BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

Service Star

Additional Locations

Phone: (209) 858-9660 Fax: (209) 858-5320 View Additional Phone Numbers 3996 Yosemite Ave, Lathrop, CA 95330 http://www.servicestarinc.net

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Service Star include:

  • 14 complaints filed against business
  • 3 serious complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Service Star include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 14

Additional Complaint Information

BBB files indicate that this business has a pattern of complaints alleging that the company is up-selling to new units without proper diagnosis, misdiagnosing the issues, and that second opinions obtained differ greatly from Service Star. Complainants allege that Service Star technicians indicate that their units are bad or require cost-prohibitive replacement of parts. As a result, the company recommends that the customer replace the entire unit. In some cases the units are disassembled to avoid carbon monoxide poisoning. According to complainants, they obtain second opinions that substantially differ from those of Service Star technicians. In most cases, these customers state that their units are not defective and that they only have minor issues. In all cases, the complainants allege that they do not need to purchase a replacement unit after they obtain the second opinion. A few customers suggest that the company did not test their units for the initial problems they had reported. 

The company responds to complaints by trying to explain their position and rectify the issue.

BBB wrote the business on March 27, 2014, requesting that the company provide to us steps that it is taking to eliminate the underlying cause of complaints, if any. 

On April 30, 2014, the company responded to our request indicating that if units have not been maintained properly or are 9+ years old, they suggest that it is more cost-effective to replace the defective unit as it would outweigh the cost to repair. Furthermore, the company states that in order to keep their customers free from harm and prevent liability to the technician they turn the gas off to the unit as required by law. Regarding third party contractors disputing their diagnosis, Service Star states that while those contractors often perform less expensive repairs, the units will continue to break down and/or require further maintenance. Service Star states that they tell their customers that it’s better to invest their hard earned money in equipment that’s going to last.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Service Star
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 19, 2003 Business started: 04/19/1974 in CA Business incorporated: 08/02/2006 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 293114.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Frank Konrath, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank Konrath, Owner
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating & Air Conditioning

Products & Services

Service Star offers the following product(s): Company offers general construction services.

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Credit Card 
Alternate Business Names
Service Star, Inc.
Products & Services

This contractor provides heating & AC.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3996 Yosemite Ave

    Lathrop, CA 95330 (916) 331-5000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 546

    Ripon, CA 95366

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 465-2300(Phone)
  • (209) 529-1700(Phone)
  • (916) 331-5000(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed a call on 6/24/2014 and Service Star responded on the same day to repair my central air conditioning unit. **** informed me that the fan motor needed replacing. He installed a new fan motor and two capacitors and charged $ 709.00 which I paid by American Express. The air conditioner malfunctioned in four weeks and I called Service Star. They informed me that someone would be out the next day. I informed them I had a medically fragile resident living in the house on oxygen and I needed the unit fixed. No one showed up. Within a few days the unit completely stopped working. I called Service Star once again on the 26th July. They informed me they had no emergency service and could come out in two days. I then called A+ air conditioning who came out the following day. They diagnosed the air conditioner was getting no power and saw that the main breaker to the house had failed. The air conditioner quit cooling. A+ once again returned to my house and discovered that the incorrect motor had been installed by Service Star. The original motor was a 1/5th horsepower motor which was replaced with a 1/3 horsepower motor and two capacitors rather than the original one. Service Star has refused to rectify the situation. Now I am told that now the compressor may have failed.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my air conditioner repaired, replaced and/or money refunded.

Business Response: I would like to start by saying there are untruth's on the customers statemnent. When Mr. ******* called he stated he had an appt on 7/26, however there wasn't a call scheduled with our company. He stated We also do have emergency service, we do have emergency service so that would not have been stated by our office. I informed Mr. ******** that we would be out the following day to repair the ac unit. He then started swearing and verbally threatening me over the phone regarding the medically fragile resident, then called my tech on his cell phone and left a message that stated "I just called up and threatened your office girl! What do you think about that? Ha ha ha." which my tech still has the message in his phone. Main breakers trip due to overload, they don't fail. The motor originally installed in the unit was a 1/5 horse power according to Mr. ********s statement. A+ AC told him that we installed the wrong motor, the 1/3 horsepower is larger than the 1/5 hp, and you can increase the horsepower, just not the RPM's. So he actually got a better motor than was originally installed. In an effort to make sure he got the ac unit working right away, the tech offered the larger motor at the same price, and then also waived our diagnostic fee of $59.00. He also stated that the compressor "may" have failed. If the compressor failed the unit would no longer be running so I'm not sure what he means from his statement. Mr. ******** contacted American Express and received all of his money back, 709.00, as well as the club membership cost of 11.95 per month for 4 months. He kept the motor, got all of his money back, and has posted horrible complaints on the internet about Service Star. Service Star did everything we could to make him happy. He has received all of his money back, the ac was fixed and he has refused to have us come back to repair the unit.

10/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Their salesman ******* ******** came to my home, sold me an HVAC unit fan $7400.00, I signed the contract that I would pay for the unit at a rate of $75.00 Per month for 10 years, but when the finance company sent me the first bill they want me to pay $93.00 per month for 136 months. Looks like Bait & Switch to me.

Desired Settlement: Since they tried to cheat me I think I should only pay them $400.00 for unit.

Business Response: The salesman can offer you a certain rate, but it all depends onyour credit score. No one can guarantee a rate or a payment amount. I would be more than happy to forward a copy of the financing documents you agreed to and signed.

If you have any questions regarding this matter I would gladly speak to you during normal business hours. There was not a "Bate and Switch" on financing documents,  you had to agree and sign the documents or the financing would not have been approved.
Thank you

Consumer Response: This is my rebuttal to message from business dated 10/1/14 from Service Star A/C and Heating Co. it was a bait and switch he used. He told me a price of $75.00 a month for 10 years (end) 400.00 for ten years I would end up pay $9000.00.  The unit that was ok with me, but now it seems he was met authorized to make promise to me, and make me pay for his mistake.

