Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Custom Pools & Remodeling?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Custom Pools & Remodeling

Phone: (209) 537-6500 Fax: (209) 537-6599 View Additional Phone Numbers 5200 Faith Home Rd, Ceres, CA 95307 http://www.custompoolremodeling.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We specialize in Swimming Pools. Our company provides homeowners with our excellent service back by our 30 plus years of knowledge and commitment to this industry. We specialize in remodeling preexisting swimming pools and new construction. From residential to commercial our company offers free quotes with no obligation. We service most of California including the Northern, Southern, and all Bay Areas. Some of the major job duties we perform: Excavation, Steel Install, Concrete, Plumbing, Electrical, Equipment Installation, Tiling, Coping, Water Features, Concrete Decking, and Plastering. Our main goal is always to provide our customers with affordable prices without having to sacrifice the quality of materials and workmanship.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Custom Pools & Remodeling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Custom Pools & Remodeling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Custom Pools & Remodeling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 02, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1984 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1984 Business incorporated: 09/21/2001 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00810897.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Roger Whaley, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Whaley, Owner
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Method(s) of Payment
We accept Cash, Check, and Credit Cards. We also work closely with several pool finance companies that can provide you with a private loan. (Please note: we do not finance "in-house" but can refer several loan companies. Financial information is given to loan company directly from homeowner. We do not process, use, or need your financial information.)
Refund and Exchange Policy
Our warranties can vary depend on the work performed.
Alternate Business Names
R O W Custom Enterprises, Inc.
Products & Services

Custom Pool Plastering provides complete commercial and residential swimming pool renovations.

Industry Tips
Building a Swimming Pool Tips Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Custom Pools & Remodeling has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid $6800. for cement decking with center drains, six piers and a three foot deep footing wall with exposed aggregate. They used our old fence as the form to pour concrete along property line, which forced us to go 5" into our neighbors property to build a new fence. The exposed aggregate is coming off, water pools next to one drain instead of draining normally, and there is a huge crack. Installed a filter pump that wasn't compatible with our compool control system and blew out the motherboard which I had to replace at the cost of $945.80. Our tile is continuing to come off. In May called them to complain, someone did come out and take pictures then the next day they repaired what tile was falling off then, but didn't use the same color grout. End of June I hadn't heard anything from them concerning the concrete. We still have tile falling off, after eight more calls to them I received a letter from the president addressing the crack in the cement as industry standard, ending letter with please call if you have any questions. Two more calls to them only to get promises of call backs that I haven't received.

Desired Settlement: If they cannot do anything about the concrete I'd like a partial refund of the $6800 it cost, I want to be reimbursed for the cost of the motherboard $945.80, and I want my tile repaired.

Business Response: After inspection of concrete we found that the cracks fall within industry standards. A letter was sent on July 8th 2014 explaining that to the homeowner. The tile issues that were brought to our attention were corrected. We did not know that there was an issue with the grout color until we received this complaint.  There is a 2" gap between the fence and concrete. The issue with the pump could not have caused the panel issue. The mother board in the house went out on its own. We did not touch the mother board at any time. We will repair the tile and address the cause of the problem. If it is our workmanship or materials it will be under warranty.  We will make the repairs as soon as we are contacted by the homeowner to schedule.

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because: The only issue with the concrete they are addressing is the crack as "industry standard". We paid $6800 for exposed aggregate concrete with center drains, with a three foot deep footing wall  along west side with six two foot deep piers. The aggregate is coming off, the west edge is convex making it impossible to rebuild the fence where it originally was before. Concrete is not my specialty so I am not aware of "industry standards" concerning what is a pier, but I don't believe that is what we got, we certainly don't have six, exposed aggregate falling out, but I do know a straight line should be a straight line, and with a center drain system the slope should be going towards the drain not away from it. To say they haven't touched the motherboard at anytime is OUTRAGEOUS, they connected a jandy pump to our compool system, two days it took them to figure out the two were not compatible. After installing the Pentair pump they were unable to get the system to run due to the motherboard(purchased in 2012) being shorted out from the wrong system trying to be installed. They did not know about the tile grout being different because they haven't returned my call  since they came and repaired tile. We received the letter and as asked I have called and been promised returned calls but have yet to get a call back. Please see attached pictures showing the convex concrete, missing aggregate, slope away from drain, pooling of water next to drain, the trench for the wall and "piers", the difference in grout color, the jandy pump installed next to the motherboard #3037 shows the tile that was just repaired and is again falling off.  I'm reluctant to believe they will return my call as they have promised already many times and failed to do so.

