BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Carmona's Appliance Center?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carmona's Appliance Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carmona's Appliance Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Carmona's Appliance Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 29, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1950 Business started locally: 01/01/1950
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronics and Appliance Repair
4244 South Market Court, Suite D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
Fax Number: (916) 921-7279
HomeProducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 41770.

Business Management
Mr. Terry Alvord, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Terry Alvord, President
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers Appliances - Used Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies Appliances - Small - Dealers Mattresses Appliances - Installation

Alternate Business Names
Carmona's Appliance and Mattress
Products & Services

Carmona's is a retail store that provides large and small, new and used appliances, service, parts and installation as well as bed mattresses.


Additional Locations

  • 330 Walnut Street

    Red Bluff, CA 96080 (530) 527-5700

  • 905 Mistletoe Ln.

    Redding, CA 96002 (530) 222-2288 (800) 823-2343

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 823-2343(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 12-06-12 to 01-17-14 all items baked in this oven- cakes, cookies, or casseroles had to be disposed of each was the center of each item was runny and the bottom of each was very dark or burned. When Cakes were taken out of pans-they collapsed in many pieces. Moving the rack from #1 up to #2,#3 or #4 did not help the situation. On 10-3-2013 Camrona's office called =-asked me to call Whirlpool office, they had me call A&E . A&E service man came the next day 10-31-13 and found the oven was et 50 degrees too high, on 11-12-13 replaced and on 12-12-13 the sensor was replaced, on 12/21/13 the control panel was replaced. A&E has really worked to fix the problem. On 01/09/14, A&E directive to me was -"I think you need a new oven".

Desired Settlement: For Carmona's to give me a new oven of my choice. This is the first problem I have had with any of the 8 appliances I have bought from Carmona's.

Business Response: *** *** ***** Service Manager, Carmona's Appliance Center 905 Mistletoe Ln. Redding CA 96002 530-222-2288 ****************************** February 3, 2014 
Better Business Bureau 3075 Beacon Blvd West Sacramento, CA 95691 
To whom it may concern: 
This letter is in response to case ID *******. Mrs. ******* purchased her unit on 12/3/12. We received the first complaint of "burning everything" on 12/13/12. Our tech found that the temperature sensor tested within factory parameters and when the oven was set at 350 degrees Fahrenheit the actual temperature was 370 degrees, this is after 20 minutes of preheat time. The factory standards are any temperatures within 35 degrees is considered acceptable. However we went ahead and calibrated the electronic control to drop actual temperature by 20 degrees. On 5/23/13 we received a call back from Mrs. ******* stating the unit was still not cooking correctly. We went back out and tested the sensors ohms at both room temperature and at 400*f, both tests were good, we also verified our findings with the factory tech line assistance. On 6/24/13 Mrs. ******* called back with the same complaint. As per factory direction we took refrigerator biscuits to the house. This allows us to cook food with an emulsified recipe, we preheated the oven for 20 minutes, put the biscuits in for 13 minutes of the recommended 12-15 minutes. The biscuits were cooked to what the technician considered the proper level. As there was no defect found we could not file this as a warranty call so we no-charged this call as a courtesy to our customer. The next time we heard from Mrs. ******* was on 10/29/13. At this time we informed the customer that as per her warranty, if we came out again and found nothing wrong we would have to charge her a $60.00 trip charge as we had come out 3 times already with nothing wrong found, The customer was not happy with that so we suggested she call the manufacturer's customer service line. At this point, in 3 trips, we had not found anything outside factory parameters, a customer complaint of burning food is hard to prove due to the inconsistencies of homemade recipes, that is why we can only use a known recipe (refrigerator biscuits) to test this complaint. When the customer called Whirlpool they sent a different service company out for a second opinion, it is my understanding that they came to the same conclusion but put parts in as an attempt to repair. I cannot speak to what was actually done as this is just what the customer told me when she came in to our store asking for a new unit.
 
