Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of V3 Security?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

V3 Security

Phone: (916) 543-1543 160 Blue Ravine Rd  Ste F, Folsom, CA 95630 http://v3homesecurity.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that V3 Security meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for V3 Security include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for V3 Security include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on V3 Security
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 22, 2013 Business started: 04/12/2013 in CA Business incorporated: 01/25/2013 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Security and Investigative Services
2420 Del Paso Rd Ste 270, Sacramento CA 95834
Phone Number: (916) 322-4000
The number is 7292.

CA Bureau of Security and Investigative Services
2420 Del Paso Rd Ste 270, Sacramento CA 95834
Phone Number: (916) 322-4000
The number is 5948.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Hilary Faulk, Administrative Asst.
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Hilary Faulk, Administrative Asst.
Business Category

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Security Systems Consultants Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service

Products & Services

V3 Security offers the following product(s): Company offers alarm security systems sales and installations.

Alternate Business Names
Northcoast Security, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

V3 Security has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 160 Blue Ravine Rd  Ste F

    Folsom, CA 95630 (916) 543-1543

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A service rep just visited me today (3/23/15). He said they needed to upgrade my alarm service. I asked who he was with and he replied "the manufacturer, **". He showed me some ** paperwork as proof. He was wearing a 'V3 Security' shirt though.He asked what system I had and verified my name and address. He said the old system was analog and was having performance issues in regards to emer**ncy response times, which is why they needed to upgrade my system to a new digital system. After he wrote down my info and verified my system, he mentioned they would be switching providers from *********** to V3 Security since "we've been using *********** before but we want to switch to a closer provider instead of someone 5 states away". I said I would need to verify everything and research the new company before signing anything and he agreed. He gave me his card (***** *****) and said to call him when I'm ready.This representative misrepresented himself and the entire situation. He was not an employee of ** but of V3, and the situation was presented as the company ** upgrading the system and switching out their monitoring subcontractor. In reality ** only makes the hardware that is used by both *********** and V3, and he was employee of V3 trying to **t me to switch from *********** to their service.With this blatant lying and misrepresentation, V3 must be a awfully unethical company. I post this here to warn anyone else considering this company to avoid them.

Desired Settlement: Stop deceptive sales tactics, fire salespeople who deceive people to get business, and retrain sales employees to represent themselves properly.

Business Response: It is never our intention to represent ourselves, purposefully or not, in a way that is misleading or untruthful. While we were not able to locate this homeowner in our customer records, we are still concerned that anyone, whether or not a customer, has had a negative experience with our company. As a company that chooses to use direct marketing by going door-to-door, we are frequently unpopular and we recognize it's just part of trying to do business. We, V3 Security, are a dealer for **, the equipment manufacturer, that is correct. And we are a local, Folsom company. But no, we are not in any way affiliated with this homeowner's current alarm provider. We are a separate company. We completely understand this homeowner's concern and sincerely apologize for any miscommunication. The representative in question has been forwarded this complaint, as well as been formally assigned to remedial training and code of conduct review for two weeks before he will be allowed to begin work again. Our representatives are commission-based, and will not be able to earn any compensation for these two weeks. We extensively train our representatives on the correct way to introduce themselves, including three weekly mandatory meetings with practice and coaching. We do not condone nor encoura** misrepresentation by any of our representatives and take these matters very seriously. We thank the homeowner for stepping forward and bringing this concern to our attention so we could take action, and again, we apologize for any inconvenience or hassle to you. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: Apparently the business thinks this is a 'miscommunication' instead of blatant deception.  "3 weekly mandatory meetings with practice and coaching" apparently didn't do much good.  His deceptive spiel obviously took practice and it seems very possible that he was following the training he received.
2 weeks suspension isn't firing and no revamping of the training has occurred as far as I can tell.  Tricking people into buying a product is a pretty slimy way of doing business and the lack of real action about this says a lot about the company.

