Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Amigo Tires & Brakes

Phone: (209) 836-4000 Fax: (209) 836-4008 189 W Grant Line Rd, Tracy, CA 95376 http://www.amigotires.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Amigo Tires & Brakes specializes in tire, brake, and alignment services in the city of Tracy.

Se Habla Español


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Amigo Tires & Brakes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Amigo Tires & Brakes include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Amigo Tires & Brakes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 30, 2009 Business started: 09/01/2008 Business started locally: 09/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 266018.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Hilario Barrios, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Hilario Barrios, Owner
Business Category

Tire Dealers Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto

Refund and Exchange Policy
30 day guarantee on all work performed, and items purchased.
Service Area
Tracy and surrounding cities
Products & Services

We use various brands from Falken, Bridgestone, to Good Year.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In September 20 2013 I went to Amigo Tires and purchased the tires for my vehicle. I spoke to ******* ******* who said he had a set of ***** tires that he could sell me for 500.00. This would include the balance and rotation every 5000 miles and he said he would also do a front end alignment.When he was finished he told me that my alignment was off in the left front tire and rear right tire and that he corrected the alignment with the new tires. When I left I didnt realize how bad they really were but after driving for about 10 miles and then driving with my family I realized how sluggish the car was driving.Then I drove for a few miles over that weekend and on September 24 2013 I went back to Amigo Tires and told ******* I did not think that these were the right tires. I told him that they should be Touring tires and that these were very heavy ALL Weather Tires. He said that he didnt want to see me spending a lot of money on my tires and that these were good strong tires that are usually on a *****. I told him that I would prefer to use the tires that are recoommended for my car. He then suggested he could replace them for a set of ****** TOURING for the same amount. I was to return in 5000 for the tire rotation. Since then I had moved to Stockton and when driving I began to experience the front end left side had a strong vibration when using the brakes exiting the freeway and slowing down in traffic. This happened more frenquently and during the first tire rotation on June 6 2014, I explained this to ******* who stated after rotating the tires, It appears you need brakes in the front. Rotors and brake pads.He went on to say that the uneven surface of the rotors could be the cause of that vibration.In August 2014 I purchased new rotors and brake pads. This did not correct the problem. I then took the old brake pads and rotors to 2 different shops and they both said that the brakes were not worn out and that the problem is the tires. I called and told ******* about the problem and said I would come by to show him. He began asking who did the brakes and if it was a back yard mechanic. He said that most likely the rotors would have to be resurfaced again because there is a good chance that they were not correct even though they were brand new, and that he does not buy his rotors from ******** because there are not to spec. I brought the vehicle to the shop, and ******* and I went for a drive and as soon as he started driving he said that the shaking he felt was the brakes. He and I did not agree and he said without even putting the car up on the hoist that it was in fact the brakes. He made many statements including the fact that he has done brakes for 30 years and kept asking me if I believed him. His last remarks were to take trhe car to another shop and ask them to check the brakes and to let him know. On November 14, 2014 I took the car to ***** and they performed a brake inspection. The results were that the rotors and pads were great with exact specs . They said that the brakes were fine and trhat the tires were most likely the cause. I called ******* and once again he claimed I was wrong and to bring the car to him for resurfacing the rotors and so on and so forth. He wanted me to drop the car off to him and allow him to fix it and if it is the brakes he would charge me.