Once another service company is involved, Whirlpool does not allow me to request an exchange, it has to be done by the current servicing company. With the findings that we had up to this point, we did not have any data to show the manufacturer that there was anything wrong with the unit that would warrant an exchange. If A&E has found anything that would warrant an exchange then it is their responsibility to notify Whirlpool that the unit is unrepairable, without the servicing company giving Whirlpool that information we cannot take any further action to try anc help our customer. 

After receiving the complaint filed to BBB we again contacted the manufacturer to have them check on the work that A&E had completed and see if the unit now qualified for an exchange, below is a copy of the response we received: 

**************************************
Date: February 7, 2014, 12:55:49 PM PST
To: *********************  
Subject: RE: Customer ****** SR# ************
Reply-To: **************************************  
Looks like the last service call was completed and they purchased an ESP (extended service plan) with A&E. 

11/12/2013 A&E Factory-BURNING FOOD 56500 SENSOR REPLACE AC/BYY/124 INSTALLED NEW HOSE AND CONNECTOR ALL CHECK OK NO LEAKS SOLD 1 YR. ON COOKTOP OVEN REFRIG. FOR $200.45 W10131825 SENSOR; RTD; WAKO
 
According to all the notes I don't see a manufactures defect. The temps are within parameters and biscuit tests show that is consistent with the tech's diagnosis. Since she is now out of warranty she can schedule thru her ESP with A&E or we can schedule service with someone else and cover the call. This would be a one-time only goodwill. 

********* * *********
Trade Customer Support TCS-
Service Single Point Of Contact (SPOC) 

Consumer Response: This letter is in response  to case ID ******* about a whirlpool oven purchased 12-3-12 at Carmona's from the first time the oven was used everything burned black. I ended up throwing away $475.00 from 12-3-12 and about $500.00 + in 2013 and to the present time 2-20-2014. When the A & E service men came and found right away that the unit had been set 50 degrees too hot. I moved the racks up from 1-2 to racks 3-4 as the back had listed and lower the temp. This didn't change the problem and still not having a satisfactory and edible cookie or other food item. Each item ended up thrown away and at a last of 475.00 in 2012 and even more in 2013-2014. No mention was made by Carmona's servicemen to change the temp. A & E replaced the sensor two different time, due to the temp going up again. During the last time  

 A & E came the control panel was replaced. A&E had me make the same chocolate chip recipe (a Betty Crocker recipe) each time. Now if the temp is adjusted to a lower degree-you have to keep waiting to hope that the cookie or other item will be somewhat edible. I do a lot of baking for various activities, but haven't been able to fulfill the requests. This is a real problem, especially since I can not depend on the end results. The factory standards within 35 degrees is differentially not acceptable no matter what you are baking-the item would either be black or under cooked depending how the oven was set. I have been more than satisfied with the other seven appliances I have purchased at Carmona's. Please refer to the last item on your letter dated 11-12-2013. The new hose and connector were for the dishwasher and not the oven. Not until I was having this problem did the lady in the office tell me that I had bought a year old oven and I shouldn't had a warranty on it and I should have paid  for the three times the servicemen came out. I told her I bought a new oven and if it had been sitting on the shelf-the-sales-man should have told me and I would have purchased another one instead. Under the circumstances-having been a good customer for a number of years-the problem with this one item, it would be to Carmona's benefit to replace the oven-one of my choice, rather than loose more customers because of this.


Sincerely,

******

Business Response:

