Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Filco Super Store?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Filco Super Store meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Filco Super Store include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Filco Super Store
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 08, 1990 Business started: 06/30/1978 Business started locally: 06/30/1978 Business incorporated: 06/30/1978 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronics and Appliance Repair
4244 South Market Court, Suite D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
Fax Number: (916) 921-7279
HomeProducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 15804.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tony Saca, Owner Mr. David Saca, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. David Saca, Owner
Principal: Mr. Tony Saca, Owner
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Filco, Inc.

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I visited Filco Super Store and discussed with them ordering a **** *** 30" downdraft range. I subsequently decided to go ahead with the purchase and provided my credit card information to the Sales Rep ******* **** over the phone. At no time did he inform me of any restocking fee associated with the order. The receipt and information sent to me in the mail does not mention a restocking fee. When I spoke with the installer recommended by Filco, he raised my concern about the actual dimensions of the range, which was still at the store. With closer scrutiny of the specifications, I realized it was wider than the 30" in the title. I called ****, who insisted the installer come to my house and measure. The installer confirmed that the stove (which never left the store) would not fit. When I informed **** of this and that I was cancelling the order, he brought up a "25% restocking fee" and offered me a "discount" to $130. The manager, Fred, was not helpful in waiving the restocking fee that I had never been informed of in writing or verbally, and in fact threatened me with court action during our conversation. To summarize, I am being asked to pay a fee that I was never informed of for an item that was never delivered.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of the charge for the undelivered stove to the credit card.

Business Response: Filco's policy is that all orders are subject a 25% restocking fee. This policy is posted at the front counter. Every sales represenative is responisble for making each customer aware of the policy as well. We duelly apologize for the miscommunication between the salesperson and the customer. 
Please let the customer know that they can come to the store and receive a full refund. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I have been to the store and received a full refund.  It is unfortunate that resolution required a complaint to the Better Business Bureau.

7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm on disability income and I told them that. So, I'm still paying on a machine I can't use. I had bought my son and his wife their washer and dryer there at Filco in March 2012. I thought the company was reputable. Guess not. The reason the machine was not returned is I have no way to do that. I requested they come and get it, they delivered it. They did not sell me what I asked for which was a Direct Drive. They continued to **** me around for 2 months until they knew the return policy was over. On 3/21/13- ******* from **** **** did a 3 way call with her/me/Filco. ******* was told (I just listened). What the return policy is and that Filco had no intentions of taking the machine back. So on 3/21/13 I learned that there was a 2 month return policy. That is why they were nice for that period of time.