Thank you, ******* ********

Business Response: the crack as of last inspection meets industry standards. The concrete was poured with a 2" gap between the fence and concrete so that we could meet the slope for the drains. I was unaware of the drain being an issue- it has been 2 years since the job was complete.
In regards to the pump, the only wires that were touched were 3 wires ( main power for pump) in the actual pump housing. They were hooked up exactly the way the original pump was installed. We changed out the pump thinking that the pump was the issue. The original pump was a Pentair pump so we installed a new Pentair pump. That didnt work either. At that point we figured out it was the mother board which only switches the pump off and on. That is why the homeowner paid for a new mother board.
When the piers ( holes ) were installed the customer was involved and watched most of the construction.
Again, I want to address all issues. I would like to hear from Mr. ******** by phone or email to set up a time to meet and inspect all work that he has issues with.

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting the company response because: They state its been two years, yet our contract is dated 7/2/13. I sent pictures that clearly show the hole for the wall up to the fence that had tilted, that is what prevented the new fence from being able to be built exactly where it had been, that is also where my pictures show the concrete convex by 2.5 inches, so that even the finished surface bows mirroring the old fence. Again they don't address the aggregate falling out, suggest my presence means I was involved in the construction, I was not. My picture clearly shows that I do not have six piers and my being home does not negate the fact I didn't get everything I paid for. The 2" gap between the concrete and fence play NO part in whether or not the slope of the concrete goes toward or away from the drain, going away from the drain represents poor craftsmanship or a lack of knowledge. I'm sure that neither of us want to tear it all up and start over, I would much rather get a reasonable refund, I had another bid at that time for just exposed aggregate concrete for $2840, no wall or piers and we paid $6800 to get the footing wall and piers. Instead of making an effort to make anything with the concrete right I get excuses, would love for them to work with me on this.
 The story about the pump is completely false my contract shows a jandy flo pro1.5hp variable speed pump, that is what was installed first along with the new wire that goes into the motherboard housing, they couldn't get it to work, that's when they changed it out with the Pentair and couldn't get it work either, he was on the phone with manufacturer and it was them who said the motherboard was blown out from trying to connect jandy pump because they are not compatible, something I believe someone in the business should know. I still want my tile and grout fixed, my motherboard paid for, and what seems to be the easiest solution to the many issues with the concrete a partial refund of the $6800 paid as I didn't get all I paid for. Since all of my calls to the company have not gotten a call back it would be nice for them to call me and set up a time to come and inspect all the issues. We will be gone until November 3rd and look forward to hearing from them shortly thereafter.
Thank you, ******* ********

Business Response: We will contact Mr. ******** on November 4th

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Consumer Response:

After the company responded that they wanted to work with me in resolving all issues with the pool, I agreed. They called of the 4th of November and arrived on the 5th. ****** took more pictures, showed him all the issues visible with concrete, exposed aggregate coming off, slope away from drain, and the convex shape of slab that prevented fence from being rebuilt in same location, "industry standard" crack, I only have pictures to the lack of piers in the concrete, tile currently falling off, wiring from pump to the motherboard. ****** said he needed to show all this to the owner and would get back to me in the next two weeks, today is December 2 and I have yet to hear from them, which only makes me believe this company has no intention of making my pool remodel right, doing my best to be reasonable and accommodating. Not asking them to tear up all the concrete and start over to give me everything I paid for (piers, exposed aggregate that doesn't fall out, straight slab of concrete that doesn't impose onto my neighbors property), slopes to the center drains, but I do want a refund of the cost of the motherboard I had to replace because of their negligence, have my tile repaired with matching grout, and come to agreement on an amount to refund me for what I didn't receive with my concrete.
Thank you, ******* ********

