BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A - 1 Appliance Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A - 1 Appliance Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A - 1 Appliance Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 16, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1995 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1995 Business incorporated: 03/24/1997 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronics and Appliance Repair
4244 South Market Court, Suite D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
Fax Number: (916) 921-7279
HomeProducts@dca.ca.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Mary Pignata, CFO Mr. Marshall McComas, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Marshall McComas, President
Principal: Ms. Mary Pignata, CFO
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair Appliances - Installation Appliances - Small - Service & Repair

Alternate Business Names
MacFisher Company, Inc.
Products & Services

A-1 Appliance Service is a factory authorized appliance dealer and they also service major household kitchen and laundry appliances.


Additional Locations

  • 2351 Sunset Blvd Ste 170 Pmb 502

    Rocklin, CA 95765 (530) 622-6052 (530) 677-0459 (530) 889-2720 (916) 444-5429 (916) 481-0263 (916) 632-1322 (916) 725-3160 (800) 417-5502

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (530) 622-6052(Phone)
  • (530) 677-0459(Phone)
  • (530) 889-2720(Phone)
  • (916) 444-5429(Phone)
  • (916) 481-0263(Phone)
  • (916) 632-1322(Phone)
  • (916) 725-3160(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A-1 Appliance Service cashed my $446.24 check even when the repair man said he could repair my refrig. A repair man came out from A-1 Appliance Service on 8/8/13 t repair my 6 year old GE Refrigerator. The repair person said he had a part in the truck and put a new mother board in. I noticed it was not the right repair part number. This was on the weekend. The refrigerator did not work any better than when it had the old motherboard. I called again on Monday. He put the new motherboard in (the correct one) and he said that it was not working correctly with the new motherboard and it was not worth fixing. I asked for my check back as it had not been cashed yet. The repair man said he took it to his office in Rockland. I called the office the next morning.......... and a very nice lady said that they had the check in the office. If I gave her a bank card or a credit card for the $40, they would return my check uncashed. I gave them what they needed........ and the next morning........ My check was cashed. I have spoken to ***** ***** and a woman since all of this went down and I have still not receive my back. They kept my $446.24 and used it for operating costs while their customer (me) went without. Not a good way to do business.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I am seeking all of my money back. $446.24. This company is not an honest company to do business with and their customer service skills have a lot to be desired...... At the end of the day I had to spend $1300 to buy a new refrigerator and A-1 Still has my money!

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** *******, CEO Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@a1-appliance.com This customer paid us for her first repair with a check from out of state. A week later additional repairs were required and the customer declined to perform those repairs. She decided to purchase a new appliance. We agreed to reverse her first repair, less the service call, and send her refund within 30 days. The 30 days was required to allow the out of state check to clear. The customer has received their refund of $406.24 and processed our check.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) UNTRUE: The check is not an out of state check. My account was opened in Southern California in 1994. The check had a Texas address on it. It is a Wells Fargo Account. I lived in Texas 3 years and moved back to CA. The repair was not made in the first visit. A wrong part was put in until another part could be ordered. Why should I pay for two service calls if A1 did not have the part? And why are customers paying the whole thing up front? A check for $406.24 was mailed back to me..... Not the service call for $40.00..... Only after I complained to the BBA. A check mailed back to me after the 30 days only when I made the complaint to BBB. I am requesting the $40 service charge back. I did not receive what the owner said I received. I also did not turn down the part that was brought out on the second trip. The repair person put the part in and said that it did not solve the problem. A-1's customer service and communication is horrible.

Final Business Response
The customer needed 2 repairs for her refrigerator. After the first repair she elected not to proceed with the second. We refunded her first repair. Her check had an address from Texas. Per our policy for refunds the refund occurred 30 days after she decided not to do the 2nd repair. The policy is stated on the front of our receipt from her 1st service visit. She has received and cashed her refund check. We are not refunding the service charge required to inform her of the needed repairs.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: company did not complete repair of refrigirator due to missing part. A-1 never rescheduled and refrigirator is broken again. A1 wants to charge again Approximate service date 12/2008. service tech told me he was missing a part to complete the job but that the freezer would work okay for now but will eventually need the missing part to avoid future problems. No call or appt ever made to complete repair. Called A-1 12/18/2012 today to explain the issue about missing part never installed, the rep of the company told me they tried coming back out twice in Jan -2009 but was unscucceful. I told them that I was never contacted or left any messages. I requested for them to come back out to complete repair and the rep told me that I would have to pay for that service.

Desired Settlement: Company to fullfill obligation of installing missing part to complete repair WITHOUT charge. The services was paid in full but the repair was incomplete.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: (916) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@a1-appliance.com Mr. ******'s refrigerator which was not cooling was repaired by us 4 years ago in 2008 and has apparently been working fine since then. Our warranty is 30 days for our repairs. Apparently his refrigerator has developed a water leak in the past year. Recently he called for this and was quoted a new service fee to repair his leak which he has declined to have performed. This new problem is clearly outside our warranty by about 3 or 4 years. He stated there was an unknown missing part. Our records do not show any parts ordered for him not installed, still needed or missing from the repairs in 2008.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The claims from this company about our refrigerator working fine and not having any records of missing parts to complete the repair is completely false and a bold face LIE. When I spoke to a company representative a couple weeks ago SHE told me that their records showed 2 unsuccessful attempts in Decemeber 2008 and January 2009 to come back out to complete the repair. SHE said that there were messages left for us to reschedule, which is another LIE because no calls or messages left on our door were ever received. In regards to the leak; the leak started a short time after the repair was performed, when I spoke with a rep from this company a couple days ago I told him that the leak was getting progressively worse within the last year and WE could no longer keep up with having to change the towels we had to put at the bottom of the freezer to slow down the leaks. The reason for not getting with this company sooner to have them complete the repair was because the service tech who performed the service did not leave us with contact information nor a reciept of the services performed. We tried calling several companies to find out if they were the ones to perform the repair but was unsuccessful in doing so.

Business' Final Response
The repairs for a not cooling refrigerator were completed 12/30/2008 and no additional parts were needed to complete the repairs for this problem. The customer paid and marked the invoice as completed on 12/30/2008, although it was signed by a different person than the first visit. The customer has used the refrigerator which has successfully cooled his food for the last 4 years. Four years later the customer is expressing a problem with a water leak which he first said started about a year ago and later he changed that time to 4 years ago. The customer cannot identify a missing part and there are no parts noted on the invoice as still due or ordered for this job at that time. Our phone number has been advertised for the past two decades in the Elk Grove phone directories and also on the Internet. Customer could have easily contacted us at any time including four years ago. A request for service within our 30 day warranty would have been honored at no charge. He did not contact our company even though we are readily available by phone and email. His recent request for service in December 2012 for a water leak was discussed with him; however he has declined our services as they have a new service charge. The customer believes this new issue should be covered by the previous issue not cooling that was successfully repaired 4 years ago. Again our warranty is 30 days for repairs performed.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/28/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/4/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1