Desired Settlement: Take this washer back. Which I asked them to do the 1st week and every time I talked to them. Please note I stopped hearing from them when the 2 month was up. I would also like them to have to give every customer a written return policy on anything they sell, regardless of type of payment. No one should have to ask for it.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We appreciate ******'s business and are sorry to learn that she isn't happy with the washing machine that she picked last year. As a retailer, we are required to follow the policies set in place by the product manufacturers. We aren't able to simply take back an appliance because the customer "doesn't like it." In order for us to send an item back to the manufacturer, there has to be a valid claim. Ultimately, the validity of a claim is determined by a 3rd party company. Filco is an authorized retailer, not a service facility. Both of the service companies that ****** contacted are ******************** repair facilities. ****** apparently didn't like the answer she got from the first service company so a second company came out, who again found the machine to be working properly. I would encourage both the BBB and the consumer to feel free to contact either service company (as I have done) for clarification on what their findings were. Of key importance here is a statement that ****** makes regarding the washing machine she chose. When ****** initially came in on 9/24/12, she did indeed request a direct drive unit. She was shown several models by a salesperson. She then left and didn't return to purchase until nearly a month later. Presumably she spent some of that time researching her options. She eventually chose the ********* ********** It seems that ****** is confused. She claims that her unit is not a direct drive unit. In fact, her unit IS direct drive. Please see the attached link to ************ own website for clarification. If you look in the "Features" tab, you will see where it is clearly listed as a direct drive unit. You can see for yourself that ******'s statement that she was "lied to" is completely false and this makes the integrity of her whole complaint suspicious. I suspect that ****** may have misunderstood the techs, as they are both very experienced in washing machine repair and would instantly see that this unit doesn't utilize a drive belt (hence it is direct drive.) Please read the facts for yourself, based on the website, the findings of two different service companies and the documentation that ****** herself has provided. Please note their comments "unable to duplicate problem" and "unit operating normally". I would point out that both service facilities are reputable businesses. Both have A+ ratings with your organization, one is BBB accredited. Again, it seems ****** is confused because she frequently refers to a "***" throughout her letter. There is not a ***, but you will see that ***** is mentioned on Page 5 of the letter. (Her comment: Who is ***?") He is the OWNER of one of the service companies. As *** attempted to explain to her himself, the unit is not at fault - it is a good unit that when used properly, (according to the manufacturer's use and care manual) performs well under typical usage. ******'s usage would not be considered "typical." As the serviceman informed her, this is not a Whirlpool issue. None of the major consumer-level appliance manufacturers - GE, LG, Samsung, Bosch, Maytag, etc. are up to cleaning heavily soiled outdoor-use rugs (she left out that part in her letter.) It would also be very peculiar for a repairman to suggest Roper or Admiral units, primarily because both of those brands are in fact OWNED and manufactured by Whirlpool Corp, and are actually reserved for their very lowest-end (cheapest) products, sold only at big-box chain stores. As both techs pointed out (based on ******'s statements) today's washing machines aren't the same ones used 50 years ago. All new consumer washers are required by federal government regulations to meet certain water efficiency standards. A typical washer today uses less than HALF of the water models used just 20 years ago. Instead of using 40+ gallons for one load, they use about 15. No longer do washers fill all the way up to the top and soak loads several times per cycle, as they did many years ago. Fortunately, for typical consumers, today's stricter guidelines are very rarely an issue. But occasionally there may be a case when someone who is used to using an old "water waster" unit like our parents used to own to wash heavily soiled heavy-duty items like pet blankets. ****** states (on page 7 of her PDF) that **** couldn't have possibly spoken with *** based on the fact that when she called and there was no answer. This assertion is silly. **** left a message with Capital City and promptly received a call back. (When somebody leaves a message on the office's answering system, the message is immediately forwarded to a tech who may be on a service call). It was during this conversation with *** where it was revealed that ******'s usage of the washer was deemed "abnormal." Please see the store invoice that we provided to ****** (which she sent to you). At the bottom, you will see ****'s notes documenting his conversation with the service company. When **** called ****** on December 18 to share what the service tech had found, she disagreed with both service tech's findings, and she hung up on him. **** ATTEMPTED to work with the customer, but as she herself points out, "she was done dealing with us." Her calls to Whirlpool all advised the same thing - use the unit based on the guidelines given in the use and care manual. The service techs and salesperson also gave the same advice. ****** states that she called 3 different numbers for Whirlpool and that none of them were able to satisfy her. As to her very questionable statement that all three people at Whirlpool said "it's Filco's problem," unfortunately ****** failed to provide any names or extensions as I would obviously like to ask them for a more accurate statement about their response. Notice, she even ridicules the tech's advice when he suggests how she can also dry her rugs more efficiently when she scoffs at the advice as "origami laundry." This is actually great advice, as it balances the load more evenly. Rather than dumping the rug into the machine, if she would wrap it around the drum, the centrifugal spinning action will definitely spin water out of the item more quickly than just dumping it in a heap. This advice is good for all kinds of items - towels, jeans, shirts, rags. I believe that this is a clear example of how ****** is unwilling to listen to a very experienced and well qualified techs' advice and insists on her own procedures instead of those laid out in the owner's manual. Fast forward 6 weeks, and we hear from her again, this time with her credit card company on the phone. Although ****** still had possession of the unit, she wanted to dispute the charge. The credit card company promptly rejected her claim. Finally, I would ask that you do a quick Google search on the Whirlpool ********** You will find that this unit is rated EXCEPTIONALLY highly by hundreds of consumers across the country, with ratings on all of the major retailers' websites. For a unit to average 4 1/2 stars out of 5, based on hundreds of reviews, should be a good indicator about the quality of this unit. Our store alone has sold more than a hundred of this exact model and this is the only unsatisfied customer that I have heard of. I can firmly say that based on these ratings, I don't believe ****** would be satisfied with any consumer-level unit on the market based on her usage. As you browse the ratings, note the $750 that ****** paid for the unit is considerably cheaper than any of our competitors - between $50 and $150 less than Sears, Lowes, Home Depot and Best Buy. While we strive to make all of our customers happy, it is clear that no matter who attempts to help Ms. ******, she will not be satisfied. Now here we are 7 months after the washer was delivered. Filco, at least three Whirlpool customer service reps and technicians, TWO different independent service companies, even her credit card company have been unable to satisfy her. I believe that you will find that what ****** is asking for is unreasonable and that you won't be able to pacify her either.