Business Response: We are going to fix all issues with the tile and concrete as soon as weather permits. We will call Mr. ******** to schedule the repairs.
We still stand firm that we did not cause any damage to his mother board. Hooking up the pump would not have caused any issues with the mother board. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: Although I want very much for everything to be corrected, I simply cannot trust this company to follow through, I would need to have in writing what it is they plan to do with the concrete to make it and our tile right, and I do not accept the response of not responsible for the motherboard, what caused the motherboard getting blown out was attaching an incompatible jandy pump to this Pentair system, period.
Thank you, ******* ********

Business Response: Company states: The issue is probably within a one foot area. I did tell the customer and we would take out that section of concrete because we want to take care of the customer. I believe is deck movement. I have already repaired for him once. The transformer is not related to us  at all. If the area is a 10x10 and 2 sqft. needs to be replaced. If it is under 1sq ft. it does not need to be replaced. I want to take it out to do it for him. It is going to be resolved under industry standards. 

Business Response:

Company states: The cracks that he mentions are in the concrete was within industry standards. We told him to go to the CSLB which they did come out said we were not at fault. This customer had an aggregate deck on it. The rock that came out the decking area is not much at all and that is also within compliance with the industry standards. We have worked on the tile a couple times already and any work that we did we warranty. As long as the work is complaint with the CSLB then we are okay with it. I don’t warranty against structural movement only the work that I did for the consumer.

4/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company remodeled our pool approximately one year ago. We had a rapid leak in our pool in December, 2014. We called them out and they drained the pool and informed us that the leak was due to plaster the accidentally got in the main drain during the remodel. We also had shifting in our interior walls and door frames. This was due to the water leaking under our home. We informed the head contractor, Jeremy, of this and asked that they reimburse us for damage under the house (if any, after checked out by proper contractor) and also to reimburse us for the cost of refilling the pool and the initial chemicals to get the pool in proper balance. Jeremy advised that he would speak to the owner about this.We got a response back from Custom Pools, and they informed us that the leak was not their fault....yet they ripped out our entire pool and patio and did the full remodel. When I called the owner to further discuss, he would not take or respond to my calls.The pool was holding water until today. We filled the pool yesterday and noticed the water level drop significantly over night (about four inches) and we are highly concerned about damage, or more damage, this leak will cause to the foundation of our home, and we certainly do not want our pool, which was only remodeled a year ago, leaking water!!

Desired Settlement: We want the pool fixed, for good. We would also like to be reimbursed for the damages to the foundation of our home and the cost of water for filling the pool and chemicals. We can provide receipts for the water and chemical costs incurred.

Business Response: My company did a courtesty dive and found that the hydro stat valve rusted and came apart. We installed a new hydro stat valve. We have been monitoring the water level for one week. Wed 18th - Thurs 23rd. The pool has not lost any water. We will continue to monitor for one more week and provide the customer a writen report of our findings. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

Armando from Custom Pools Remodeling came by my property on Monday 23 March 2015 around 1130 hours. I showed him the video recording of the water level the day prior and the current level. He was concerned since the level dropped 1" or more. He shut my pool equipment down and asked that I do not use the pool. He stated that they were getting a sonar test done, however, there has been no correspondences since this last visit.  

There is a leak and it's causing damage to my house; their response is disconcerting since it implies that there is no longer a problem. This is incorrect. 

Thank you,

******** ********

Consumer Response: Consumer states: The company has been in contact with me and I have been working closely with Armando. There are still some issues with the house that they have not go to yet but they are still working with me.

