BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Burketts Pool Plastering Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Burketts Pool Plastering Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Burketts Pool Plastering Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 26, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1989 Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated: 09/13/1990 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Rob Burkett, President Mr. Craig Cusick, Tile & Masonry Manager Jeff Steeley, Vice President-Gunite Division
Contact Information
Principal: Rob Burkett, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Contractors - General

Service Area
Nevada
Products & Services

Burketts Pool Plastering Inc specializes in pool plastering, repair, renovation and installation.

Industry Tips
BBB Tips for Hiring a Contractor in California

Additional Locations

  • 600 North Frontage Road

    Ripon, CA 95366

  • PO Box 938

    Salida, CA 95368

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 529-9644(Phone)
  • (209) 599-3317(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid $5800 to have our pool replastered and it has cracked and leaks water After replastering, The pool started leaking water which has resulted in multiple structure cracks and also caused the concrete deck to crack and pull away from the pool. The deck is now unrepairable and Burketts wants to charge us for fixing the pool cracks. Someone from Burkett's came out and filled the cracks with epoxy and told us that this happends alot when the replaster pools. He also stated they dont know why and that what he was doing with the expoxy was just a bandaid. The project manager ****** told us that Burkett's would take care of this problem but then sent a quote to do it.

Desired Settlement: I think Burkett's should repair the cracks in the pool at no cost to myself and also repair the concrete deck that is ruined from the water leaks.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
To Whom It May Concern: This letter is in response to the above complaint recently filed. ******'s Pool Plastering, Inc. ("Contractor") performed a pool renovation at the residence located at **** ******** in Stockton, CA in July of 2009. The scope of the project included replacement of the perimeter tile, installation of deco seal flexible mastic, surface preparation of the pool interior surface, and application of white plaster. The complaint, received over 3 years subsequent to project completion, attributes cracks in the interior of the pool and damaged surrounding concrete to deficient work on the part of the Contractor. A review of the job file indicates that the surrounding concrete decks were in poor condition prior to our starting the project. Comments contained in the job file include: * "Decks heaved in some areas - up to 1-1/4" * "RBB (raised bond beam location) - decks pulled back 1" - filled with mortar and then installed mastic" It is clear from reviewing the file that the decks had in fact moved and were in poor condition prior to our initiating renovation work. It appears from our recent site visit that the decks are in fact sinking on the back "lawn" side, rotating on the back edge of the pool beam and thereby causing the vertical spacing above the tile line. Further, there is evidence of movement in other areas of the concrete due to expansive soil possibly made worse by lack of drainage. We can only conclude that the concrete decks were not impacted by the performance of our work. In terms of the crack which has appeared inside the pool it is important to understand the function of pool plaster which has been well documented by industry experts. A pool is constructed with a steel rebar cage and shot with gunite to create the structure. Plaster is simply a finish material that goes over the gunite to give it a water tight finish and does not contribute to the structural integrity of the pool. The long term durability of the plaster is dependent upon the steel and gunite shell underneath. Underlying structural issues with the pool due to soil movement can impact the plaster and create cracking which is not the responsibility of the Contractor. The language contained in the contract reads "Contractor warrants swimming pool improvements such as tile, coping, plaster, and plumbing against original defects in material or workmanship for a period of 3 years from the date of completion of the work covered under warranty period subject to the following limitations: This warranty does not cover damage caused by ground movement or other factors beyond the control of Contractor." Notwithstanding the fact that the work performed is now out of warranty it is clear that the crack or cracks that have appeared are structural (as evidenced by the fact that they extended through the gunite shell and up through the bond beam and are pulling water / leaking) and are not the responsibility of the Contractor.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The representative from ******'s pool came by my house to look at the cracks in the pool and deck. They made a statement to me that if I painted my stucco house and it had a crack, The paint would not seal the crack and the crack would show up over time. I suppose this was supposed to be some kind of example. The fact remains that they chose to plaster my pool and not address the structure as they should have done. I have had to add quite a bit of water since they completed this job, And it got worse over time. I do realize that It has been over the three year warranty period. But I did not know what was going on at first. As you can see by their response, They would have not done anything about it anyway. They also told me that they were going to come up with a solution that we could both live with. To this date, I have not received a response from them as they had promised. Bottom line, I paid ******'s $6000.00 for a substandard job. Because they neglected to give me the option to repair any structure problems, The seeping water has also damaged my concrete deck beyond repair. They stated that my deck was in poor shape. It did have a couple of cracks in it and was sloping away from the pool. But now it is destroyed because of the water leak. My next step will be to file a complaint against their contractor's license. I wish this could have been taken care between Burketts and myself. But they have chosen to treat one of their customers this way and simply walk away. They asked me when I was planning on replacing my deck because I had asked them for a quote. I told them I was not ready yet. That may have something to do with this response also.