Consumer's Final Response
1. Response & 2. Update 1. The foundation for my complaint was and still is the destruction of my rugs, curtains, clothes, etc. Also, I have asked Filco and mentioned in writing to you for: A DETAILED COPY OF FILCO'S RETURN POLICY. As for being the cheapest, not true. I have gone to varies venues and found that their sales under cut Filco's. Also alot of them will match sale prices and regular prices, and give you the item for the cheaper price. Filco keeps mentioned abnormal washing. There is no mention of this on any of the repair orders I've gotten. So again, produce in writing these repair techs orders that you have. OR is this he said / she said again? If you can not, don't mention it again because it's not true. Though I do have several agencies that are interested in reading what the techs had to say. 2. I have been in touch with Whirlpool. They sent a tech out and he's sending his findings to them. They also requested all the pixs and paperwork I've sent everyone. They're real interested in the abnormal washing. As of yet I haven't heard back from them. Someone named **** called and left a message for me. I couldn't understand most of what he was saying, so please put whatever you have to say in writing. AGAIN, I WANT A DETAILED COPY OF FILCO'S RETURN POLICYS.

Business' Final Response
**** ****, owner of Filco Called customer at 2:20pm on 6/4 and left a message. The foundation of the complaint is that the customer asked for, and received, a DIRECT DRIVE washer. She claims otherwise. The Whirlpool WTW8200YW is a direct drive unit. Nobody was lied to, the customer refuses to acknowledge that her unit is direct drive. We feel this has been proven, based on the manufacturer's own specifications. There is nothing wrong with the unit. Two separate, independent repair facilities, whom Filco does NOT pay (despite customer's false claim), have stated in no uncertain terms, that there is nothing wrong with the unit. Whirlpool provides us with the names of local authorized repair companies to provide to customers, and we gave the customer both of those numbers. Filco does not pay ANY service facility, particularly for warranty repairs. Warranty claims are paid by the manufacturer, not the retailer. Whirlpool will not take back a unit that is working properly. Filco will not take back a unit that is working properly. We do not sell used appliances and have no use for a used washer. We are not concerned with "he said, she said" and instead are focused in the facts. The facts are the customer received the unit she asked for, and that unit is functioning properly by all professional accounts. Sears, Best Buy, Home Depot, Lowes and Frys are indeed considered "big box" stores. And yes, they do carry the cheaper lines of Whirlpool-made products. That is why I encouraged the customer to check those sites for product reviews as well as pricing. You will see that this unit is consistently highly rated on all of those company's web sites AND you will see that their pricing is higher than ours. The WTW8200YW is able to wash lightly soiled rugs, provided they are tagged as machine washable and are in good condition. According to the independent service techs, the customer's use of the machine is abnormal.