12/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Oct 2013 Custom Pools resurfaced our pool after fixing 2 cracks. They said fixing the cracks was not a problem and in fact pretty routine. Although we were told it would take 2 weeks for the process the job was done in a little more than 2 days. The project manager ****** was present for the process for less than 5 minutes total. Almost immediately we noticed small perfectly round identical marks in the pool. ****** never returned our calls (he was always out for lunch) unless we called him at least 4-5 times so we went thru the salesman *****. He said the issue was probably stains caused by berries from a tree near the deep end. Because of the cool weather it was not until the spring that we actually went into the pool and discovered they were tiny holes in both ends of the pool. After numerous calls/texts to ***** someone did come out to fill them-more than once. In early Sept we noticed a large crack going down the side of the steps which was identical to one of the cracks we had before the remodel. Again with no response from ****** we contacted ***** who sent someone out. He did fill the crack on his second visit and told Tom after seeing it the first trip he went back and told ****** "that you really did it this time" indicating it was a terrible job. At some point although we did not see him ****** came over to look at it and said that it must have been caused by the recent earthquake. The repairman did say in his years repairing pools he has never had to come back to seal the same crack again. This repair job lasted less than 2 weeks and looks worse than before. Within a couple weeks we noticed the 2nd crack (and again identical as before) down the middle of the pool. ***** came out to check it and told us it must be a structural issue and Custom Pools is not responsible. One year after this started we have spent more than $5000 and have the same cracks and the sides of the pool look discolored. It was clearly a very poor, extremely rushed job by workers with little, to no supervision

Desired Settlement: The job/pool needs to be re-done correctly with a responsible project manager in charge. The time and energy spent on a new pool brushing it is substantial. In addition, there is the expense for the water it takes to refill it in the middle of a historic drought. Custom Pools should be accountable for these 2 things as well.

Business Response: The pool was prepared for plaster on 10-10-13. At this time the cracks were inspected and were not subsurface. The pool was preped and the cracks were preped as normal surface cracks. After preparation the pool was inspected by ****** and the preparation crew foreman. The pool was plastered on 10-24-2013. This is 14 days after preparation. Not 2 days as the homeowner stated.
****** leaves the office at 9:00 a.m. daily and returns at 4:00 p.m. He is reachable by cell phone during these hours and returns all calls to customers who have left messages at the office from 4:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. Since he is out of the office for 7 hours everyday there is never a time that he is "out to lunch."
The perfectly round stains in the pool were caused by seeds from their tree. We corrected this for them twice.
In September of 2014 the homeowner contacted and said there was a crack in their pool. They noticed it a few days after the 6.0 earthquake and aftershocks in Vallejo. We went out and inspected the crack. It was very long and obviously structural. As a courtesty to the homeowner we offered to do a "cosmetic" patch. At this time we told them it was structural, and that we would not guarantee that the crack would not come back. We also sent them a copy of their contract that states we do not warranty against ground movement or structural cracks.
Please see the attached pictures that show major ground movement around and on the pool.
We are very surprised that the homeowner contacted the BBB. Up until the earthquake in September we have used them as a reference and they have referred customers to us. 

Business Response: Custom Pools stands firm on all statements made in our first response to this complaint. We will be happy to meet with an arbitrator from BBB and the customer to discuss this further.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: Unless Custom Pools is willing to give a 100% refund along with the money it will take to refill our pool after we find another company to restore it properly, there is no need to meet. We will continue with this complaint and pursue each and every avenue to resolve this issue with this despicable company. Interesting response from Customer Pools though which would suggest they are very familiar with the BBB and the steps to resolve complaints.

