BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

West Coast Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.

Phone: (209) 634-7374 Fax: (209) 634-1210 2900 N Olive Ave, Turlock, CA 95382 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that West Coast Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for West Coast Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on West Coast Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 28, 2002 Business started: 11/03/1994 in CA Business incorporated: 08/11/2003 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Leticia Calderon, Office Manager Mr. William Calderon, Owner/President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Leticia Calderon, Office Manager
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating & Air Conditioning

Products & Services

West Coast Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. offers the following product(s): Company offers HVAC services.

Alternate Business Names
West Coast Heating and Air Conditioning, Inc.
Products & Services

This company offers heating, air conditioning, sheet metal and plumbing services including new installations, maintenance, service and repairs.

Industry Tips
BBB Tips for Hiring a Contractor in California

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: False and sloppy diagnosis of repair quote and failure to live up to contract which showed such dishonesty we cannot continue contract. During West Coast Air's visit to diagnose our broken home air conditioner in April of 2013, **** (the owner) checked the outside condenser and declared it beyond repair. He stated that it would not be worthwhile to fix and that it leaked all the refrigerant due to the valves being a bit greasy in spite of the fact that there was no oil anywhere else on the unit. He also stated that no warranty was applicable to my system because it had never been registered. The entire unit was new in 2007. **** quoted a price of $4600 after a $600 "discount" for my membership as a contract maintenance customer. I sent him an Internet link showing that exact unit was available online to anyone for $1500 delivered to a nearby truck terminal. During his visit he did not check the inside (evaporator) coil in the garage. He did not check and did not know the condition of the evaporator coil when he declared the condenser faulty. Because of such a sloppy diagnosis and outrageous price I sought out ****** Heating and Air of Modesto for another opinion. For $79 ****** examined the system thoroughly. Their technician opened the housing of the inside coil (which West Coast did not bother to check) and found oil on the pan below the coil. The evaporator coil was leaking, not the outside condenser. West Coast did not even look at the evaporator coil. ****** fixed my unit, handled the warranty (which West Coast declared was not valid) which saved me $2000 in parts, and declared the outside condenser to be working just fine. The total cost to me was $720 - a whopping savings of $3880 compared to West Coast's fictitious proposal! Had West Coast replaced what they called the "unfixable" condenser, my system would still not work; the inside coil was the leaky culprit. I am appalled at either West Coast's incompetence or their dishonesty - perhaps both. After having West Coast do minor repairs to the heater part of our system prior to this incident, and for what seemed a fair price, they had earned a degree of trust from us. But the repair they quoted at $4600 was entirely unnecessary and we had the system fixed properly for just $720. It is now nearly August and our air conditioner is running just fine. On October 1, 2012 West Coast added five pounds of refrigerant to our system, or so we were billed. That five pound leakage should have been a red flag to West Coast and they should have advised us that our system had a major leak. But they said not a word. They simply took our $250 for the material and $89 for the labor and were gone. Our "Service Club Membership" is dated October 1, 2012. We paid West Coast $192 for that membership. Later in October they performed the autumn service on the heater. Spring of 2013 rolled around and we didn't hear from West Coast about a springtime service until I called in late April to tell them that our air conditioner was not working. We did not receive the springtime service and they never called to set that appointment, as well they shouldn't. We can no longer trust West Coast. Because of the reasons above, we demanded a refund of $435 as detailed below: Material added when they should have found the leak first: $250. Service call to install the refrigerant: $89. Half-year maintenance agreement which they have not honored $96. Total: $435. On May 25, 2013 I sent a letter to West Coast outlining all the facts above and demanded the return of $435. To date, West Coast has not so much as shown us the courtesy of a reply. I would take this to small claims court, but in San Joaquin County we have none available.

