BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Hot Tub Super Center, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (916) 315-8827 View Additional Phone Numbers 4415 Granite Dr Ste 200, Rocklin, CA 95677 http://www.hottubsupercenter.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hot Tub Super Center, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hot Tub Super Center, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hot Tub Super Center, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 22, 2008 Business started: 05/14/2005 Business started locally: 05/14/2005 Business incorporated: 04/02/2012 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Long, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Ryan Jones, General Manager
Principal: Mr. William Long, Owner
Business Category

Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers


Additional Locations

  • 4415 Granite Dr Ste 200

    Rocklin, CA 95677 (916) 520-6466 (916) 315-8828

  • 703 E Bidwell St

    Folsom, CA 95630

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 315-8828(Phone)
  • (916) 520-6466(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new Catalina swim spa. A used/demo spa was delivered. I noticed that the swim spa was not shrink wrapped when delivered, instead it was wrapped in cardboard and tape. I called the company and was assured by the delivery coordinator that swim spas do not come wrapped. I built a room around the spa and so did not take the cardboard off for approx. 5 months. When I took off the cardboard I noticed that the cabinet was damaged, the warning stickers were worn and nearly rubbed off, there was a bubble in the fiberglass tub, the filter was dirty, the tub was filthy, there was no owners manual, no key to the electrical department, a cushion was missing, the exercise equipment was used and there was a pink stain on the cover. It took 3 months to fix these issues. The process was difficult because often the person did not show for the appointment, or the wrong replacement piece was brought, or they did not have the right tools or they further damaged the unit while setting it up. The Catalina spa rep. told me that new spas are shrink wrapped. The manager (who now is gone) told me it was a used spa. The owner told me it was not used in anyone's backyard and was only shown at Cal Expo. I asked the owner for a full refund because the spa was not new, as ordered/purchased. The owner told me that if he had to give me a full refund he would come and "rip the spa out of my house himself" and "he did not care if he went to jail." When asked why he was threatening me, he responded that I had threatened him when I asked for a full refund. He hung up on me. I called back and asked him what he thought would be fair considering they had given me a used spa instead of a new one. He offered $500-1K and when I declined the offer he said "I should pray that he does not see me in town because it will get ugly" and he is a "bad person". He then hung up on me. I would like assistance with getting this resolved. Removing/replacing the spa is not an option since it is built into the subfloor of an inside room.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund or reasonable partial refund on the swim spa. I feel the company intentionally switched my new spa for a used one. The spa cannot be removed/replaced, since it is built into the floor inside my home.

Business Response: Customer ***** ***** contacted **** via cell phone May 5, 2014 with 5 minor issues with her swim spa purchase.  The issues stated were the following:

1. Claimed the operations cheat sheet was missing from the manual.
2. Swim pole and harness were shipped dirty.
3  Covers had hand prints on them.
4. Trim pieces on outside cabinet had been cut to install cover lifters leaving a 1" gap between lifters and spa lip.
5.  There was a bubble in the acrylic.

**** took steps to resolve the issues immediately.  For issue #1, another manual was printed and delivered same day as the call.  For issue #2, a new pole was sent out at a cost of $185 to Hot Tub Supercenter.  On issue #3, new covers were sent out at a cost to Hot Tub Supercenter of $800.  New items were sent within two weeks even though the pole and covers could have just been cleaned.  On issue #4, a trim piece was ordered and a tech went out to custom cut and install the 1" pieces.
Issue #5 was due to manufacturer error and required a factory expert to properly repair.  Unfortunately, the factory took a month to get out to the customer and resolve the issue.  The only issue not handled promptly was the factory repair.

***** ***** called **** Jun 5th 2014.  All the issues had now been resolved, but she requested a full refund due to the five problems.  ***l agreed to a full refund, but Karen would not allow the spa to be picked up.  ***** then demanded a $10,000 refund and discount.  She demanded compensation for the resolved issues or she would give negative reviews on Yelp and the BBB.  Hot Tub Supercenter has on choice now but to file a lawsuit against ***** ***** for libel, slander, extortion, etc.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because the store gave me a demo spa and not a new spa which was contracted for in good faith. Additionally, the owner should discuss the extent of the damage and repairs needed and completed over the 3 month period (March-May) with his manager and tech. employees, as he was only involved marginally with  the few that he mentioned.  His description of the issues is not complete nor accurate.  All other problems noted in the previous complaint that I wrote were accurate.  All product repairs have been completed; the last being done the week of Labor Day (final repair was the long trim piece that was broken on the cabinet-not 1" pieces that were completed earlier).  I remain dissatisfied that I was given a demo spa when I purchased a new spa.

