BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Julius Sewing and Appliance meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Julius Sewing and Appliance include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Julius Sewing and Appliance
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 10, 2010 Business started: 04/02/2009 Business started locally: 04/02/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronics and Appliance Repair
4244 South Market Court, Suite D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
Fax Number: (916) 921-7279
HomeProducts@dca.ca.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Fabian Gonzalez, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Fabian Gonzalez, Owner
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers Sewing Machines - Dealers


Additional Locations

  • 901 N Market Blvd

    Sacramento, CA 95834 (916) 993-4858

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/7/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They will not fix refrigerator that I bought . Ice maker does not Work they bring old parts out to install they do not know what they are doing Problem date 03/06/2013 purchase date 03/04/2013 Model *************** invoice ******** Sales rep *** payment amount $1,130.00 cash Warranty 90 day on parts and labor if there is a problem We will repair it. They have not repaired it they come out twice with old parts that don't work they make me Waite 7 to 10 days each time set a date to fix then cancel at last minute know they are saying they don't want to fix it

Desired Settlement: I want my refridgerator ice maker fixed Or my money back

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We've talk to **** and we gave him the option of repairing it or exchanging it and he choose to get his ice maker repaired like our policy states.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Because they they have come to the house two times showed up late canceled at the last minute , the refridgerator is not fixed .know they want to take it to there warehouse to see if they can fix it there so that means at least two more Appointments, I'm pretty sure Sears repair could fix it here the first time or any reputable appliance repair outfit

Business' Final Response
We spoke to Mr. *********. The arrangement is as followed: There is a back order part (normally takes 4-6 weeks). If the part is not here within 15 days we agreed to refund him his full amount. Mr. ********* is in agreement.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The refrigerator wasnt delivered in the same condition I saw it on the sales floor. There was damage to hinge, logo, door, and was covered in bugs! We purchased a refrigerator from Julius Sewing and Appliance on 3/28 from a rep named *****. I was VERY skeptical about going to a place that sold used appliances. Unfortunately I was right. ***** explained the refrigerator I was interested in was a floor model from a retail store. Noticing a tiny scratch on the handle, I asked her to replace the handles with those from another unit which she said no problem if I would buy it. That couldnt happen so she had a technicion treat the stainless steel in a way that met my picky eye and I agreed. We were told that the credit card machines were down and that a check needed to be given to arrange delivery becuase the credit card machine could be 2-3 weeks for a new machine. A check was provided to them. We are remodeling a brand new home and this was to be a very important part of the kitchen appearence as you would imagine. Being very particular and because my wife is designing the decor of the home I took pictures of the unit on the sales floor for her to approve. Those pictures show the refrigerator in perfect condition on 3/28. When the delivery was to be set up they missed the first delivery day explaining that the truck had broken down. Rescheduled for the next day 4/2/13 between 10-12noon. After waiting and waiting they showed up with the refrigerator is was on the back of a pick up truck at 3:15 pm! It had been covered in dead splattered bugs from the drive, and due to the way they strapped the unit the hinge was broken, there are scratches up one side of the door, and the logo had been dented and was barely connected to the refrigerator. It was clearly moved with other deliveries as the scrathces are a different color and it was probably moved form truck to truck due to the breakdown. Because we do not live at the property (its under construction) we were notified by our contractor that the refrigerator was damaged that day. We immediately contacted Julius Sewing and Appliances to inform them of the damage but did not speak with anyone on 4/2. On 4/3 I was able to speak to ***** who worked with me originally and informed me that the owner ****** would be contacting me. I expressed in this conversation that I was not happy with the condition and that unless something could be done I would not pay for the unit in this condition. I put a stop payment on the check written to them. I gave her my work and cell phone number. No call or communication on 4/3 from owner. No call or communication on 4/4 from owner. On Friday 4/5 I had still not heard anything and sent an email to the company emails concerning the issue and expressing my discontent. No calls, no responses. Come to find out that after I stopped payment on the check, they processed the credit card on 4/4 anyway EVEN THOUGH I TOLD THEM I DID NOT WANT TO PAY FOR IT DUE TO DAMAGE. On 4/8/13 I sent another email expressing my concerns and letting them know that I would need to take steps to protect myself financially. 10am 4/9/13 I received a call from ******. I let him know his unit was ready for pickup and that I understood this probably wasnt his issue bit rather the delivery crew. He denied all damage and denied that the coversation I had with ***** took place. He stated that the rerigerator was damaged the entire time and that I was wrong. I asked him to review the emails and photos I sent *****. I offered to have him pick it up and we could part peacefully and he stated I would need to pay a delivery fee AND a restocking fee. As a business man myself, I gave his business a fair opportunity to come get their item with no hassles and in multiple emails expressed my willingness to ensure it is ready for them anytime. The owner refuses to come get it. After charging my credit card after I informed them not to, I think this is deceptive and fraudulent business practice. The owner is covering for their errors and is accusatory in nature and is practicing unfair business practice and I consider this company to be highly unethical

Desired Settlement: 100% refund of the money they charged me. I will not accpet being charged anything for this issue. The money charged to my credit card after my notice of damage was given to them included a delivery fee which I do not feel is approriate given the fact it was damaged during that delivery. I want them to come get their refrigerator. As a business I think their poor choice in delivery services or workers should not result in me being out of pocket for anything and should be an expense their business incurs.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We have solved this issue with ****** H. His money was refunded in full. Usually we do charge a restocking fee of 15% but in this case we waved that as well as pick-up and delivery cost. The refrigerator was immaculate. His home was under remodeling and there is a possibility that his contractor might have caused the damage. We offered to exchange the door but to his request we just picked up the item to resale elsewhere. Like we mentioned before we are here to help our customers. Thank you