Yours truly,
***** *********

P.S.
The finance company want to make me pay: $93.00 a month for: 136 months

Business Response: I apologize for the confusion. It states on the contract the following:

"This contract Constitutes the entire contract and the parties are not bound by any oral expression or representation by any agent of either party purporting to act for or on behalf of either party or by commitment or arrangement not specified in the contract. " 
 
If there was something "promised" it would have been notated on the contract in writing and initialed by both parties. You signed the contract, as well as the financing documents in (3) places prior to this contract taking affect, the financing documents note the percentage rate, and the plan the Customer Chooses, we don't choose your payment plan. The repayment of the loan does not do anything different or pay us more than the other so there's no reason to "Bait and Switch" any customers regarding A percentage rate or how much there payment will be, or how long it takes to pay it off. 
 
If there is anything I can do to help please let me know, I will do what I can. The financing documents were in your writing, and signed by you. I can't change those. You can call GE Financing and ask them if they can change your rate, we don't have access to your account, and can not speak on your behalf. As far as someone promising something, I don't have any notes stating anything was promised and right now is just "hear say". This company has been in business for over "40" years, we wouldn't be able to do that if there was a "bait and switch" and if we didn't abide by our contract documents. We try to make all of our homeowners as happy as we can if its within reasonable circumstances. 
 
Please let me know if there's anything I can do to help. 
 
Thank you,
 

10/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing this complaint on behalf of my sister- and brother-in-law, ***** & *** ****** of Ceres, California. Service Star advertised $49 for inspection/tune-up of air conditioning systems. However, instead of providing the tune-up, the sales rep insisted that their system needed to be replaced. The $49 special ended up costing them $9,548~~for a mobile home!!! He also said he could get them financing for 7%~~which ended up being 12%. This is a blatant example of senior exploitation. ***** & *** are on a fixed income and the $9,548 bill is extreme for the items/service they received~~especially considering the fact that it was probably unnecessary. They are victims of an unscrupulous business taking advantage of trusting individuals. [***'s brother recently had the same job completed on his house (not a mobile!) for $8,000.]Service Star received my initial complaint letter on 7/16. No response, so I called for Mr. ******* on 8/4: he called ***** and said he would do a review and get back to her in a few days. No return call, so on 8/29 and 9/2 I called again. Still no response. Employee ***** said she turned things over to the business manager and he would call me. Still no response. Therefore, I have decided to go forward with other actions tor rectify this egregious situation.Considering the initial heating/air conditioning units probably did NOT need to be replaced at this time and that my research found the actual cost of the installed items to be less than 25% of the cost~~leaving over $7000 for installation and profit--I feel a refund is due. My research also determined that for the 2 men completing the work, the charge should have been around $1000 ($125/hr x 8 hrs). Allowing for overhead costs, etc., $6000 is still exorbitant and a hefty burden to place on fixed-income senior citizens.

Desired Settlement: Service Star seems to pride itself on providing "the best in home service experience by providing ideal solutions for each individual client based on their individual needs." However, this experience says otherwise.The desired outcome to recify this situation would be for Mr. ******* to actually take the time to review this transaction and refund half of the profit cost.

Business Response: Ms. ******,

 
I would like to start by saying Mr. ******* has already contacted Mr. & Mrs. ****** regarding the purchase of the heating and air conditioning unit and has came to an agreement with them approximatley 2 weeks ago, so I don't agree with the statement that we didn't respond. I, myself have made several phone calls to you with no return phone call. When you first contacted our office regarding this issue, I spoke to you directly and I explained that I could not speak to you regarding the contract between Service Star and Mr. & Mrs. ******. It is a contracted agreement between the homeowner and Service Star and we can not give anyone but the homeowner the details of the agreement, or the agreement that was reached when Mr. & Mrs. ****** spoke to Mr. *******. 
 
I also wanted to address the technician stating he could get them 7% financing, we do not promise anyone a certain percentage of financing because every homeowner knows that percentage depends on the credit score of the person requesting credit. Service Star does not exploite senior citizens, the owner of this business is a senior citizen and he wouldn't allow that. I take offense to the fact that it was stated we are a unscrupulus business taking advantage of senior citizens, The owner of Service Star contacted Mr. & Mrs. ****** and spoke to them directly when he heard there was a problem and they were unhappy. He came to an agreement with them and they are very happy with the service they were provided, the system that was installed, and the fact that the owner of the business spoke to them directly. 
 
As far as someone else purchasing a system that isn't a mobile home for 8,000. In the HVAC business, the cost of a job doesn't depend on what it is we are installing, it depends on what needs to be done at that particular home to make it right. We don't just throw in a system like the one before and hope everything else is ok. We look through the entire system, to assure that every homeowner is getting the best seer rating and air flow from their system. We also include 2 years of free maintenance with our contracts. I would request to see the other contract and see if we are actually tailking about the same size system, washable filters, maintenance etc to see if what they purchased was the same as the ******s. 
 
As far as the pricing of equipment and labor you stated on your complaint goes you are way off on the cost. There are several items you aren't taking into consideration, and the mens hourly wage, administrative cost, and materials is a lot more than you stated. As I am not going to state the cost of these items, I would urge you to try and put in a system, pay your employees, and keep a business running with those numbers. 
 
In closing, I would urge you to contact Mr. & Mrs. ****** and ask them about the conversation they had with Mr. *******, it would clear up this entire conversation. 
 
Regards,
 
******* ******

Business Response: Please contact ***** *******. Per the owner the statement has to be resolved on the BBB prior to him dropping off the check, and the service agreement was extended 1 yr for a total of 3 yrs, not 4. This will be a new complaint against the company and will also need to be resolved. 

 
 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

In an attempt to resolve this issue with Service Star, we are accepting Mr. *******’s new proposal for a 10% adjustment and the service agreement extension.  We would like to have this resolved:  please follow through on your part.