Business Response: The spa was ordered in new, specifically for ***** *****. As stated in her response, all the issues were taken care of satisfactorily. I will let the courts decide.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed a $4000 deposit on an in-stock 2014 J-335 on 3/28/2014 with **** **** in the Folsom store. I discussed my situation of closing escrow with her and on the contract I had placed a "Hold until 4/3/2014" condition to avoid commitment on the purchase. I called **** on Wednesday (4/2/2014) to extend the hold until the following week and she had agreed to do so. **** stated that with the hold, I would be able to refund the purchase at any time. In fact, she persuaded me to use my credit card because she said that check refunds were more extensive.After communicating with the general manager *** ******* via e-mail (he has not answered his phone to this day), he states that the contract doesn't say anything about the "deposit deemed as refundable" - which I had verbal agreement from **** (several times in fact). *** went on to state that I placed a larger than expected deposit at my own will which isn't true... **** required me to place a $4000 deposit (specifically she required 1/2 of the purchase price) for this transaction. Unbelievable.Now, I believe I am being forced to forgo my deposit to this company. This is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: I request a refund of my deposit.

Business Response:

The contract was read. It is very clear that the spa was being held but no where was the deposit deemed refundable. I read pages of texts you and **** sent back and forth. She even told me she only asked for $1000 deposit yet you offered a bigger deposit. You wanted additional pricing on many different units and now all of a sudden you dont want a spa because a loan was turned down, do to the length of your commute. 
I feel as though things are not as they seem with you. I will refund the contract if an email is sent from you lender to me, explaining that the loan has been denied.
It is not in Hot Tub Super Centers interest to "keep peoples money." We want to deliver spas and take care of customers. You demanded much time. You demanded much attention. You offered a larger than normal deposit. No where does the contract read that the deposit is refundable. It reads the opposite and you signed that contract. I believe you have played games with me. You have harrassed my employee with 10 calls to her cell phone in one day. 
Please privide me with the information requested and your refund will be processed. 
 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

 
This is an exact copy of the email from ***.  There is no resolution here.  In fact, *** is being very removed from this entire process and has refused to talk to me over the phone.  He has also refused to consider our comments about the transaction.  **** ****, the salesperson, clearly said to us several times that we were placing a hold on the deposit of the tub and that we would be able to cancel for any reason before 4/3/14.  I gave **** a courtesy call on 4/1/14 to extend the hold by another week and she gladly did so.  Obviously, this information never transferred over from **** to***.
 
I would like to request that *** consider our comments before playing games with customer money.  To this day, he has yet to consider or evaluate any of side of the situation. This is not the proper way to conduct business.  I was given a guarantee, several times in fact from ****, that I would be able to get my money back at any time.  That is why she wrote "Hold until 4/3" on the contract.  Why is *** intending on keeping our money for a tub we may not be able to purchase (even though **** clearly stated we would be able to easily cancel the contract as per the hold)?  The hold is for the contract and the deposit itself, it is for nothing else...  It cannot be for the tub because once one "sells" a product to a buyer, one cannot just outright sell it to someone else.  Thus, I repeat, the hold was for the contract and the deposit.
 
***can continue to go on about how the contract reads clearly... but I have a copy of the same contract and it clearly states "Hold until 4/3".  From my above argument, the hold cannot be for the tub because it would be very unprofessional for a seller to sell a "sold" product to someone else, and thus I repeat once again - the hold is for the contract and the deposit.
 
Additionally, **** **** required us to place a $4000 deposit on this tub.  Ever since I contacted **** about the issue at hand, she has refused all phone calls and has instead considered it harassment.   
 
-******
 
 

Consumer Response: The Hot Tub Super Center is now under new management.  They have issued me a refund and I would like to close this complaint.


BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: put a deposit on hot tub that was a repo with full warrenty, per owner. hot needed a panel on control side of hot tub. the owner also said the part will be in before hot tub was to be deliverd.today is march 31 2014 deposit was in nov. 2013. kept calling to find out when the part was going to be in.person said the manufacture was closed for the holidays, they had inventory at end of year, it was on back order. when they got the part in 3 weeks ago it was wrong, and the service tech that had to replace the heater who was here for 4 hrs. told us that he thought it was the back side of the hot tub and he could not fix it any way, he did not have the tools to do the cut outs for the speakers, radio door (which is also broken). spoke to owner Bill today and he lied just as much as the employees did and I told him his tech guy did not show up and I had waited for 4 hrs. he had stated he would give me $200.00 for my ***e and I told him I cant be bought.I guess he figured if he gave me the money I would shut up. he also stated about all the things he went through last week! his guy had called my wife to set up for tech to come out. she quit talking to them after they made her upset on the phone. the tech was never scheduled to come per one of his employees which was a lie. the last thing I had said to the first person I talked to on friday was is thech coming out on friday he said yes. then I get a second phone call from another person from h t s c he ended the call by saying I have to get off the phone now we closed 18 minutes ago! he called me I did not call him. also not all the jets work on the hot tub, afraid to ask them to be fixed do not want to have to deal with them again,owner included!

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund ! the hot tub cost $7000.00!

Business Response: Mr. ****** has a spa in working condition. The correct panel (to replace the scratched one) will be dropped off at the customers house today, 4/4/14. Following the delivery of the new panel, the contract between Mr. ****** and Hot Tub Super Center is complete. For that reason a removal and refund of the contract will not be offered.

If Mr. ****** has warranty issues such as "jets not working", he can contact Artesian Spas Directly at ###-###-####. The warranty is through Artesian Spas, not Hot Tub Super Center. Artesian will send a technician other than Hot Tub Super Center to do the repair.
Sincerely,
*** *******

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: We were told by the owner **** it has the full warranty from the hot tub super store, not the manufacture . we did not buy it from primier pool and spa. One more lie from the owner and his employees not standing behind what they say or will do.The panel they  left at the house is once again something wrong from the hot tub super center. The panel has the cut outs that are in the wrong place and the stereo speaker cut out are
 to big , what else can be wrong! Its like I am  watching candid  camera and its a joke and it is a big joke from them , just one more thing to screw up ! They will be hearing from my attorney next! I dont screw around with peoplke like the hot tub super store! I will also let the county of sacremento and placer county to reject his busness license and I have also contacted call curtis from channel 13 news . If I see any of his employees near my house  I will consider it a threat to me and my family and will take action !

Business Response: The customers response is a threat against Hot Tub Super Center and its employees. Hot Tub Super Centers can not help customers who are inappropriate, threatening, or abusive. In this case, Mr. ****** is clearly all the above. 

**** never said Hot Tub Super Center warranties the product. The manufacturer carries the warranty. An example is if one purchases an Apple product from Target. Apple, the manufacturer warranties the product, not Target. In this case the warranty is through Artesian Spas, the manufacturer of the product. Hot Tub Super Center does have a service department, which provides service under the manufactures warranty.
As per Mr. ******'s threats, Hot Tub Super Center can not come near Mr. ******'s home. Therefore, Hot Tub Super Center can not provide service nor removal/refund to Mr. ******. Mr. ****** can contact Artesian Spas for warranty work. The contact information for Artesian Spas was provided in the initial response to Mr. ******'s complaint. 
Mr. ****** can contact whomever he wishes to attempt to defame Hot Tub Super Center. Hot Tub Super Center will respond in like fashion. Hot Tub Super Center will be filing a restraining order on Mr. ****** as his message is taken as a verbal threat to Hot Tub Super Center and its employees. Mr. ****** seems emotionally unstable. Mr. ******'s rants to Hot Tub Super Center employees over the phone are filled with vulgar language and threats.
Hot Tub Super Center will no longer have conversations with Mr. ******. Further responses must be handled by lawyers given Mr. ******'s remarks. 
Sincerely,
*** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have owned this Catalina swim spa since September 2012. Since then I have paid $450.00 for trip charges to fix leaks and a fuse. They came last week and the leak was not fixed andI have not yet paid another $150.00 for the trip last week and they say they will not come out until I pay that. The spa is under warranty and I understand that they have to charge for long trips but is this not a lot of money to pay for a brand new spa in the first year? Also, it seems I am expected to be able to fix it myself if it a simple fix. They say this will not void the warranty. Can I believe them?

Desired Settlement: I would like to not owe them the $150.00 for the trip that didn't fix the leak.

Business Response: The customer called with a leak issue. My service technician traveled to the customers home and found an empty spa. My service technician began filling the spa, found a leak and repaired it. It seems as though there was an additional leak that started after the spa continued to fill and my service technician had left. From what I have been told the second leak has been fixed. I will waive the $150 charge. Next time please call and deal with the general manager prior to going to the BBB.