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/16/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a refrigerator and washing machine from Julius Sewing & Appliances Saturday July 21st 2012. I was told that my appliances would be delivered to me between the hours of 4-6pm Saturdy July 21. I waited at my home for the delivery of the appliances but no one ever came. At 6:10pm my husband called the business to see how much longer it would be and no one answered the phone. He left a voice message and within 15 minutes he recieved a call back from ***** the store receptionist. She informed him that they couldn't deliver our appliances because there delivery guy was stuck in Galt and that they were closed on Sunday, therefore they could not deliver to us until Monday between the hours of 10am-12pm. Monday July 23rd the appliances were delivered. Tuesday July 24th we learned that the ice maker on the refrigerator did not work. My husband called ***** to complain and she told him that she would call him back before the store closed with a time and date that a tech could come out and repair the refrigerator. She never called him back so he and I both called on Wesnday and Thursday. Thursday she returned my call and she told me that she hadn't spoken to the tech yet so she would have to give me a call back after she had spoken to him. Because she had not called me on Friday, I went to Julius on Saturday and she still had not spoken to the tech. To make a long story short my refrigerator was not repaired until Friday Aug 11th. My husband took the day off of work because that was the only day the tech could come. ***** told me that the tech would be at my home at 10:00am and at 9:52 che called to say the tech could not come until 1:30pm. ***** also told My husband and I that they would work around our schedules so we wouldn't have to miss work and that the company would give us $10.00 for ice which we have not gotten. I would never purchase anything else from this business.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) We would like a $200.00 refund as we were inconvenieced and had to take off 1 day of work each. I took Monday July 23rd for the delivery of the refrigerator and washing machine and my husband took off Friday Aug 11th for the repair of the refrigerator. We would also like the $10.00 that we were promised for the ice.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We would like to start off by saying we apologize for all the inconvenience. We are here to serve our customer to the best of our ability. When we spoke to Ms. ****** we notified her that the warranty would start on the day the refrigerator was fixed to compensate for all the trouble. We also realize that the refrigerator was not making ice and also offered the $10 refund for the ice. Which had already been mailed out. We sell used appliance and even after checking them thoroughly they can have problems like in this case, that's why we do offer the 90 day warranty that covers parts and labor. Ms. ****** purchased more then one item and we were able to offer a package deal giving her a better deal then listing price along with a free delivery. We had the understanding that the issue was resolved with the refund we had settled of $10 for the ice. Julius' Sewing & Appliance 901 N. Market Blvd #a Sacramento Ca XXXXX (916)XXX-XXXX

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Once again I do not accept this business proposed resolution. I upset that the business states " Mrs.****** know we were in the process of moving". I did know that they were moving; however no one informed me that it was going to take two days for the delivery of the refrigerator and washing machine, three weeks for the repair of the refrigerator and they were not going to be answering the phone nor returning calls in a timely manner. The business also knew that they were moving and if they were not going be able to do business for a few weeks, maybe they should have closed there doors during the move instead of making customers suffer. The business should have proposed a resolution prior to me putting time and energy into filing a complaint with the BBB. I lost a lot more than I am requesting, the $10.00 that was mailed to me was a complete joke considering everything that we lost and the extra money that we had to spend on food as well as the wages that we lost because we had to miss work. The service that I received during this process was absolutely horrible so I will never return to this business;therefore, a store discount or credit will not benefit me. My request for $200.00 is not unfair and that is what I'm requesting.

Business' Final Response
Now that BBB is acting as a intermediate party. We would like to get an input of how we can come about this situation. We find $200 unfair. That week as Mrs. ****** know we were in the process of moving. We are willing to work with Mrs. ****** with a small compensation due to we realize the unfortunate and unexpected conflict with scheduling. We can offer store credit for any future purchases. Our customers are valued and their opinion if important to us. We are willing to cooperate and make this incident right. Thank you, Julius' Sewing & Appliance New address: 901 N. Market Blvd #A Sacramento CA XXXXX

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 10/01/12: I purchase a used GE Arctica side by side refrigerator for $750. Invoice: XXXXXXX/02/12: The refrigerator was delivered and my old refrigerator was hauled away. Upon removing the old refrigerator the delivery guys bumped into my wall causing a small dent and also cracked the bottom of my front door frame. There was no mention to repair the house damage. Additionally, the newly installed refrigerator immediately started leaking from the bottom right. I had to turned off the water supply and clean up a large water spill. The same day (10/02/12) I called Julius Appliance to have them contact the delivery guys and to schedule a time to have them take a look at the leak; each time I called I was told they couldn't get in contact with the delivery guys and was told they would call me back in "30 minutes". I had to wait several hours until I was called back for a repair appointment 10/03/12.10/03/12: I took time off of work to be available for the repair to occur on 10/03/12. I was then called 10/03/12 and told the repair person was not available and I asked if they could see if the repair person could come later today; I told I would get called back in "20 minutes" to confirm. I waited two hours and eventually I called them back and was told they couldn't come on 10/03/12. Refrigerator repair to occur on 10/08/12 Product_Or_Service: GE Arctica Side-by-side refrigerator Order_Number: Invoice XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like the refrigerator leak repaired as stated, and partial discount/refund or compensation for the wall dent and cracked front door panel.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Phone: XXXXXX-XXXX Contact Email: 901 N. Marker Blvd Sacrament CA XXXXX On October the 8th, 2012 the refrigerator was repaired. Our tech looked at the damage and offered to send a repair man to repair the wall and door. Our tech relayed the message that Mr ****** said it wasn't necessary. Julius' Sewing and Appliance 901 N. Market Blvd. Suite A Sacramento CA XXXXX (916)XXX-XXXX Open: Monday-Saturday 9am-6pm

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service