11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the process of building our pool this business damaged an estimated 600 feet of concrete due to negligence. No proper precautions taken to prevent 9-24-13 Custom pools dug a pool in our backyard. During the digging process our concrete and the neighbors concrete were not protected with plywood or any other form of protection including dirt. We were told by ****, the salesman, that a small tractor was going to be used in the digging process and that plywood would be put down along with dirt to protect the existing concrete. The day of digging ***** used an excavator. We were assured on 8-14-13 by ****, the day we signed our contract that the utmost most care would be taken to protect our property and that of our neighbors. The only damage might be a few fence posts that break when they have to be pulled out of the ground according to ****. The day prior to the dig, ***** came into our back yard and took done the fence, breaking every single fence post and the lock on my neighbors gate. My neighbor never gave written consent to Custom pools to access their yard! I immediately called the company and spoke to ****** who said he would try to get a hold of ***** to call me back. Never heard from ***** on 8-23-13. Did speak to Neil, who stated that he wasn't aware of anything and that normally things don't go like this. On the morning of 8-24-13, ***** showed up to my house and I voiced my concerns, he assured me that he did speak with the neighbor and it was all good. I questioned him on some existing concrete in the back yard that was suppose to be saw cut along the joints so that we could save it and instead it had been broken in such a way that left over 100 feet of concrete useless. He said he wasn't aware that it was to be saved and that he would take care of it when we discussed the concrete decking later. After the pool was dug and the crew were cleaning up was when it became obvious that 5 different areas of concrete had been broken. 1. Our driveway, 2. Neighbors front walkway 3. Neighbors back yard, 4. Our front walkway, and 5. Our sideyard near the back of the house. He told me not to worry that they do concrete and it would be taken care of when he poured the decking. Our neighbor also confronted him that day and he verbally assured him that he would take care of everything including the bush that had been beat up in the digging process. 8-28-13 after many failed attempts in communicating with Custom pools, my husband and I met with ***** again in our backyard and went over in detail the damage done to our concrete and that of the neighbors including the piece that should have been saved by being cut at the joint. Again he assured us that he had spoke with the neighbor and told him he would fix it and that he was aware of damage done to our concrete and that he would take care of it during the pouring of our decking. "Let's just get the pool guinite in so we can fill in all these trenches and we will take care of the rest", were his words to us. So the process continued until 9-18-13 when ***** and ****** came to my backyard to measure out where we wanted the decking to go. When we got to the damaged side yard he immediately said, "Im not fixing this, read the back of our contract, Im not responsible". I asked him about the neighbors concrete and again he instructed me to read the back of my contract. I told him, you gave us your word that you would fix it and you also told the neighbor that you would fix it. He just told me that he was not responsible. He told me he would measure it up and call me with an estimate. 9-21-13, I spoke with our neighbor who stated that he never gave Custom pools permission verbal or written to access his yard. He also stated that he confronted ***** on 8-24-13 and that ***** assured him he would take care of the concrete and even guaranteed to replace one of his bushes. He also never called me back to give me an estimate or discuss this matter any further which left me no choice but to proceed and file this complaint as a recourse to recover damages done to my property and my neighbors due to negligence.

Desired Settlement: I want the concrete that was damaged during the digging of our pool fixed. It is an estimated 500 feet of concrete on both my property and the neighbors not to mention the 100+/- feet of concrete that should have been saw cut along the joint. I am seeking monetary compensation to be able to have a licensed contractor whom I can trust to do the concrete. I have lost all trust in Custom Pools and prefer that they don't ever come back to my backyard again. Due to lack of communication between myself and various employees employed at Custom Pools, I just feel it would be better for both parties involved to have a third party complete this job and Custom Pools refund me an amount of money that will allow for my concrete and my neighbors to be fixed. Again want to state that my neighbor did not give either verbal or written consent for Custom Pools to access his yard and he had incurred damages.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
The issues with Mrs. ***** have been resolved. The work has been completed to her satisfaction.

