BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Capital City Hot Tubs Inc.

Phone: (916) 381-7727 5320 Power Inn Rd. Ste. C, Sacramento, CA 95820 http://www.capitalcityhottubs.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Capital City Hot Tubs Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Capital City Hot Tubs Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Capital City Hot Tubs Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 11, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1985 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated: 12/18/2008 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Don Luke, CFO Mr. Kevin Luke, President Ms. Michelle Luke, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don Luke, CFO
Business Category

Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts

Products & Services

Capital City Hot Tubs, Inc. provides hot tub and spa sales and repair.


Additional Locations

  • 5320 Power Inn Rd. Ste. C

    Sacramento, CA 95820 (916) 381-7727

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My hot tub still leaks and the Moto-jet installed does not work despite service request. The company wants to charge more money to come out and repair I noticed back in 2012 that my above-ground Hot Springs hot tub was leaking from the bottom. I found Capital City Hot tube via the yellow pages. They stated they could reapir above-ground spas.A man came out cleaned the spa as requested "repaired" the leak. He also offered to replace the Moto-Jet in the spa since it wasn't working. I stated yes. After he was finished he had me sign a receipt that read spa leaking. A few days later the spa continued to leak and the Moto-Jet did not work. I called and asked if the man could come back out and let me know that it would be a bigger job to repair the leak and could come out a take the Moto-Jet. The man on the line stated I would have to pay for them to do this because "we ******'t work for free". I made a few calls and the man I talked to was extremly rude. I called my Chase MC and the woman stated that I would get a refund for the $280.00+- as the company had agreed to give me a refund. I made another phone call to the company addressing the refund/credit (not for the cleaning of the tub)to my credit card. The man on the phone stated there is a "statue of limitiation" on refunding the money. He was agitated and rude. i said I would report them to the BBB and hung up. I received 2 voice mails after that from the man that came out to "repair" the spa and another from the belligerant man in the office. The last message apologetically stated "we have a note here that we are supposed to give you a full refund". I have yet to receive a refund. The amount was about $286.00 I believe.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund or credit to my Master card for the failure of the company to repair the leak and installing a Moto-Jet that does not work. The technician that came out mislead me regarding the reparation of the leak doing the minimal repair job and not disclosing the bigger job it would take to permanently repair the leak. The technician, over the phone, advised me to put a jet air valve in a particular position to keep the spa from leaking and change the position of the jet air valves to get the Moto-Jet to work. Both of these interventions did not work.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Capital City Hot Tubs has responded to this customers requests. The merchant card rules state that we can not hold credit card information. We made three requests to this customer to obtain the original work order copy and the credit card information so we could process a refund. We finally did receive the needed information via mail recently to enable the refund. The FULL REFUND has been processed and the customer should be satisfied. In summary, this customer received an extensive spa cleaning service, $80 in new parts and $200 in labor charges for FREE. Upon performing the service call at the customers home, it was discovered that a diverter valve was leaking on the very old HHS. The valve would need to be replaced which is extensive plumbing work which the customer declined due to the expense of the repair. Hence, the leak did not stop. The customer did receive full services for the payment, which was refunded. Although we realize it is not possible to please all the customers all the time, we have been successful in pleasing over 8000 customers since 1986 which we will continue to be grateful for their understanding and loyalty as we continue to serve them, as requested for over 25 years. It has always been our goal and obligation to satisfy everybody all the time. Business and life is much more peaceful when this is accomplished. Our sincere appologies to this customer for failing to complete this service work order to their full satisfaction. We did try.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My hot tub is leaking. My calls and requests to have it fixed are ignored. I have a ****** hot tub I purchased 4 years ago from Capital City Hot Tubs. The hot tub leaked the first time when under warrenty. The company promptly came out and fixed it. It leaked again about 1 year later. Again they came and fixed it. Another year went by and it leaked again. This time they charged me. I called the owner and explained it was only temporarily being fixed. The service man simply tightened some pipes with a wrench. The owner was very professional,took off the charges and said to call him personally if the tub leaked again and he would get it fixed properly at no charge. It started leaking August 23rd. I called and was told they would come on Friday, August 24th. When no one showed up I called to tell them the leak was severe. The water drains out all the way to the last jet. I was told by the owner that someone would come out and fix it on Tuesday, August 28th. I was out of town until Sept.3rd. No one had come to repair the hot tub and I received no phone calls or messages. I called from my home phone. Every time I called from my home phone I would get an answering machine. Then on September 4th I called from my cell phone and was told a repair man would call me back in 10 minutes. I did not get a call back. When I tried calling from my cell number I only got the message machine. On Wed. Sept 5th I called from my work phone and spoke to ******, the owner. I asked for an explanation as to why no one was returning my phone calls and no one from the company was coming to fix my hot tub. He simply got all my information that I knew he already had: last name, address, phone number. He said I was on the schedule for Friday. No one came to fix the hot tub. I received no phone call. When I call from any number I previously called from I only get a message machine. I am obviously being given the run around and Capital City Hot Tubs has no intention of fixing the hot tub. I left a message on Friday, Sept. 7th. I even offered to pay to have it fixed. Still no reply. I highly suspicious that the company may be going out of business?

Desired Settlement: I simply want someone from Capital City Hot Tubs to come and fix my hot tub.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
September 20, 2012 Capital City Hot Tubs 5320 Power Inn Road, Ste C Sacramento CA XXXXX To: Better Business Bureau 3075 Beacon Blvd West Sacramento CA XXXXX Re: Case ID XXXXXXXX / ****** ****** Response: As stated by Ms ******, Capital City Hot Tubs has made three repairs to her hot tub over the past 4 years at no charge and well beyond the product manufacturers' warranty. As stated as well, this company has responded efficiently to make the repairs at no charge. The recent concern by this customer regarding the leak had to do with obtaining the correct replacement part to fix the leak permanently (heater union) which had to be located and sent by the manufacturer before this company could make the repair. The fact is we were delayed approximately a week and a half before we could respond to the repair. Upon receiving the repair part, we scheduled the appointment in which our technician replaced the part and the job was completed at no charge. Again, this company did not charge this customer for the repair. And, in addition to not charging this customer for the repair, we discounted a new replacement cover which this customer requested at a $150 discount for her inconvenience. There is no basis for the complaint, as the customer has never been charged for any repairs, which were not even covered under warranty by the manufacturer. We have absorbed financial losses by continuing to make repairs without any charges as consideration for our customer. In addition we sold her a replacement cover valued at $450 for $300 including tax which again we lost money. I have no idea how much more consideration we could have provided other than better communication by both parties. The repairs are complete, the hot tub is repaired and at no expense to the customer. This customers' suspicion that we are going out of business could not be further from the truth. We are the largest retail and repair business in the greater Sacramento area with over 8000 customers. We are in fact not just doing financially well, we are opening a new store in Rancho Cordova. Please dismiss the complaint from Ms. ******. She has received outstanding consideration from Capital City Hot Tubs and has absolutely no basis for complaining other than possible confusion. We apologize for any confusion on our part to Ms. ******. Sincerely, ****** ****** Capital City Hot Tubs XXX-XXX-XXXX

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved