BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

Century Homestead, Inc.

Phone: (916) 452-7799 4580 Power Inn Rd, Sacramento, CA 95826 http://www.centuryhomestead.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Century Homestead, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Century Homestead, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 16, 1995 Business started: 11/01/1994 Business started locally: 11/01/1994 Business incorporated: 11/14/1994 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Terry Dennis, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Terry Dennis, President
Business Category

Antiques - Dealers Fans - Household Fans - Industrial & Commercial


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4580 Power Inn Rd

    Sacramento, CA 95826

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/28/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a whole house fan and installer from Century Homestead. The fan broke 11 months after install. Company is refusing to repair. I called Century Homestead about a Whole house fan. I was asked questions about my home (sq footage, 2 story..ect). Triangle fan was suggested and described. The approiate shutter was also described. I was given the price of the fan and install (by a professional, liscened installer) was $1,700.) I agreed to the purchase. An installer was sent by Century Homestead. He installed the fan. I paid century homestead on 6/25/2012 with my AMEX card. On 5/17/13 I called century homestead and informed them that my fan broke, I was told the contractor who installed it was gone on military duty. I told them I needed this fixed, that it is covered under warranty. They are refusing to fix it, saying that it is not their responsibliity. Century Homested took my payment... sent the installer so it is their responsibility to get my fan fixed by another contracter.

Desired Settlement: I want my fan get the needed repairs so it will work again. I have allready contacted the manufacturer who agrees Century Homestead is Responsible to fix.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@centuryhomestead.com First and foremost, I want to apologize for not responding to the previous e-mails. We have received several e-mail spams representing themselves as BBB and I did not think it was valid. In June 2012 we received a telephone call from Ms. ***** interested in a wholehouse fan. She said she had contacted the manufacturer, Triangle Engineering, and they gave her our telephone number as we are the distributor for their product in Northern California. She called us and we educated her on the fan and the proper size for her home. She said she would like an estimate. We told her we do not install the product but we could provide her a referral. We furnished her the name of **** Construction and their telephone number. On June 26, 2012 **** Construction purchased a 36" Triangle Wholehouse Fan from us. On June 27, 2012 we received a call from **** Construction. He had completed the install for Ms. ***** and she needed to pay by American Express. He did not accept credit cards so we agreed to accept the sale through our merchant service (never again!!). In May 2013 we received a phone call from Ms. ***** complaining the fan was not operating property. She said she contacted **** Construction and was not able to reach him. We learned the owner of **** Construction left in April for military duty and would not be back until September. Ms. ***** felt we were obligated to take care of the repair (the fan was still performing but making a noise). Since the fan was still working we suggested she wait for his return. On May 17, 2013 we received a call from the manufacturer, Triangle Engineering stating Mr. ***** said we refused to warranty our install. Triangle Engineering knows we DO NOT install the fans - their call to us was a courtesy call letting us know about the dissatisfied customer. She contacted another contractor, *** Construction, complaining. *** Construction called us and we asked him if he could do a service call and we would pay him. On X-XX-XXXX *** did a service call for Ms. ***** (copy attached) and we paid **** We back charged **** Construction for this repair (copy attached) and will get reimbursed in September upon his return. Should you have any questions or need additional information regarding this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1