BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J. R. Putman Heating, Air & Solar meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J. R. Putman Heating, Air & Solar include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on J. R. Putman Heating, Air & Solar
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 11, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1981 Business started locally: 01/01/1981 Business incorporated: 07/01/1994 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Wertens, President Ms. Shannon Wertens, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Wertens, President
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Furnace Sales & Service Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning

Alternate Business Names
JR Putman, Inc.
Products & Services

J.R. Putman Heating, Air & Solar provides all your home heating repair and maintenance needs. J.R. Putman Heating, Air & Solar also service all makes and models of heat pumps and furnaces.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

  • 11330 Sunrise Park Dr Ste A

    Rancho Cordova, CA 95742

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trane furnace installed by company and pronounced operationally safe on or about 5/29/13, but on start-up on or about 11/1/13 toxic natural gas poured into my residence and contractor sent technician out 11/5/13 and referred me to PG&E for gas odor, but both installer technician and PG&E failed to locate gas leak. Installer refused to send technician out on 11/12/13 as gas kept building up in home as furnace ran and instead referred me to PG&E (because they'd already sent a technician out beforehand). I was made ill from breathing toxic raw natural gas. On 11/12/13 the PG&E man found natural gas leak coming from furnace burners not connected and misaligned. Contractor finally sent technician to allegedly repair new furnace they had installed 5/29/13 after PG&E man told them the furnace burners were the problem. I was exposed to breathing toxic natural gas and suffered injuries due to contractor's lack of real concern for my health and welfare. I am a wheelchair user.

Desired Settlement: Replacement new furnace and damages for injuries caused. Follow-up inspection of furnace's integrity for contractor's alleged repairs impacting furnace warranty and service life. Contractor does not care about his customer's welfare because repair invoice claims furnace came in this condition from manufacturer and contractor failed to actively respond to seriousness of situation leaving me in an unsafe and dangerous condition for days. Trane rep to inspect furnace today.

Business Response: Jr Putman installed anew heating and air conditioning system in Mrs. ******* home on 5/29/13 at that time the Install team noted that they fired system off in heat and cool mode and that all was o.k. Several months later 11/1/13 we received a no heat call from Mrs. ****** about her thermostat not working properly so we sent a service tech to resolve issue. Mrs. ****** then called in on 11/5/13 of a smell of gas in her home, we sent a service tech out immediately to inspect system that same day. Service tech did not find any issues at that time. Mrs. ****** then called a few days later and said she still smells gas, my Operations Manager told her to immediately call PG&E to investigate to make sure all was o.k due to the fact that Service Tech hadn't found anything wrong with the furnace install. Mrs. ****** had PG&E out that day 11/5/13 and they inspected home for gas leakage and wrote a Service Report stating they inspected our Furnace and all was ok. She then had PG&E out to her home a week later on 11/12/13 and all of a sudden he found a defect of misaligned burners in our furnace. Mrs. ****** sent my office a demand letter and several pictures to what the PG&E rep had taken pics of and it was of the misaligned burners. My Operations Manager inspected pics and found that there is no possible way that the furnace could have ever fired up or caused an excessive amount of natural gas to emit into home. There are several safety devices in the furnace that would not allow gas to spew into home or for the furnace to have ever fired up with the burners being so misaligned, once again the unit is designed to not allow this to happen when it's not firing properly. The interior of the furnace had no char marks or any damage to it from misfiring at all. On 5/28/14 I went out Mrs. ******* home with a Trane rep to inspect the furnace for proper operations and safety as per Mrs. ******* request, all checked out o.k. Mrs. ****** was still very irate and demanded that JR Putman pay her for pain and suffering due to the supposed gas she smelled from her new furnace. With the inspection of pics taken and Trane rep along with my Operations Manager we feel the system is fully operational and completely safe to operate and that Mrs. Aronold was not impacted health wise with the "toxic gas" as she says. She says the system had heated her home prior to this smell happening and with our inspection there is no way the furnace could have ever fired. It would default and turn the main fan on which is designed to make homeowners call a Service tech, none of which she described happened. Also the furnace will only attempt to fire 3 times before defaulting and locking out. This would not allow gas to stay on. I feel Jr Putman has gone above and beyond to ensure the safety and operations of the equipment we installed. We install quality workmanship.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1