2/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: V3 security mislead me to believe that the prior security company that I had a contract with, Monatronics, was no longer available and that this 'salesman' was only there to take over the service and upgrade the equipment left by the previous security company. During this process he had me write a letter to Monatronics and state that I was going to transfer the payment arrangment to this new company but didn't really explain why but that I was asking them to cease the payment arrangment with Monatronics and that the new company, V3 was to receive the payments. I was a bit confused but the salesman reassured me that this was standard procedure and I went along with it. The original company called to inquire why I was changing companies I explained what happened and we called V3 and ask why I was asked to write this letter and that is how I was put in touch with the sales manager. I was completely dupped and taken advantage of. I am a single older female living alone and I feel that he took advantage of me and misled me. I am fearful for my safety in that this person was able to weasel his way into my home and used a sort of pressure sales tactic to have me change companies. I feel that he lied to me. His office manager called me and grilled me for more than a half hour making me feel like I was lying. This new person said that she knew this salesman personally and that she had not known him to lie to customers. She also made me feel like I did something wrong and that I was going to be responsible for a substantial amount of money to get out of the new contract. I am filing this claim against this company in hopes that this salesman is held responsible for his actions and that he is not allowed to do this type of scam to anymore elderly women who are volnurable to this type of high pressure sales tactic. I am still responsible for the original contract and now I have to pay a large amount of money to get out of the new contract. This feels like a scam and I am fighting against it.

Desired Settlement: I want out of the new contract with V3 and have their equipment removed and the original equipment returned. I really feel like if this is the way that this industry behaves, I want no part of it at all. I want out of it all, both companies, if my original contract is up.

Business Response: Each alarm company has a contract for the monitoring services, which can vary from 1-5 years in length in most cases. If a contract is ended early, any remaining time becomes due and owing to the company- this is the standard industry practice. This homeowner just began service with us a month ago, but after speaking with her both today and yesterday about her concern we have released her from all contractual obligations without penalty and have scheduled an appointment to uninstall the equipment next Monday between 9-11am. The representative has been formally placed on probation and will be suspended if we receive another complaint. It is never our intention or practice to cause anyone to feel unsafe or misled and we sincerely apologize for the headache. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

8/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The complaint I have are these my garage door repeatedly being open from the house across the street for years. Your good office, can verify with regards to my complaint to the Rancho Cordova Sheriff Police department concerning this alarm that had been falsely activitivated by this house across the street. Any additional information about false alarm it was reported to Rancho Cordova Police department by me, ***** ** ******. I was told by V3 representative that he could fixed the systems where he could set off the alarm anymore positively. (he lied over and over to me). I would like to disassociate my responsibility with this company forever. Thank you very much for taking the time for me.

Desired Settlement: I wish to discontinue forever my association with this company I have no longer finances to continue paying with the company

Business Response: I apologize, but we are not sure what to do with this complaint. We have been in communication with this customer for a while and it has become increasingly clear that there is some major confusion with our system's capabilities and his expectations. From what he has told us, he is a retired vet that worked in intelligence, and is now convinced that his neighbors across the street have programmed a remote that can open and close his rolling garage door while he out during the day, to punish him for the work he did in the service. Our regular alarm install technician was kind enough to explain during the installation that the alarm itself is not tied into the garage door appliance in any way. We have made several visits out to his home to address his concern, and realized that there is just so much stuff in his garage that it trips the sensor at the bottom of the door so the door will not close. He has had a garage door company come out to take a look, from what he has told us. But he is adamant that our alarm is somehow supposed to solve the problem, which is not, of course, what an alarm system is designed to do. He has stopped paying his bill to us and either states it's because he can't afford it, or because it's not solving the garage door problem.