9/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I do not believe that they can void my warranty for my A/C unit because I had used someone else to fix a problem. I had to use someone else due to it was the weekend and I could not get a hold of everyone at Service Star to come out to look at my A/C unit. They advertise that they have 24 hour service but when you try to call on the weekend no one will pick up the phone. I had try for over 1 hours to reach someone and finally gave up and called a different company to come out to fix the problem that i was having with the A/C Unit. Finally when I spoke to someone I believe her name was Nancy on Monday and she said that I had voided my warranty because I had someone else come out to look at the problem that i was having. She said it is the company's policy that you will voided the warranty if you have any other company service the A/C unit. I took her that I try calling all weekend long and no one pick up the phone. Her reply was we do not work on the weekend. I took her that the website for the company show that they have 24 hours service.

Desired Settlement: Reinstated my warranty for my A/C unit

Business Response:

***** *****, 
 
I apologize for the issue regarding your air conditioner, and that you had a problem reaching us on the weekend. I would like to address the fact that you stated that we advertise 24 hours a day. I have copied our hours of operation on our wenbsite that has been there for years, even Ifterwechanged our website. Please see our website at www.servicestarinc.net, under the contact us tab. 

Hours Of Operation

Monday – Friday : 8:00am – 6:00pm
Saturday & Sunday : On Call With Appointments Available

Also, on our advertising in the Sacramento Bee, as well as the Modesto Bee ads, Our hours of opertion are not listed. However, we do have a message machine that is checked periodically after hours, and had there been an emergency we would have contacted you as soon as we could. 

It is Service Star Inc. Policy to not continue warranties once another company has been out to service our units. The reason for this is, Service Star Inc, can not warranty someone else's work. We don't know if they are certified, drug tested, or that they are EPA Certification to work with refrigerant. We screen our employees thouroughly to assure that we are  sending someone who is qualified to work on these units as one wrong move could cost thousands of dollars in repairs. 

There are several other reasons we don't allow other companies to work on our units as well. I also spoke to Nancy and she stated that she remembers your phone call. She stated that she told you that we work on the weekends, but for emergency appointments only.

At the time that you spoke to Nancy, she did schedule you an appointment for 8/1/2014 between 4-6 so our technician to come out and take a look at the unit to see if there was anything we could do for you. The Tech notes are as follows:

Description of Work Performed:Diagnostic -Customer called another company to check the system and they said the system was over charged, and removed freon. I checked system and now its low on refrigerant. Also I found the filter dirty.Warranty is void due to having some other company intereact with our system.Age: 2

The technician also voided the warranty due to lack of maintenance. tt states on your contract, as well as on the users manual you received at time of install that you have to have yearly maintenance on the units to keep the warranty in tact. We also contact all of our customers to let them know that it's time for you to take care of your service. Below are the notes in our system showing when we contacted you trying to get your system maintained:

Inst. 2012- 4/21/12 cust wont update cc info for club she said her husb. will cb. 5/27/12 left voicemail letting cust know we havent recieved payment in 3 months and the club is CANCELED. 8-11-14 left voicem for customer he sent in a request for us to call him, we did so and left several messages and received no call back. 8/20/14 left voicemail for customer to schedule maintenance, still no return call.

I feel we have done our due dillegence in trying to reach you to make sure your yearly maintenance was being done, and also sent a tech out after you sent a different company out there, to find that the system was dirty, as well as this other company reduced the freon level in your unit. Yet, we installed more freon to balance your system at no charge to you, to make sure your unit will run properly. However, the warranty will not be reinstated due to the fact that the maintenance was not kept up on the unit for the first 2 years, as well as allowing another contractor to work on your unit. 

If you would like, you can contact me directly at the office and we can speak about this further. 


Thank you,

******* *******
Service Star Inc.

 

 

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

I have enclosed the web page from their website that states they have "true 24 hours service" so i still believe that my warranty should be reinstated. So I am not sure why they are tell you that they do not have 24 hour service. They did not even provide me with feon like they claim because I was not going to pay the $132.00 that they were going to charge me for the feon.  so I am not sure why they said that they had put feon in my air conditioner.  I am also not sure what are the talking about the "club" because I had purchase a brand new air conidition unit from them back in 2013 I believe. 

Business Response: The "Club" was given to you for the first 2 yrs, we offer it to our homeowners after the free time has expired. that's what was meant by didn't want to give cc for club, we offered you the membership for 11.95/month that covers the maintenance and 20% off of any repairs and you declined the offer. I don't see anywhere on our website that states we are open for 24 hours? And there wasn't an attachment?? I was told by the tech that the freon was installed in your unit, so I'm not sure what to say about the $132.00 for freon, but that is how much we charge for freon. So if I understand correctly, your upset because you called someone else out to fix your unit, they didn't fix it correctly and you wanted Service Star to install freon in your system for free and allow us to warranty another companies work when what they did didn't fix your unit? We can't do that. I would be glad to furnish you a copy of your contract where on the back it states the warranty as follows:

 
2) Terms and Conditions:
     Limited warranties-Service Star warrants its work to be free from defects in material and workmanship for a perod of one year from the date the equipment is installed. When Buyer has work performed by others, Service Star does not warrant such work or for loss or damage which may result therefrom. 
 Buyer shall notify Service Star of any alleged defects or breach of the above warranty within a reasonable time after discovery, in no event later than 10 days after discovery; such notice shall be sent to Service Star in its place of business set forh on the other side of this contract
 
The above warranties are efective only if Buyer has complied with all terms, and conditions, payments and other provisions of the contract. The warranties become void if: the equipment is not serviced according to manufactures specifications. 
Defects or failures resulting from mistreatment or neglect by buyer will be serviced or repaired at the buyers expense. 
 
It continues on, however I will provide the BBB with a copy of your contract so that they can read it in its entirety. 
 