This letter is in response to Mrs. *******’s complaint, ID# *******.  We have already responded to this with a prior letter to the BBB.  As we stated before we were not able to identify any problems in four trips.  The sensor that A&E replaced is very easy to test and our technician ohmed the sensor at 1070 ohms at room temp which is within manufacturer specs, if A&E found it bad or just replaced it to appease a customer I do not know.  At Carmona’s we do not believe in changing parts simply to appease a customer.  No parts tested out of range, and using a high end professional thermometer the oven temperature tested within 10 degrees of the set temp.  My tech calibrated the control 10 degrees to bring it to the exact set temp.  The statement that the control was calibrated 50 degrees hot is false as oven controls only have a maximum 35 degree variance, any oven that tests more than 40 degrees off would have been considered out of range and would have had parts replaced.  Our techs never found this oven to test badly, and I sent another tech out just to verify the first techs findings.  We also ran a biscuit test.  Manufacturers always recommend to do a live cooking test with refrigerator biscuits at the prescribed temp and time.  They do this because of the emulsified recipe to rule out any inconsistencies such as using more or less sugar, mixing dry and wet ingredients incorrectly, etc., etc., that may occur with a homemade recipe.  The biscuits cooked correctly which backed up the technicians meter test.  At this point Mrs. ******* was still not happy so the manufacturer sent a different servicer out.  We do not have any way of vouching for the quality of work by this servicer.  Whirlpool reviewed this case upon our request when the original BBB complaint came to us.  They found that there was no history on this unit from either us or A&E that warranted a product exchange.  It was told to me by the customer that she purchased an extended service warranty through A&E.

I feel that Carmona’s has gone above and beyond to try and help this customer. We made multiple trips at our cost, as oven temperature calibrations are not covered under manufacturer warranty and are supposed to be paid by the customer.  We were never able to find anything wrong with the unit and therefore had no recourse to present to the manufacturer to try to get this customer a new range.  With the sale of an extended warranty, A&E became the responsible party for this oven and we would not be able to do any further repairs without charging the customer.

Sincerely,

6/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Returned item, told a check would be sent for refund amount next week. I was sent a letter telling me our 'fridge needed it's filter replaced. Letter was sent from Whirlpool. Since we bought our fridge from Carmonas, I went there to purchase the filter on June 3. I paid for this item with a check. Over the weekend, we discovered that our model does not have a filter. Today, June 17, I returned the filter and was told that they would send me a check next week for the amount. I questioned this, the answer I got was something along the lines of "it's Monday, we don't have that kind of $ in the till this early on in the week. The item was under $40. I had no choice but to leave the store without my $.

Desired Settlement: Refund full amount immediately.... perhaps interest!

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@CarmonasHomeAppliances.com Mrs. ********* also submitted a complaint via our website the evening of the 17th. Below is a copy of her email and our response. She was refunded by check in less than 24hours from the return of the product she purchased. Our policy is to never refund cash as we only keep a small amount on hand to make change. The bulk of our daily transactions are by bankcard or check, there may be days we take in no cash at all. We believe this matter is resolved and was done so in a timely manner. ****'s complaint: Inquiry from Website You have received the following inquiry: Contact Name: **** ********* Message: I find it not acceptable that I bought something on 6/3, paid for with check, returned item on 6/17 and you say you will send me a check next week. My $ should have been refunded to me immediately. This is not good business. Excuse I was given: It's Monday and we don't have that kind of $ in our till... it was about 1:30 PM and under $40. Not right at all. How is this okay? Our response: ****, I am sorry for any inconvenience this has caused you. Unfortunately we keep a small amount of cash on hand to make change and it is our policy to not refund cash. Generally, if your payment is made by check we have to wait 5-7 days for the check to clear the bank processing system before we will refund. Your check was cut this morning and has already went out in today's mail. Our employees are instructed to let you know it may take up to a week to allow for processing and mailing. You should be receiving the refund in the mail in the next couple of days. Again we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and appreciate your business.

11/29/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: New refrigerator with 5 year warranty purchased over two years ago still not working properly after 6 service visits. ***** ****** purchased a new Whirlpool refrigerator model #********* on 10/04/2010 with a 5 year extended warranty from Carmonas Appliance Center in Redding, Ca. The ice maker does not dispence ice. Carmonas came out to attempt repairs on 03/31/2011, 09/22/2011, 03/02/2012, 04/17/2012 and 05/21/2012. The ice dispencer still does not work and Carmonas states it cannot be fixed and refuses to do anything else.