Thank You,
***

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered a hot tub from them which was supposed to include salt system, steps and extra jet pack. We had to call to actually have an invoice sent an And the previous mentioned additions were omitted. When we called company to inform them they stated it was already ordered and they couldn't do anything about it. We had to accept it as is. Furthermore if we didn't accept it, we will be charged $500. This is outrageous. We will not accept a product we didn't order and we will not pay $500 for it!

Desired Settlement: We no longer want to do business with this company. We want to cancel the order.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
After custom ordering a $15,000 swim spa to the specifications the customer wanted, the customer chose to cancel the agreement. Following is the customers email to me... "We have the right to refuse or return a product that we do not want. If there is a restocking fee as you said of $500, we will pay it and be done." I responded to the customer as followed... "You already stated you disputed the $500 initial deposit so I do not have funds to support your restocking. Furthermore, $500 does not even cover the freight on the product. Being stuck with a swim spa in September is cash I will have to sit on for 6 months. There is no re-stocking on my contract. All sales are final. We were ridiculously generous ordering a swim spa with $500 down. I require 25% typically but *** convinced me that you were really excited for the unit and convinced me to move forward on the order. You dealt with *** and the Owner of the company visited your house and I ordered the unit following the site inspection. Lead time is 4-6 weeks, which is exactly where we are. If no negative reviews are posted online and no BBB complaints are filed, I will leave it at that. If I discover that slanderous remarks are being made online, then I will be forced to pursue legal action. I do not want to go this route and would prefer to walk away from the situation." The customer agreed, but said a BBB complaint had already been filed. She said she would drop the complaint. Obviously that has not happened, but the customer has receive 100% of her money back, which is more than what she asked for in the initial complaint. Please consider this file closed. Sincerely, *** GM

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new spa for $15,558.47a used damaged demonstration spa was delivered. My contract says in stock special not damaged demonstration model I talked to a salesman ****** ***** on May 25th 2013 at the Sacramento County Fair from Hot Tub Super Center about purchasing a spa. I purchased the spa over the phone on May 27th, our spa was delivered on May 30th 2013. The spa that was delivered was a used damaged spa that was a demonstrating model at the County fair. We were told we were purchasing new spa. Our Contract states "IN STOCK SPECIAL". The spa was damaged when I received it with gouges and the caulking around the tile is torn off and bubbled. Also a artificial flower was shoved in the filter that was on display at the county fair. I asked the employee named ****** if it was new he said yes that he personally unwrapped it at the shop to inspect it. A crane delivered it into my back yard and left so I could not tell him to remove it. Upon installation the delivery crew for Hot Tub Super Centers installed lifters for the spa covers. In doing so, they split the wood on three of the four corners on the spa. On May 31st an employee named *** came and removed the lifters and took 2 pictures of the damage when it had 9 separate damages. *** told me to take pictures myself and email them to the GM *** ******** *** said the spa was not new and that it was the demonstrating model from the County fair. I emailed the pictures of damage with details to the GM *** ******** I have continuously been in contact with the companies General Manager *** ******** He offered me glue to glue the wood, putty to fill the holes, and stain to try to match the color of the panels. On June 6th 2013 the company finally agreed to refund the spa, but with nothing resolved I posted a truthful review online stating our situation. Since the review was published the General Manager *** ******* told me they are no longer going to take the spa back and give us a refund and that we would have to deal with the manufacturer in the future for the warranty. I talked with the manufacturer Catalina and they said this is an issue the owner would have to deal with. I spoke with **** the owner and we partially discussed the issue then he proceeded to call me a liar and hung up on me. On June 14th *** the GM emails me "Due to sensitivity of the situation they have decided that they will replace any damaged panels, re-caulk the tile, and handle any other issues you have. They have also offered an additional $500 discount as a customer satisfaction". I purchased a new spa not this mess. I want the company to remove the spa like they said they would and refund me. The GM told me over the phone it is difficult to fix the siding and it will not look new. This situation has been horrible and I just want to be done with it. I have all emails and pictures and witnesses for proof. The spa being a demonstration model at the fair means the spas motor, jets, heater, filter lights and all the special components were running for multiple days. The public had full access to the spa it self and its controls. If the company repairs the spa I have to drain 1600 gallons of water and then the spa would be out of use for a period of time, I will have to make accommodations for a repair person to be at my home and then have to refill it with 1600 gallons. The caulking will not look the way it should and they can not fix the gouges on the spa itself.

Desired Settlement: I want the spa picked up and I want to be fully refunded. I paid $3111.69 on my visa card and I want this refunded to my card. The remaining $12,446.78 is being financed thru Wells Fargo that was set up by the Hot tub Super Center employees and I want this canceled.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
In response to complaint number XXXXXXXX, I have attached 3 pages. The first shows the customer purchased a stock item, not a new order. The second is her delivery receipt she signed approving the delivery and accepting the product as is, making no notes of any issues. The third is the financing paperwork she signed with Wells Fargo. Had her claim be legit, she would have noted on the delivery contract and/or refused delivery/payment. She viewed the product before it was craned into her backyard (a crane we paid for). After install, a tile came ajar. We offered to fix it under warranty. The panels that she complains about were only damaged because she purchased aftermarket units that screw into the cabinet. ******* did not like the way they looked and demanded them removed. I have email confirmation with her, explaining that there will be holes and damage to the cabinet if removed, but we can send putty and stain to make it look as best as possible. She agreed and we credited her 100% of the purchased aftermarket units and made an additional trip out at no charge to remove them. She continued to complain, so I told her we would replace the panels completely ($480 my cost plus labor) and we credited her back an additional $500 as customer service appreciation to attempt to make her happy. I then offered to order a brand new unit and replace it for her. My cost our enormous dealing with this contract and Hot Tub Super Center has done nothing but offer ways to fix issues. Still, ******* ****** is not happy. We want to make ******* happy, and have agreed remove *******'s hot tub. In return she has agreed to drop all complaints and remove all online reviews. She has agreed not to re-post in the future. This is what business's have to do these days. I will loose thousands on this contract, and right or wrong need do whatever it takes to protect the Companies reputation. Sincerely, Tim

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales contract indicated financing of a hot tub for 5% interest and 60 months. Delivery receipt indicated 12.9 interest for 50 months. We purchased a Maax hot tub, model 281, from the vendor Spa Scapes at the California State Fair on 7/18/12. They offered financing on the purchase of 5% interest for 60 months. The terms are written in the sales contract. We gave a $1000 deposit for the order. We had to fill out an application for the financing, and did not receive a copy of it. We had called three weeks after the initial purchase to follow up on the order and financing. No mention was made that the terms had changed and not what was stated in the contract. A Credit card issued by Wells Fargo arrived in the mail, approximately two weeks after the follow up call. It was only the card and no terms. I called to activate the card and asked Wells Fargo what the terms were on the account. They indicated the financing terms were set by the merchant. When the hot tub was delivered on 9/28/12, we received a copy of the delivery, and sales receipt for the balance owed,$5756.76. The terms stated on the transaction receipt stated 12.9% and 50 months term. I called the store on Monday 10/1/12 regarding the financing terms, and spoke to the finance manager. The store refused to honor the terms stated in the contract, and also indicated that the sales person who made the sales had been fired.

Desired Settlement: The financing terms must be adjusted with Wells Fargo to be what the sales contract states, 5% interest for 60 months, or a credit posted to the card charged in the amount of $500.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
In response to the interest rate dispute on the McAtee contract I declare that McAtee was told prior to ordering the spa that the plan offered at the Fair was not a contract I have available through Wells Fargo. There was a mistake made by an outside contractor and it was noted to the customer prior to ordering the spa. Correct financing options were discussed and the 12.9% was chosen. A full refund was offered at that time. The customers are retirees on fixed income looking for a low monthly payment. I explained that I do have a rate of 4.99% for 36 months but that the payment would be much higher. The customer chose to move forward with the purchase and the 12.9% financing contract. Following delivery, the customer called and stated that they wanted the 5% interest rate that was on the original hot tub purchase agreement. The customer agreed that we had spoken about the changes, but insisted that I needed to send something in writing and told me I can not have 2 contracts. I explained that a financing contract and a sales contract are separate entities since the financing is through Wells Fargo. I again offered to pick up the spa. The customer stated that he would speak to his wife and call me back if there were any issues. I did not receive a return phone call. Instead the customer called Wells Fargo to dispute the charge and filed a complaint with the BBB. To resolve this matter, I will credit the customer $250. In doing so, the customer would agree to discontinue any slanderous actions towards Spa Scapes, DBA, Hot Tub Super Center. The customer would also agree to find warranty service through a different California Cooperage dealer if he was to have issues within the warranty period. He does have a local dealer in Walnut Creek. Sincerely, Tim Barrett

Business' Final Response
Contact Name and Title: Tim Barrett Contact Phone: 9163158827 Contact Email: sales@htsc.biz The check was mailed on 12/18/2012. I am happy to re-issue a check. It is available for pick up at the store.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1