Final Business Response
the concrete was repaired to customers satisfaction

9/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pool Fence that was installed is poor quality, lose, falling apart and unsafe. Multiple repairs have been made since installed on March 31, 2013. The fence was installed March 30-March 31, 2013. 115' baby barrier fencing 5' high with 4' gate. $2,340 paid by check. When it was installed I let the installers know that it was lose, uneven, slanted, missing parts in the ground since some areas lifted easily and did not look safe, considering the top of the poles were being held together with zip ties. If the zip tie came off or was to break, there would be a huge opening, large enough for my three year old son to walk right thru. They stated that it was the material and that some sections would be tighter than others. They also stated to "replace the zip ties" if they broke. It was extremely lose, blowing in the wind, and easily fell forward with any weight. I contacted the Sales Manager immediately with my concerns. The second week in April the company came to repair the fence and tighten it. It was still uneven, lose, with zip ties in place. April 21, 2013, the screws that hold the netting and poles together started popping off in various sections. I contacted the company; **** ********, ***** ******, and ******* It took over two weeks to have someone look at it. They put the screws back in, but fixed nothing else. I also stated I never received caps to put in the ground if I were to remove the fence. I have never received an answer June 30, 2013, the fence continues to loosen, the zip ties are getting ***** and ***** causing larger unsafe gaps, and the screws have started to pop off in various places enough to were there is a large opening were my son is able to walk thru. ******* foreman, and **** ********, have been in contact and stated it only needs epoxy and new screws. (I have left two messages for the owner, *****, with no response.) That for whatever reason, the epoxy, sleeves that hold the poles in place were not installed in all sections. I explained that the fence is completely unsafe, uneven, and poor quality. Replacing screws will not come close to fixing the fence. The areas where the poles were installed were drilled crooked. I have requested a refund several times.

Desired Settlement: Requesting a full refund. This fence has been repaired several times since being installed four months ago. New screws and epoxy will not begin to fix the problems. The fence is poor quality, poor material, and on top of that, was installed wrong. The holes were drilled crooked leaving it to be uneven. Zip ties are not strong nor safe enough to keep the fence in place. This fence was bought for the safety of my three year old son. If the fence is leaned on at all, it leans forward and loosens. Extremely unsafe.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **************@aol.com In response to Ms. ********* complaint I would like to say that Custom Pools will stand behind our workmanship and will make all necessary repairs to Ms. Silveirass satisfcation. Parts are on order and we will call her as soon as they come in to schedule a time to make the repairs.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will be satisfied once the fence is replaced. The fence has been repaired several times, in such a short amount of time after installation. This has made the problem and quality even worse. I am happy to work with Custom Pools, and they have been willing to do the same, with replacing the fence with a new one and getting reimbursed the difference in cost of the new fence compared to the current fence. Enough repairs and time has been spent on the current fence.

Business' Final Response
The fence has been replaced. Mrs. ******** is satisfied with the new fence.

12/26/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Custom Pools re-surfaced our Pool and Spa. The Pool looks beautiful and the spa has a crackle surface which Custom Pools says is normal. We hired Custom Pools to resurface our pool and hot tub Feb/15/2012. They started work the week of 3-12 and finished a week later. They filled the pool and hot tub and gave us curing instructions. ****** told us to wait at least 2 weeks before turning on the hot tub. We waited over a month and then turned it on for a few minutes and only 1 jet worked. We called Custom Pools and they came out and fixed the spa so all of the jets worked. We then waited another couple of weeks before we heated up and used the spa. Sometime in May we contacted ****** advising him that the spa had a crackle look and did not match the pool surface. ****** told us we should just keep brushing the spa and eventually it would match the pool. We waited a few weeks more and when there was no change, we contacted ****** again. He was in the hospital and so we left word for someone else to get back to us. For the past 5 months we have left messages and have been strung along. Finally in October after contacting the owner ******-******* came out to look at the spa and took pictures with his cell phone and told us he would get back to us. He didn't and no one else did either. Today we talked to Stefan who said even though he hadn't see the pool, he talked to the owner who said these cracks were Check Cracking and sometimes unavoidable. I looked up the definition of Check Cracking- Check cracking Check cracking - A random pattern of cracks that forms on a plaster surface as it sets. These cracks occur due to moisture loss from the surface of the cement as it dries. They often become visible when the plaster is first wetted, because the cracked area absorbs water more quickly than the plaster surrounding it. Treatment Most check cracks will reseal underwater within 24 hours of appearance. If too much moisture was lost during the plaster drying process, deeper open shrinkage cracks may have formed. I think Custom Pools may have been negligent in their start up filling process. I was not home when they started filling the pool. How long did they wait before filling the hot tub?? With the statement above in mind I think moisture may have been lost during the plaster drying process. Maybe from waiting too long to fill? The owners son in law was very sick during this period and could have had impaired judgement. Bottom line I want a spa that matches my pool not one that is "check cracked". When we have people over they say how pretty the pool looks and then say "what's wrong with the hot tub"? We paid $5,000 for this re-surfacing job and want the spa redone

