BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hall's Window Center, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hall's Window Center, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hall's Window Center, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 10, 1990 Business started: 12/01/1976 Business started locally: 12/01/1976 Business incorporated: 01/02/2003 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Scarr, Owner Mr. Mario Grandinetti, Marketing
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Mario Grandinetti, Marketing
Principal: Mr. James Scarr, Owner
Business Category

Windows Siding Contractors Doors Doors - Patio

Products & Services

Hall's Window Center, Inc. provides full service windows & doors.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 11297 White Rock Rd

    Rancho Cordova, CA 95742 (916) 669-1469 (800) 764-2557 (916) 378-4263

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 764-2557(Phone)
  • (916) 378-4263(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/15/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had windows installed in 2006 and have had nothing but trouble with the seals on 4 windows.They have replaced a big picture window once and it is still leaking. same problem. Now another window on the side has a leak with the last rain, and that is how long we have waited for a response from this company. We are in a drought and I guess hell will have to freeze over before we get a something done. If you contact them they act very nice and say they are taking care of it, when in reality, nothing is done. When we call them they ask for more evidence even tho they had a crew out here once to fix the problem, and the 2 men left because they didn't have the right equipment with them. That was a week ago and now the manager **** wants me to start over and send him pictures of the damage. Here we go again.

Desired Settlement: We want Halls to honor the warranty for the problem windows. ASAP. We also want them to repair any paint or stain damage to restore the windows as I had them.

Business Response: Service appointment scheduled for 7/21. 

So sorry for the delay.  We'll get everything completed to your satisfaction. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: expired permit will not try to correct problem with permit. said they would take care of it not so. will not retu8rn calls, city permit office said it was halls problem????????

Desired Settlement: get permit signed off.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We are looking into this issue and will be in touch with the homeowner shortly.

Consumer's Final Response
very novice in computer work on this complaint # no resulation as yet

Business' Final Response
The permit has been signed off. Everything had been completed.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Installed outside patio door with non-functioning locking mechanism, leaving our home unsecure. Also installed doors opening in, rather than out. My wife went to the Halls showroom in Rancho Cordova and had an extensive discussion with ******, giving her the the specifications for a new French patio door we needed. ****** took notes in plain view of my wife, including the critical element that the doors should open out, rather than in. ****** was given all of the needed specifications, and in fact she was the one who educated my wife about the fact that out-swinging doors were even possible. This came up because my wife mentioned she was considering sliding doors because we really do not have room for doors that swing in. ****** suggested out-swinging doors as the solution to our problem, and that was agreed upon. Our contractor (******* ******* Construction), ordered the door that ****** had identified as the door my wife wanted. ******* ******* signed off on the paperwork, not aware of the problem. The doors arrived several weeks later, 10 days later than promised, and was installed by the Halls representative on Friday, September 14, 2012. When we discovered the error the same day, Halls was unwilling to correct the problem. Rather than penalize the contractor, who volunteered to pay for replacement, we opted to leave the incorrect door in place, to our great annoyance. Two days later, we discovered that the door did not lock properly, and could be opened from the outside. This left our home unsecure - a very distressing situation. We contacted Halls immediately on Monday Sept 17; they admitted at that time that they knew the door lock did not work properly when they installed it, and that they had ordered parts to fix it. They had not informed the homeowner (us) or our contractor of the situation, and would not even give us an estimate when the door could be fixed for several days. Halls did not return to fix the lock until Monday, September 24. So, for a full 10 days we had an exterior door that did not lock. The Cost of the door was over $8,000 installed

