Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Blue Lagoon Pool Service

Phone: (209) 612-3057 View Additional Phone Numbers 793 S Tracy Blvd # 122, Tracy, CA 95376 http://www.bluelagoonservice.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Blue Lagoon Pool Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Blue Lagoon Pool Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 03, 2008 Business started: 09/03/1999 Business started locally: 09/03/1999
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. John Pastrikas, Owner Linda Pastrikas, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Pastrikas, Owner
Customer Contact: Linda Pastrikas, Office Manager
Business Category

Swimming Pool Service & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Blue Lagoon Service & Repair John's Blue Lagoon Pool Service

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    793 S Tracy Blvd # 122

    Tracy, CA 95376 (209) 612-3057

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a brand new pool that is less than a year old. Being that I am a new pool owner, I hired Blue Lagoon to service my pool. However my pool has been anything but blue. My pool has been green with algae and murky all summer long. I am personally brushing my pool every other day trying to get rid of it. Blue Lagoon blamed the algae and overall dirty water, on the solar heater.He said the solar was basically blocking the filter. Which doesn't make sense because the solar works with the filters. After he came today, I took a sample of the water and had it tested at two different places. Both test results came back with ZERO chlorine and off the charts PH levels. He hasn't been putting any chemicals in my pool- all summer. I have been speaking with other members of my community who also use Blue Lagoon. Every singe pool owner he services that I have spoken to, is having the exact same issue. Green, algae laden pools. I had to spend $110 yesterday to by chemicals to treat and fix my pool, and his mistakes. He is refusing to pro rate or refund my August payment that he took out on the first. He has been scamming my family for 4 months. When he got caught, he was very rude and classless. We all work hard for out money. Give it to a honest, hardworking company. Not a lair and a cheat like John from Blue Lagoon.

Desired Settlement: I was asking John that he at least pro rate or refund my August payment. He said that he doesn't do that, told me to enjoy my green pool and ended it with "buh-bye". Considering that I have been paying him $55 a month for 4 months, for a service that was not provided, I feel that a refund is at the very least fair.

Business Response: In response to customer “Simmont” complaint: ID ******** Note: Began service 5/19/14, no problems with pool until July – due to Filter system dirty/ Customer cleaned however solar left on continually creating more filter problems. Cancelled service on August 12 via text -just returned from their “camping trip”. The facts: This is a clear case of the customer (“a new pool owner”) NOT taking our advice for caring for their pool along with being ignorant on the care and maintenance for their pool equipment. We were hired to perform a “Chemical only” service for $55 a month. We tested and added chemicals once a week, when we were there on their service day. Unfortunately, with pool service, there are so many variables besides chemicals that affect a pool in a detrimental way. With a “Chemical Only” service –The majority of service is the responsibility of the customer. We can only advise and direct them on when and what they should or need to do, however, we can’t force them to do it. The Chemical Only service customer is expected to tend to the pool during the week between visits, which includes: Emptying pump and skimmer baskets often, Brush steps and landings of dirt and algae if/and when, as soon as it appears, keep pool clear of debris (floating and bottom), keep pool sweep maintained and clear of debris, keep filter system maintained/cleaned (minimum every 3-6 months inside this neighborhood, ESPECIALLY WITH SOLAR because algae loves warm water that’s not filtered efficiently) and running the filter system for the appropriate amount of time during the heat of the day, and also maintain water level above skimmer line to maintain proper filtration. – All for optimal water filtration. We try to educate our customers (especially “brand new” pool owners) on how to care for their pool. We strive to keep their pools healthy and our customers happy. But they have to want or have to be teachable. There a lot of factors involved here, that went wrong. In July, the pool started looking “murky”, (indicating a water filtration problem). We advised customer to clean the pool filters as soon as possible. Customer finally cleaned pool filters when the pool was already far behind in water filtration, and looking bad. We performed an algaecide treatment and a phosphate treatment after they cleaned the filters. (Extra charge of $60, but we did not charge the customer) We also explained to the customer that the pool solar system was NOT working properly and they needed to contact the solar company as soon as possible to correct the problem. The main problem is: The solar system is not synced up with the filter system speeds to allow the proper time to filter and clean the water. We have advised the customer to contact the solar company several times. The problem will only continue and get worse if not corrected. On service days, we came, and found the solar left on, and the valve in the wrong position over and over…detrimentally affecting their water condition. It was ON and so we turned it to “OFF” to ensure that the pool water would be filtered and not turn green. The solar system has to be manually turned off and on. It should be automated and synced with the filter system to avoid algae problems. To add….Additional pool problem -This customer has not and did not maintain their pool filters properly and did not clean their skimmer and pump baskets often, (choking the system), along with leaving their pool solar on for extending periods of time (water became warm algae water because it’s not filtered properly) Pool chems added to the pool, will just burn off quickly if the water is not moving and is stagnant and will not work efficiently in the pool. It was NOT OUR mistake that the pool looked bad. And it’s soooo, easy to blame the pool guy. We did not scam this customer; as a matter of fact, we did a lot extra service for this customer, and did not charge an extra charge. (Numerous times we removed toys from pool sweep along with replacing pool sweep back in the pool because it was always left out while they swam in the pool– not included in service) This customer is full of bologna, ungrateful and delusional. We choose to ignore the accusations that they throw our way. We have many customers in their neighborhood that we’ve done service for many years and are very happy with our service. They follow our advice if there are ever any pool issues. We .know we do a good job with customers that want to do the right thing and follow directions. We never said “enjoy your green pool”, we have the customers texts still to refer to. But we did say “bye, bye” after all the sarcastic, condescending comments. We don’t get paid enough money to be treated that way. If we “scammed, cheated and lied” to customers we would not have received “Best of Tracy” this year and for several years in a row now. In our customer agreement, we require a 30 day notice to cancel. We do not give refunds….especially when the cost to service this pool is far more than what we first quoted due to customer’s lack of attention to their pool. We would have liked the opportunity to finish out our service, per our service agreement with this customer, but was denied the opportunity to do so. Upon beginning this customer’s service, we provided list pool duties that clearly stated what must be done to maintain their pool and to keep it in the “best” condition possible. We held up our end of the agreement, they did not. If they did not want to follow our advice in how to care for their pool, they shouldn’t complain about how it looks. Thank you. Blue Lagoon

