Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Direct Appliance

Additional Locations

Phone: (209) 238-3000 Fax: (209) 238-0151 2424 Mchenry Ave, Modesto, CA 95350 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.directappliance.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Direct Appliance offers appliance repair and retail services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Direct Appliance meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Direct Appliance include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Direct Appliance
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 24, 2009 Business started: 12/15/1997 in CA Business incorporated 12/26/2001 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronics and Appliance Repair
4244 South Market Court, Suite D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
Fax Number: (916) 921-7279
HomeProducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 43862.

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00969761.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ron Winter, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ron Winter, President
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair Appliances - Major - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Direct Appliance Flooring & Home Outlet Direct Flooring & Home Modesto Direct Appliance Inc.
Products & Services

Direct Appliance provides sales, service & repair of major appliances.


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On approx. March 9,2015 I ordered by phone a trash compactor from Direct Appliance. I gave a salesman by the name of ****** A **** credit card number. Charges of $1,666.04 were made to my account. I was told that I woulld be able to pick up the item in a week or less. On Thursday March 17,2015 I called and was told the compactor would be there the next day. I called and was told the compactor did not arrive, but would surely be there on Monday March 20,2015. On Monday March 20,2015 I called and was told the supplier fo Direct Appliance did not have the trash compactor and one would be coming from the factory. A week later I called Direct Appliance and was told the item was lost in transit. I explained to the sales person that I frequently order items from the East Coast and am able to track the items location any time of the day or night. I was told he did not have that ability????? I was then told that another order was placed and the trash compacter would arrive April 7, 2015. I called Direct Appliance today April 8th and was told they had tracked the appliance and it would be there today. Two weeks ago they could not track shipments and now they can. At this point my experience has been terrible I do not wish to have the appliance and ask to have my credit card credited. I was told that if I drove to Modesto (one hour away) I could present my credit card and get credit. I questioned why I could do $1,666.04 business over the phone and now have to drive two hours round trip to get a credit. The answer was that **** would charge for a credit without my card. Direct Appliance has had my money for approx.a month and say they well not refund my credit card with a my being there. This is getting more long winded than I had planned. I will finish be saying the the sales rep. ****** hung up on me during disscussion and disagreement on this issue.

Desired Settlement: Refund to my **** account with out me driving two hours to accomplish this.

Consumer Response: Consumer states that the business has contacted him directly and resolved the situation to his satisfaction. Business informed consumer that the charge will be refunded to the credit card. They did say that it may take up to 45 days due to expected  processing time. Consumer would like to thank the business for their prompt response.

12/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not received a griddle or warranty on a purchase made in 10/29/12.I have over 5 phone calls in on trying to get what was promissed and paid for On 10/29/2012 We purchased a GE Cafe Range *********. The Sales Person was *******. We bought the Range used and in perfect condition except the griddle was missing. ******* said he would order a griddle for us at no charge since it was supposed to come with the Cafe Range. He would get that to us in a couple of weeks along with the 5 Year Warranty that we purchased. I still don't have either of them. ******* keeps telling me that he doesnt know why its not there. I made two undocumented calls and four doucumented 11/2, said griddle was due in 11/20, 12/4 Said he had warrenty and expected griddle in by 12/6, On 12/17 I left a message that was not returned, 12/19 Said he didn't know why griddle wasn't in and he would call them 12/20. Decided to file a complaint.

Desired Settlement: I expect the Griddle and warranty to be at my home by end of month.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Just received this complaint on my desk and when I pulled the customer's file, it shows the griddle and warranty were both signed for as received by the customer right after she inititiated this complaint. With the upcoming holidays, it may have crossed paths? Should be noted that Direct Appliance went out of its way to provide extra customer service on an as-is range that was purchased at our Outlet. We can only order and deliver parts as they come in from the manufacturer, we do not feel that a BBB filing is in any way relevant unless it is filed with the manufacturer who makes the product. Regardless, we made a promise to the customer, were in constant contact with her, and delivered on that promise. Customer has signed that she received both items in good condition and is satisfied with the delivery of the products.