Business' Final Response
We have reviewed Mr. ******' 10/29/12 rebuttal letter to our response submitted to the Better Business Bureau on 10/18/12. ******'s Pool Plastering (''Contractor'') is familiar with the ''Morada'' district in Stockton. This area is known for its dynamic soil conditions in which structures can be adversely impacted by earth movement as evidenced by the poor condition of the concrete decks noted in our file prior to any pool work being performed. Accordingly, subsequent to the pool being drained a close examination of the interior pool structure was performed. The need for crack repair is encountered frequently during a pool renovation in many geographic areas and it is standard procedure to perform such an examination. At this time no evidence of structural cracking was detected. If a crack or cracks had been found Mr. ****** would have been advised that more extensive repairs would be necessary to the pool structure prior to the replaster being performed. In any event had this repair been done there is a one year warranty limitation on crack repairs which would have expired over two years ago. Finally, as noted in our previous response to the BBB Contractor cannot be held responsible for subsequent damage to the pool shell structure caused by external stresses. In terms of any responsibility toward repair of the surrounding concrete around the pool it is very clear in the job file that the concrete had moved and was in poor condition prior to the time of our renovation work. In a good faith effort to achieve resolution to this matter Contractor is prepared to offer the following: * Contractor, at no charge, will drain pool and perform a repair to the area of the pool crack. This area will require a plaster patch which will not match the existing plaster in color due to the length of time since the original application. Subsequent to repair work and pool refill Contractor will provide one-time complementary start-up service. Repair work will be done without warranty and no guarantee will be provided with respect to this area or any other area within the pool that may experience structural cracking in the future. Mr. ****** believes the pool is leaking and it must be understood that the crack repair may or may not eliminate leakage in the pool if water loss is from a plumbing line or other source. * If Mr. ****** decides to proceed with concrete deck replacement Contractor would be pleased to provide a competitive bid to do so at his request. ******'s Pool Plastering, Inc.

Business Response
*******'s Pool Plastering has offered to fix cracks in pool at no cost. We've been waiting for customer to get back with us on when he wants to get this work done. We will make another attempt to schedule crack repair in pool with customer. It has already been stated in previous documents that the concrete isn't a *******'s problem, concrete was lifted and cracked before any work by *******'s was done.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Burketts not only needs to repair cracks but first needs to address the issue of the lack of bonding of the plaster is several areas of the surface. If the plaster in these areas is not removed and replaced, It will continue to crack in these areas. This will not be a simple one day job. All of these areas must be sand blasted and the plaster replaced. If Burketts plans to "Patch" these areas, I would ask they refund my money so that I can have the job done correctly.

Business Response
*******'s Pool Plastering has offered to fix cracks in pool at no cost. We've been waiting for customer to get back with us on when he wants to get this work done. We will make another attempt to schedule crack repair in pool with customer. It has already been stated in previous documents that the concrete isn't a *******'s problem, concrete was lifted and cracked before any work by *******'s was done.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Burketts not only needs to repair cracks but first needs to address the issue of the lack of bonding of the plaster is several areas of the surface. If the plaster in these areas is not removed and replaced, It will continue to crack in these areas. This will not be a simple one day job. All of these areas must be sand blasted and the plaster replaced. If Burketts plans to "Patch" these areas, I would ask they refund my money so that I can have the job done correctly.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

7/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Breach of contract. Failed to install tile on pool steps as stated in the contract. Company did not complete startup process by neutralizing the pool. Contacted Proj Mgr and Service tech. Told that alkalinity needed to be adjusted. Verified alkalinity level and ph with ****** **** service. Told by service tech someone would call back - didn't happen. I purchased chemicals and neutralized the pool myself. Company paid in full. Still waiting for deck-0-seal. Overall poor customer service.

