BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Bob's Air Repair

Phone: (530) 345-9800 Fax: (530) 893-2990 View Additional Phone Numbers 2812 Hegan Ln Building G, Chico, CA 95928 http://www.bobsairrepair.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bob's Air Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bob's Air Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Bob's Air Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 13, 2008 Business started: 02/02/2004 in CA Business started locally: 02/02/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Bob Bennett, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Bennett, Owner
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Air Duct Cleaning Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service Refrigeration Equipment - Supplies & Parts Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating & Air Conditioning

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bob's Air Repair has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2812 Hegan Ln Building G

    Chico, CA 95928

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (530) 924-4457(Phone)
  • (530) 924-4459(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to repair after failure of installed part and overcharging of labor. On July 28, 2012 Bobs Air Repair (technician ****) had come to my home to diagnose why our air conditioner was not properly working. After the initial inspection the diagnosis of the problem was a blockage of the AC system and most likely the failure of an evaporator valve. The technician left and then returned on Monday July 30, 2012 and was at the residence for one hour and "Pumped down system into condenser. Opened Evaporator." (From the invoice) The technician stated that he needed to identify the part that needed to be replaced and would go to the place that offered the warrantied part. The technician left at 1030 called to say that he was still working on getting said warrantied part. I had to call the technician at 1530 that afternoon for an update and was told that it would take two days for the part to be delivered from southern California. on August 1, 2012 the technicians (**** and another gentlemen) showed up to repair the part. The technicians installed the part and tested the system. At the time the system ran fine and was working. The technicians had left the house at 0945. I worked for the next two days and my wife noticed that the system was not cooling anymore and that the outside AC condenser was cycling on and off at thirty second intervals. I told her to turn off the system and then contacted Bobs Air Repair. Before the installation of the new part the condenser was running fine but no cold air was coming out of the vents. On August 8, 2012 ****** came to the house and looked at the pressures at the condenser and noted that the pressure readings were far from adequate indicating that there was a blockage in the AC system consistent to the problem that I had originally called for. ****** then called me at work to advise me of the problem and said that he would be back on Wednesday August 8, 2012 diagnose the blockage and repair it again. However because of a discrepancy that I had with ****** of the billing of labor and actual labor I was not going to have Bobs service come back to the house. Instead at the suggestion of the builder of the home I contacted the original contractor that had installed the AC system to come out and fix the problem. The AC contractor came to the house and diagnosed that the evaporator valve that was installed by Bobs Air Repair was the bad part. The original cost of diagnosis and installation of the warrantied part was $736.49. $75 of this was for the initial diagnosis. The remainder $661.49 was labor for the installation of the warrantied part. I was told that one half hour of labor was billed for paperwork leaving $608.49 for the remainder of the labor to install the part. This was paid in full in cash.

