BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

Pro Trans

Phone: (530) 722-9500 Fax: (530) 722-9595 1113 Center Street, Redding, CA 96001 http://prftrans.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 12/9/2013 this business’s accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that: 6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:

  1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
  2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
    • is professional,
    • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
    • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
    • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.
6B. Make a good faith effort to resolve disputes, which includes mediation if requested by BBB. Other dispute resolution options, including arbitration, may be recommended by BBB when other efforts to resolve a dispute have failed. BBB may consider a business' willingness to participate in recommended dispute resolution options in determining compliance with these standards.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Pro Trans include:

  • 1 complaint filed against business that was not resolved
  • BBB Accreditation was revoked because the business failed to honor its accreditation agreement with BBB.

Factors that raised the rating for Pro Trans include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pro Trans
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 01, 2002 Business started: 04/25/2000 Business started locally: 04/25/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Steven Shaidell, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Shaidell, Owner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile

Products & Services

Pro Trans provides complete automotive services.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1113 Center Street

    Redding, CA 96001 (530) 722-9500

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • https://www.facebook.com/pages/Pro-Trans/162243560484587
  • https://plus.google.com/102359131002164208909/about?hl=en
  • https://twitter.com/prftrans
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a slow dripping leak in one transmission hose. We received a quote from Pro-Trans of "no more than $400" to replace the hose and replace filter & fluid. The repair bill was $409.41 and written on the invoice is "Replaced Hose Assembly with High Pressure Hose to Repair Trans Fluid Leak". We were told that this high pressure hose would last a lot longer. One year later, on 12/23/2013 we were in Luling, Texas. As we accelerated at an intersection, the transmission would not engage. ALL the transmission fluid had poured out. Looking underneath we could see that the hose had come apart at a point where it had been connected with 3 hose clamps. Our transmission hose had not been replaced, it had been patched!! We have had email communication with Pro-Trans owner, ******* ********. He agreed to reimburse us $300 and we accepted, but he did not come through on this agreement. In Texas, we had to be towed to the dealership. They replaced all 3 transmission lines with new for $545. ******* at Pro-Trans was dishonest in his service and overcharged us.

Desired Settlement: $391.03 Service Bill (less cost of Filter)$137.00 Towing$528.03

Business Response: The company states that the consumer was fully aware that they were not getting new hoses, he put in a hose assembly. The bill included the transmission service and the labor, they were not charged for any hoses. The invoice they were given stated 3 months/3,000 mile warranty and that they do not take care of towing charges. This consumer received a deal on the work and the bill. The consumer is not entitled to anything more.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/28/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had shop install new seals in transmision and transfer case, rebuild transmision and install new part that was broken (trans tailhousing). Took vehicle into shop on 3-07-2013. They inspected vehicle and told me would be $1650 to resolve the issues and would take aprox a week to be fixed, I agreed and they went ahead with the repairs. The transmision had broke at the rear tailhouseing such is a replacable part. And they were to fix the transfer case leak. I called a week later and vehicle wasn't ready and couldn't give date upon estimate for completion. It wasn't till 3-24-2013 I was told truck was done so I drove down to pick up vehicle, the transfercase was still leaking so they had to pull into shop and fix the issue. 3-25-2013 vehicle was ready to pick up when I showed up at the shop the price drastically changed to $2000.31.. and was informed it had a 1 year 12000 mile warranty and that he would need for me to pay in cash. On 7-19-2013 I notice drips of oil on my driveway and took back into the shop pro trans and he had truck for about 50min then notified me that the part that was replaced had cracked again and that's were it was leaking. He tried blaming "something in the truck is causing it to break" but his tecnician looked it over and could not find any clearance issues. Then informed me to keep fluid in it and he would find another new part. Assuming he would be replacing under warranty. On 8-25-2013 I went to pro trans and talked to ***** the owner and asked what was going on that I need to have my truck fixed. ***** at pro trans then said he can find that part no problem and that he would only charge me half of what the original repair costs where and that he would not repair under warranty.

Desired Settlement: Everytime I call pro trans I am told something different from ***** and if I go into the shop he acts as if he doesn't care its not his problem. When u install parts u should make sure everything is going to be ok and not guess. Especially if transmisions is the shops specialty. He doesn't do what he says and tries to nickel and dime clients and aparently not a good job. From the customer service and run around I was giving I do not feel comfortable with pro trans servicing any of my vehicles let alone repair. I took the truck to another reputable transmision shop to have them inspect everything and fix anything that needs to be. Basically re do pro trans work. My overall goal is to get my truck fixed whether pro trans pays for the cost of the repairs or to refund my money as he is refusing warranty work and delaying the service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
This was a repair, not a Rebuild. It is out of Warranty, As the invoice and complaint shows. I offered a solution, but he declined.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This was not just a repair. ***** had to tear down my complete transmision and he is the one that verbally told me on the phone and in a voicemail wich I still have on my phone that the cluth and syncros and all internal parts are fine. On my receipt it states I have a 1 year warranty and XXXXX mile warranty, I am not even close to the mileage warranty, the vehicle has 2356 miles on it after his service. And not even a year after service, its been 4 months due to ***** at pro trans giving me the run around and not following back up with his customer. If all parts were good when he tore town and rebuilt trans then why did all the internal parts incluiding bearings fail in the transmision in sush short mileage after service, and why did he install a used tailhousing that had stress cracks? He installed used old bad parts that he knew would fail. If it was a repair he wouldn't of had to disassemble my entire transmision, in his voicemail it clearly states that ***** says "we have to tear down the entire transmision and rebuild it. Please call me back and I can give further information, your estimate is $2050.00". I have all my old parts that ***** claims that had no issues, I also have a receipt from another trans shop that noted the bearings and syncros were bad and ***** at pro trans should of seen it because the items had severe play. It also states that the houseing and shift forks failed due to improper installation and had clearances issues inside the trans and why the truck would vibrate. I can take him to small claims cour and file a formal complaint with bar with all the evidence and findings regarding ***** at pro trans but I would prefer ***** to come to a resolution as I do not want to take matters further and find a peaceful agreemant as a refund or him to reimburse me for my receipt of having another shop fix what ***** mechanic at pro trans obviously could not.

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.