This business is not BBB accredited.

Newcastle Screen Co.

Phone: (916) 663-2633 View Additional Phone Numbers 460 Gold Hill Rd, Newcastle, CA 95658 ! There is an alert on Newcastle Screen Co. !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This business provides sales and contractor installation services for window and door screens.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Newcastle Screen Co. include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Newcastle Screen Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Complaint Information

Complainants typically allege that the company collects partial up-front payments for installation or repair services, and then does not meet appointments to perform services or return consumers' calls. Several complainants allege that the company collects down payments on contracts that exceed the maximum allowed by California law, which is 10 percent of the total home improvement contract price or $1,000, whichever is less.

The company generally does not respond to complaints.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Newcastle Screen Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 13, 2005 Business started: 11/14/2002 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00814846.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. David A. Elkan, Owner Ms. Deanna White, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David A. Elkan, Owner
Business Category

Window Coverings Awnings & Canopies Doors Screens - Door & Window

Products & Services

Newcastle Screen Co. offers the following product(s): Company offers window services.

Additional Information

When working with a contractor in California, before you sign and pay a deposit, be sure the contract includes a detailed description of work to be done including specific brands of products to be used if desired, color choices, quantities and model numbers. Your agreement should include an estimated start and finish date.

Your down payment should not exceed 10 percent of the contract price or $1,000, whichever is less. If you are retaining a pool contractor, the down payment should not exceed 2 percent of the contract price or $200, whichever is less. The only exception to this down payment maximum is if the contractor has obtained a Blanket Performance and Payment Bond, which can be viewed on the contractor’s license. If this bond is secured, the contractor may exceed the down payment requirements.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Newcastle Screen Co. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    460 Gold Hill Rd

    Newcastle, CA 95658 (916) 826-3311


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Owner, **** *****, took our Phantom screens in June of 2013 with a signed work order to repair and re-install these screens. He called once during that month to schedule a re-install of the screens. We were not available for the day he wanted to re-install those screens. Since June of 2013 we have called repeatedly at both office and cell numbers to schedule a day/time for Mr. ***** to either re-install or return our screens. He has never returned any of our calls. We sent a letter, certified mail, dated May 28, 2014, to his business address. This letter made a simple request to return our property. The letter was returned to us, unopened, by Mr. ***** as unclaimed.We contacted Phantom Screen in an effort to resolve our problem only to find out that Mr. ***** is no longer affiliated with that company as a contractor. I'm not surprised based on our experience.As of the date of this complaint, August 4, 2014, Mr. ***** has not made any attempt to return our phone calls or receive any written requests to have our property returned. It is our assumption that Mr. ***** still has custody of our screens. We have now gone through 2 summers without our screens. Poor customer service is the best I can state at this time. I find this entire experience unprofessional and unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: We want our property returned to us immediately. Mr. ***** will not be allowed to finish the job as we agreed upon.

Consumer Response:

Last week I contacted Dave *****, the owner of Newcastle Screen Co., by phone and left a message. The message stated that I was giving him 2 options in regards to his work order to repair and re-install our screens. Since we had not heard from him in over 18 months, despite numerous attempts to contact him, I informed him of two options we had left. Option #1, I file a police report listing the screens as stolen property or Option #2, I have another screen company install new screens and then I forward the bill to him. Mr. ***** called me back within 40 minutes of my message.

Mr. ***** requested the opportunity to come to the house to re-install the screens and to make this situation "right". I granted his request and we set an appointment for Monday, February 2, 2015, between noon and 2pm. He arrived at my home at 12:30 with the repaired screens, ready to work. He apologized several times for his poor customer service and stated that he was very happy that I was giving him a second chance to make it right.

Mr. ****** installed the screens in approximately two hours, as promised. The screens looked brand new. He showed me where he had done repairs, painted and re-installed new fabric. The installation was very good and the overall work product was excellent. Mr. ***** called me again, on Tuesday as a follow up call to make sure that we were pleased with his work performance. He also stated that if I had any more questions or concerns to please call and he promised he would call me back.

********, I want to thank you for your assistance in attempting to get Mr. ***** to perform on this issue. In light of Mr. ***** completing the original work order, I am informing you of the completion of this issue.

If you have any further questions for me regarding this issue, please feel free to contact me at this email or my home phone at ###-###-####.

