Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

A - 1 Appliance Service

Phone: (800) 417-5502 Fax: (916) 630-5416 View Additional Phone Numbers 2351 Sunset Blvd Ste 170 Pmb 502, Rocklin, CA 95765 http://www.a1-appliance.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A - 1 Appliance Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for A - 1 Appliance Service include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for A - 1 Appliance Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on A - 1 Appliance Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 16, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1995 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1995 Business incorporated 03/24/1997 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronics and Appliance Repair
4244 South Market Court, Suite D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
Fax Number: (916) 921-7279
HomeProducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 40380.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Mary Pignata, CFO Mr. Marshall McComas, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Marshall McComas, President
Principal: Ms. Mary Pignata, CFO
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair Appliances - Installation Appliances - Small - Service & Repair

Alternate Business Names
MacFisher Company, Inc.
Products & Services

A-1 Appliance Service is a factory authorized appliance dealer and they also service major household kitchen and laundry appliances.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

A - 1 Appliance Service has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2351 Sunset Blvd Ste 170 Pmb 502

    Rocklin, CA 95765 (916) 481-0263 (800) 417-5502 (916) 444-5429 (530) 889-2720 (530) 677-0459 (916) 725-3160 (916) 632-1322 (530) 622-6052

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had A1 come out to diagnos a problem with my ** side by side refridgerator, as the ice was melting in the ice tray! Diagnosis was made, the tech said they would have to order the mother board and an evap fan! 4-24-15 the tech came out installed the parts put the freezer back together improperly! When installing the icemaker, he installed it with the fill tube under the tray instead of in the tray, causing the freezer to flood and freeze over an inch of ice coating the entire inside of the freezer. It took the tech 45 minutes to install the parts and improperly put it back together. It took me 3 hours with a hair dryer to melt all the ice,defrost and clean up the ensuing mess! When I called them I told them I think I should get a refund of at least the labor cost! The parts on Amazon are $143.24 with free shipping, and they charged me $433.15! The girl said she talked to the manager and they said they could'nt do anything because Ialready took care of it! I feel I have been ripped off by incompetance!

Desired Settlement: I do not expect to be refunded for the new parts, which total $143.24, but do expect to be refunded the entire labor and service charge which would come to $289.91! I am contacting my credit card company also! Thank you for your anticipated intervention in the resolution of this issue

Business Response: Our technician did not do a good job.  We apologize for the issue.  You have been refunded $289.91

******** *******

Business Response: Our technician did not do a good job.  We apologize for the issue.  You have been refunded $289.91

******** *******

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted a1 Appliance because our ********* duet Dryer was not working - it would flash a F01 code when we pushed start. I explained exactly was the dryer was doing (or not doing) and stated that the F01 error came up. I also stated that I had disconnected the power for approximately 1 hour but that when I reconnected the power, the same error code came up. a1 Appliance scheduled an appointment for a technician to come and determine the problem. When the technician came, I explained the problem, including the fact that I had disconnected the power in an attempt to reset it. During my explanation, the technician was standing in the doorway to the laundry room, not even close to the dryer. After my explanation, he stated that the dryer would need a new control board. When I asked the cost for the control board, he quoted me $491.63. He then asked for payment for the service call, $85.00. I paid him but then called a1 Appliance and complained that I had to pay for a service during which the technician did nothing - only listed to the same information that I had given during the call. Given what the technician did (NOTHING), the diagnoses could have been given over the telephone. They restated several times that because the technician came out, I still had to pay for a service call even though he did nothing AND I had provided the same information during the first call. I called ***** to determine what was the cost for the control board and they quoted me $167.77, $430 LESS than the quote from a1 Applicance. I was told the installation of the new control was simple and I could easily do it myself. I strongly disagree with a1 Appliance on how they do their service calls - they charge me for doing nothing. I could have been given the diagnoses over the phone, especially since the technician did NOTHING, did not even touch the dryer. In addition, I am appalled at the difference in the cost for the control board they quoted me versus *****.

Desired Settlement: Refund the service call fee

Business Response: Our technician did not do a good job.  We apologize for the issue.  Your service charge of $85 has been refunded to you.

******** *******

10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had A1 appliance service my gas cooktop due to gas leakage out of the cooktop. They came and determined that they can fix the gas leakage by replace the required part and I've spoke to the technician that diagnosed the cooktop and he assured me that with this ordered part replaced, it will definitely fix the gas leakage and I agreed to have the cooktop fix under the professional judgement and advice from A1. However when the part was replaced, the gas leakage still happening and they came out and adamantly denied any gas leakage; I demanded a refund and was refused because they maintained that there was no gas leakage and It was indeed fixed. I had PG&e came out and they once again determined that the gas leakage was still going from the cooktop and they stated that it was unsafe and dangerous and they once again capped of the gas line connecting to the cooktop. I called A1 once again and again was denied a refund even though they never fix the original gas leakage that they claimed was fixed; I told ***, who claimed to be a manager that I do not want to argue with him anymore and if he refuses a refund then I will claim the service purchased with my credit card company; *** started calling me names: "you are a cheap bastard", "you are an asshole", I hung up the phone. Very unprofessional and terrible service.