Desired Settlement: We request they resurface the Spa to match the pool

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@aol.com The "check cracks" that Ms. ****** is talking about were not caused from negligence on my companys behalf. We use the same filling procedure on all pools. The water is started in the deep end of the pool before we leave. If there is a spa to be filled as well it is up to the homeowner to start filling the spa as soon as the pool is full. I asked Ms. ****** how she filled the spa and was given conflicting answers. She said she used a hose, and also said she used the auto fill. When I questioned her again on how she filled the spa our conversation got disconnected. I called right back but only got her voice mail. I left her a message and asked her to return my call. I have not received a return call. My company will not re do the spa. Check cracking is a normal occurance and the surface of her spa meets all industry standards.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The Owner ****** from Custom Pools is a real life Shyster- I will make sure I spread the word to all that I know regarding our negative experience-Shame on you ****** and your approach, and the way you attempt to twist people words and your-Poor Customer Service and poor treatment of your customers after the job has completed.You could have come and fixed by hot tub finish with little or no cost to yourself to make things right with us. I even have 3 friends that also need their pools resurfaced. The old "Tell a friend and they tell 3 friends and they tell 3 friends" in now in effect. Your behavior is despicable. Here is my review that I will post everywhere------------------- The owner ****** is a Real Piece of Work! Make sure you check your contract specifically to "Check Cracking" and have them explain upfront on what is "not their responsibility". They resurfaced our pool and it looks great but our attached hot tub looks horrible and has a crackle look which is " not their responsibility". ****** is rude and obnoxious. Don't trust him and be sure to write everything down. Including all of their work and pool filling processes to make sure it is done right. Shame on you Custom Pools.

12/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wrong product installed, severe damaged to property and damaged to pool pipes. Use of unlicensed sub-contractors and unable to provide licenses. Sales Rep: Ken Lewis Project Manager: Jeromy Fuller Company Owner: Roger Whaley Job started last week of April 2012 and was to remodel a swimming pool and deck. Job did not finish until end of July 2012 after many issues. Transpired that company is using unlicensed sub-contractors and introducing them as employees. Concrete poured for the deck was not the correct color, not the correct cut lines and, not the correct stamp pattern. Company refused to deliver the contractor license numbers of the sub-contractors and refuses give a final release and waiver of lien form as required by California Law. Concrete pouring damaged the booster pump lines under the concrete causing massive leaking of the pool water under the concrete deck. Company refuses to repair this item. Jacuzzi hottub was severely damaged during their moving of this item while job was being performed. Company refuses to pay for repair or replacement.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a full refund of the entire monies paid. Under California Law if a sub-contractor is not licensed then no payment is required. I am also seeking full payment for the Jacuzzi hottub since this company had previously been warned to use professional movers to move this item but ignored this advise. I will be starting court proceeding but will allow them this route through the BBB to settle if they choose.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** President Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@aol.com All issues that Mr. ****** has mentioned have been addressed. My company does not use unlicensed contractors. At the time of Mr. ****** job the contractor he is speaking of was on my payroll. I have records to prove this. The concrete that we poured is the exact color that is on Mr. ****** contract. The Keystone Cantilver is also done as per the contract. A lien release was mailed to Mr. ******. If he has not received it, I will not issue another. He has filed a charge back with his credit card company. My company did not refuse to fix the booster pump lines. Mr. ****** would not agree to remove the concrete so that we can address the issue. Mr. ****** sent an e mail giving my company 12 hours to repsond to the issues with the spa. We missed his deadline by 1 working day. We are willing to repair these issues, but Mr. ****** will not allow us to. Although there have been issues with Mr. ****** job we have addressed each area and have done our best to satify him.