Desired Settlement: I attempted to contact ****** Air Repair and receive a refund for his services on August 14, 2012 and was told that he would split the $661.49 with me. However after trying to discuss the matter with him further was hung up on. I am attempting to get a full refund because if ****** had on August 4, 2012 went into the attic where the AC unit is and checked he would have found that the valve that his technician had installed was bad. However he wanted to come to the house at a later date and do another inspection and a "full flush" while on the clock and charge for it. On Bobs website, business cards, commercials and the side of his truck it states "Fixed right the first time." It was not fixed the first time and when he had to come back to my house the problem he wanted to charge me more to repair the repair that was supposed to be done the first time. i understand that it was a warrantied part however the amount that I was charged for labor minus paperwork was $608.49 when in all actuality the total time the technicians were here was less than three hours.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
My name is ****** with ******'s air repair, I am responding to a complaint from ****** ****** on 1987 Potter Rd., Chico, CA XXXXX. On July 7, 2012 ****** ****** contacted ******'s Air Repair to diagnose why his air conditioner was not running properly. "This system was not installed by ******'s air repair". At the time of service we found that the TXV valve was not allowing Freon to flow through the system properly and would need to be investigated further. On July 30, 2012 ****** was advised that the TXV valve needed to be replaced and would cost between $400 and $800 for this sevice. At this time ****** was okay with the pricing. He asked if there was a possibility of his unit still being under warranty from the manufacturer. Since we did not install the unit, we needed to do some research to find this out. After many phone calls, a drive to the parts place, and several hours of research,(part of which ****** was not billed for), we were finally able to get the parts place to give ****** the TXV valve free under warranty. August 1, 2012 ******'s air repair drove to the parts place in Chico and picked up the warranty valve for ******. ******'s drove to ******'s house, removed the old valve from the system and installed the new valve. We pressure tested the entire system for leaks with 275 psi dry nitrogen. We then removed moisture from the system via a vacuum pump and ran and tested the system. System pressures and temperatures were normal at this time and the system was functioning properly. On Saturday, August 8, 2012 ****** called and said the air conditioner was not cooling properly again. At no cost to ******, myself and another tech went to ******'s home and diagnosed his system. We found that the pressures were similar to July 28, 2012's pressures before the warranty valve was replaced. I immediately called ****** and advised him of the situation. I told him that I would need to do more testing to determine if the warranty valve was malfunctioning or there was contaminants in the system that might be clogging up the valve as this would have been the second valve installed in the system. ****** told me that he did not want to spend any more money, and he was going to call his builder and get the original contractor who installed the system to come and perform any additional repairs or free. ****** said he was a jack of all trades and he watched us closely at the work we performed and said it was satisfactory. I did not charge him for the time spent for two guys on Saturday diagnosing the system. Approximately a week or so later ****** called me and said his builder sent the original contractor that installed the system out to diagnose the problem. (no cost to ******), ****** said that the warranty valve that we installed failed. ****** told me that he wanted a full refund for the labor it took ******'s to install the warranty valve. I told ****** that we never charged him for the part, the part was free to him and the first valve was installed correctly. If the valve failed ******'s is not responsible because we never charged ****** for this part. We only installed the part. Even though the part was free to ****** and was not our responsibility, ******'s would split the invoice amount of $661.49 so he would not be upset. ****** at this time became angry and said he wanted to punish me and splitting the invoice would not be enough. We do terrible work he said. I asked ****** to repeat that he wanted to punish me and just because the part that we got him for free failed, that makes him think we do terrible work even though the part was installed correctly? I then told ****** that if he wasn't going to accept ******'s generous offer of splitting the invoice with him that I need to let him go. I then hung up the phone. Later that day ****** called ******'s again and told me that he discussed the money situation with his wife and she said that they would accept $400 refund, no letter to the Better Business Bureau would be sent, and the whole thing would be forgotten. I told ****** that I already made him a generous offer earlier in the day which I don't believe was fair in the first place due to ******'s free warranty part failing. I also told ****** that being his job is a paramedic it might not be a good idea for him to say "I want to punish people", especially since it's not their fault, as in this case. ****** got very upset at this point. ****** said that we are going to go rounds ****** and the conversation ended at that point. I need to add that ****** said that if his builder got the original contractor who installed the system to replace the valve there would be no cost to ******. So I really don't understand why ****** would want a refund being that ******'s air repair installed a free warranty part correctly, that part may have failed or have been clogged up by shoddy workmanship from previous original installation contractor and if and when this part gets replaced again there will be no cost to ****** ******. So it seems to me that ****** is just trying to get his air conditioner repaired for free. ******

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response from ******'s Air Repair in no way addresses the issues that were initially filed. I do not believe that ****** is willing to settle this issue as stated in the above reply. In the above reply I was mis quoted as to wanting to punish people, but stated that I would punish his pocketbook. Nor does it matter the profession that I am currently employed as this is not the subject of this complaint, but the fact that the work that was completed at my residence was overcharged and not done correctly. The reason for calling the builder and contractor was that I did not want to get charged the outrageous amount that I was for the service that I got for the first call to ******'s Air Repair. ******'s Air Repair has a slogan that states "Fixed right the first time" and it was not. ****** is also assuming that I got the second repair for free. Mr. ****** should at least get the facts correct before he jumps to conclusions. The second service that I had come to my house also stated that the amount that was charged for "labor" and Bobs "generous" time was completely out of the norm for this type of repair.

Business' Final Response
I find it interesting that ****** ****** would change his story once on the Better Business Bureau. Like previously stated, I initially offered ****** a generous refund for half of the service call charges. After ****** had declined to accept the offer and stated that he wanted to "punish me" and he wanted a "full refund" for a free warranty part that failed that ******'s installed for him, that's when I withdrew the offer and no longer wished to help or speak to ****** on his situation.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service