Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Peters' Drilling & Pump Service

Phone: (530) 273-8136 P.O. Box 1546, Grass Valley, CA 95945 http://www.petersdrilling.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Peters' Drilling & Pump Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Peters' Drilling & Pump Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Peters' Drilling & Pump Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 04, 1993 Business started: 07/01/1983 Business started locally: 07/01/1983 Business incorporated 10/28/1983 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 456136.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Marilyn Peters, Secretary Treasurer Mr. Justin Peters, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Marilyn Peters, Secretary Treasurer
Business Category

Water Well Drilling & Service Water Wells - Pumps Sales & Service Engineering Contractors - General Water Filtration & Purification Equipment Drilling & Boring Contractors

Products & Services

Peter's Drilling & Pump Service specializes in water wells drilling and pump services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • P.O. Box 1546

    Grass Valley, CA 95945

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Peters Drilling billed me for a couple of service calls where they showed up to my house without the equipment necessary, several times in a row. In addition their technician smoked cigarettes in my bone dry pump house and discarded his butts everywhere nearly resulting in a fire. They provided no services despite having full knowledge of what was needed so I refused to pay them. In addition they smoked in my dangerously dry pump house despite my explicit request that they didn't. I contact Peters numerous times to inform them I wasn't going to pay them due to the fact they never did anything and I had to go to a different company to get the work complete. The smoking, in severe drought conditions I might add, was also unacceptable. Peters never returned a single call of mine and have now sent the bill to a collections agency.

Desired Settlement: I refuse to pay Peters since they didn't do anything and I would request additional compensation for the danger they put my family and I in due to their negligent behavior while on my properly (smoking in a bone dry pump house and discarding lit cigarettes in severe drought conditions). Bare minimum I shouldn't be charged for anything as no services were ever rendered.

Business Response:

Response to complaint from **** ****** at ***** ****** **** *** ** ***** ******:

In May of 2013, Mr. ****** requested a service call for a well on his property that was not working.

Our service technician, **** ***** spent a little over an hour diagnosing the well and determined that the pump needed to be pulled.   This would have required quite a bit of additional expense

and Mr. ****** chose to use someone else for this service.   Our bill for our diagnostic time came to 127.60.

We sent letters to Mr. ***** asking for payment and called him requesting payment.  Our service manager, ****, talked to Mr. ****** and listened to his

concerns.    Mr. ****** seemed unhappy with our service **** offered to reduce the bill by 50% to please Mr. ******, as he was a good customer.

Mr. ****** did not mention any concerns about cigarette smoking or cigarette buts in his pump house during the conversations that **** had with him or subsequent  calls requesting payment.

Mr. ****** refused our offer to reduce the amount owed and refused to pay the bill so we turned the account over to IC Systems for collections.

However, in light of the fact that Mr. ****** purchased a pump system from us earlier this year and to show that we really do appreciate his business, we will credit the amount owed and let the collection agency

know that this account has been settled.

******* ******

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:This is absolutely a completely false statement. No one ever discussed anything with me and no one even bothered to return my calls! Never was I offered a reduction in the fee's and never did Peters even being to address the negligent behavior of their employee's! I'm shocked that a business would outright lie about the documented facts to your agency. Had this been the case and the employee who nearly set fire to my residence disciplined or terminated, I would have at least considered their offer. I have phone records, photographs and eye witness testimony that backs my story and I guaranty you Peters does not.