Thank you,
 
*******

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

If you go under your tab About Us pages it states "true 24 hour round the clock service" so doesn't it means that you answer the phones 24 hour every day.  I even talk to the tech and he show me what was wrong with my unit.  He told me that the temp on the gadge  should be a different of 10 degrees.  My unit was a different of 5 degree so I am not sure why you are telling me that he had added feon.   If he did my temp so be with the 10 degreees different but it was not.   I am upset is because your web page states that you have "true 24 hour of service" and I can not get on hold of your company during the weekend because of that I had to call someone else out to fix the problem that I was having will my air conditioner that I had brought from your company.  Don't state that you have "true 24 hours of service" if your company does not provide that.  I am not talking about the club I am talking about the warranty that you provide when I brought the unit from your company.

About Us

History

Service Star has been a locally owned and operated family organization since 1974. “Our goal is to provide our clients with the best in home service experience by providing ideal solutions for each individual client based on their individual needs”.

The Konrath family has been making homes more comfortable in the Central Valley and surrounding areas for decades. Beginning in 1974 Frank Konrath Sr. started his own business out of the back of a single truck. Now, more than three decades later, and a generation later, we’re still going strong focusing on offering the best home comfort solutions to our clients.

From the moment of first contact with one of our friendly customer service representatives to the moment our service technicians or installation technicians complete a service needed. We pride ourselves on the value, and professional service we are able to provide our clients.

Whether you need a furnace or air conditioner repaired or replaced fast…

or just need a simple tune up…

Service Star fits your needs and your budget. With over 3 decades in the heating and air conditioning business. You can count on us for Fast, professional, and honest advice on any Heating or Cooling challenge your facing.

Here are just a few reasons you should choose us for your needs instead of some other HVAC company…

True 24 Hr. Round the Clock Service

True 24 hr. round the clock service you can depend on when that time of discomfort srikes. Unlike most company’s “bankers hours”. Service Star Heating and Air Conditioning is there for you in your most uncomfortable hour. Since we understand the majority of Heating and Cooling challenges happens mostly in the evening hours after a hard days work, or on busy family weekends, our technicians are 100% committed to provide you with round the clock service with a smile.

Same Day Repairs

Same day repairs with our service vehicles stocked with over $15,000 in service and repair parts. Most repairs can be performed without a return visit. Saving you valuable time and money. We understand it’s “nerve racking” to have to wait and wait for a service man, only to find out your system can’t be repaired that same day.

v

Business Response: on your previous statement you asked about the club that's why I answered you. I also stated that i was "TOLD" that there was freon added. I wasn't insisting that it was. I don't have any desire to fight back and forth with you on the BBB website about the hours of the company. The internet is wrong. I will have it corrected. But wether or not we are open on the weekends or not, that doeosn't change the contract that you signed. 

 
 I apologize for your inconvenience, I will let the owner know your issue, but he is the one that stated we don't warranty any units that another contractor has worked on, no exceptions. That is company policy, I can not change it. I will not continue to argue this point on the internet. 
 
I appreciate your time, and apologize for your inconvenience. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is unsatisfactory to me but is wiling to close this file out because the business will not do anything to reinstated my warranty.   I will just not use this company anymore.

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sat July 12th my A/C was working good as normal and on Sunday, July 13th, it would not start when I turned it on. I checked the circuit breakers, all connections and voltage at the unit. All was ok so I attempted to call Service Star as they had installed the unit and it was still within the 5 year warranty. It was Sunday so I couldn't get them and they had no message machine. I called them again on Monday at 8AM and scheduled a service for that PM. As soon as the technician, ****** arrived I explained the situation and he checked the filter. I could tell he was disappointed when he found it was clean. Before he checked any farther he advised me the warranty was not applicable as I had never had the unit serviced. I told him I had no problems so had never had the need for service. He then tried to sell me a service contract for about $150 a year and said this would give me 10% of the 636 leak check and $383 recharge. All this selling before he even checked the unit and determined what the problem was. When he checked the fan unit it was discover it had come unplugged from the wall. When I plugged it in, the cooler started working as normal. I checked the thermostat and the temp was 84 degrees. He told me I still needed to pay the $59 service so he may as well check the units charge. Unfortunately I agreed to this and went in to check the temperature again. It was at 82 degrees and appeared to be cooling normally. He then checked the charge and said it was low and I needed a leak check and recharge up to two pounds. We then had a lengthy discussion about the products he was trying to sell me as he had before looking at the unit. Finally he said he would check for leaks, ad a leak sealant and recharge for $500, with no warranty. I told him this was a ridiculous price and since it was working on Saturday there was no reason why it shouldn't work now that it was plugged back in. He left and I kept it running and for the next hour it never got below 82 degrees. I called the office for him to re

Desired Settlement: Their actions are despicable and I want them, Service Star, out of my life with no charge to me. He did come back out and said under no circumstances could he have leaked out the Freon. I never accused him of this so I feel he had a guilty conscience. Two days later I had it recharged and a leak test done and it is working fine to this date. The cost to do so was very reasonable and the person who did it said the technician had probable let the Freon out as he had seen this several times before

Business Response: First I would like to state that it is mandatory for the Preventative Maintenance to be done on every unit that is installed by Service Star in order to keep the warranties valid, I also spoke to Mr. **** and explained to him that on his contract with Service Star, it states that warranties will be kept in place as long as the Manufacturers Suggested Maintenance was done on the unit. Lack of maintenance will cause units to leak, and become problems. Also, I would like to point out that he said in his first sentence that " My AC was working good as normal" and then in the same statement said it wouldn't turn on. If it's not turning on, it's not working as "normal". Also, there is no way to know if the unit needs refrigerant unless he checked the charge, his statement of selling him a repair before looking at the unit is an untruth, he stated in his complaint, that he DID have to have the leak search and recharge done by another company, so Service Stars technician was correct in his diagnosis.

