BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Rhino Heating and Air?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Rhino Heating and Air

Additional Locations

Phone: (916) 481-4650 Fax: (800) 545-7086 3487 Orange Grove Ave Ste P, North Highlands, CA 95660 http://www.rhinohvac.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

HVAC sales and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rhino Heating and Air meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rhino Heating and Air include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Rhino Heating and Air
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 27, 2009 Business started: 01/31/2008 in CA Business started locally: 01/31/2008 Business incorporated: 01/31/2008 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 912509.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ryan Carlson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ryan Carlson, President
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning

Products & Services

Rhino Heating and Air sells the following brand(s): Amana, , Rheem

Rhino Heating and Air offers the following product(s): HVAC Equipment, HVAC Replacement Parts

Method(s) of Payment

Visa or Mastercard

Cash

Alternate Business Names
D & R Construction Services, Inc. Rhino Heating & Air
Products & Services

Rhino Heating and air specializes in heating and air conditioning services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Rhino Heating and Air has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2430 Verna Way

    Sacramento, CA 95864 (916) 287-0701

  • 3487 Orange Grove Ave Ste P

    North Highlands, CA 95660

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a HVAC unit from Rhino on 12/19/2012 and its still not working properly Rhino has been out here 11 times to fix it and its still not fixed. problem date:12/24/2012 Purchased 12/19/2012 Model number: Heating unit RGPN-07NAMER Model number: Cooling unit ********** permit number# XXXXXX Sales Rep(owner): ***** ******* 7,281.00 Loan from Smud Complaint: Dec 20-22nd 2012 Heater installed took three days to install the heater, they didnt install the cooling unit the same time they installed that at a later date 12/25/2012 called to file a complaint the heater didnt work 12/27/2012 Rhino came over to "correct" the problem 1/2/2013 Called to file a complaint the heater was still not working 1/4/2013 Rhino came over to "correct" the problem 1/7/2013 called to file a complaint the heater was still not working 1/9/2013 Rhino came over to "correct" the problem 1/10/2013 called to file another complaint the heater wasnt working (when i say doesnt work it was turning off and wouldnt heat the house before turning off it wouldnt be on for more then 4 minutes then shut back off) 1/11/2013 Rhino came back over to "correct" the problem again 2/1/2013 called Rhino again to tell them the heater still wasnt working, they wouldnt work with us and have someone out over the weekend so we had to wait until the following business days 2/5/2013 they came back over to correct the problem During this time Rhino provided us with awful customer service they never worked with us to a time that worked for us, we had to take time off work and pay a relative to work with us and help come over to wait for them. 2/25/2013 Came over to install the AC unit 2/21/2013 HVAC inspection City of Rancho cordova came out and it didnt pass there were problems 2/22/2013 called Rhino to talk with them about the problems they told me someone wasnt in and they well call me at a later date to go over the problems 3/4/2013 called and talked about problems, they had to order a part and the only time they could come out to fix the problems was 3/21/2013 they finally came out to correct the problems the inspector found 4/19/2013 inspector came out and the inspection passed 4/22/2013 called rhino the pipe that indicates something is wrong with the ac when leaking was leaking called rhino she said it wasnt good she would call me back to let me know when someone can be out called me the day of 4/23/2013 and said someone can come out there and fixed it so i left work again for them to come over and fix the probem 4/24/2013 it was still leaking when the AC was on called and she said they sent the wrong guy out and she well send someone out who knows how to fix the problem but that wouldnt be until 4/30/2013 they came out to fix the problem again and claimed it was just clogged and that night it was still leaking 5/1/2013 they came out to fix the leak that same night it was still leaking 5/1/2013 same night i called rhino and told them it was still leaking, (i talked with ***** the owner everytime) she said someone would be out on 5/6/2013 to fix it and gave us a time frame 5/6/2013 rhino called me 4 hours before the time frame and told me they couldnt come out set up a new time frame for the following day 5/7/2013 5/7/2013 came home to wait for them they never showed a hour after the time frame was over i called ***** and she said everyone that works there has the stomach flu and no one can come out and i still have not heard back from her after me leaving a message with them on 5/8/2013 our AC is still not working one time she said it was ok to run the air just check the pan up in the attic on our own to make sure it dont over flow im not in the position to do that, so basically if i cant do that i cant run the air. at the time and date i still do not know when our AC unit well be fixed this has all been a on going issue since we purchased the product in December of 2012