Consumer's Final Response
This is to confirm that all issues raised with ROW Custom Pools have now been resolved by the company to my full satisfaction. I consider this BBB dispute successfully closed.

7/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company resurfaced pool and put in pebble-tec a year ago. Numerous rust spots developed. Company said it was covered but has not repaired. On or about July 2011 Custom Pool Plastering resurfaced our pool putting in pebble-tec sides and bottom. A few months after the resurface we noticed rust spots in various areas of the pool. We attempted to get rid of them by using a wire brush, but the rust spots kept coming back. On 5/1/12 my wife called and told them of the problem. Received a call back on 5/3/12 from Stefan Machado, the one who ran the job last year, stating they "will have to call the manufacturer and may have to have a diver come out and replace the stone but they know it's their problem and they will take care of it; he said it will be covered." Stefan said "there are other people with the same problems." Called Stefan again on 5/14/12 and left message to find out what the status is - did not receive any return call. Called Custom Pools main office on 5/22/12 - the woman who answered the phone said she "would pull our file and put it on Stefan's desk that same day." Talked to Andrea who identified herself as the co-owner on 5/30/12; Andrea said "she will have Stefan get back to us today." Daniel from Custom Pool Plastering called us back on 5/30/12 and told me that "Todd is the one he is trying to get in touch with to get the rust spots fixed and that Todd will be calling us." Called Daniel on 6/4/12 and told him that we have still not heard from Todd. Daniel said he would call Todd. On 6/5/12 called and spoke with Jennifer at Custom Pool Plastering who said "she would call Todd and call us back." She called and said she left a message with Todd on 6/5/12. On 6/6/12 Todd called and said that "he is going to look for a diver to come out to our house, they remove the particles of steel and wirebrush it to repair it." Todd said "give me a couple of weeks to find a diver." On 6/19/12 called Todd and left a message wondering what the status was. On 6/21/12 called and left a message with Todd saying "we are tired of waiting maybe we can fix it ourselves so how much do you pay a diver to fix it?" Todd called back and said "he pays a diver $150 to $300 to make the repair and that he will get back to me." On 6/27/12 I called and left message and Todd called back to say "he's still working on it." I told him "I think I can fix it so why don't you just send me a check?" Todd said "let me see what I can do, I will get back to you Thursday or Friday" which was 6/28 or 6/29. Todd did not return any calls. My wife called Custom Pool Plastering on 7/3/12 and talked to the woman who answered the phone, may have been Jennifer. My wife relayed all of the information to Jennifer about getting this issue resolved and Jennifer said "she would relay this to Roger, the owner." We still have not received a phone call from anyone. 12 phone calls to the company since 5/1/12 with no response or satisfaction has been very frustrating especially since they said it was their problem, it was covered and they were going to fix it.

Desired Settlement: Although quite challenging for me, I have worked on the rust spots over the past several weeks and based on what Todd told me they do to fix them, they seem better. However, I don't know if they will come back again and I can't rely on the company to fix or repair anything as they had promised. Since I was told by Todd that the cost to repair the rust spots would be in the range of $150 to $300, I'm requesting $300 to settle this issue.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@aol.com I spoke with Mr. ****** today. He is aware that this is an issue with my material company. My material company has been in touch with him, but unfortunately has not done a good job with follow up. I explained to Mr. ****** that I am aware of the material companys lack of communication. I am expecting a written explination from the material company today. I told Mr. ****** that I was sorry for his inconveniences and that I will stand behind my work. I will forward a copy of the letter I receive from the material company to Mr. ****** as soon as I recieve it. If the material company does not stand behind their product I will make this right with Mr. ******. I do want to give the company time to resolve their issues, as I know that this is a nation wide problem. I understand Mr. Peltiers frustration and he understood where I stand on this issue.

6/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service