Consumer Response: In regard to your letter dated Monday July 21, 2014 stating the major confusion. Here with in my affidavit, I am
only giving you the fact and nothing but the truth so help me. And I will take the lie detector test anytime,
anyplace, I never told anyone, especially my neighbor across the street about the remote that could open and
close the garage, I don't know how they open my garage door at will. And I never told anyone that I was an
intelligence agent. Garage door inspection service, and adjustment was condusted by garage service address
**** ***** ****, and the telephone number is ************
The V3 technician assured me, if I took his alarm system on on would be able to open my garage door from the
outside, He made several adjustment to the system before he completed the installation, his adjustment did
work. And I called him repeatedly, the agreement was I would only take the system, if he could stop my garage
door from being ope illegally. never happened, and then he would not returned my calls. my agreement to him
was that, he would fixed the door first. and then, I would take the system. I aploize for my confusion it was not
intended. Pls. I thank you once again for taking the time to care.

 

Consumer Response: Consumer states that business has contacted him and his issues have been resolved.

Business Response:

After speaking with this customer we have elected to release him from his agreement with us. As of today, we collected the equipment from his home and ended all future contractual obligation. We hope this resolves everything for him. 
 


After speaking with this customer we have elected to release him from his agreement with us. As of today, we collected the equipment from his home and ended all future contractual obligation. We hope this resolves everything for him. 
 

1/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salesperson made unsolicited sales call on elderly woman saying her alarm system company had gone out of business/they would install new equipment. My mom has a Monitronics sign in her yard. On 10/7/13, a salesperson from V3 Systems, *** ****** called on my mother to advise her that Monitronics had gone out of business and they were there to install the new equipment. My mom is nearly 80 years old, hard of hearing, and was entirely too trusting to allow he and the installer, **** ***** to come in to her home (scary) and take apart her alarm system removing and taking all of the Monitronics equipment with them. When she discovered she'd been scammed, Monitronics came out to re-install their equipment. My mom tells me that she is being refunded, but after reading the complaint just weeks from my mothers' ... I'm very concerned that if these folks aren't background checked, that something much more tragic could occur if they are preying on our elderly population. V3 is supposed to come to my mom's house again tomorrow to pick up their equipment and ask my mom to sign a release. I will not allow her to do this alone, so I will be there to ensure there is no funny business. What else can be done to a business like this?

Desired Settlement: After reviewing the other complaint filed 10/25/13 with my mom's system being installed 10/7/13 - I am concerned they will continue to prey on more elderly people - can BBB work with other agencies to have them thoroughly investigated?

Business Response: Initial Business Response
We have spoken with the customer referenced above on multiple occasions about her account. We received a call from the customer about a month after the contract started (outside of the 3-day right to cancel with no penalty). After a few discussions (Friday November 8th to the following Monday) we understood there was some confusion. We take concerns such as this very seriously and agreed to release the customer from her agreement with us and to provide documentation regarding the release without penalty for the customer to keep for her records. We placed the representative on probation for misrepresentation shortly after speaking with the customer. It was agreed we would come back to pick up any of our equipment that was installed and have the technician bring the release paperwork. Upon receipt of the equipment, we would process the refund for her. This is our standard procedure for cancelation within the 3-day right of recision. The technician picked up the equipment and her daughter was present to supervise, as we noticed in the above complaint that was preferred. We certainly did not wish to cause any further distress and no further contact with this customer has been attempted. We would like to reassure this customer and her daughter that all representatives within the alarm industry are required to undergo background checks at the federal level before obtaining a license to be an alarm company representative. Any criminal history is thoroughly investigated (for more information, the governing body is the BSIS, a department of Consumer Affairs). We hope we have been as transparent as possible with this customer's cancelation process and in this response; it is very important we avoid confusion at all times. We sincerely apologize for any confusion or headache we may have caused and issue a specific apology to the customer's daughter for causing any worry over her mother's safety or well-being. We hope this complaint has been resolved to everyone's satisfaction, and wish this customer and her daughter well.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This misrepresentation appears to be a common issue with this form after reading of other complaints of a similar nature. What is of particular concern is that when the very nice installed came back to pick up the equipment, he had a release he wanted my mother to sign. I absolutely would not allow her to sign this as we may take this matter to an attorney so that this company will understand just how outrageous it is to take advantage of our senior citizen community. So while I appreciate their well-written response an well wishes, I believe the company endorses their salesperson's behavior which is why he is still employed there. If I can see two acts of a similar nature for the same company just on the BBB website alone, how many go unreported/undetected?

