BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Clark Heating and Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Clark Heating and Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Clark Heating and Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 11, 1990 Business started: 05/22/2002 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. David Ball, Owner Ms. Camille Ball, Office Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Ball, Owner
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating & Air Conditioning

Products & Services

Clark Heating and Air Conditioning offers the following product(s): Company offers HVAC services.

Alternate Business Names
Clark Heating & Air Conditioning
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

  • 4046 Wayside Lane Suite #T

    Carmichael, CA 95608

  • PO Box 368

    Orangevale, CA 95662

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: final inspection requirements for HVAC installation, not met Clark Air and Heat company, *** ****** principal salesman, assured final "write off" for all issues regarding the HVAC installation at my residence; he would accomodate final inspection requirements in writing, but did not follow up. He surveyed the city inspectors requirements and submitted an additional 'bid' to correct these items; most importantly, the gas line dimension for adequate 'feed' rate was to be augemnted, upgraded from 3/4" dia. to 1" dia. I signed new work order w/ Clark, J ******* but there was no follow up in a 8 week period. I had needed to call his office several times to get an answer! I commisioned my on contractor to follow up esp. that the city permit was aging off, when I advised Clark Air that I need to sign out of this new install agreemnt, they were 'more than ready' to accomodate this. HVAC installation contract should have included a safe gas feed line recommended, demanded by the city inspection process. Clark Air would not take ownership of this, even after I communicated these details to the owner; they balked when I stated I would use another contractor to upgrade gas line installation; I had waited 8 weeks for an answer, too long. Owner's wife Mrs. **** mentioned that their company was in midst of changing locations. My fix would have been 3 hrs job max which I was to pay them for , separately, outside of the original HVAC installation work, They've effectively left me with an unsafe 'gas feed' situation. Their website Clark Heating and Air, assured prospective customers, they guarantee professional installation!

Desired Settlement: HVAC Installation did not pass inspection Nov 9, 2012 (2d review); Clark came by to review in Dec 2012 and stated they would need rebid the gas line situation 1' gas line upgrade, 30 ft pipe replacement; By Mar 2013 I still had no work order on the calendar though I had signed agreement w/ Clark for this additional work and an additional $800- fee to cover the gas line(10% down before work began); 3 weeks later still no answer so I found my own contractor. When I called Clark Heat and Air on 6 mar and related that I'd found my own installer, they were happy w/ this resolution. I still needed to have a written report form Clark as to ducting work accounting. A guaranteed HVAC install should include the final inspection process which Clark should be happy to fulfill! A professional HVAC install should include the correct gas line feed for safe operations. Gas line retrofit for new furnace, is part, parcel of the installation process! I would expect them to reimburse me for contracted work, $1000- covered by their bond.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contractor has failed to respond to a warranty repair on a 1 1/2 year old air conditioner. They continue to stall or respond to repeated phone calls. New HVAC system was installed in June 2011. The system failed to cool when turned to the air conditioning cycle at the end of April after less than two cooling seasons. We were informed by the Contractors representative on April 30th that there was a bad coil and that it would need to be replaced. This is where it got cryptic in terms of what the Contractor intended to do. The service representative indicated that he did not know what was going to happen with the manufacturer and that they had been having issues with these units. Given no clear path as to what would happen other than they were going to have a conversation with the manufacturer and get back to me. There was also a comment from Clark's representative that there would be additional costs associated with the repair. After two weeks and multiple calls to the Contractor, there has been no response or action. The service representative finally returned our repeated calls on Thursday May 16th and informed us that the manufacturer's representative was now responsible for ordering the replacement coil and that he did not know the status. Upon requesting the manufacturer's representative's phone number, Clark's service representative "could not remember his phone number" and would get back to us by the end of day. No return call was received. Upon further research, we find complaints about the contractor's performance and their failure to have a final inspection performed on their work. We know that there were no inspections what-so-ever on the work performed. Input from a friend that is a licensed mechanical contractor informed us that there are code violations that should have been addressed during the initial installation. We now have considerable concern that our safety and security are compromised as a result of Clark's failure to meet basic safety standards and legal requirements.