 
Mr. **** called our office to schedule a Service Call for his air conditioner, we scheduled him an appointment for our technician to come out and informed him of the $59.00 Diagnostic Fee that is associated with this service, which is not covered under warranty. We also explained that if in fact it was a Warrantied item that there would not be a $59.00 Diagnostic Charge, but that we wouldn't know that until we came out to review the issue. He agreed and we sent a technician to his home. 
 
He called that afternoon to let me know of his issue that the unit wouldn't cool since our technician went out to his home that morning. I apologized for his inconvenience, and sent the technician back to his home the same afternoon. After returning to the home, he found that there wasn't an additional issue, other than the issue that he explained to Mr. **** the first time he arrived. The unit was low on refrigerant, which states that there is a leak, and the leak needs to be found otherwise the same issue would keep happening, Mr. **** then expressed that he didn't want to pay for the leak search nor did he want to pay for the Freon, that it should be covered under a warranty. I explained to Mr. **** that since the unit was installed in 2009, already 5+ yrs old, and he had never had any maintenance on the unit that the leak check and Freon would not be covered under warranty because a leak is indicative of lack of maintenance. I offered Mr, **** a reduced rate of $500.00 to cover the search and the repair since he was a Service Star customer, from the original price of $1,019.00, ($636.00 for the leak search, and $383.00 for the Freon) and he still thought that it was too much. 
 
I told him I had already lowered the cost of the repair over 50% and that would be the lowest that I would go for the repair, and that I thought that was reasonable since any of the other customers would have to pay full price in this situation. Mr. **** wanted Service Star to cover the cost of the repair, and the cost of sending our technician to his home a total of 3 times in the peak of the summer when the heat was over 100 degrees. I explained to him that the HVAC unit was a machine with motors and movable parts just like the vehicle he drives and it has to be maintained or it would break down. I then asked him, if he bought a car 5 years ago and never changed the oil, would he then take the vehicle back to the dealer and expect to have it repaired for free at the cost of the dealer? No. that's not how you take care of a very expensive piece of equipment that you rely on every day to keep your home comfortable. So it wasn't fair that he was wanting us to cover his repair, the labor fuel etc to send our technician to his home 3 times in less than 48 hours, because he didn't feel he had to pay.  Service Star's warranty on this unit is a total of 2 years per his contract. The only warranty he has at this time was a Manufacture Warranty, and the Manufacture will not cover a leak search, Freon, or labor. They warranty the parts of the equipment, and nothing else which is standard for all HVAC Manufactures, unless it is a defective part. 
 
I believe that the unit wasn't cooling prior to my technician arriving on site, and this was a "Baited Call". I believe that Mr. **** unplugged the unit intentionally and then blamed Service Star for "Breaking his Unit" so he could get the repair covered at no cost to him. There is no way that the unit would just come unplugged (It is a very large Plug that is hard to take out), unless someone intentionally Unplugged It. The technician offered Mr. **** a Tune Up on his unit while he was there since the repair was so easy, he didn't want the customer to have to pay him just for plugging the unit back in. Mr. **** accepted and did sign the work order at the end of the service. The technician noted on his work order the following:
 
-Found furnace unplugged & unit low on refrigerant. 
Quoted: leak search @ 636.00 -R-22 383.00 for 2 lbs
Furnace was unplugged upon arrival. Low on refrigerant, 45 degree super-heat. Homeowners want to leave things as is and hold off on repairs.
 
While I understand that customers don't always agree with business practices, there is a common ground that typically can be reached that is very reasonable considering the circumstances. We have been in business for over 40 years and take care of our customers as much as possible. However, the manor in which Mr. **** spoke to me and my office staff, as well as threatening us to post this to the BBB and all over the internet is not the correct way to approach this situation. I offered Mr. **** 50% off the cost of the repair, and also did not charge him for the additional 2 times we had to arrive at his home for the same issue. I think that we went above and beyond to please Mr. **** and the only way to have made him happy would have been to cover the cost of his repair, and the service call that he requested. 
 
I believe that the homeowners negligence to the equipment, and baiting our company is despicable. We will no longer service, or repair the unit for Mr. ****, nor have any desire to further a business relationship with him because of his actions. He DID accuse the technician of taking Freon out of his unit so that he could charge him for the repair, this was one of his first statements to me on his 2nd call to our office, and his denial of his actions are cowardlly. I also find it hard to believe that another company came out to find and repair his leak less than $500.00, unless of course they filled it with F reon and stated that it was fixed. The other technician who stated that my technician let the freon out on purpose has a bad sense of business, and had no right to state that as he was not there at the time of service and Service Star would not allow our technicians to speak badly about other companies work, it is against company policy, and VERY unprofessional. 
 
Sincerely,
 
Service Star Inc,

Consumer Response:

To whom it may concern,
 
In regards to response from Service Star, case***********, I initially felt it did not deserve a response from me as it appeared to be a rambling smoke screen and an attempt to discredit my complaint. However, because of the inaccuracies, half truths, lies and misleading information, I have decided to respond and will do so one paragraph at a time.
 
Paragraph #1: At no time during the sales process, the installation or any time later was I informed a service contract was required to keep the warranty in force. Service Star misquoted the chain of events in my need to call them. On Saturday
 
 the unit worked and cooled as it always had. When I turned it on Sunday it would not operate and that is when I attempted to call them for service. I  called them because they had installed the unit less than five years ago and I felt they would give a break on cost if it were not covered by warranty. Obviously I was wrong on this matter.
 
Paragraph #2: Monday morning I contacted them and set an appointment latter that day. The diagnostic fee and warranty were not discussed at that time, nor disclosed to me. I knew there would be a charge for the services and was will to pay for the repairs if it fixed the problem.
 
Paragraph #3 & 4: When the Tech returned and found the unit running and not cooling he stated that there was no way he could have caused a loss of Freon. Until then I had not accused him or the company of doing so. After he left I called another certified and licensed Technician out to complete the job and make my unit cool again. Three days later he recharged my unit and checked it for leaks and found none. It has been cooling and running correctly since then. I asked him how the Freon leaked out and he said he had seen it happen accidentally when the gauges were hooked up to check the pressure.
 