Desired Settlement: Want the refrigerator replaced or refunded.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I am writing this statement in regards to a Complaint filed by ****** ****** on behalf of ****** ******. I was the last technician to service Mrs. ****** refrigerator and am also the service manager, Mrs. ****** had a long history of her unit not dispensing ice. My technician had already done everything that was recommended by the manufacturer s tech line so t took the call over and went out myself. I found that the ice bin was iceing up due to non use. This model was designed for high ice use and is expected to be used at least a couple of times per day. Per Whirlpool if the ice frosts in the bin the customer needs to empty the bin every couple of days. Mrs. ****** stated that she did not feel that was right and that she was too weak to remove the ice bin from the door. I agreed with her but told her that by Whirlpools standards the unit was working as it was designed and that we had taken all measures to be sure that warm air had not gotten into the unit. Mrs. ***** stated that she should just sell the unit; I told her if that was the choice she made that t would make sure we got her a unit at a highly discounted price to try and help her. I did not hear anything for a couple of weeks when she called back with the same complaint. I went back out and found the same situation, she had a family member there at the time and I explained the situation to him also. At this point the extended warranty company was not paying us any longer as the unit was deemed to be operating as designed. ! cleaned the ice bin and chute out, rechecked the seat of the door and completed the call for no charge to Mrs. ******. A few weeks later she called back and said that the whole freezer was iced up now, t went out and found that a plastic bag of food had been put on the door in an area that prevented the door from closing all the way, When I showed Mrs, ******, she stated that she was too old to have to worry about the door closing and that it should do it on its own. I pointed out that it was because of the bag not the door. This type of repair is considered a customer caused problem and is not covered under warranty, I told Mrs. ****** that I would go ahead and defrost the freezer, an hour tong job, free of charge, Since that call I have gone out to Mrs. ******' house 10-15 times free of charge to help her clean the ice bin out when she didn't have somebody who could do it. t also have spent much of my own time talking to the extended warranty company to see if they could buy her out of the unit but was declined. Mrs. ****** was never charged for any of these instances. I feel that my company and t have done everything we could to help Mrs. *****. At the last service call the unit was working as the manufacturer said it was designed to work, the factory technicians had no further suggestions to try to improve the issue, Whirlpool declined an exchange as the unit is out of manufacturer's warranty, and the customer had been notified that the extended warranty company did not consider this a valid functional complaint and would not warrant any further repairs for this problem.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Warrentech Cosumer Product Services refunded $927.00 To Carmonas Appliance on 10/22/1012 on behalf of the claim filed by ****** ******. This was paid under the lemon protection feature and the reference number is XXXXXXXXX-WRI. She has not been contacted by Carmonas. Again, we want Carmonas to refund the purchase price and remove the refrigerator from her premises.

Business' Final Response
I contacted the extended warranty company as we had not received $927.00 from them on 10/22/12 on behalf of the claim filed by ****** ******. They stated that they had emailed an authorization and instructions to process for a store credit in the amount of $927.00 on 10/22/12. Unfortunately we did not receive that email, and our last contact with the customer before this complaint was May of 2012. They have forwarded the email again to us with the instructions to file a warranty exchange claim. I called Mrs. ****** and explained the situation that we received a complaint in the mail from the BBB and in further research with the information provided by her son in law that the Extended Warranty company had in fact approved a store credit in the amount of $927.00. She was not aware of the complaint filed through BBB, and stated that she is aware that it was not Carmona's fault that she has had so much trouble with the refrigerator. She knew that we had requested that the manufacturer and extended warranty company replace this unit for her as they manufacture and/or carry the warranty on the product and both refused to exchange the unit. I explained that we were happy that this problem will be resolved for her and whatever her son in law did, worked. She then requested that I contact the warranty company and find out if they can just issue a check directly to her and what her time frame to complete the refund/exchange. I have sent an email to the warranty company asking her questions and I am awaiting a reply. I promised Mrs. ****** that I would contact her no later than Tuesday the 20th, with a status.