Desired Settlement: We would like product replacement since we have had so many problems with this unit and it seems it cant be fixed, or refund for the time lost coming out here for them to fix it.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
********* Installation. In response to the *********'s complaint filed, Rhino Heating & Air would like to say that any issues that occurred with the installation of their HVAC system and ductwork were addressed and resolved in the timeliest manner possible. When installing a new system, and ductwork there sometimes are instances where we need to return to the property to make adjustments or changes for the install to pass all requirements by law. Yes, there were unforeseeable complications that arose, but again, Rhino resolved those issues in a timely manner with the homeowners concerns in mind. Please see the following notes that show the dedication Rhino has shown to the *********'s. ***12-20 and 12-21. Installation of a complete HVAC system, attic installation and replacement of duct work (due to rodent problems).The attic was overfilled with insulation making the installation take much longer than normal. Holiday closed till 12/26 Service went to the house on Saturday 12/22 to find out why they had no heat. Found the high limit tripped. All parts houses and Manufacture are closed for the holiday. Bi passed limit to get the customer heat and told them we would return the next week. Spoke to Father -In-Law (not the customer) on Christmas day, 12/25. They had heat but he asked to have the unit removed and a new one installed at his time. We told him this was not possible as the manufacture requires the contractor to work with them to find the problem before a replacement is offered under warranty. ****Returned on 12-27 for a scheduled visit to completed the installation. Gave the contact person a 30 min call for their convenience. At this point due to the large amount of airflow to the house and the problem with the furnace we told the customer we would add two additional ducts to the home to make the air flow better. This was being done at no charge to the customer to try and attend to their concerns. They had heat at this time also. ****Our next visit was 1/4 which was the scheduled Title 24 testing, a required part of any installation and it is necessary for us to have access to the home. At the same time, for the customers convenience, we added the two additional ducts to address issue. The father-in-law was given a 30 min call to meet us at the home per the homeowners request. We also ran the required duct test and it required us to change out the TXV in the coil. ****Our next visit on 1/9 we changed the TXV and completed the Title 24 testing. The test passed ** this time. This visit would also be required and Rhino would need access to the house as part of a normal installation to get the Title 24 certification. We gave the contact person a 30 min call to prevent extra waiting on their part. 1/11 we bypassed *** limit and taped the indoor coil to address the heating issue. Customer called us on 2/1 to tell us it was not working again. It had been working from the last visit so we needed to speak with the manufacture before we addressed the issue again. Our technicians were in contact with the manufacturer's tech support manager throughout the next few days to try to resolve the problems the unit was having. The home owner's father in law called us several times during this time to check the status of the calls made, and each time was notified that we were in contact with the manufacturer and that we were working diligently to get any problems handled for the home owners. The manufacture was already closed on 2/1 when the customer called. We spoke to the manufacture on Monday 2/4 and we were asked to increase the size of the plenum (where the ducts are attached) and to check the gas pressure that is set at the factory. 2/5 At a scheduled appointment with a 30 min call to the contact we arrived and found the gas pressure that was set from the factory to be too high. We adjusted the pressure and increased the size of the plenum per manufacture request. During this time Rhino attempted to help the customer in any way we could to minimize their wait time. We told them they could leave a key- we are bonded and insured, or they could have a 30 min call when we were on our way. We only have so much we can do when we need a customer to be available and tried to help in any way we could. The AC unit was not installed on 2/25 as the Title 24 testing could not have been completed unless the condenser was in place. I have no idea how to address this stated concern. ****3/21 Inspection Corrections scheduled. This is a normal part of an installation and is part of the process. Rhino has six months to correct any problems found from an inspection from the City of Rancho Cordova. We came out within 30 days to take care of the corrections. Prior to coming out to do the corrections we had to speak to the inspector from the city and he removed two of the corrections as they were incorrect on his part. A letter was included in the permit file. Corrections were completed this day with a 30 min call to the contact the homeowner gave us. The inspection was called in and the installation passed all inspections. 4/24 thru 5/7: Customer call to alert us that water was draining from the secondary drain outside. This drain is there to protect the unit from overflowing in the attic. They were told to go ahead and run the system as needed. The system was not in any danger of overflowing - if water was in the pan there is an automatic switch that would have shut the system down. The owners were told this so there was no reason for anyone to go into the attic and check the pan. Mrs. ********* did say that her husband had gone up and looked but they were not told by us this was necessary. SMUD, at their inspection visit, has commented on concerns of the insulation getting into the drain pan due to the excess of insulation in the attic. We are scheduled to go out on May 30 to remove the insulation that has fallen into the pan at SMUD's request with no charge to the customer. We will let the customer know that they will need to keep the insulation out of the pan or it will cause it to clog. We attempted to correct the drainage problem, and it took us a few tries to figure out their drainage system due to the insulation. Rhino found that the primary and secondary condensations lines were reversed in the attic from a previous installation. To work with the homeowners directly, we scheduled all appointments for this after 5PM whenever possible so that the owner was home from work as we did not want to inconvenience them. We are not sure why they say the system is not working. As of 5/10 the system is working properly, drainage has been solved and everything we promised as been fulfilled as well as additional ducting to their home at no charge. The owner has a 10 year parts and labor warranty and 5 years of maintenance was given at no charge so any problems will be dealt with quickly. We cannot prevent mechanical problems from the factory, nor can we foresee them in the future. We responded in an appropriate manner and have completed all repairs necessary, with respect and compassion to their situation. As you can see by the *** marked visits, many of the visits we made to this property were the normal part of installing a new HVAC system. The installation takes time when you are replacing a full system and duct work. The Title 24 testing and any requirements from this testing is a normal part of installation. Inspections and corrections by the permitting agency are also part of the installation process. We request a homeowner to be available during these times as we need access to the home to do the replacement. The furnace issue ended up being a manufacture problem that was remedied once the solution was found and the furnace has been working as designed ever since. The homeowner gained two additional ducts to their home at no additional charge. The cost to do this would have been $850. The condensation problem was due to the inability of our crew to see where the pipes began or terminated due to the insulation. Once we solved the puzzle the water is draining properly. The owner was given 5 years of maintenance at no charge. A normal cost for this would be $189.95 per year, totaling $949.75. Rhino has made every effort to respond to each and every concern in a timely manner with the upmost customer service given. We tried not to inconvenience the customer by giving them a 30 min call or coming to them after they had arrived home from work. If the problems with the system were severe, the manufacturer would have recommended replacement of the system. Since Rhino has completed the repairs that were recommended by the manufacturer, there have been no mechanical problems with the system, so replacement under warranty is not warranted. Rhino has made all visits to the home at no charge to the customer and does not feel that a cash settlement is necessary as they have already received more than the contra