Thank you,

******** ****

9/11/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr. ***** *****, owner of New Castle Screen Company collected money in advance for two window screens. The total amount collected was $120.00. I have left eight telephone voice messages between May 16, 2014 and June 10, 2014 in a effort to receive what I paid for. Mr. ***** has not responded to any of those calls. My daughter even stopped by Mr. *****'s home last week and was told by Mr. ***** that the window screens would be delivered on Saturday, June 7, 2014. That Saturday came and went. Mr. ***** lied, he never called and he did not deliver the window screens. Mr. ***** is simply a common thief. Others should be warned about Mr. *****'s unethical business practices. If the BBB is unable to resolve my situation, then legal remedy will be sought.

Desired Settlement: Either a complete refund or the delivery and installation of both window screens.

Consumer Response: Consumer states that they were refunded.

9/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We entered into a contract with Newcastle Screen (**** ***********) on October 2, 2013, the total cost of purchasing and installing a screen door was $850, we gave a deposit of $500 and were told that he would be back within three weeks, we called him after a month and he said that he had been ill and would be out in two weeks, after waiting and not hearing from him we made numerous calls over the next several months, actually talked to him several times and always got an excuse, on February 18th, 2014 sent him a demand letter for our $500 deposit, it is now May the 19th and still no word from him, we had him install several other screens with no problems, don't understand what,s going on, I am filing with the small claims court, this is a negative complaint.

Desired Settlement: Would like a full $500 refund

Consumer Response: The consumer states that they have received a refund fro the company.

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the first time I have ever had to write a complaint about a company but I don't know what else to do to get him to come back and fix my doors. I purchased retractable screen doors from **** at Newcastle Screens. The screens were $2,400. I was told by him that they had a lifetime warranty. When I first called him to come fix them it took him months to finally get here. My doors slam open every time you open them so they are hard to use. When he finally came back out, which was last Oct., he told me I needed to pay an additional $129 for him to install some hardware to stop them from slamming. Even though I didn't think I should have to pay more to get them to work properly, I wrote him a check for the additional money and I have yet to see him come back an do the work. I have left many many messages on his work and cell phone. I called from a different number and he happen to pick up. Said he would call me back that Friday and never did. I left numerous more messages. No response. Finally, 2 weeks ago I threatened to report him to the BBB and the next day he finally called me back. Promised me he would come last Friday..never showed up again. This week I left another message for him with no response. He took my $129 (7) months ago and literally never came back or will even give me the courtesy of a return call. I seriously don't know what to do to get him to come finish the work I paid him for.

Desired Settlement: I want him to come fix my doors so they don't slam. We can't use them because they are constantly slamming when opened. We need to have them fixed or they are useless.

Consumer Response: The consumer states that the owner came and tried to repair the screens. She explains that even though the screens could not be repaired she considered the matter resolved as the resolved as the owner tried.

8/22/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 24, **** *****, owner of Newcastle Screen Company, came to my residence at my request to provide an estimate for screen doors. He wrote an estimate for the product and installation of same. He left me with a copy of the $1600.00 estimate. At his request I wrote a check payable to Newcastle Screen Company in the amount of $800.00. He stated that my product would be received by him and installed within 2 to 3 weeks. As of today, May 4, I have heard nothing from the Newcastle Screen Company nor from **** *****. I have made numerous calls to the business phone and to Mr *****'s cell phone (###-###-####) asking them/him to contact me regarding my screens. No calls have been returned. The check I wrote to him has cleared. I fear that I have been scammed by a business that you have listed as in good standing. At this point I have no confidence in the Newcastle Screen Company providing what they promised and would like my $800.00 returned. I would tell them that myself but they apparently refuse to establish contact with me. Hopefully you can achieve success in establishing contact and getting resolution of this matter.

Desired Settlement: Return of my deposit of $800.00 for failure to provide materials and labor as promised.

Consumer Response: The issue I reported between me and the Newcastle Screen Company has been resolved to my satisfaction. The job for which I was contracted was successfully completed.

5/16/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/22/14 entered into a purchase agreement with Newcastle Screen Co for two screens totaling $1250.00. Paid 50% deposit, check deposited on 3/23/14. Four subsequent attempts to contact owner Dave Elkan by phone proved fruitless. I have left voice mail messages on his cell phone and office phone; he refuses to reply to requests for information. Apparently he has no intention of completing the purchase order or returning my deposit.I am filing a report/complaint with the Roseville, CA police department.

Desired Settlement: Full and prompt refund of my deposit.

Consumer Response:

On 5/5/14 I filed a complaint against Newcastle Screen Co., owned by ***** *****.  On 5/12/14 Mr. ***** contacted me personally and offered to resolve my complaint to my satisfaction.  On 5/13 Mr. ***** completed our contract to my complete satisfaction.  I wish to withdraw my complaint.