BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BP Tree Services, LLC

Phone: (916) 722-6321 PO Box 395, Auburn, CA 95604 http://www.bptreeservices.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that BP Tree Services, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for BP Tree Services, LLC include:

  • 7 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for BP Tree Services, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on BP Tree Services, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 28, 2004 Business started: 02/02/2004 in CA Business started locally: 02/02/2004 Business incorporated: 08/02/2012 in
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Bill Pyatt, Owner, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Pyatt, Owner, CEO
Business Category

Tree Service


Additional Locations

  • PO Box 395

    Auburn, CA 95604

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired BP trees in January 2013 to cut down a large pine tree in my back yard. The contract included hauling away to three and all matter of the tree including grinding the stump. The contractor's grinding tool was not working but he assured me it would be fixed in a month and he would return to complete the work. The cost of the job was $1,800.00. I paid him the full amount. Two months went by and I contacted him again to find out when he was going to return. He said he was still trying to fix the grinder. Another month went by and I had now left a dozen messages with his service caller. Finally I left a message that I was going to have to hire an attorney if he failed to set a date and complete the work. He contacted my wife saying he would be there that week. Three months have transpired. I had an attorney send a letter to him requesting he complete the work. He refused to accept the letter, or at least did not acknowledge it. I just want the work completed. I have contacted a few other contractors to get an estimate for the grinding and found it to be about $500. I will file a small claims suit against the business, which is a one-person business for the money I will then use to hire another contractor to complete the work he did not do.

Desired Settlement: Either the contractor completes the work or refunds $500 so that I can have another contractor complete the work.

Business Response: Our customer is completely correct. We've had a series of unfortunate events occur to our stump grinder over the past year. After the last incident, which was theft of the machine from our yard, we've been playing catch up. The machine was thankfully recovered and the damage from the theft has been repaired. We have unintentionally let this customer fall through the cracks and will correct the situation. I have put Mr. ********** on the schedule for this coming Saturday, March 22, 2014, at which point we will grind his stump. 
Thank You-
**** *****

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. We will not be available this weekend, but we are very interested in getting  this job completed. Please contact us to set up a date for this to happen.

Sincerely,

**** **********

Consumer Response: BBB contacted the business and he agreed he still owed the work. He said e would be coming that Saturday to complete the work. i was going to be out of town that weekend and asked that it be scheduled for the next weekend. I never heard a reply back from him. I called and left wo messages to confirm his work the following Saturday - no response. I called again today (Monday, March 31st, and asked for a call. So far there has been no reply. i want to keep the complaint open until the work is actually completed. I expect to hear from Billy to schedule a date for the completion and have it completed within the month of April.
Work scheduled and complete by the end of April.

Consumer Response: Consumer states that the business visited his home on 5/4/2014 and completed the stump grinding.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: He Has yet to complete work and **** not returned calls. Owner text discusting text to my cell phone when we inquired about the 10% coupon. ON April 9th a redwood tree fell through our homes roof. As it was being televised via news. ****** ***** from BP Tree Service saw the news and came to our home during the ordeal. Fire crew, news crew and tree guy. We shook hands with Mr. ***** on a verbal amount. I told him we only had $$ dollars per tree per my insurance and all seemed good. The Tree crew showed up. They were swift and worked hard and furious. No complaints there. All that was left of that 28 year old redwood was a large stump and root system. We had a separate date for stump removal. No show on original date for stump removal. When I called I was told they had a grinder stolen and were backed up on stump removals. In the meantime our insurance agent is working with Mr. ***** on the overinflated tree removal bill.(not what we talked about & shook on!) Now I start getting calls regarding my bill from BP Tree service wanting payment. However, my stump is still in my yard and my insurance was working on the invoice. Once more I call and make arrangements for the stump to be ground and payment to be made. Friday, 7-21-13 @ 4:30. However, I was not able to get a vehicle moved from my driveway in time for the equipment to get to the stump. I called BP Tree service that Friday @ 6:45 am and left a message with his answering service person. "Please let ****** know I was not able to move the trailer and he would not be able to remove the stump today. However, it is very important he knows he can still come by and pick up a check and I have a coupon for 10% discount from the penny saver." Later that day my husband and I started getting text from Mr. *****'s cell #. The texts were rude and derogatory. Very unprofessional! Stating we were trying to screw him out of payment. His texts were threating us to make payment or else... This was confusing and shocking considering the message I left with his service regarding picking up check and rescheduling the stump grinding. After going back and forth via text, Mr. ***** agreed to giving us a discount and gave us a date and time his guys would remove the stump. At this point I did not want to see Mr. ***** again. I left a check on my door and let him know he could pick it up. The check was picked up within the hour and cashed. The crew did not show the following Sunday. No call, no show, and no one returning my calls.