Desired Settlement: Replacement with the door we originally requested

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We believe this complaint is not valid. We did not enter into any contract with ****** ******. Mr. ****** is correct. Hall's Window Center installed an Andersen Frenchwood Inswing Patio Door. The locking mechanism was damaged and the door did not lock. Hall's Window Center entered into a contract with ****** ****** Construction. Hall's has two documents that Mr. ****** signed that clearly specify the operation of the door. Hall's Window Center delivered and installed exactly what was ordered. ****** ****** Construction has taken full responsibility for the order. Hall's Window Center offered to supply a new door to Mr. ****** at a heavily discounted rate. No order has been placed at this time. ****** Stiers did consult with Mr. and Mrs. ****** in our showroom and discussed many options; there were no decisions made during that visit. They went away to think about their choices and then conveyed their decision to their contractor, Mr. ******. Hall's installed exactly what Mr. ****** ordered and signed for. ****** ******, our customer, was told the morning of the installation that the locking mechanism was broken. Our service department was notified of the broken lock and ordered replacement parts the same day of the installation. The lead time for service was unacceptable to the homeowner so our service department removed the needed part from a door in our showroom so that we could fix the door faster. We feel terrible that the homeowner is unhappy with what their contractor purchased, but we delivered exactly what was signed for. The desired resolution requested by the homeowner is unreasonable. Hall's still hasnt been paid in full for this project.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response from Hall's is appalling, but not surprising. The response contains numerous out right lies. This rebuttal is from Raquel ****** as I am the one that had the dealings with ****** Stiers. She did not meet with me and my husband as stated. She only met with me. Indeed the contract was with Wilkin's Construction, however it was for my home. ****** Wilkin's did not take responsibility for having made a mistake, because it would have been impossible for him to have ordered the wrong door since he NEVER knew what door I wanted ONLY ****** Stiers did. It is a lie that no decision was made when I spoke with ******. She wrote all the information down on her yellow notepad. ****** never gave me numbers or any identifying information to give to ****** ******. She said that she would contact him and give him the information and that she also needed to know some sizes from him to complete the order. Only she had the identifying features for the door including the type of door and hardware. ****** ****** sent me to ****** and had arranged for me to meet with her b/c I was having trouble deciding what type of door to get. I was originally going to get a slider. I was not thrilled with the idea of a slider b/c my house is 120 years old and I didn't think it would go well. ****** and I spent 45 min together going over this. I wanted a French door however didn't think I could get one b/c the room is small and my furniture wouldn't work with an in-swinging door. It was ****** that told me that I could get an out-swinging door. It was ****** that informed ****** what door I wanted and NOT the other way around. He wasn't with me to note which hardware or any details regarding the door. How would he have known that I wanted an Anderson Door? How would he have known what hardware I chose? Who came up with the numbers for the order. Until he spoke to ****** he couldn't possibly have known that I even wanted a french door. The original door was over $8000 and their offer was that I purchase another door thru them for almost $6000!!! Basically they were discounting the cost of their labor to install the door. That is not greatly discounted - that is no sweat off their finances, but a great deal off mine! Who has an extra $6000 to buy a new door and then what do I do with this one - give it to them? How is that equitable when THEIR employee made the mistake. It is also a lie that ****** ****** was told that the locking mechanism was broken. I find that lie particularly interesting b/c they told ****** that they had informed me that the locking mechanism was broken when he called them about it after I discovered the door could be pushed open and notified him. As soon as ****** discovered the door didn't lock he secured it. Reading their response was the first I heard that they removed a needed part from a door in their showroom - so now I essentially have used parts in my door. Why did it take them 10 days to give me used parts?? In addition their were other parts missing (jam extenders) which were going to take another extra 30 days to get. At no time has Hall's been the least bit civil in their response. I placed a call in to ****** the day the door was installed b/c I realized immediately that it was wrong. She didn't return my call. I called a second time 4 days later and she was extremely rude. Her response, "I can't possibly remember everyone who comes in my showroom." Interestingly enough she also can no longer find her yellow note pad upon which she wrote the information. Their entire response has been yet another bit of evidence supporting their lack of integrity.

Business' Final Response
We have made multiple attempts to contact ****** ******. As of Saturday morning, we had not heard from him. Mr. ****** must play a role in the solution to this complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1