Desired Settlement: We expect that Clark will replace the faulty coil and bring the system into full compliance with all code and safety requirements. We do not expect to pay for anything associated with this repair unless it can be demonstrated that the costs are above and beyond what would otherwise be required to meet the original installation scope.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
This customer, ***** ********, contacted our Company to schedule a no-cooling service call on April 25, 2013. Upon diagnosis of the equipment, we found that the indoor coil of the equipment he purchased in July 2011 had an un-repairable leak in it. We contacted the local distributor for the manufacturer the same day and the coil was ordered the very next day. The warranty coil has not yet come in and the customer has been very unreasonable (and irascible) about the time frame that it is taking for this to be done. There is nothing we can do about the manufacturer's time-frame, and the customer flatly told us that they did not believe us when we passed on the information that the coil could take up to a month to come from the factory. They requested direct contact information with the local distributer and have been just as informed as we have been, at times sooner, from the local distributor on the status of the incoming part. The coil, as I stated, has not yet come in as of this time that I am writing this e-mail to you. Finally, the customer also indicated in his letter that a Final Inspection had not been filed on his new installation. We performed the work originally and obtained the permit. We do not know what the customer is talking about regarding the inspection except that he may have neglected to call the final inspection, which we indicated to him at that time, he needed to schedule because it requires him to be home. We cannot, arbitrarily, schedule something for the customer. As you can see now, this customer is not very cooperative and it appears that he also failed to be cooperative then, about the permit, after the installation. It is our impression that this customer just likes to get other people in trouble for things that are outside of their control. We cannot force a customer to stay at home for an Inspector to arrive and sign off on a job, and the customer is, as indicated on the Permit itself (Sacramento County), the responsible party for making sure the inspection is completed. We made that very clear to him, as we do with all of our customers. Clark has a 1-year labor warranty, as required by the State of California. As this equipment was installed more than 1 year ago, we informed the customer that there would be labor and material costs, not covered by the manufacturer warranty, which they would be subject to at this time. These complaints filed by the customer with you (BBB) are erroneous and the customer is using your Bureau as pressure against our Company regarding this coil situation, which as I stated before, is covered under the manufacturer's warranty, not Clark's. They are using extortion to try to force us to do work for them for no-pay. They have even "harassed" the office girls to the point of tears. We have fulfilled every obligation that we have to this customer and there are no grounds or basis for any complaint. I would like to see this case dropped immediately, as everything that can be done has already been initiated by our Company. If you have any additional questions, feel free to contact me directly via e-mail.

Consumer's Final Response
Clark installed a new HVAC system in June of 2011. Clark was contacted when the system failed to cool when needed in April 2013. A bad coil in the new air conditioner was found to be the problem upon inspection. Despite a 10 year warrantee and less than two full years of use, Clark failed to stand behind their work and honor their commitment to replace the broken coil. Clark was unresponsive and placed all the blame on the manufacturer. Clark was not forthcoming on what additional cost would occur or what expenses would ordinarily be covered under a warranty repair situation. Clark did not provide any firm schedule for the repair but did attempt to charge us another $800 for a temporary fix. Clark ignored repeated requests to speak with the owner so that we could understand what they would charge for the repair. Clark did not contact us after the initial discussions nor did they track the shipment of the part, seek to expedite matters or show any particular concern for our problem. Seventy days later, one week after the replacement part arrived, Clark owner ***** **** finally had the where-with-all of speak with us when he told us to go find a different company to work with. This vindictive action was taken with full knowledge that a record setting heat wave was about to begin. Clark showed up 5 days after we initially called. After diagnosing the problem, Clark's representative was very ambiguous as to the timing on the fix given a problem with the manufacturer. We were told it would be several weeks before we could expect anything. Clark's only solution was to recharge our broken system so that the Freon could leak to the atmosphere but that will cost you $800 and is not guaranteed to work. After several weeks we called back to find that Clark knew nothing and had not followed up. We got the phone number for their supplier given they were not concerned with our problem. The conversation at this point became confrontational as we were not given the opportunity to discuss the matter with Clark's ownership. Instead we were only able to talk with the new receptionist who was not prepared to deal with the conflict. Clark's owners knew that we were upset but refused to call us back despite our repeated requests to talk with the owner. We just wanted to get an answer as to what the situation with the coil was and what Clark's intentions were as to charging for this work and what was under warrantee. We were told by the supplier that the expected delivery of the replacement part was in 2 weeks, June 7th. So after waiting 33 days with no communication from Clark, we called Clark's supplier on June 18th. They confirmed our part had shipped and was due to arrive Monday June 24. At this point, given we've had no air conditioning this entire year; you would expect Clark to anticipate the part's arrival and schedule installation. Wrong! Again, we had to call the distributor to determine that the part had in fact arrived. The distributor immediately informed Clark of the coil's arrived and again we had to initiate the phone call with Clark to now schedule installation. Their response: "call our service department next Monday, in 6 days and "they will see what they can do". Their excuse this time was that the rain had messed up their work schedule. I told the receptionist, the only person I've been able to talk with, how disappointed I was and that for once it would be nice if someone from Clark could call me to tell me what's happening. Her answer was "I'll let them know". Following their direction, we called first thing the following Monday morning. For the very first time we were able to speak to the owner. After the coil had been sitting in a warehouse here in town for a week, Mr. ***** **** finally has the courage to talk to me at which point he tells me that because we got upset with them and complained to the BBB, they would not help us and that they had no contractual relationship. During this week period, temperatures reached 107 outside and 96 degrees in our bedroom. We are now seeking another contractor to help but given the heat wave, no one can show up for two weeks. Had Clark's management been forthright with us, we could have secured another company to perform the installation prior to the massive heat wave we're experiencing. Instead they choose to act in a vindictive, unprofessional and negligent manner and make us suffer through the longest and hottest heat wave on record without air conditioning. Clark total lack of concern that they have our $10,000 and we have no air is a testament to the quality of service you can expect from this apparently desperate contractor. Clark is not interested in fixing the problem, just the blame. Buyers beware!!!

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.