This business is not BBB accredited.

De Los Santos Tree Service

Phone: (916) 331-9296 View Additional Phone Numbers 4978 Tyler St, Sacramento, CA 95841


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for De Los Santos Tree Service include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for De Los Santos Tree Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on De Los Santos Tree Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 10, 1994 Business started: 12/08/1998 Business started locally: 12/08/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00756930. On 3/2/2015 BBB confirmed that the license from Contractor's State License Board expired.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Benancio De Los Santos, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Benancio De Los Santos, Owner
Business Category

Tree Service Tree Service - Pruning Tree Service - Transplant Lawn & Tree Care Stump Removal & Grinding Stump Grinding

Products & Services

De Los Santos Tree Service specializes in tree removal, stump grinding, tree transplant services.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4978 Tyler St

    Sacramento, CA 95841 (916) 331-9296 (916) 489-5723

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: De Los Santos Tree Service billed me twice for a single charge of $600 (they collected ($1200). They refuse to correct the error. My 87 yr old father-in-law hired De Los Santos Tree Service for Oak tree removal on 5/9/13. As it stands right now, the Tree Service double-billed my father-in-Law and now refuses to repay the duplicate charge of $600. Initially, they lied to my Father-in-law, telling him that they would send him a check (he made 3 different calls to them), but no check came. When I called their office, an employee said "we don't owe him nothing." Also, one of the payments my father-in-law made to them was a check that he first made out payable to "De Los Santos Tree Service." However, the employee refused the check and insisted that the check be made out to him, personally, perhaps to avoid taxes. I feel that de los Santos tree service has taken advantage of an elderly man and will not hold themselves accountable for the double-billing error, which I am trying to resolve for my father-in-law through his bank. However, ******** has said they cannot reverse the charge. It turns out that De Los Santos Tree Service "borrowed" the Visa card machine of a third party, which is where the duplicate/2nd charge occurred.

Desired Settlement: We want the $600 that the tree service double-billed us for.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response
The problem with the De Los Santos Tree Service collecting TWICE for the same amount (they collected $600 by our credit card and then claimed it did not go through and demanded another check for $600, but both payments went through, resulting in an over charge of $600), all attempts to contact De Los Santos Tree Service have failed; they have repeatedly lied to us on the phone ("the check is in the mail") and then, later, claiming they owe us nothing. The owner refused to take our calls or return our calls after repeated attempts. Yesterday, we heard through a third party that supplies equipment for the Tree Service, that the owner had "left the country indefinitely".