Desired Settlement: I would expect a date and time in whitch they will complete the work stated and paid for in full. Remove the stump left from tree removal.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
This is news to us. Mrs. **** was going to call us when her vehicle was completely removed from her driveway, and we have not received one call or message. Since this is the first report of the vehicle being moved, we can get the stump done this Sunday, July 21st per her request. The work performed by our crew was/is considered to be "Emergency Storm Damage" repair. It is first priority on our schedule, and requires a specialized crew and equipment. All work was discussed in detail and approved by Mr. **** before commencement of job. We were working hand in hand with their Homeowners Insurance agent and were told they had already received payment for our invoice but had not forwarded it to us, or called to tell us that they were withholding it. After actually going to their residence and speaking with only Mrs. ****, we came to an agreement that we would discount the invoice by $1500 because she was upset, literally crying, that she is "broke". After waiting over 90 days to be paid and considerably discounting the invoice, we promptly deposited payment.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was sent a revised estimate with the 10% discount, but when my wife paid for the service rendered at completion it was for the non-discounted amount. In March 2011, Mr. Bill Pyatt came by and gave us a verbal quote to trim our trees and remove mistletoes. He recommended that two be trimmed and two removed. One had termites and one could not be properly trim due to its shape and growth. When I received the Mar 11, 2011 written estimate I noticed it was not the quoted $1425 price, but $1470 (remove two trees at $400 each, stump grinding at $100 each, and two Class I tree trim at $235 each). I called to let Mr. Pyatt know the discrepancy and also mention I had an ad offering a 10% discount. He revised the estimate to $1282.50 which reflected the original $1425 verbal quote (he added a 1 @ -$45 line item) with a 10% discount ($142.50). As I was not comfortable to have the termite infected tree stump grinded up as recommended by Mr. Pyatt we called a pest exterminator to see this was a wise decision. They recommended we dig up the stump and not grind it up as the grinded up chips would be food for them to eat in the ground. When the BP Tree Service crew came out to perform the tree service, my wife informed them not to grind up the termite infected tree's stump. The itemized cost to grind up each stump was $100 each. I found out later when I got home from work that they charged my wife $1325 ($1425 minus $100). No 10% discount was applied to the $1325 nor was she charged the revised estimate with the 10% discount of $1282.50. After many inquiries, I got an email (May 16, 2011) from Mr. Pyatt saying he would have his billing cut a check. After several follow-ups I wrote one more email in Oct before I called KCRA Call 3 for help. KCRA Call 3 could not help other than to leave a message with BP Tree Service. After sending an email on Dec 2, 2011 to Mr. Pyatt about what KCRA Call 3 recommend I do, I got a second email from Mr. Pyatt stating he thought this was handled already. He said I was due the discount, apologized and said the checks are sent from an independent company. Since then I started to call either for him or his billing folks. His answering service folks take the call and forward a message to him. In all the voluminous times I have called, I have not been able to talk to Mr. Pyatt or his billing folks or get them to call back. For the last many months I have called weekly. Checking my cell phone right now, the phone logs only goes back to Apr 4, 2012 and show that I started my weekly calls at least starting from Apr 10, 2012. I know I started the weekly calls before April and at least monthly. For the last several weeks, I started leaving messages to have Mr. Pyatt tell me what is going on and why he is not returning my calls or why he is not sending me a refund. Did something change since his two emails stating he will send me a refund? The answering service says he still is in business. The estimate uses an address of 8310 Sunrise Blvd, Citrus Heights. His cover page uses PO Box 395, Auburn. The certificate of liability insurance uses PO Box 358, Auburn. His CA contractor license number is 831766.

Desired Settlement: Receive the advertised 10% off quoted price as noted on BP Tree Services' revised emailed estimate 36127 dated March 11, 2011. This amount will be $132.50, 10% of $1325.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
This billing error is completely our fault. Our on-site foreman has no access to our billing systems, so when Mr. Tom's job was completed and payment was due, our foreman only had the non-revised invoice in hand. We do show notes in our accounts payable program that Mr. Tom's 10% discount was to be sent to him as a refund. Unfortunately, due to situations out of our control, we no longer use our independent accounting firm. This has left a few "loose ended" accounting errors at no fault of Mr. Tom's. I will personally make sure that Mr. Tom receives his discount in the form of a money order.

Consumer's Final Response
Consumer called to state he still has not received anything in the form of communication or a refund.

Business' Final Response
Company physically came to the BBB office with the consumer's refund check, which was subsequently forwarded to the consumer by certified mail.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1