Desired Settlement: I wanted a full refund due to the fact that service was promised and the original gas leakage was never fix and I have a second PG&E report to prove it.

Business Response: This repair is for a landlord in a rental property he owns.  The cooktop
initially had a bad burner control valve which was replaced by us.  While the initial problem with the cooktop was
completed satisfactorily, the tenant managed to keep the cooktop very dirty and
went to efforts to cause it to malfunction and new problems were created.   The cooktop was not liked by the tenant
who was lobbying for a new appliance.

 

The landlord was not interested in repairing these new issues and it is believed he
has replaced the appliance and now refusing the pay for the first repairs.

 

All visits to the tenant’s home were performed professionally and our personnel
were courteous.

 

Further
the landlord has reversed his payments for the first repairs and there is no
further adjustment we can make.

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Came out on June 24th to diagnose a non-working dryer and i was told after a 3 minute look at the vent that the vent needed to be cleaned and he left after charging me a$85 service fee. We had the vents professionally cleaned and the dryer still broken. He called and said it would be an additional $260 to replace parts. He never even looked at the dryer and did not come back out to check it. My husband called the owner/supervisor to explain the situation and he said he could not do anything. We wanted our money back or another service call and they were not willing to help us.

Desired Settlement: a refund of our $85

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Business Response:

This issue is complicated by the customer replacing his own parts to solve his drying problem in the past.  He was unaware of the real issue the vent. He had a clogged dryer vent in his house, a very common problem.  We informed the customer to get his vent cleaned, a service we do not provide. After cleaning the vent he called again and wanted service.  Our technician contacted him by phone and told him he needed additional work on the dryer, but did not make a visit to the home. Since the technician did not make the visit as we expect, we are sending a refund of the service charge of $85.00. refund check will be issued and should be expected in the next few weeks.

***

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The repairman showed up, his demeanor and attitude seemed like he didn't want to help us. He was unfriendly, and grumpy. He looked at our 4 year old Kitchen Aid Gas Oven and said it was either one thing or the other but couldn't tell us which, even by looking at it. He said he didn't want to replace the wrong thing. He went outside to make a couple of phone calls and told us the part was 6 years on back order. He was UNHELPFUL AND UNFRIENDLY!!! He was only at our home a few minutes, collected $85 for NOTHING!!! He couldn't even tell us which part needed to be replaced, so how could he tell us the part was 6 years on back order!! We had many choices for repair companies, but chose A-1 because of their BBB A rating, and their advertisement of KitchenAid - we were frustrated and would like our money back!!

Desired Settlement: We would like our money refunded - the repairman was not competent!

Business Response: This is an approximately 4 year old range and needs a
membrane keypad of the color that matches the range.  The part is on national backorder and there
is no reasonable delivery date for the needed part.  This customer does not like the answer of a
part being not available.  Other parts for
this range are available, but the needed part is not.  We cannot repair a range without a proper
part to replace the defective one.  The
range is clearly out of factory warranty, so there is no warranty issue.

 
The service fee charged is proper since we fulfilled the
service call asked for by the customer.

Perhaps if the customer contacts Whirlpool (parent company)
they may receive a coupon towards purchase of another appliance.  Possibly there is  hidden factory stock of this part used for
customer satisfaction issues, but the customer would have to petition the
manufacturer directly as an unhappy customer.

 

******** *******

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:no real service was provided. Technician said problem was either control board or keypad, went out to his truck to make some phone calls, then somehow determined that it was the keypad, and that part was on backorder for 5 or 6 years.  Still charged $85.  No testing was done or meters used on the range.

Business Response: A service call is a call to the job address by a qualified service technician at the request of the customer. The service call is based on the time required to travel to the customers house and the time required to analyze the problem. If the unit is not repairable or the customer does not want the unit repaired the firm is still entitled to be paid for sending the technician and service call charges. 

In this customers case the part needed is not reasonably available.  Estimated delivery date for this part is 2/2/2020 from the supplier.

Again the customer should contact the manufacturer for a resolution for their problem.

10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A-1 Appliance Service cashed my $446.24 check even when the repair man said he could repair my refrig. A repair man came out from A-1 Appliance Service on 8/8/13 t repair my 6 year old GE Refrigerator. The repair person said he had a part in the truck and put a new mother board in. I noticed it was not the right repair part number. This was on the weekend. The refrigerator did not work any better than when it had the old motherboard. I called again on Monday. He put the new motherboard in (the correct one) and he said that it was not working correctly with the new motherboard and it was not worth fixing. I asked for my check back as it had not been cashed yet. The repair man said he took it to his office in Rockland. I called the office the next morning.......... and a very nice lady said that they had the check in the office. If I gave her a bank card or a credit card for the $40, they would return my check uncashed. I gave them what they needed........ and the next morning........ My check was cashed. I have spoken to ***** ***** and a woman since all of this went down and I have still not receive my back. They kept my $446.24 and used it for operating costs while their customer (me) went without. Not a good way to do business.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I am seeking all of my money back. $446.24. This company is not an honest company to do business with and their customer service skills have a lot to be desired...... At the end of the day I had to spend $1300 to buy a new refrigerator and A-1 Still has my money!