Paragraph #5: It was despicable and unconscionable of Service Star to accuse me of a "baited call" when the unit had accidentally come unplugged from the wall because they had incorrectly routed the wire when they installed the unit.
 
Paragraph #5: The licensed and certified technician that fixed my unit, did so for under a hundred dollars. Service Stars quoted charges appear to be excessive and abusive to do the same job. 
 
Summation: My A/C unit would not turn on because it had accidentally come unplugged from the outlet and after I plugged it back in, under the Service Star technicians supervision, it worked and cooled as normal. Only after the technician attached his gauges to the unit and attempted to check the line pressure did it quit cooling.  The second companies technician recharged the unit and found no leaks when he check for them and the unit is working correctly to this date.
 
 If I can save one person from having Service Star put them through what they have done to me, I feel my efforts in this complaint process were justified.

11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service Star tech told us the blown motor relay was failing & wrty ended 3 yrs, my wrty says 5 yrs; now when called won't cover cause of maintenance. On Nov. 04th 2013 approximately 1:30 Service Star tech ******* said the blower motor relay needed to be replaced due to failure. Tech said caused from dirt & dust in motor that was sealed. The blower motor relay failed from inside air intake. Tech reminded us it was a part that wears and tares. When asked if covered by warranty tech replies 3 years was my warranty. He suggested to order a filter of 70 to 90% too contained particles. I have a silver membership account so you receive 20% discounts on parts & misc. Purchased new part for $202.00. Double checked warranty noticed its a 5 years warranty full labor & parts; called Service Star the following day spoke with manager replied with my unit hadn't been maintained in 2012 for that reason part was not covered under warranty.

Desired Settlement: The purchased that the service tech charged me for the blower motor relay. $202.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response
The technician found that the unit and filter was clogged and very dirty. The warranty states that the customer has to maintain the unit on a yearly basis, since the unit was not serviced in over a year and had not been properly maintained, that the warranty was voided. We have to return the faulty motor relay to the manufacturer, when they see the amount of dirt in the unit, they will not honor the warranty, leaving Service Star financially responsible for the part. In the warranty documents it states that the homeowner must maintain the unit and this had not been done. I spoke to the homeowner and tried to explain the warranty issue 3 times during 3 different phone conversations, and was yelled and cursed at. I also stated that she is more than welcome to call the manufacturer and verify our statement.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

7/15/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service Star did not honor their warranty for the repair of my air conditioner, and attempted to defraud me of $4799. I bought an air conditioner for $9999 from Service Star and they installed it October of 2009. I have a written warranty indicating 10 year parts and labor. The air conditioner stopped working and I called for service. The technician ******* came out and said because of lack of maintenance the outside coil had failed because he said oil had leaked around the coil. He said they would not cover the coil or installation. He said a leak test was a waste of money because of the presence of oil. He wanted to charge me $4799 for this repair with a discount if done the next day. I was very suspicious about the rush to get it done and upset that they were not honoring their warranty. I called another company for a second opinion and the wetness around the coil turned out to be water from the sprinklers and there was no external evidence of a leak. The other company did a leak test the next day and found the leak to be from the coil in the attic which was manufactured by Aspen with known issues from 2008 and 2009. The tech from Service Star never stepped foot in the attic and claimed to be a part owner in the business. I therefore had no recourse since he stated he was an owner. The repair is being done by the other company and costing me $1732 which should be refunded to me since their part owner declined what should have been a warrantied repair.