10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not show up to do pool service as promised. Kept saying "dogs were out". I personally locked them up. They just did not show up. During the month of September, they were supposed to show up every Tuesday. The technician came only September 3rd. Cancelled service October 5th asked for a full refund, was left a message we are only getting partial refund. We feel we should be paid for 1/2 of September and all of October. Payment was made for October on September 24th - by band debit

Desired Settlement: I feel we should be refunded all of October and 1/2 of September. $150.00.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Rebuttal to complaint by ****** ******. The Salazars had been our customer for over 7 years. We would have not just "not showed up" to do their pool service. We strived keep them happy with our service dispite our exhausted efforts. We have always been there on the same day at the same time during our service window. Unfortunately, this has been an on going problem with this customer. We have had a long history of documented issues with them...safe consisent access to pool has only been one of them. In our written customer agreement, it clearly states; "yard must be accessible for the technician to safely access the pool and equipment." We have communicated to the customer with emails, notes left behind, left messages and even face to face about this problem. We have extended the extra courtesy of knocking on the door trying to gain access, but most of the time there has been no answer. We have even gone back to do the missed service after being called because of no access when we were intially there. Recently, October, 2nd, the dogs were "locked up" in the garage, however, the garage door was open and they were "locked up" with a baby gate. Dogs were barking and growling, jumping on the baby gate. Rather than risking getting attacked, if they should knocked the gate down. (mind you these are Shar-pei's, not exactly friendly dogs, they are very aggressive) We walked around to the front door and knocked, no answer. Walked around to the side door, still no one answered. We could hear someone inside, so we knocked even louder. And remember all the time the dogs are still barking like crazy. How could they not know we were there? If I didn't know any better, I'd say they purposely didn't answer the door. After recieving a voice mail on Monday morning, October 8th of her disappointment of missed service on the October 2nd, I emailed customer on October 8th notifying them that we can no longer do their service, because it's been to difficult to work through the access issues. I emailed 3 times and did not get a response from her. In my first email, I stated that we would give a partial credit for October as a courtesy. No refund will be given for the service that was technically missed on 10/3 because we were there to do the service - knocked on door and waited because of lack of safe access to the yard. The dogs held back by a baby gate is not considered safe access. No refund will be given for one missed service in September due to again, no safe access. Customer is well aware of day and time of service. It costs our company money to roll our service trucks to their pool and to much time and money has been wasted by knocking on their doors with no one answering. This customer will be refunded, "in 10 - 14 business days" a partial month's service cost as stated in my email to her on October 8th. We recieved $100.00 for monthly service and $75.00 will be refunded on October 26th by check mailed to her address on file. Thank you.