Desired Settlement: I believe that the tires need to be replaced or just refunded because they seem to be the reason for the vehicles impairment.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern... Yes I Did Sell ****** ******* A Set of ***** Tires And With All Our Customers Who Purchase Any Sets Of Tires We Do Offer A Tire Rotation Every 5000 Miles To Help Prolong The Life Of The Tires And At The Same Time It Gives Us An Opportunity To Visually Inspect The Brakes & Advice Our Customers. We Also Always Recommend A Wheel Alignment For The Same Reason. When ****** ******* Came In For The Scheduled Mileage For The Tire Rotation We Advised Her That Her Front Brakes Were Getting Low To The Point Where It Would Be Recommended To Replace. ****** *******
 Was Not Happy With The Set Of ***** Tires. So I Replaced Them With A More Expensive Set At No Charge Witch Were The ****** Touring Set. ****** ******* Came To Me And Explained To Me The Problem That Was Going On. At That Point I Said The Issue Had To Do With The Brakes. That I Could Install A New Set Of Brake Pads & Resurface The Brake Rotors. At No Point Did I Say The Brake Rotors Were No Good. I Even Went As Far As Saying. IF I DO THE BRAKES & IT DOES NOT CORRECT THE PROBLEM YOU DON'T PAY ME. ****** ******* Had The Brakes & Brake Rotors Replaced Somewhere I Dont Know & Came Back To Me & Was Telling Me It Didn't Correct The Problem I Asked ****** ******* Who Had Did The Brakes. ****** ******* Said That She Had Taken The Old Brake Rotors To Two Different Shops & That They Told Her That They Were Good. Ok I Agree With That. I Never Told Her That They Were Bad. The Brake Rotors Were Still Under Specifications To Allow Me To Machine Them. She Insisted That The Problem Was The Tires. I Again Told Her. Ill DO The Brakes & If It Doesn't Fix The Problem Not To Pay Me. I Even Told Her To Take The Car To Another Shop & To Bring Me Proof That The Shop Indeed Did A Brake Rotor Run Out To See If The Rotors Were Warped She Never Did. She Just Said The The Shop Told Here They Were Good. Yes I Have Done This Kind Of Work For Over 30 Years I Have Seen Brand New Parts Out Of The Box Go Bad. We Came To An Agreement That She Would Bring Me The Car & Alloy Me To Correct The Problem With The Brakes & If Indeed By Me Doing The Brakes Corrected The Problem Then She Would Owe Me For The Job. To This Day I'm Still Waiting On Her To Bring The Car To My Shop. Im In Have Intent To Fix The Problem. If She Allows Me To. But At The Same Time She Argues That Its The Tires. If SHe Would Allow Me To Do My Job & In Fact What Do To It To Fix The Problem Does Fix The Problem Then She Would Owe Me For The Repairs.
 

Consumer Response: Thank you for getting back to me I did not check my email yesterday or I would have responded. I read the response from Amigo Tires and I am not surprised that he is confused because the information he stated does not even coincide with the events that took place. I went  there to replace my tires then he sold me tires that were the ***** and they were not touring tires, he replaced those with the ******* 3 days later. I told him that I would pay to have the correct tires for my car and he said that he didn't want to see me spend a lot for name brand and the ******* would work. It was when the ******* were on the car that I began to experience the trembling in the front end and I brought car in for 1st rotation when he said it was my brakes. The car did not tremble with the tires that were on the car when I bought the car, this only happened when he put on these tires that I believe were out of round and had been sitting in a place and became warped. Then after I had brakes changed the problem did not go away and he stated that the rotors were still warped and I came down to have him take it for a test drive and he did so and stated it was the brakes still. he then asked me to take it to another shop for a opinion and I did. I called and told him he did not ask to see the inspection paper but rather insisted that I bring the car in and he inspect it and resurface the rotors again. He does not want to accept the fault for selling me bad tires intentionally because I asked him why these fusion tires were a light grey old color and not jet black like his other tires . He stated that he could show me what to put on the tires to change the appearance??He charged me 600.00 for these tires and after 5000 miles they do not appear to be able to last for the 50,000 miles that they are suppose to run. Also the rotors and the brake pads that were changed did not need to be changed and I still have them for inspection if you would like to see them. I am scanning all the documents to email to you right now.
 

Business Response: At this point, it is no use going back and forth. In order to further assist the customer, the car needs to be brought back to the business for further inspection. The business will go ahead and provide a free diagnostic to try and determine the source of the problem. If indeed the problem is with the tires, the business will credit the amount paid for the tires. If the brakes are the source of the problem, the customer will be responsible for all costs, labor and  parts included. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I believe that the business is stating that the problem will be the brakes when it has already been proven not to be . This was with the full inspection of the brakes, done by another well known business. I feel that the tires should be reimbursed as the way that they look know they will not even make a 20,000 useage. I have provided all the documents necessary to prove that it is not the brakes and furthermore the problem did not exist until I had bought the tires from Amigo Tires. When I went to Amigo Tires I did not have this problem I went there to replace used tires ,no other reason. I do not need a brake job and I did not need one prior to the suggestion made by ******* during a tire rotation. The rotors and brake pads are available to prove this point also. I believe the tires should be refunded as they are the problem.