BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Pools by Nelson

Phone: (209) 543-9576 Fax: (209) 543-7945 View Additional Phone Numbers 5680 Pirrone Rd, Salida, CA 95368 http://www.poolsbynelson.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Pools by Nelson specializes in the construction of in ground gunite swimming pools and spas.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pools by Nelson meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pools by Nelson include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pools by Nelson
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 21, 2000 Business started: 03/01/1974 Business started locally: 03/01/1974 Business incorporated: 06/05/2009 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ryan Nelson, President Ms. Nicole Nelson, Chief Financial Officer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Nicole Nelson, Chief Financial Officer
Principal: Mr. Ryan Nelson, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs Swimming Pool Service & Repair Swimming Pools - Removal Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds Landscape Lighting Artificial Rock Scapes Outdoor Kitchens

Alternate Business Names
Nelson Pools Inc.
Products & Services

Pools by Nelson offers authentic Pebble Tec Interior Finish and Hayward Pool Equipment.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 5680 Pirrone Rd

    Salida, CA 95368 (209) 835-1852 (209) 381-0212 (916) 339-9541 (209) 462-9512

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 381-0212(Phone)
  • (209) 462-9512(Phone)
  • (209) 835-1852(Phone)
  • (800) 987-7701(Phone)
  • (916) 339-9541(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired you to build our pool because you stated to us you take pride in your workmanship. Pride in workmanship means you will deliver what we paid for and what we agreed to and to our satisfaction. After spending a significant amount of money and time our expectation was that we would get what we requested including correct pool decking (I even sent you an image sample of the color) with a description. You even included these color schemes in your computerized image of our project. Instead, what we ended up with was a horrific pink salmon colored deck. After calling in a couple of contractors, they agree this is definitely something you should be responsible for correcting. I have text messages I sent while the concrete was being poured stating my concern with the color, it looks red not brown. You tell us its too soon to judge color while concrete is still wet and we need to wait 2 months. I have a yrs. worth of text messages working with you to resolve the issue and stating you promised color would be fixed fall 2013. Its fall, you nor your contractors show up. We leave you numerous messages. You tell us spring 2014 is next opportunity. To add injury to the insults of one broken promise after another to stand by your word, you have your wife call us May 2014, to tell us you lost your concrete subcontract, and you are searching for a new contractor to fix color. After a yr. we get a text now saying you are NOT responsible for the color or cost. What we agreed to and what we ended up with are drastically diametric. Enclosed are some images of color scheme we agreed on and what we actually ended up with. If you do not agree to follow through with your word or reputation as promised by Friday, May 23, 2014 we will hire a new concrete contractor, and meet you in court. I am in the process of filing a small claims suit against you and your company for the cost we will incur to do the job right, as clearly, youre company is unwilling to follow through with your agreement, word and reputation.

Desired Settlement: I would like Pools By Nelson to incur the cost of correcting his subcontract error and replacing our decking color with the color we were promised. We would like this in writing by Monday, May 19, 2014. If not, we will hire a new concrete contractor and follow though with filing the small claims suit against you and your company for the cost we will incur to do the job right and get the original desired color agreed to by Pools by Nelsons.

Consumer Response: Yes, we are still trying to come to a mutual agreement on how to best fix the coloring of our pool decking. I hope Pools By Nelson can come up with a solution that will meet our original request.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1