Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Lake Appliance Repair?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Lake Appliance Repair

Phone: (866) 264-9578 View Additional Phone Numbers 8146 Greenback Lane Ste 102, Fair Oaks, CA 95628 http://www.LakeApplianceRepair.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Lake Appliance Repair provides affordable quality service and repair on most makes and models of major home appliances.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lake Appliance Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lake Appliance Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Lake Appliance Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 13, 2006 Business started: 01/15/2005 in CA Business incorporated: 02/07/2007 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronics and Appliance Repair
4244 South Market Court, Suite D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
Fax Number: (916) 921-7279
HomeProducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 45035.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott McConnell, President Mrs. Krystle McConnell, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Krystle McConnell, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Scott McConnell, President
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair

Hours of Operation
M: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Su: Closed
Refund and Exchange Policy
You will receive a 90 day warranty on parts we provide and install, 90 day warranty on our labor, and we will honor any estimate for 90 days.
Service Area
Yolo, Placer, Sacramento, El Dorado counties and surrounding areas.
Alternate Business Names
Folsom Lake Appliance, Inc.
Products & Services

We can repair your dishwasher, refrigerator, freezer, ice maker, microwave, wine cooler, washer, dryer, oven, stove, range, and more! Brands include Amana, Thermador, Bosch, Jenn-Air, DCS, Fisher & Paykel, LG Electronics, Sub Zero, Viking, and more!


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Lake Appliance Repair has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8146 Greenback Lane Ste 102

    Fair Oaks, CA 95628

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/9/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $89.99 for Lake Appliance to repair my dryer. After two visits, Lake Appliance was unsure which parts they were to replace in order to fix the dryer successfully. Prior to the date of the actual repair, I received a call from the owner stating that they were going to replace two parts as a method of "throwing everything at it", and stated that if doing so does not fix the issue, then they may have to give up on this dryer. I told him I understood, after all it is a very wonky issue. Since the owner expressed the parts may not fix the issue, I contacted the manufacture of the dryer to have them make a warranty exception and cover the cost. Lake Appliance repair, replaced 2 parts and billed the manufacture. The day after the repair I emailed Lake Appliance to request that they refund the $89.99 that I paid, since I got the dryer under warranty. They declined. I emailed back, and stated my case, which prompted a call from the owner. After a 10 minute into the conversation, the owner accused me of extorting him because I said I will state my case to the BBB, and share my experience on yelp. He then told me he would no longer do business with me. The day after my conversation with the owner (Laundry day), I used my dryer and on the 3rd load the issue came back. The dryer powered off, within 30 seconds of starting the 3rd load. So I am still having an intermittent issue with my dryer (after running for about an hour or so, the dryer will stop unexpectedly).Because I told him I would take this to the BBB, the owner is accusing me of extortion, said he will no longer do business with me. Yet my dryer is still broken after paying to have it fixed and after the manufacture paid to have it fixed. The owner also accused me of extortion PUBLICLY on Yelp. His refusal to do business with me and public insult has precluded him from honoring the 90 day guarantee on the repair for which I paid. But after him insulting me publicly I no longer want his company at my home again.

Desired Settlement: Since Lake Appliance has expressed they will no longer do business with me and insulted me with accusations of extortion, he has rescinded the 90 day guarantee. Since the dryer is still having the issue which they predicted it may, I think it is fair they at least refund the $89.99 which was the cost of the repair AND the guarantee, both of which are not completed.I request that the owner remove his accusations from Yelp, that I am extorting him by taking my complaint to the BBB

Business Response:

****** ****** called Lake Appliance Repair on 12/29/2014 because his ** dryer was not starting. We sent our technician **** to ******'s residence on 12/31/2014. **** found that there was a problem with the main power control board as he noticed the dryer shutting down after one minute of running. **** quoted the customer parts and labor and instructed the customer to test the machine a few more times in case it was just a loose connection that **** was able to repair.

He also instructed the customer to contact ** to potentially get them to provide a one-time only concession for parts and labor as ** typically provides excellent customer service. The customer just paid the $89.95 service charge. On 01/02/2015 the customer called back and approved the repairs to be completed. We indicated that we'd have to order the part and that they were not in stock. On 01/08/2015 the customer called us back after obtaining an authorization from ** for the part and labor to repair the control board as suggested by our technician. This is a savings to the customer of $346.57 that would otherwise not have been done without our company being factory authorized by ** and the suggestion we offered. We care about our customers and this is one way we are able to help. On 1/8/15 when **** arrived back to the customers house to install the power board he realized that the motor had failed. This was not caught at the first appointment because he had an apparent power failure.

