Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Landscapes Are Us, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Landscapes Are Us, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Landscapes Are Us, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 21, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1964 Business started locally: 01/01/1964 Business incorporated 07/01/2013 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 984918.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mickey Shidler, President Mrs. Marilyn Shidler, Co-owner Ms. Sarah Turner, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mickey Shidler, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Sarah Turner, Office Manager
Business Category

Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds Landscape Contractors

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 9002 Leedy Ln.

    Fair Oaks, CA 95628

  • PO Box 1985

    Orangevale, CA 95662

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Landscapes Are Us in February 2014, after a lengthy search process involving a number of contractors. We liked that the company had been in business since 1945. However, the day we were to select the wall, we were abruptly informed that the owners were retiring, a new person was taking over effectively immediately, and they were on their way to Hawaii. Unfortunately, what we wanted and discussed with the original owners was evidently never communicated effectively. What we wanted and what we got different in some respects, and we had to give in on more than we would have preferred to get the job done by our travel deadline. That wasn't even met. Their lack of response to our several requests to replace dying plants under warranty will likely have us replace them at our expense. Our additional several requests to provide cost data to submit to the City of Sacramento's "cash for grass" program were not received by the City's deadline, causing us to lose our rebate. That was a low blow, considering we had been the City's first applicant; and to lose the rebate due to a poor contractor response is difficult to believe but sadly true.

Desired Settlement: We would like a $500 refund for the rebate that we never received due to the lack of responsiveness from the contractor.

Business Response:

Dear BBB, Our response to this complaint is as follows; First of all we want to state that the owners of Landscapes aRe Us are not retired and have never been retired. While at the first consultation visit with the clients we discussed time frames for completing the project. The clients told us about their planned vacation, their vacation to Italy and her trip to burning man, etc. and then we told them our two week vacation to Maui for our wedding anniversary. The owner was at three of the four visits to the clients home to discuss the project and was fully aware of the project details. One of the problems was that the clients continued to add and change items almost daily, we have numerous emails from the clients showing their changes. If any deadlines before their trip were not met it was because changes were made that added time.

We were told at the first meeting that they had another contractor that was going to do the wall in the back and could we communicate with him as the wall needed to be done first. We left numerous message with the contractor they had chosen to do the wall, after finally making contact we found out he indicated it would be quite some time before he was able to think about the work, we then updated the client about this. She then talked to the contractor and found out that he wasn't going to be doing the job; she was very frustrated and upset in having to wait on this contractor as were we as since we had to wait as well to start on our part of the project, the first contract we sign was on 2/25/14 for only a water feature. The client then asked us to do that wall so an addendum was signed 4/11/14. Over the next several weeks as work progressed many more addendums were added, our company spent many hours researching plants for the "River Friendly Landscape Program" for the client, which was done at no cost to the client and was not on the contract or any addendums, we did this out of the goodness of our hearts.

Due to the changes and additions we had to utilize our sub-contractor, ****, for the front yard landscaping as well as the back wall. On July 21st the final payment was made by the clients and the job was completed. Then on August 22nd the client emailed Landscapes aRe Us requesting receipts of all the materials used for the front yard. We emailed back on August 26th stating **** worked on the front yard and he would have those receipts, that we had no access to them, and we gave the client authorization to speak directly to ****. It wasn't until the Sept. 2nd that we heard back from the clients via voicemail that he didn't have ****s phone number and wanted us to get the receipts. He also let us know in that same voicemail that Sept 2nd was the deadline to get the "Cash for Grass' paperwork turned in. In the voicemail, which we have saved, he then went on to threaten us stating if we didn't get this done "we wouldn't like what he had to do".

In none of the contracts or many addendums signed by the clients was there any mention of this "Cash for Grass" rebate and that receipts were needed. Landscapes aRe Us was neither under contract nor responsible for providing receipts to the clients. In this industry the standard is that contractors purchase materials in bulk and not on an individual job basis. Perhaps had we known when the job was started this was needed, we could have written an addendum and gotten this on contract so that receipts would have been provided. In 50 years of business we have never been asked to do this.

In closing Landscapes aRe Us is under NO obligation to provide receipts to the client. Please let us know if you would like us to send you all of the emails, contract, addendums and voicemail.

Thank you

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted this company about a pond pump problem I was having. I clearly explained that it was not clear if the pump needed to be repaired or fixed. they explained that there is a service charge of $85.00 paid upfront before technician can visit. I agreed to the service charge, I informed them that the house is vacant and gave lockbox combination. later that afternoon, I was contacted by ***** who told me the technician spent almost an hour to figure out the problem and that's an additional $65,00 charge. I asked her why I was not contacted for approval, she said the $85 service charge is for driving to the property and since the technician spend time diagnosing the issue its additional $65.00 per hour. she also said the technician recommends the pump to be changed and the GFI changed and that if they had the right pump he would have replaced it. All this would have been done without my authorization. I have tried to resolve this issue with ***** but will not accept and had charged my account $144.80. I also do not have a receipt or a report on what was found and cost estimate. The technician left the door leading from outside into the garage and from the garage into the house unlocked, very unsafe and unprofessional. My calls now goes to *****'s voice mail and receptionist screens my call.

Desired Settlement: I want the additional $65 charge refunded, I was a written report identifying the technician's findings and recommended repairs and a receipt for the $85.00

Business Response:

*******,
 
Below is the information that you requested. To sum it up for you, credit card ending in 5347 was charged on 7/16, for the amount of $144.80. On 7/17, there was a successful refund on the card, for the amount of $59.80. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us, or me personally. My information is listed below

5/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contractor was to build a pondless water fall structure with 2 drops. Only 1 drop was installed and the pump is now not working. Contractor installed a pondless waterfall structure in our backyard. It was suppossed to have 2 drops and it only has 1. The pump feature seems to be leaking as we are filling the water basin on a daily basis, sometimes with-in a few hours. Luckily we did not have an auto-fill feature installed or would not have found out about this issue. The contractor has come out twice to investigate and solve the problem. After each visit, the problem seemed to have been solved. Unfortunately after a day or two the water pump was having the same issues. The pump has now been off for 3 weeks and the contractor is no longer responding to our emails.

Desired Settlement: tear down and rebuild structure with the agreed upon 2 drops, install a functioning pump or refund us our money

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We went over to the ****** residence and installed a new pump. The water in the vault area was the same as we left it before showing that there was no leak. We were able to reach Mr. ****** by phone and he came to the house to meet with ****** ****** of PRU. After ****** explained in detail to him how there were no leaks anywhere and evaporation was the reason for having to fill the feature from time to time, Mr. ****** finally understood. Mr. ****** paid the $200.00 owing on his contract. ****** & Mr. ****** shook hands and all is good. We will be getting a copy of the service call order that Mr. ****** signed to your office next week and any other paper work that you need. Thank you for your attention to this matter.