10/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: V3 used shady practices to sell me a system that was no different than service I already had, withdrew money from my bank and threatened addl. billing On Sep 26, a V3 rep (**** ********** knocked on my door, offering to check out my home security system (I had a Monitronics sign in the front yard) to make sure I was adequately protected. He checked out my doors and windows and said that I should upgrade my system. He installed the upgraded system, had me sign paperwork, provide him with a voided check and took away my old equipment on the same day. That evening, I learned that the company has only been in business for two months and none of the links on their website work. On Sep 27, the next day, I called to cancel V3 service and was hung up on by the rep. I asked Monitronics (my previous security service) to restore service and agreed to pay the service visit fee. On Sep 28, when a Monitronics technician came out to restore security, he programmed the V3 equipment because V3 took the Monitronics equipment on Sep 26. I mailed V3 written notice of cancellation via registered mail. On Sep 30, V3 submitted an automatic withdrawal request to my bank and withdrew $195. I had my bank stop payment and terminate V3 access to my account. On Oct 1, ******* from V3 requested proof of my Monitronics account before they would terminate my agreement with them. They also insisted that I return their equipment. I explained that we reprogrammed the equipment because the V3 tech failed to leave the Monitronics equipment on Sep 26, and that returning the equipment would result in additional charges to me. Hillary said that a V3 tech could reprogram the systems, but I told them that I didn't want them to touch the system because of their questionable business practices. I was told that I would be billed for the equipment that V3 installed, and they would leave a bill on the porch.

Desired Settlement: I would like the business to cease and desist any further action or communication.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
We have spoken with this customer and her daughter at length about the termination of this account. We followed the same procedures we have in place for any alarm set up, including same-day installation and, as the contract states, automatic withdrawal (ACH) for the monthly payments- a clause that the customer must agree to in writing and during our recorded quality calls before any transaction occurs. We have attempted to refund the money withdrawn but have been given error messages because a stop payment was placed on the funds to begin with. No money has actually been received for this installation. We have attempted remediation with this customer's daughter through multiple phone calls to no avail, even offering to return the old equipment (we still have it for them), and reinstall it at no charge. We in no way asked them to contact the previous company and pay to have everything re-instated, we understand there is a cost associated and reinstallation is a simple, quick procedure. We still could reinstall the old equipment or at least return it to them and retrieve the hundreds of dollars we installed in the home, but the customer's daughter refuses to set up a mutually agreeable time that would let her supervise the exchange of equipment. Due to this, we would need to recoup the cost of the equipment, hence the need to mail them a bill. At this time, we have not mailed any such bill. We have not attempted to speak with the customer or the daughter since October 1. It should be noted we have been in this industry for over 8 years, and the links on our website www.v3ca.com do in fact work. We sincerely apologize for any distress or inconvenience we have caused Ms. ****** and her daughter, and are happy to oblige any further inquiries into this matter. We in no way intended to confuse, mislead or misrepresent our company or intentions and have a very clear contract that all representatives must carry with them in order to complete a new alarm activation and prevent any confusion. We are open to and encourage speaking with the BBB further to ensure this complaint is resolved to Ms. ******'s satisfaction.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We accept V3s agreement to lay to rest any and all claims related to this transaction. We sincerely appreciate the assistance of the Better Business Bureau in facilitating this outcome.

Final Business Response
We again apologize for any inconvenience this matter has caused. As we stated earlier, we in no way intended to cause any distress to Ms. ****** and her family, and have not contacted any one via any means other than through the BBB since that last phone call, as desired. We believe in reaching a resolution that is mutually agreeable with any conflict and wish to do so in this case as well. We think a reasonable solution is to forego the cost of the few items of equipment in the home so we can lay this claim to rest and agree it is resolved. We again apologize for the inconvenience, and stress that we never intended to upset anyone. We certainly will be cognizant of this complaint with all future business.