Without power and a running machine it wasn't detected by our technician that another part was perhaps at fault. Sadly, we didn't have the motor and had to order and return with the part. On 1/20/15 the motor arrived. When we called the customer to get him back on schedule we were hung up on multiple times. Perhaps there was just a connection issue between the phone lines. We called again on 1/21/15 and the phone rang and rang. After calling again on 1/21/15 we were able to schedule the follow up appointment on 1/27/15. On 1/27/15 **** removed the defective dryer motor and installed a new motor. We tested the operation and found everything to be working as per specs. We never installed a second part; the control board since the unit worked perfectly after the motor was installed. ****** ****** feels we were paid twice because he paid a $89.95 service charge and ** paid their contracted $100 labor. ****** paid for our service charge - something he agreed to pay over the phone upon his initial schedule with our company.

He was quoted $346.57 for parts and labor in which ended up being covered by ** (at a lesser contracted amount). We actaully took a loss in revenue by suggesting this route to ******, but it's what we like to do; save our customers money. We feel ****** is trying to extort money from a small business doing a good job and threaten with negative reviews to get money back. We wouldn't be in business if we folded for every customer who tried taking advantage in that way. We certainly aren't getting rich by repairing appliances. We are an honest company; not installing parts that aren't necessary, saving consumers money in any way we are able, etc. In addition, we had a recorded phone call from the owner and ******. In this phone call the owner, Scott, asked ****** if everything was working. ****** said, "It is working great but why should you get paid twice." We feel the customer is now stating his dryer isn't working in another attempt to get his service charge back.

We warranty our work and have never refused to work for ****** ******. If he is having a problem with his dryer we are happy to see what the issue might be as we stand 100% behind our work. The customer is complaining about our response to his negative Yelp review. We have a right to respond to his accusations about the service we provide. If he doesn't want our comments on a public website, he can delete his review, which would delete our comments simutaneously. Again, I will state - we have NEVER refused to do business with Mr. ****** ****** and we stand behind our decision to keep the $89.95 service charge he is disputing. We provided an excellent service to ****** and he agreed to the charge. We saved him a lot of money and we don't understand how one couldn't see the value we provided for the $89.95. Sorry we were unable to satisfy ****** ****** to his expectations.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
Lake Appliance Repair continually focuses on what happened during the repair, and the billing discrepancy I brought up DURING the repair. This issue is moot.
The primary issue at hand, which Lake Appliance Repair continually ignores is this:
Lake Appliance repair was paid by me to fix the dryer, and the dryer issue is still continuing to have problem.

The issue with the dryer is that it INTERMITTENTLY powers off, after it has been running for 2-3 hours. This is the reason why I took video of the dryer powering off and emailed it to them, because it takes so long to reproduce. It takes about 2-3 loads before the issue occurs (For now, the issue will get worse I’m sure). This was communicated to Lake Appliance repair, over the phone and in person before they started working on it.  Therefore, in order for the tech to reproduce the issue he would have to run it for 2-3 hours. In order for the tech to CONFIRM the replacement parts fixed the problem, he have to run it for 2-3 hours. The tech replaced the part. Ran it for 5 minutes and said “Fixed!” . I again told him that in order to make sure it was fixed I will have to run it for a while. He said no problem, call me if it occurs again. No Rush, after all they have a 90 day guarantee on their work right? So I let him go.

A few days later BEFORE I could really test the dryer, I called and spoke to ***** regarding a billing question (the question with ***** continually brings up, as a strawman tactic to ignore the primary complaint that the dryer is not fixed). We got in a somewhat heated discussion regarding the billing question which led the Owner ***** telling me  “We will no longer do business again”. This is when he also told me that I am extorting him for going to **** and BBB.   2 days later after our phone call, was laundry day. I use the dryer, and on the 3rd load the dryer powers down.  However, now I’m out of luck because I just got in a heated discussion with ***** the owner and he told me he won’t be doing business with me. I was going to let it go, after all it’s only $89, no big deal. I took his accusations as a personal insult and I also want nothing to do with him or his business. But after thinking about it more, I feel consumers need to speak up. If everyone just let it go, they will continue to get away with it. And to add insult to injury I paid money for a service and that service was never fulfilled. So that is the reason for the **** Reviews, and that is the Reason for the BBB complaint. But again Lake Appliance repair is trying to direct attention to the billing discussion over the phone and make about that.


The owner stated in his reply to my original complaint:
“*****, asked ****** if everything was working. ****** said, "It is working great but why should you get paid twice.” This is a flat out lie. I never said that.
Lake Appliance repair claims they have this conversation recorded. SO DO I. I just listed to the recording and I never said that. Lake Appliance Repair is flat out lying about this. I challenge Lake Appliance Repair to provide the recording of me saying this.

