00 as advised by *******. The customer refused to pay stating **** did nothing. The customer was very upset with out technician and was advised by the service manager to leave. ******* called Mrs. ****** on antoher dayto collect teh trip charge and advised her the trip charge is due of $75.00. Mrs. ****** refused the pay the trip charge. We advised her that if she doesn't pay she will be sent to collections. Mrs. ****** put her husband on the phone at that point Mrs. ****** was very upset. Mr. ****** tried to argue that our service technician didn't do anything. The department of consumer affairs B.E.A.R. states in section( ) that we are intitled to a service call fee for coming out to prepare a written estimate. The rule is we have to advise our customer of our trip charge before setting up service. ******* advised her we have a $75.00trip charge and documented it. Mrs. ****** was advised she would be charged if the warranty would not cover the service charge fee. We are in the repair business and do not like having to charge the consumer for our fees. We advised Mrs. ****** to call Whirlpool to see if they would give her a special authorization to cover our trip charge. They declined to help Mrs. ******. We do not make up the warranty limitations & guidlines but we do have to follow the rules. Mrs. ****** needs to dispute the charges with her warranty company after paying our fee. We advised her and now she refuses to pay. We advsied her of a late charge fee of $25.00 as specified on the back of our invoice. It says that if any warranty company fails to pay for the repair or trip charge that the customer would submit payment within 10 days. We sent her notice of the late payment fee before charging her. Mrs. ****** refused to pay our bill after mailing it to her. Now were are getting a complaint from the BBB.

Consumer's Final Response (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) yes we agreed to pay for a diagnostic for the machine, not for your technition to come out and study the maintence guide of the washer machine, and after he studied the book he said this must be a new model of the washer machine because i have no idea how to open it. then he told my wife to put clothes in the machine and start the cycle.during the machine was running he did nothing but talk to my wife. his phone ringed and his office advised him to leave. the washer machine was not diagnost except he looked at the washer machine and read the book. the machine was still running it was about 15 minutes left on the machine till it stoped, and we told him that the problem is with not rinsing the clothes properly and has a bad odor. if he would of waited till the machine was done, he would of seen what the problem was but he left with out doing nothing and now they are demanding to pay for him not doing nothing. in the end lowes sent his own people to take the machine and replace it with a new one we already had the machine for one year and the returning policy expired after 30 days of purchasing the machine. if was nothing wrong with the machine wouldnt lowes refuse for the machine to be returned, but the machine had a deffect, not rinsing the water out of the clothes, and having a bad odor. river city appliances does not train their employees in the new technology so they know when a new machine comes out to know what to do,or detect the problem into the machine.so my problem is why pay somebody that paid nothing and wasted my time for me to be home and not doing my own things that i was supposed to do. river city appliances is not qualified to go in anybodys home and work on their appliances accept to rip people off and ruin their credit.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1