Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J C Rego Refrigeration meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J C Rego Refrigeration include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on J C Rego Refrigeration
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 04, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1988 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1988 Business incorporated 05/03/2005 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 506594.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Rego, President Ms. Alyssa Gardner, Administrative Assistant Ms. Kathy Morehead-Rego, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Rego, President
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Refrigerators & Freezers - Service & Repair Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating & Air Conditioning

Alternate Business Names
J.C. Rego, Inc.
Products & Services

This company specializes in residential and commercial heating and air conditioning including but not limited to new installations and repairs.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had JCV go eat if air-conditioning come and fix my broken air conditioner they fixed it and it ran all night so and would not shut off I had them come out the next day and the service tech jiggle the wire that he had cut and done the day before but forgot to tighten and it shorted out my air compressor they also put some parts on but I don't know what they were The service tech said it was not his fault that the air-conditioner shorted out

Desired Settlement: I don't trust them to work on stuff in my home so I would like the money to replace the part that day ruined

Business Response:

The homeowner’s wife called on 9/3/14 at 7:51am. The complaint was the air conditioning unit had stopped working. We gave them same day service. The wife was the only one home when our technician went out to their house. She was in a hurry to get the technician finished and out of the house. The technician replaced a run capacitor and added a hard start kit to the compressor because the compressor was weak and having trouble starting. The hard start kit and the run capacitor saved the weak compressor temporarily and the air conditioning was working. The wife would not allow the technician to clean the condenser coil or stay and do any more testing or checking. He wrote up the bill, collected payment by check and left. The unit was working when he left.

The wife called back the next day and said there was still a little problem with the unit and that it was not working properly. The same technician went back out at 3:15pm on 9/4/14 and diagnosed the compressor was grounded and in need of replacement. He gave the husband a verbal estimate for a whole new condensing unit with a five year warranty, which he recommended over just replacing the compressor. The homeowner seemed very upset. We did not charge them for the hour and fifteen minutes the technician was there on 9/4/14 and we did not use any parts that day. The technician when to his van as they usually do, and wrote the no charge invoice with the estimate written on it. When he went back to the house to try and give the no charge invoice and the written estimate to him, he had locked the door and would not answer it.

The husband called the office on 9/4/14 at 4:41pm. He told our owner’s assistant that one of our technicians came to his house yesterday and repaired his air conditioning, it was working fine, then it shut off inside and the outside unit was still running, and that he was given an estimate of $3,500.00 for a new unit. He also told her that he felt it was the technician’s negligence that caused the second service call and that he was mad. She offered him the owner’s direct cell phone number.

The homeowner then called the owner of our company. The homeowner was extremely agitated, yelling at our owner and not really listening to any explanation or information our owner was trying to give him. He threatened to stop payment on the check for the first day’s work, which he did. He also threatened the lives of our owner and the technician!

Our owner reported this threat to the Tracy Police Dept. that same day. There is a police report of the threats on file at Tracy Police Dept.

We received the notice of stop payment from our bank on 9/17/14 on the check for the repairs made on the first day, 9/3/14 for the check amount, which was $282.66.

Our technician was not responsible for the compressor grounding. This compressor was very weak, would not start on it’s own and was already having major problems. Putting the run capacitor and hard start kit on is a temporary fix when working with an already weak compressor. There is no guarantee and no way of knowing how long the compressor will last when performing this type of repair. It’s a temporary fix. This problem was not created by anything the technician did on the first visit, it was caused by the compressor being very weak. Therefore, I do not believe there is anything we need to offer monetarily to this homeowner. We will however be pursuing collection of the amount owed us for the stop-payment check and fees for that check of $25.00.