Desired Settlement: I want the $1732.00 cost of repair and $59 service fee for diagnosis refunded to me by Service Star. The new part was covered under manufacturer warranty. I will be seeking legal action if this issue is not resolved. I have all receipts from the other company.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Re: Case No. XXXXXXXX Installation Address: **** *********** *** Antelope, CA XXXXX On 5/20/2013 we received a BBB complaint from *** *****, in which he stated : 1. Service Star tried to defraud him of $4799. 2. Did not honor his warranty. 3. The system was misdiagnosed 4. The Technician represented himself as a part owner of the company. Service Star Inc has been in business for over 35 years. We are not in the business of defrauding anyone. Our warranties are simple. 10 year "Parts & Labor". "Parts" are things like, blower motors, fan motors ect. The "Labor" refers to the labor costs for installation of these Parts. This warranty in no way covers Equipment replacement and is not implied to do so. In order for the "Parts and Labor" warranty to be valid, the equipment must be maintained on a regular basis. Below is a description of our warranty policy, (the bolded portions refer to work done by others and our personal warranty policy): "TERMS AND CONDITIONS Limited Warranties- Service Star warrants its work to be free from defects in material and workmanship for a period of one year from the date the equipment is installed. When Buyer has work performed by others, Service Star does not warrant such work and Service Star shall not be held liable for such work or for loss or damages which may result therefrom. Buyer shall notify Service Star of any alleged defects or breach of the above warranty within a reasonable time after discovery, in no event later than 10 days after discovery; such notice shall be sent to Service Star at its place of business set forth on the other side of this contract. The above warranties are effective only if Buyer has complied with all terms and conditions, payments and other provisions of the contract. The warranties become void if; the equipment is not serviced according to manufacturer specifications. Defects or failures resulting from mistreatment or neglect by Buyer will be serviced or repaired at the Buyer's expense. If Buyer has work performed by others that is not provided for in this contract, such as, but not limited to, electrical panel changes, plumbing, ect., Service Star does not warrant such work, and Service Star shall not be held liable for such work or for loss or damages which may result therefrom, or for delays to Service Star caused by such work.. The sole and exclusive remedy of the Buyer and the obligation of the Service Star for the matters set forth herein whether on warranty, contract, negligence or strict liability, is the repair of the defect. Service Star shall in no event be liable for special or consequential damages." In regards to the Technicians' diagnosis; our Technician believed that the leak was inside of the condenser coil. ******* notated that he saw the presence of oil leaking, which is why he stopped there. If Mr.***** had questions as to what he was being told, or doubts about any warranty issues, he should have called the office to make us aware of it. Our standard procedure is to send a different Technician out and have them do a second opinion of the situation. Service Star is owned by ***** *******, *** ******* is not a "part owner" of Service Star. We do apologize for him representing himself this way to Mr. *****. However, with that having been said, someone telling you they are a "part owner" does imply that there is another, more authoritative owner that you could turn to within the company. Mr. ***** chose not to call or even try to talk to anyone else. Service Star does not cover work done by other companies and therefore will not pay the $1,732 that is being requested by Mr. *****. As I stated above, if at any time Mr. ***** had called the office, this issue could and would have been resolved internally. There was no communication from him. We are willing to refund him the $59.00 for his diagnostic. Regards, ***** *******, Owner Service Star Inc.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I completely disagree with this response and can elaborate as to the reason. After the technician left my home, giving the diagnosis to my adult son he gave me an estimate for the repairs and said that if I did it today I would get another 5% discount. I became very suspicious about rushing the decision to have the repairs done because they said the damage was due to the lack of maintenance on the outside coil and would not be covered on my warranty. ******* had to of touched the alleged wetness to determine if it was oil or not. He then made a conscious decision to call it oil when in fact it was water. He then wanted me to pay $685 for a leak test that he explained was unnecessary because it was definitely oil around the coil. I called another company to get a second opinion who informed me that the diagnosis was irresponsible at best and fraudulent at worst. I had the leak test performed by the other company who said it was the coil in the attic and had nothing to do with maintenance or services.The Aspen coils have a known manufacturer defect from the year my air conditioner was installed and many have failed. The technician called ******* on my behalf and discussed the misdiagnosis as well as other problems with the service call. The phone call was put on speaker and we asked for his managers name and he said he was part owner and and we asked for the other owners name which he refused to identify anyone in authority who could over rule him. I later called and asked the person in the office about the warranty and she said the repair was not going to be covered under warranty after being on hold for some time. I believed that he was one of the owners and I had no recourse to discuss my situation any further. Mr. ******* states in his response that they don't cover other companies work. The work was performed by the other company because of Service Star's refusal to honor their warranty. The manufacturer honored the part warranty from their end it was only Service Star who failed to comply with their agreement. I have never been contacted by Mr. ******* to discuss the case or my concerns with his staff. The dishonesty from his technician is very concerning considering it is obviously condoned by his company. The amount of reimbursement in the original complaint did not include the leak test from the other company and will be amended if further action is necessary.

9/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Technician was either dishonest or incompetent when performing work and found problems that were not present. On July 12, 2012, Service Star was contacted to repair an AC unit that was not functioning properly. The technician said there must be a leak and a time was scheduled for him to return in the morning when attic temperature allowed work. The technician indicated the leak check service would cost around $300 which was agreed to. The work had to rescheduled for the morning of July 23. On July 23, 2012, the technician performed the leak check and indicated there were several leaks. The technician also unplugged the unit and left it unplugged (the fact that the unit was unplugged was not disclosed by the technician but was found the next day by the home owner). The technician returned that night and informed the home owner that the cost of the repair would be about $1,600 but said this was a temporary solution. The technician then tried to sell the home owner a new system ranging from $6,600 to $12,000. The home owner became skeptical after the high cost and fact that the unit was unplugged. He called a second company which found a leak outside at the Schrader valves which were replaced. A vacuum leak check of the system indicated no other leaks and the system was re-charged with Freon for a total cost of $144. It is the conclusion of the home owner that the fist technician used dishonest business practice in two ways. First by finding leaks that were no actually there and second by leaving the unit unplugged to make the home more uncomfortable to induce the home owner to buy the new expensive system. Home owner called Service Star on July 30, 2012 and requested a refund. Service Star said there was nothing they could do.

Desired Settlement: Although the leak check service cost was approved by the home owner, the technician apparently found leaks that were not actually there. Although the service and price were agreed to by the home owner, there is an expectation of competence and honesty that was violated. Since there was no value received for this service, the home owner would like the money for the leak check refunded.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We have received from the Better Business Bureau, a copy of your complaint dated 7/30/12. In this complaint you state that you are unhappy with the service that you have received. The process our technicians use is "Electronic Leak Detection", otherwise known as a "Sniffer". This detector picks up both large and small Freon leaks. When our technician used the detector he said that on every sensitivity it indicated that there were several leaks in the evaporative coil, which is why he recommended replacement of the coil. As far as the Schrader Valves, our technician noted that there was NO Freon leaking out of, or any indication that it had been leaking from that location. We apologize for the unit being left unplugged, had we been called, we would have gladly went out and plugged it in for you, this was just an oversight. We would not intentionally leave a system unplugged to make anyone uncomfortable or to make a customer purchase anything. Our technician did what he was asked to do and found the leak in the system. It is always your choice if you would like to repair the problem or leave the unit as is. We do not take advantage of our customers. As far as a resolution, all we can do as a business is try to meet the customer's needs as best we can with whatever circumstances we are dealing with. We are sorry any inconvenience you have been caused.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The fact that the technician said he found leaks is not in question. What is in question is if he actually found any. The fact that the technician used what would be called a "hard sell" to induce the sale of a multi-thousand dollar system replacement is suspicious. As for the technician leaving the system unplugged being an over-sight. That might be possible except for the fact that he left it un-pugged in the morning and returned that evening to try to sell the home owner a new system. During the "sell" comments were made by both the home owner and the technician about how hot the house was that evening. The technician had this second opportunity to correct his oversight and failed. Either the technician was dishonest or incompetent. Either way, the results of the leak checks remain questionable. The home owner spent about $400 with Service Star and received no repair work, a disabled system, a questionable diagnosis and a hard sell for a new system. The owner then spent $144 with a second service company that resulted in a system that was diagnosed and repaired and has worked fine since. Of what value was Service Star in this case? What is the price of Service Star's integrity? Apparently its value is somewhere around $400. The home owner still requests a refund for the cost of the questionable leak check.