Desired Settlement: Because of the reasons above, we demanded a refund of $435 as detailed below: Material added when they should have found the leak first: $250. Service call to install the refrigerant: $89. Half-year maintenance agreement which they have not honored $96. Total: $435. On May 25, 2013 I sent a letter to West Coast outlining all the facts above and demanded the return of $435. To date, West Coast has not so much as shown us the courtesy of a reply.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@pacbell.net Mr ********* called on 10/01/12 stating that he was having problems with his condenser, installed by another company and wanted us to come out and fix it. Upon arrival Service Tech/Owner found that the unit was low on freon due to Shrader valves loosing from normal vibration of normal use. At that time there was no signs of oil leakage anywhere. After discussing this problem with Mr ********* and getting his authorization the service Tech/Owner went ahead with the repairs. We charged the customer for the service plus the freon a total of $339.00. At that time customer was very happy with our service and signed up for our maintenance program an additional $192.00. On October 30, 2013 performed fall/winter maintenance, the furnace and coil were working fine. Tech cleaned furnace checked coil and no signs of problems with coil. The service maintenance involves a 14 point check which would have shown any parts that would need to be fixed or changed out. Mr ********* called our office in April to set up and appointment on 04/23/13 to have his condenser checked. Service Tech/Owner diagnosed the condenser with a specialized leak detector devise. This test showed all signs of leakage in the condenser and freon escaping from condenser. There was signs of oil under the condenser. The coil dose not leak oil, but **** leak refrigerant gases. Water condensation can show signs of rust in evaporator pan. Mr ********* did express that he could order the condenser on the internet. Service Tech explained to Mr ********* that we would not be able to warrant the condenser, if he purchased it and that the cost for us to purchase through our vendor would be much more costly. We left the decision up to Mr *********. In the mean time, regarding the warranty we had our vendor checking into it for our customer and found that we would be able to get it under warranty this took place after we received a very disheartening phone call from Mr ********* ACCUSING US OF BEING A DISHONEST COMPANY. We did not pursue this warranty any further. West Coast Heating & Air Conditioning will reimburse the customer half of the maintenance plan which was not fulfilled due to customer complaint of service, in the amount of $96.00 We are appalled of this customers FALSE ACCUSATIONS OF OUR COMPANY. We strive on honesty and work hard at keeping our customers happy. We have been in business for over 25 years and have a clean record with the BBB and will continue to do our best to keep it that way. Concerned, ******* ******** Vice President

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) September 24, 2013 Nothing has changed in WC's response except that he has now admitted that he did not check the evaporator coil since way back in November of 2011. In November 2011 I called him out to repair the heater and for some reason now states that he did not see a leak in the air conditioner's evaporator coil. That doesn't address a thing for the repair that was needed when we called him out for the air conditioner repair in April of 2013. How he considers a heater repair in 2011 to be pertinent to an air conditioner problem in 2013 is beyond me. WC still wants to blame the condenser in spite of the fact that the very same condenser still works fine and has never been repaired! Again, for the umpteenth time: The condenser was not the problem, the evaporator coil was the problem. I have documented repairs done by DeHart Air Conditioner in May of 2013 that prove that the condenser was not leaking. They did, however, find the evaporator coil leaking and replaced it. Again: WC did not bother checking the evaporator coil. THE AIR CONDITIONER HAS WORKED FLAWLESSLY EVER SINCE DeHart TOOK THE TIME TO CHECK THE ENTIRE SYSTEM AND REPLACED THE LEAKING EVAPORATOR COIL WHICH WC DID NOT BOTHER TO CHECK; they checked only the condenser which they falsely stated was un-repairable and tried to replace at a ridiculous price. It was NOT leaking and has not leaked to this date. Again: WC is either incompetent or dishonest. Or Perhaps they are just too lazy to do a proper diagnosis. I do not accept WC's proposed resolution. The only fair resolution to this matter is for WC to admit they are wrong, which is blatantly obvious, and to refund us the entire $435.

Final Business Response
Whether Mr ********* called the condenser an air conditioner is besides the point, it is the same thing. Again, West Coast diagnoses of Mr. ********* air conditioner / condenser diagnosis was correct. My freon meter detector detected freon from the air conditioner/ condenser, Mr. ********* was standing right there when the metering devise went off. I tightened the Schradder valve added freon and the unit was cooling fine when I left that day. As it states in Consumer's Original Complaint Mr. ********* again states that we are dishonest. My diagnosis was correct. As Mr. ********* state in paragraph six that West Coast did minor repairs to the heater/furnace and that we had earned a degree of trust. At time if there had been a leak in the evaporator coil it would have been diagnosed due to the evaporator coil and heater/ furnace are attached together. No signs of any leaky culprit as Mr. ********* states. Again I stand by my repairs. Our offer stands in the amount of $96.00 and actually Mr. ********* signed a year contract. West Coast does not have to honor any amount. We **** not admit to his accusations and will not refund him $435.00. I demand that Mr. ********* stops slandering our name immediately or he will find himself in court for false accusations. Thank you, **** ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1