Lake Appliance repair also states in their reply “We warranty our work and have never refused to work for ****** ******”
This is also a lie. Again I have the recording of our conversation, ***** said “We will no longer be doing business with you” and I can provide the recording to BBB and Lake Appliance repair of ***** saying this.  I can will prove that not only does this business lie, but also question the validity of their claim that they are an “Honest business”.

So To Recap:
- Lake Appliance Repair was paid for a Job and the Job was not completed. The business owner is ignoring this fact.
- The Owner of Lake Appliance Repair told me “I won’t be doing business with you again” (Which I have a recording of) and accused me of extortion over the phone and on **** because I mentioned I would go to **** and BBB. (They don’t want to be outed). Therefore not honoring their agreement
- Lake Appliance repair is Lying about me saying the dryer worked fine, and I can prove it. I also have a recording of the call they are speaking of.
- Lake Appliance repair is NOT HONORING their own 90 day guarantee.
- Being that Lake Appliance repair is continually lying about me saying things that were simply not said (Which I can prove with the recorded call) They have made this a personal insult and they are not welcome at my home. I want nothing to do with this company.  I will prove they are lying and ignoring their guarantee and they are the epitome of a dishonest business.

To Lake Appliance Repair:
- I am telling you that the dryer still is not fixed. What is your response to this? You need to respond to this. Are you going to stand up to your guarantee or not?
- Also I challenge you to provide the recording of me saying “The dryer is working great” when I spoke with ***** which you claim. Prove I said that; Provide the recording.  
- Your opportunity to look at my dryer again is gone after you have insulted me and lied about me saying things that I never said to make me look like I’m extorting you. This lie and insult has brought this to a  personal level and you are not welcome at my home.

To prospective customers: Be very very careful dealing with this company, or you will end up like me. At the very least pay with a credit card so you can dispute the charges when they do not honor their guarantee. Hopefully knowing this is a possibility, it would keep them honest.

To past and future customers: If you too have been burned by this company, Speak up! Write **** reviews, file a complaint with BBB, these people need to be outed. Two thing are going to happen: Either they get outed, or get smart and stop their shenanigans in fear of being outed. But that can only happen if consumers speak up!


Business Response: As you feel about us, we feel there are certainly statements that have been made by you that are completley false. We will not respond to the accusations you bring forth in your complaint; they are simply NOT true. If we were in fact as horrible as you make us sound I can assure you we'd have many more complaints than we have. Consumers would not accept it. We take pride in the service we provide and the business we have built. 

We regretfully accept your rejection, ******. We are very sorry it got to this point and that we couldn't satisfy your expectations. Your comments don't go unheard. You may not think so, but we use all comments, complaints, reviews, etc as training in each meeting we hold every month.


Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: Case in point, as you can see the business is not acknowledging the initial complaint. They are simply ignoring it. Meanwhile I got the dryer issue resolved. But this goes to show that Lake Appliance Repair will just ignore any claim to their guarantee if they simply choose to by saying "We accept your rejection".  My problem is fixed, no thanks to them, case closed, want nothing more to do with these people

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company was called to repair a faulty microwave unit in a microwave oven combo. A tech came and replaced a part, but the oven part stopped functioning We have a 20 year old microwave oven combo unit in which the microwave stopped working few weeks back. We called Lake appliance repair to fix the uwave portion and the tech arrived really soon and on time. After a lot of work, he found the issue on the microwave and replaced a switch for 232 bucks in total (service+labor+parts). This was professional and good work and I had no problem with it. The evening the repair was done, we found that the oven stopped working/the control panel for oven stopped responding. I called the company back the next morning and a tech was sent home this morning to take a look at the new issue. They diagnosed and said that it is a non-fixable issue and that I had to replace the entire unit. When I questioned them on what happened, they said it was a coincidence that the oven went out the same day as the microwave and that they didn't have anything to do with it. They also started questioning whether the oven was broken in the first place and that I mislead them and that the tech didn't do anything with it (if this was the case, I would have swapped the entire unit at once rather than waste 240 bucks on repair and the fact that we have food residue on the oven from usage a day earlier shows that the oven worked fine till the professional touched it). They gave me an analogy of faulty transmission and engine over the phone. Totally unprofessional response and the fact that the second tech who came in didn't even talk to the first tech on what happened, what was repaired and what was touched spoke volumes about their service. Since they broke the oven combo unit, they will need to help in replacing it.