Desired Settlement: $1000 refund or replaster pool and include tile on pool bench seats.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Letter from Burkett's Pool Plastering customer... To: **** 6.13.2013 From: Burkett's Pool Plastering Inc. Ref: Response/Agreement between Mr. ***** and Burkett's Mr. *****, per our conversation pertaining to your e-mail dated 6-6-2013 our agreement is as follows: a. We will credit you $1000 you requested per the attached addendum. ***** ******** will deliver the check to you when you meet after your return (6.28.2013) b. Deck-O-Seal will be installed per contract, it is OK to do work while you are out of town. c. ***** ******** will meet with you upon your return to go over the operation of the new pump, he will also program the pump for you next week when he is there (week of 6.17.2013) d. ***** will discuss with you the options for a different solar controller should you want to upgrade the current manual system you have to something more automated. This can be done when you both met, upon your return. Mr. ***** agrees to this and will contact the Better Business Bureau and the State Contractor's License Board to let them know these issues have been resolved and to remove any complaints.. Thank you ****, please sign/date and either scan and e-mail to me or fax to my direct fax number 209.599.1743. ****** ** ***** ______________________________________________________ **** ***** __________________________________________________________ ****** ** ***** Burkett's Pool Plastering Inc. Response from the *****'s..... Yes, I agree to the terms of settlement which includes the purchase, by me at cost through Burkette's (retail $369), of a new controller (SolarTouch Solar Controll System by Pentair) with installation by *****. Upon installation of the controller, review of pump operations, and final walk through, I will withdraw my complaint through the BBB and State Contractors Board. Thank you for your cooperation. **** ***** XXX-XXX-XXXX

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company did work on pool, plaster is cracked, customer service will not respond to requests Pool is four years old, plaster cracked last year. Company has repeatedly been contacted over last 6-12 months by phone and email. Company has repsonded once over last 6 months and will not return e mails.

Desired Settlement: At first we were asking the cracks be fixed, then we asked if the cracks are a problem, now I do not want their business and would like to warn other people from using them.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response We were out on 03/07/12 to do a service call about cracks in the pool. ***, scheduler, has called and left several messages at the phone number we had on file. There was never any response from ****** so that we could schedule the repair to be done. When we received the letter from the BBB we called ****** again to schedule the repair. Again, no response from ******. We were able to get ahold of ******'s original pool builder and get a cell phone number we had been calling for ******. We did get in contact wiht Mrs. ******. She said that the phone number we had been calling is a phone number they never check. We were able to schedule the repair with her. As of today, Friday 08/03/12 the repairs have been done & completed by ******'s Pool Plastering. (Drained pool 8/1, Crack Repair 8/2, Plaster Patch 8/3). If you have any questions, please let me know. I would be happy to assist.

Business' Final Response
We were out on 03/07/12 to do a service call about cracks in the pool. Tim, scheduler, has called and left several messages at the phone number we had on file. There was never any response from Tony so that we could schedule the repair to be done. When we received the letter from the BBB we called Tony again to schedule the repair. Again, no response from Tony. We were able to get ahold of Tony's original pool builder and get a cell phone number we had been calling for Tony. We did get in contact wiht Mrs. Conte. She said that the phone number we had been calling is a phone number they never check. We were able to schedule the repair with her. As of today, Friday 08/03/12 the repairs have been done & completed by Burkett's Pool Plastering. (Drained pool 8/1, Crack Repair 8/2, Plaster Patch 8/3). If you have any questions, please let me know. I would be happy to assist.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1