Business' Final Response
We stand by our original response to this complaint and have nothing further to add.

8/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They came out on 06/28 to tell me I needed a new A/C Unit, when I simply asked them to do a service check. I got a second opinion that told me I did not need a new unit, and mine is just. The gentleman from service star pressured me to get a new unit with a 10% discount. He said it was 19 years old, and it's not it is only 9 years old.The name of the man was *******.

Desired Settlement: I paid $38.00 to be lied to and pressured, and this is not appropriate to take advantage of an elderly lady.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We have received from the Better Business Bureau, a copy of your complaint dated 7/5/12. In this complaint you state that you are unhappy with the service that you have received. In checking your work order I noticed that he has noted down 12 years old as the age of your system. I do see by my records that the unit is only 9 years old, so in that, he did make a miscalculation. As far as what was found, he noted down that what was needed was a compressor fan motor due to the motor over amping. I do also see where a new system was quoted, but not that your system had to be replaced. The pricing was provided to you as an option. When they do a service they are required to present anything that they find wrong with your unit as a courtesy to you, it is always your choice if you would like to repair the problem or leave the unit as is. We do not lie and take advantage of our customers, elderly or not. As far as a resolution, it is not clear what it is that you would like us to do. We did the service we were asked to do. All we can do as a business is try to meet the customer's needs as best we can with whatever circumstances we are dealing with. We are sorry any inconvenience you have been caused.

Consumer's Final Response
I did not need a compressor fan motor. The other air conditioner person said everything was fine. Service Star lied to me. I don't see that they should use BBB with their advertisement in the paper. I will never use Service Star and I have told many of my friends not to use them. I am not satisfied with their response, but I know they will not do anything. They wanted to sell me a new unit which I didn't need. There was nothing wrong with my unit. They should not be using your BBB. Why should I pay them for repair as I didn't need any repair on my unit. You do not need to respond.

8/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service person gave me an inaccurate recomendaion. Air conditioner was not cooling properly. Since I purchased from Service Star 2-3 years prior, I called them to look at problem. I told them I had a friend that look at it and he said the freon pipe was not as cold as it should be. Service person went with that information and wrote up recomendation to 'replace txv valve at $1182 and freon at $132 for 2 lbs. They charged me $59 for this incorrect diagnosis. Based on the expensive estimate I asked another air conditioner company to look at the problem. They saw the problem right away and fixed it with a few minutes: The expansion valve bulb was not tied down properly. They unwrapped it, clamped it down and wrapped it back. The problem was fixed!!!! Cost me $60 versus $1314. I feel they took advantage of me because I was senior citizen and wouldn't know the difference. This would have been my second complaint but I didn't officially complain before. When I bought the AC from this company they charged an extremely higher amount for the AC then other comparable companies in this area. Their adverticement said if unsatified, they would come and take it back. I called and told them to pick up their product because I felt I paid too much. After bickering back and forth, they finally matched another quote I got.

Desired Settlement: Service person should have been educated enough to figure out that the valve was not tightened. Instead he recommended the more expensive route which was repacing the entire valve.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We have received from the Better Business Bureau, a copy of your complaint dated 7/11/12. In this complaint you state that you are unhappy with the service that you have received as well as the knowledge of your technician. As with every other specialty service business, our technicians are not infallible and do on occasion make mistakes. We by no means are in business to rip anyone off, nor do we take advantage of seniors. All we can do as a business is try to meet the customer's needs as best we can with whatever circumstances we are dealing with. We are sorry any inconvenience you have been caused. As far as a resolution, it is not clear what it is that you would like us to do. We would be more than happy to return your diagnostic fee of $59 to you. If you would like this done, please let us know.

Business' Final Response
Mrs. ****** contacted the office and accepted the $59 refund. The complaint has been resolved.

8/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My father in law, called for service, was told needed whole new HVAC unit, which was installed, but WAY overpriced. Service Star charged my elderly\disabled inlaws on a 105 degree day, $8538 to change out their HVAC unit. Service Star received $4538 in a personal check, and arranged $4000 to be financed by an unknown company. They were given a "Customer Investment" agreement, only with the total charged, as well as the $4000 that was financed. I have good friends in the HVAC profession, and from what I'm told, the total costs shouldn't have been more than $6500, which as echoed by a couple of other companies that I called that perform the same work in the area my InLaws Live. I called Service Star multiple times to talk to a manager or supervisor, to see if I could get a breakdown of the charges to see what was Parts\Labor\Tax\other Charges, you know, the normal stuff companies put on invoices and work-orders, and was told repeatedly that "******" was busy, and wouldn't be able to get back to me until early NEXT WEEK (this is Tuesday by the way.) This is UNACCEPTABLE, and now feel that my Inlaws were taken advantage of by being overcharged as much as $2000 ($8538 if they actually didn't need the unit in the first place), and am pretty sure they are getting financed by a finance company that charges maximum APR's, and this "deal" could end up costing them $12-$15k or more before they are able to pay this off. I was, and remain respectful, but for some reason they are treating ME like a bad guy, even though I'm trying to make sure my Elderly Family members aren't being taken advantage of...but its starting to look more and more like thats what has happened.

Desired Settlement: I believe this job should have cost no more than $6500, based on professional estimates I have been given. I also believe any respectable company should be able to give FULL DISCLOSURE on any monies that are given to them, before and ESPECIALLY AFTER the transaction has taken place. I swear this feels like one of those NBC exposes. Please help. Sincerely, **********, On behalf of my father in law ****** ****** *****@gmail.com XXX-XXX-XXXX

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
This complaint was resolved with the customer, last Friday. The price was lowered to $8,000 and the customer was refunded the differance. Thank You.

3/26/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues