Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hermit's Hut

Phone: (530) 222-4511 Fax: (530) 222-4515 View Additional Phone Numbers 3184 Bechelli Ln, Redding, CA 96002 http://www.hermitshut.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Founded in 1971, Hermit's Hut is an outdoor gear store specializing in mountaineering, climbing, camping, hiking, backpacking, skiing, snowboarding, arborist, rescue and tactical equipment.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hermit's Hut meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hermit's Hut include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Hermit's Hut
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 04, 2005 Business started: 10/01/1971 in CA Business started locally: 10/01/1971
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Robert Clearie, Owner Mr. Jesse Lind, Ops Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Clearie, Owner
Business Category

Ski Equipment - Retail Sporting Goods - Retail Internet Shopping

Refund and Exchange Policy
Hermit's Hut No Hassle Return Policy

No Hassle Return Policy:

Most* items carry a 30 day money back guarantee! If an item does not fit or is not what you were expecting, it may be exchanged or returned for a full refund. Items must be in new condition with original packaging. Please only wear footwear indoors while deciding if it will work for you. If you have any questions, please call 888-507-4455 or email customerservice@hermitshut.com. Our 30 day return policy gives you time to decide if the product is right for you while enabling us to sell the item in season if you decide it isn't just what you're looking for.

*NOTE: Due to the nature of some products, no returns or exchanges are possible. This includes: safety equipment--including, but not limited to, harnesses, ropes, cord, climbing hardware (cams, nuts, carabiners, quickdraws, etc.), slings, runners, helmets; avalanche safety gear--including beacons, Avalungs (if plastic is removed from mouth piece), packs with Avalungs (if plastic is removed from Avalung mouth piece), and ice screws; mounted or drilled skis (unless we messed up); trimmed skins; and underwear/baselayer products. For returns, a Return Authorization is NOT NECESSARY. Please make sure the item is within the appropriate return period and is eligible for return. We recommend you ship your return via UPS or FedEx, and insure your package for the value of its contents. Occasionally packages are damaged in shipping. You are responsible for the package until it arrives at our store. Please provide us with the following information:

Your First and Last Name
Your order number (if known)
A phone number where you can be reached if we have any questions
What you would like done (refund, exchange, warranty, etc.)


Ship to:
The Hermit's Hut
Attn: Returns Department
3184 Bechelli Ln
Redding, CA 96002

Warranty:

We are glad to handle manufacturer's warranty issues for you. You are responsible for the cost of shipping items back to The Hermit's Hut for warranty evaluation/service. Please ship back items in a clean condition. Clothing MUST be washed before it is returned. Gear must also be cleaned.

We recommend shipping your package through a service that provides a tracking number and insurance, like UPS or FedEx. Please include any pertinent information as to what the problem with the item is, the more information you provide, the better we can serve you. Please include a copy of your receipt if possible, and your phone number so we can contact you.

If the item was purchased through The Hermit's Hut within the last year, we will pay shipping charges to and from the manufacturer for customers within the United States. International customers will be responsible for all shipping costs to and from our store. All customers will be responsible for all shipping charges on any items purchased more than a year ago. If the item was not purchased at The Hermit's Hut, there will be a $10 service charge, plus the customer will be responsible for all shipping costs. The Hermit's Hut adheres to the manufacturer's guidelines, and final decisions will be made by The Hermit's Hut in conjunction with the manufacturer.
Service Area
Shasta County, California
Alternate Business Names
Hermit's Hut Basecamp Hermit's Hut Ski Co.
Products & Services

Equipment Sales:
- Climbing, mountaineering, camping, hiking and backpacking
- Skiing and snowboarding
- Rescue (high-angle, industrial, confined-space)
- Tactical
- Arborist
Rental Shop
Full-service ski/board shop

Industry Tips
Shopping Online, By Catalog, Mail, or Telephone

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hermit's Hut has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3184 Bechelli Ln

    Redding, CA 96002 (888) 507-4455 (530) 222-4511

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered gear on May 5th planning a trip for May 21st. No delivery of gear, no info from store except "We don't have it yet". What burns me the most beyond having to cancel my birthday plans is the fact that this company seems okay with advertising product they do not carry and NO customer service even after I called them to tell them my order had not been filled. HORRIBLE!

Desired Settlement: I want my birthday trip back. Since I can't have that I'll settle for getting my money back that they have had for 16 days while I sit with nothing to show for it. Would also like them to stop the unethical practice of advertising product they do not have.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Dear Sir: We are terribly sorry for failing to serve you well. Honor is one of our core values, and we did not effectively display it in fulfilling your order promptly. As per our email correspondence May 20, 2013 and our phone conversation the morning of May 21, 2013, we have agreed to compensate you for your troubles. In addition, per your request, we will keep you updated on the status of your existing order. Thank you again for your business, and please accept our sincerest apologies for falling below the standard of excellence. Very respectfully, ****** Operations Manager The Hermit's Hut Redding, CA X-XXX-XXX-XXXX

4/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: No refund after sent the item back... I bought a Ruff Wear Palisades Pack from them on 4/26/12. Looking at the picture it was the pack that I needed. Made the purchase and it was order# hhut-20287. When I recieved the item about three days later I noticed it was not the same pack but a newer model. I called and he said to send it back with the order# and I would get a refund. So off it went. Couple weeks went by with no refund on my card. I called and the guy said that they were short staffed and he would work on it. Called about a week later and got the same excuse. A month went by (got married) and I relealized I had still not been refunded the money. Call again and was told that he would get the request to lady that does that and he would call me back that day. No go. Waited the weekend and I just got off the phone with someone else who told me to wait and look in a couple of days. I am getting tired of calling for my money. They have the bag, if they don't want to give me the money send the bag back! I just want something.

Desired Settlement: I just want the $102.46 back for the bag. I don't even care about the $5 to mail it...

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Details: - The order was originally placed by the customer on 26APR2012 and handled by a manager who is no longer with us. - On 13AUG2012, we refunded Mr. Post $92.25. NOTE: Number is less than original order total due to restocking fee (see attached file "BBB Receipts").

11/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failing to refund shipping charges for not delivered item In May I have ordered 2 dry sacks, sleeping pad and a tent. Waited patiently 4 weeks and nothing, than sent an email. Reply: we are waiting for a tent but THE OPERATIONS MANAGER (?) has allowed to send you 3 items and the tent will be send separately. OK, the 3 items arrived 2 more weeks ... no tent. email ... no reply, email ... no reply, phone call ... Cody, the guy in charge of internet sales had no answers Another email ... reply from **** G (Manager/Buyer/Ski Tech/IT department): there are problems with vendor - soon we will have it. 2 weeks go by ... nothing. I ask for refund which is a simple electronic transaction. Another 2 weeks go by ... nothing. Another phone call .... finally refund done over the phone But ..... I live in Sydney, Australia and the original shipping charges for the TOTAL order were $100, the shipping of 2 sacks and a pad was $40 So all in all I am $60 out of pocket and don't have the tent after 3 months of waiting, several emails and a few international phone calls

Desired Settlement: I wish to receive $60 for the shipping charges I have been charged for the item which has not been delivered

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Good Day: I have reviewed the limited information provided in an attempt to correct any outstanding problems as outlined herein. We have a new management team, and will need a bit more information before we can assist this former customer. Our records show that 3 pack sales were made on the date herein listed. We have no record of any further communication from any of these customers. Thus, we will need a name or order number from the customer. Has a refund been addressed? Still pending? Product returned? I have owned this business for 42 years, and at my age should not be cleaning up messes left undone by former management. However, this is the case at hand, and I do apologise for the inconvenience caused. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and have a nice day ****** ****** Owner hermitshut.com