Desired Settlement: 1. Refund of Repair charges for the microwave repair of 232 dollars (I will also file a dispute on my credit card). 2. Need to pay a fair share of the replacement unit. I will pay a small part since the oven unit is pretty old, but they will need to pay a lion's share of the replacement. I don't believe in coincidences of one related unit failing the day a tech touched it and not even sending the same tech who touched it in the first place is not fair game and not professional.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@LakeApplianceRepair.com Mr. *** **** called us out to repair his 20 year old microwave/oven combination unit. We went out to his home and found the micro switch had short circuit to ground. We quoted the customer for the repair of his microwave and he approved. We had the part and installed it, tested the microwave, which now worked well, and went on our way. The customer called us the next day and said his oven is now not working. We sent a different technician to his home, free of charge as a recheck, to see what the issue was. This technician is a 15 year vet and did come prepared with all of the history from the microwave repair we did the day prior contrary to what Mr. *** **** stated. We sent **** rather than the first technician because **** was in his area and we wanted to get the customer seen as soon as possible. Our technician found that the oven control had a failure. We could not get the control to respond. We found the control had a blown fuse. We replaced the fuse and got a portion of the control functional. Unfortunately we found the oven control was no longer available and unable to be rebuilt. Being a 20 year old unit, this is not completely uncommon. Mr. *** **** assumes that because this failure took place after our technician left his home that our technician caused this failure. It is highly unlikely that changing the micro switch would cause the control to fail. It is very unfortunate this has happened, but the unit is 20 years old and does not have a life expectancy over 15 years according to the manufactures of micro/ovens. Mr. *** **** stated he thought our technicians accused him of knowing about the oven failure prior to us coming out. Our company would never finger point blame; we are in the business of resolving issues, not creating them. Because of the unfortunate timeline of events, and without taking any fault, we offered to refund the customer in full for the microwave repair we made on the first trip out. This was based on the fact that we could not prove that our technician didn't cause the failure. The customer had bought a new unit and got rid of the old unit before I, as a service manager, could inspect anything. The customer insisted that we pay for half of a brand new appliance and a full refund of the microwave repair. A brand new unit is approx $2500. Keeping in mind, this customer got a good 20 years out of the machine he was replacing. In absolute no way was this fair for him to pin on us. However we understand how it could like this way. We then found out that he had a previous service company out to fix his oven before we ever serviced the microwave. The service didn't go well for Mr. *** **** which is why he called us. I don't have any further details regarding this service but wish I did. I ended up offering this customer a full refund AND out of good will my services to install the new appliance he was having delivered. He declined. We issued a full refund to his credit card before he could dispute it with his credit card company to save anymore headaches. We are truly upset about this situation and wish it could have been avoided. We feel we were more than fair and without fault. Sometimes we just won't win; this is one of those situations.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I never knew businesses will pay up if I remove bad reviews from customer sites and should have atleast thought the right way with the first offer they made. Since this is going nowhere and they still claim it was accidental and have costed me my paycheck, I will follow up at small claims court.

Business' Final Response
1). I did only speak with the customer after he lodged the complaints with BBB and *****'s List because he never have me, the owner, the opportunity to discuss the issue before he complained. I take complaints VERY seriously which is why I contacted him at the first sign of dissatisfaction. 2). I did offer to refund him in full and pay for the installation of a new unit (as a good will gesture, not because we felt we caused any of this damage). A part of our offer was contingent on him reversing/editing his negative words on review websites which affect our reputation. When he refused our offer, which we felt was more than fair (again, because we honestly feel we did nothing wrong in this unfortunate situation) we agreed that we were not going to come to an arrangement. The customer was taking advantage of the situation on not being fair. He had received 20 years worth of usage on this machine, well over the life expectancy given for that product. 3). We ABSOLUTLEY did voluntarily refund 100% of all the charges the customer ever paid to our customer. We have proof. I refunded the charges and about 4+ hours later we received a phone call from the customers credit card company asking about the services we rendered. I informed the credit card company that we issued a refund 4 hours prior and he was charged nothing for any of the services he received from us. The credit card company was satisfied with this and I have voice recordings to prove this and date/time stamps of when the refund was processed on our end. This customer is trying to take advantage of a small business and we have made an offer which is more than fair and the customer refuses. We can't and won't win them all. I feel confident that this customer is in the wrong and we did everything possible to make it right. Look at our BBB and *****'s List ratings and you will see for yourself that we are not out to lie, cheat, break, or do any wrong to our customers. I regret that this situation has gotten as far as it has but we don't feel it is fair for a consumer to try and strong arm a legitimate, honest company to try and get more that what is right. Sorry we could not make things right for this customer.