Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Courage Pools, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Courage Pools, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (916) 797-3000 9335 Rancho Vista Ln, Newcastle, CA 95658 http://www.couragepools.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Courage Pools, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Courage Pools, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Courage Pools, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 03, 1995 Business started: 02/01/1995 Business started locally: 02/01/1995 Business incorporated: 03/03/1998 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 702985.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Courage, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Courage, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair

Products & Services

Courage Pools, Inc. is a licensed swimming pool contractor specializing in custom residential gunite pools and spas.

Industry Tips
Building a Swimming Pool Tips Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 9335 Rancho Vista Lane

    New Castle, CA 95658

  • 9335 Rancho Vista Ln

    Newcastle, CA 95658

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As you know, our reinforced concrete pool shell, as designed by **** ** ******** and Associates and constructed by Courage Pools in 2006, has developed a large vertical crack and is no longer structurally sound nor able to function as a swimming pool. We requested repair under Courage Pools' limited structural warranty, which states that "Courage Pools warrants that the gunite or concrete swimming pool shell will remain structurally sound for as long as you own your pool. Structurally sound is defined as maintaining the structural integrity of the swimming pool so as to withstand all normal loads and stresses as anticipated by our approved engineering plans." Courage Pools requested evaluation of the existing swimming pool by the engineer of record, **** ** *****, of **** ** ******** and Associates, and he concluded that soil settlement has led to the crack in the swimming pool shell. As a result, Courage Pools has indicated that they are not responsible to honor the warranty because the warranty does not cover damages caused by earth or fill ground movement. We have reviewed the engineer's report, the original pool plans, and the existing site conditions, have consulted with a number of structural, geotechnical, and legal specialists, and have made the following determinations:

  1. The crack in the pool shell has developed because the design did not consider the pool layout in relation to the site topography. There is not an adequate soil embankment along
    the back side of the poof to resist the horizontal pressure exerted on the pool structural system by the water within the pool. The specifications contained in General Note IS on the pool construction plans require that "if the pool is constructed on or near a slope, [the] top of bond beam should be a minimum of 5 feet away from [the] edge of slope".  The pool is in fact constructed adjacent to a fill slope and there are several locations, including that where the crack is located, that are less than 5 feet from the top of the adjacent slope. The lack of a resisting lateral soil pressure providing support along the back side of the pool shell is further evidenced by the fact that the crack in the pool shell is vertical. A vertical crack is indicative of a flexural crack resulting from the inadequacy of the embankment to provide resisting lateral pressure to counteract the lateral water pressure. Settlement cracks are manifested by diagonal patterns, which are not exhibited in the current condition. Because the pool was placed in close proximity to a slope, the back side of the pool should have been built as a free standing pool wall that would not have retied upon the resistive lateral embankment pressures along the backside  the poof. This is  considered a defect in the design of the pool.
  2. The crack occurred at an angle point in the poof. Angle points, particularly those pointing in the same outward direction as the lateral water pressures, are geometric force concentration areas and therefore must be adequately reinforced to resist out of-plane forces. Structural engineering practice dictates that a special detail be provided for locations such as these to show the additional reinforcement and concrete form shape needed at the angle point to mitigate the concrete stress to acceptable levels prescribed by the building codes. No such detail is provided in the plans and therefore it is concluded that this area was not properly reinforced. This is considered a defect in the design of the pool. If necessary, we are prepared to expose and document the inadequate reinforcing in this area during the demolition and repair work.
  3. There are currently boulders embedded in the wall of the pool shelf and bond beam at the location of the angle point and vertical crack. The horizontal reinforcing steel should be continuous across the angle point in order to adequately resist out-of-plane forces. The embedment of the boulders into the wall of the poof shell and bond beam prevents this continuous reinforcement and therefore contributed to the development of the crack in the pool shell. This is considered a defect in the design of the pool.
  4. It is not possible to evaluate the compaction of soil to the specificity required by the engineer by visual means alone. Soil testing is required to confirm compaction. Therefore,
    although the Courage Pools contract attempts to abdicate responsibility for soil conditions, Courage Pools has a fiduciary responsibility to verify that the site conditions meet the specifications of the design plans, particularly in the case of fill conditions, prior to construction. If Courage Poofs does not include the verification of soil conditions in their scope of work for poof construction, they are required to obtain this information from the owner prior to start of construction. This information was neither requested nor required of us by Courage Pools and therefore Courage Pools failed to verify that the engineer's specifications related to soil conditions were met prior to constructing the poof and deck improvements. This is considered negligence on the part of the contractor.
  5. . The Courage Pools contract asserts that Courage Pools is not a soils expert and further requires the owner to warrant against expansive soil conditions. However, ***** **** of
    Courage Poofs instructed us that we reside in an area of expansive soils and were therefore required to purchase, at additional cost, the upgraded steel schedule required to resist
    expansive soils. By making assertions about the soil condition of our property, Courage Pools represented themselves as knowledgeable about soils, which is in direct conflict with the
    pool contract. This is considered misrepresentation/fraud on the part of the contractor.

Desired Settlement: In summary, we have determined that the crack in our pool shell is directly related to the deficient design of our pool and the settlement of our deck is the result of the contractor's failure to verify that construction specifications were met. As a result, we require that Courage Pools and Neil 0. Anderson and Associates undertake any and all action appropriate to repair our swimming pool and deck immediately, to our satisfaction, and at their expense, or remove the pool/deck improvements and restore the land to its original condition. If remediation efforts are not commenced on or before May 15th, we will commence legal proceedings against Courage Pools and Neil 0. Anderson and Associates to recover the expenses necessary to conduct the repairs ourselves as well as all legal expenses.

Business Response:

Jim Courage met with the ******** on Saturday morning, May 3rd to discuss their concerns.  Courage Pools and the ******** are in agreement on a course of action.

 

******* *****

Courage Pools, Inc.

916-797-3000

************************

4/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Concrete decking installed chipped, cracked, and not to industry standard. Pool skim device does not fit properly. Pool completion date 8/18/2011, problem date 8/02/2012. Concrete decking, pool,coping chipped, cracked and broken. The decking is not to industry standard. Jim would not resolve, stating their was nothing wrong. Clearly overlooking blatant issues that he knew would cause future issues. Pool skim device will not stay inserted properly. I had to remove altogether.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of pool deck coping. Repair of skimmer to ensure proper fit.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We apologize for the delay in responding. Today was the first notice we have received from the BBB about this complaint. A fax was received today (Feb.12) at our office stating it was the third notice by the BBB trying to contact us. We would be more than happy to meet with Mr. ****** to look at his concerns with the concrete coping on his pool. I cannot respond to the concrete since I have not seen it since the completion of the pool back in 2011. We do wish Mr. ****** would have contacted our office directly since we could have responded much sooner. We pride ourselves on the fact that we have never had a filed complaint with the contractors board and are A+ accredited with the BBB. We stand behind our work and would be more then happy to meet with Mr. ****** to discuss his concerns. He can contact us between the hours of 8am and 4pm Monday through Friday to set up a time for us and the concrete contractor to meet. Thank you.

Consumer's Final Response
Jennifer, Thank you for your assistance with our complaint against Courage Pools Inc. Jim Courage, owner of Courage Pools Inc., and I have come to an agreement regarding the referenced complaint. Jim Courage has provided a fair and honest resolution to our complaint. As such I have agreed to withdraw my complaint against Courage Pools Inc. Thank you again for your time and help in resolving this matter.

Business' Final Response
We will be contacting Mr. ****** to arrange a meeting to review items with him again and discuss options.