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** *******, CEO Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@a1-appliance.com This customer paid us for her first repair with a check from out of state. A week later additional repairs were required and the customer declined to perform those repairs. She decided to purchase a new appliance. We agreed to reverse her first repair, less the service call, and send her refund within 30 days. The 30 days was required to allow the out of state check to clear. The customer has received their refund of $406.24 and processed our check.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) UNTRUE: The check is not an out of state check. My account was opened in Southern California in 1994. The check had a Texas address on it. It is a Wells Fargo Account. I lived in Texas 3 years and moved back to CA. The repair was not made in the first visit. A wrong part was put in until another part could be ordered. Why should I pay for two service calls if A1 did not have the part? And why are customers paying the whole thing up front? A check for $406.24 was mailed back to me..... Not the service call for $40.00..... Only after I complained to the BBA. A check mailed back to me after the 30 days only when I made the complaint to BBB. I am requesting the $40 service charge back. I did not receive what the owner said I received. I also did not turn down the part that was brought out on the second trip. The repair person put the part in and said that it did not solve the problem. A-1's customer service and communication is horrible.

Final Business Response
The customer needed 2 repairs for her refrigerator. After the first repair she elected not to proceed with the second. We refunded her first repair. Her check had an address from Texas. Per our policy for refunds the refund occurred 30 days after she decided not to do the 2nd repair. The policy is stated on the front of our receipt from her 1st service visit. She has received and cashed her refund check. We are not refunding the service charge required to inform her of the needed repairs.

1/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: company did not complete repair of refrigirator due to missing part. A-1 never rescheduled and refrigirator is broken again. A1 wants to charge again Approximate service date 12/2008. service tech told me he was missing a part to complete the job but that the freezer would work okay for now but will eventually need the missing part to avoid future problems. No call or appt ever made to complete repair. Called A-1 12/18/2012 today to explain the issue about missing part never installed, the rep of the company told me they tried coming back out twice in Jan -2009 but was unscucceful. I told them that I was never contacted or left any messages. I requested for them to come back out to complete repair and the rep told me that I would have to pay for that service.

Desired Settlement: Company to fullfill obligation of installing missing part to complete repair WITHOUT charge. The services was paid in full but the repair was incomplete.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: (916) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@a1-appliance.com Mr. ******'s refrigerator which was not cooling was repaired by us 4 years ago in 2008 and has apparently been working fine since then. Our warranty is 30 days for our repairs. Apparently his refrigerator has developed a water leak in the past year. Recently he called for this and was quoted a new service fee to repair his leak which he has declined to have performed. This new problem is clearly outside our warranty by about 3 or 4 years. He stated there was an unknown missing part. Our records do not show any parts ordered for him not installed, still needed or missing from the repairs in 2008.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The claims from this company about our refrigerator working fine and not having any records of missing parts to complete the repair is completely false and a bold face LIE. When I spoke to a company representative a couple weeks ago SHE told me that their records showed 2 unsuccessful attempts in Decemeber 2008 and January 2009 to come back out to complete the repair. SHE said that there were messages left for us to reschedule, which is another LIE because no calls or messages left on our door were ever received. In regards to the leak; the leak started a short time after the repair was performed, when I spoke with a rep from this company a couple days ago I told him that the leak was getting progressively worse within the last year and WE could no longer keep up with having to change the towels we had to put at the bottom of the freezer to slow down the leaks. The reason for not getting with this company sooner to have them complete the repair was because the service tech who performed the service did not leave us with contact information nor a reciept of the services performed. We tried calling several companies to find out if they were the ones to perform the repair but was unsuccessful in doing so.

Business' Final Response
The repairs for a not cooling refrigerator were completed 12/30/2008 and no additional parts were needed to complete the repairs for this problem. The customer paid and marked the invoice as completed on 12/30/2008, although it was signed by a different person than the first visit. The customer has used the refrigerator which has successfully cooled his food for the last 4 years. Four years later the customer is expressing a problem with a water leak which he first said started about a year ago and later he changed that time to 4 years ago. The customer cannot identify a missing part and there are no parts noted on the invoice as still due or ordered for this job at that time. Our phone number has been advertised for the past two decades in the Elk Grove phone directories and also on the Internet. Customer could have easily contacted us at any time including four years ago. A request for service within our 30 day warranty would have been honored at no charge. He did not contact our company even though we are readily available by phone and email. His recent request for service in December 2012 for a water leak was discussed with him; however he has declined our services as they have a new service charge. The customer believes this new issue should be covered by the previous issue not cooling that was successfully repaired 4 years ago. Again our warranty is 30 days for repairs performed.