11/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refused to return phone calls re:transfer of ********* from *********** & return of **** equipment. Acct. #XXXXXXXX, Oct. 3, 2012. Representative for ********* (at Auburn,CA Home Show)promised to transfer Internet and phone service in bundle for 1 bill (told us not to worry he would take care of that)and that there would be NO installation fee. We paid $100 for installation! A bundled service can only be obtained directly from *********, not a distributor. We were shocked to receive a full bill from ****(including **** TV)as well as a bill from *********. A call to ********* (not Filco) confirmed that we had been given incorrect information and problem should never have happened.A phone call to **** told us we would have been charged $150 for equipment if we didn't return it...we should have been told all of that. After hours on the phone with ********* and **** they confirmed that we would have to pay $227.85 to ****, also 51.42 to *********. All of that could have been avoided if Filco (**** ****) had returned our call.

Desired Settlement: $134.11 for U-Verse TV and an assurance from Filco that they would train employees to have their facts straight when they sell their product.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
IN RESPONSE TO CUSTOMER'S COMPLAINT: FILCO IS A FAMILY OWNED AND OPERATED 28,000 SQ FT APPLIANCE AND ELECTRONICS RETAILER OF 40 YRS AND AN AUTHORIZED ******* DEALER FOR 18. WE HAVE AN A+ RATING ON THE BBB'S WEBSITE AND HAVE NEVER HAD A COMPLAINT SUCH AS THIS. SINCERE APOLOGIES FOR ANY AND ALL MISUNDERSTANDINGS HAVE BEEN ISSUED. UNFORTUNATELY,DURING THE TIME IN QUESTION,I WAS UNAVAILABLE FOR SEVERAL DAYS, AND UNAWARE OF ANY ISSUES. AS AN AUTHORIZED ******* DEALER, WE ARE ALSO **** "AGENTS" INSOFAR AS PLACING ORDERS FOR NEW **** SERVICES(FOR OUR CUSTOMERS WHO ARE NOT EXISTING **** CUSTOMERS)THROUGH OUR ******* DEALER WEBSITE. THESE SERVICES ARE "BUNDLED" ON ONE BILL, ISSUED BY ****. WE ARE NOT AUTHORIZED TO CANCEL,CHANGE OR HAVE ANY OTHER EFFECT ON EXISTING **** ACCOUNTS AND DO NOT REPRESENT OTHERWISE. WHAT WE DO OFFER, AS A CONVENIENCE TO OUR NEW CUSTOMERS WHO ARE KEEPING THEIR EXISTING **** PHONE AND/OR INTERNET, IS ASSISTANCE RE-BUNDLING THEIR REMAINING **** SERVICES WITH THEIR NEWLY ACTIVATED ******* SERVICES. THIS IS FACILITATED BY PROVIDING THE PHONE NUMBER TO THE CORRECT DEPARTMENT AT ****, OR IN SOME CASES,THROUGH A 3-WAY CALL TO THE SAME. THE CUSTOMER ABSOLUTELY HAS TO BE ON THE LINE TO AUTHORIZE ANY CHANGES, WE ARE MERELY GUIDING THE CUSTOMER THROUGH WHAT CAN BE A CONFUSING PROCESS. WE CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR CHARGES INCURRED AS THE RESULT OF A CUSTOMER NOT CANCELLING THE SERVICES OF A PREVIOUS PROVIDER AFTER MAKING A CHANGE. WE WILL, HOWEVER, DO OUR BEST TO GARNER CREDITS TO THE CUSTOMERS ******* ACCOUNT IN ORDER TO OFFSET ANY INCONVENIENCE THIS MISUNDERSTANDING HAS CAUSED. OUR CUSTOMERS ARE ALSO INFORMED THAT THERE IS NO CHARGE FOR A STANDARD INSTALLATION. THE CUSTOMER REQUESTED AN OUTLET LOCATION THAT REQUIRED A CUSTOM "WALL FISH" OF CABLING, WHICH WAS DISCLOSED AND AGREED TO,PRIOR TO THE WORK BEING PERFORMED. A COMPLAINT LIKE THIS, AFTER 18 YEARS AND OVER 3000 CUSTOMERS, HAS BEEN OF MAJOR CONCERN, AND REST ASSURED, ALL REPRESENTATIVES HAVE BEEN RE-TRAINED WITH REGARDS TO PRESENTATION AND VERBIAGE IN AN ATTEMPT TO AVOID THIS HAPPENING AGAIN.