Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hue & Cry Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hue & Cry Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hue & Cry Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 29, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1979 in CA Business incorporated 02/21/1979 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Security and Investigative Services
2420 Del Paso Rd Ste 270, Sacramento CA 95834
Phone Number: (916) 322-4000
The number is 428.

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 620587.

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00980857.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Patti Barker, Manager Mrs. Kathy Culmer, Owner Mr. Mike Culmer, President Ms. Kelsey Schaller, Management Ms. Taylor Vargas, Administrative Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Kelsey Schaller, Management
Business Category

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Fire Exit Devices Medical Alarms Television Sys & Equipment - Closed Circuit Contractor - Low Voltage Systems Contractor - Electrical Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service

Licensing

This company is required to be licensed by the Bureau of Security and Investigative Services (BSIS)for operation of an alarm company. As of January 9, 2014 BSIS is reporting that the license is delinquent.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 1751 Bruce Dr

    Anderson, CA 96007 (530) 365-0071 (800) 762-3196

  • 6009 Auburn Blvd Ste 100

    Citrus Hts, CA 95621 (530) 926-5247 (916) 961-0900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The service was cancelled last year, after I had submitted my quarterly payment, I decided to cancel since the customer service is subpar and after several attempts to remedy the issues I felt it was time to move on...I was contacted several times to reconsider from management people who had ignored on issues in the past, I was then told that they would refund my payment ASAP...This is now April and every month when I call about my refund of $86 dollars they tell me it is going on at the end of the month, today they stated that they can not find any paper work on my refund!!!...I spoke with ***

Desired Settlement: My money refunded....

Business Response: I am not aware of any conversation occurring where we told this customer that we lost the paperwork we do not even have an **** that works for our company. I see there was a request made for a credit 2 weeks ago and it is currently being processed by our accounting department to be sent as a refund to the customer. There is a process in customer refunds in the case of a cancellation where things need to be reviewed to be sure a refund is necessary and to make sure all cancellation was completed, contract terms were met etc. The customer should be receiving their refund soon. 

10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted Hue & Cry s office for installation of an alarm system in our residence and business in Shingle Springs, CA in October 2010. The installation took place In October 2010. Please note that we have never used the alarm system. We contacted the financial services department on Nov. 30, 2013, regarding discontinuing our monitoring service due to the fact that we have never used the alarm system since the installation. Their five year term is listed in very small print (need a magnifying glass to read it!) on back of their contract along with their "right" to increase monthly monitoring fees! And they did keep raising their monthly rates from $33.95 when we started to $40+! We received a reply back from ******* ****** in the Accounting department on Dec. 10, 2013. In the Dec. 10, 2013 email, ******* requested a response to her email as our written 30 day notice to cancel. We replied the same day canceling the service. Yet on Dec. 16, 2013, we received another email from ******* stating that they are now not canceling the contract per our earlier phone conversation, but are going to bill out the remainder of the contract to October 2015! Nowhere in the Dec. 10, 2013 email did she indicate that there would be termination charges, but rather she led us to believe the contract would just be terminated upon our reply indicating why the necessity to cancel service. We spoke with ****** on Dec. 16 following this email, and she said she would speak to her supervisor about changing the contract to a 3-year plan and get back to us. As of Dec. 27, 2013, we still had no reply from her and again requested that she get back to us.We have other emails requesting to speak with a supervisor at Hue & Cry on the phone and never heard from someone, and then ****** did not replyi to our emails. As we stated in our emails to ****** that nowhere on the first page of the contract is there any wording as to length of time for the contract. This is listed in small print on back side of the contract!This is very poor customer service and public relations too, as we had been trying to resolve this since November 30, 2013. Additionally, at the time of installation the installing technician damaged our bedroom wall. It has a crack on the exterior wall, which to date, it has not been repaired. Their technician brought it to our attention and stated that he would have the wall repaired, and yet it still has not been addressed. We have obtained a quote to get the repairs done and have received to response from Hue & Cry to reimburse us for the repair of our wall.Also in response to ******* ******'s letter dated December 19, 2013: We had been trying to get a response from ******* either by email or by phone, but she did not responded so we object to her first paragraph stating "we have made attempts by mail, phone or email." This is not an honest statement. We have been a very good customer who always paid their bills on time and feel very betrayed by the manner in which we have been treated! Their contract is unfair and deceptive in putting the terms in very small print on back of their contract! Also why on earth should they be doing five year contracts?? Is that even legal?? It certainly is unfair and harsh! I wonder what the Dept. of Consumer Affairs think about companies like Hue and Cry doing this to their customers? We feel they could have easily ended the contract after three years and just chose to hard line it to us with no consideration whatsoever of the financial burden to us paying for a system we never used!! They were absolutely heartless and we feel they should be held accountable for what they do to their customers!!As stated we run our own business and have been too busy to make this complaint earlier. We are glad to finally make this complaint and feel that there are most likely many other customers they have done this too also! Please help to make them accountable for what they do!

Desired Settlement: We paid $738 additionally because they would not let us cancel AFTER 3 YEARS! We canceled service so paid an additional $738 for no service!!

Business Response:

 

Our Hue & Cry staff does a great job of ensuring that our customers are aware of any contractual obligations before entering into an agreement. This customer signed a proposal dated October 2010 that clearly states the contract terms of five years.  All Proposals are then followed up by an official Contract, which also states the term of five years. This customer signed a contract in October 2010.

In general, it is always a good idea to read a contract in its entirety before signing it.  If any questions or concerns about the contract arise, bring it to the sales person’s attention before signing. Additionally, it may be helpful to know there is a 3 day rescind policy after the contract is signed. If you are unhappy with the terms, simply contact the company to void any obligation you’ve had. 

This customer did not mention any term concerns before signing. They also did not utilize the 3 day rescind policy. From the date of the Alarm Installation up until the time of cancellation (3 years), this customer did not submit any complaints to Hue & Cry. There is a feature within this customer’s control panel that reports activity to corroborate the system is testing properly on their account. Our records show we received normal test timer notifications monthly, confirming Hue & Cry was able to meet the negotiated monitoring needs.  It was only after the customer tried to cancel before the contract expiration date that the customer became disgruntled with Hue & Cry. 

Hue & Cry cannot control the use of an Alarm System once it is installed; instead, it is the responsibility of the customer to arm and disarm their system at their leisure.

Upon receiving the request for cancellation, a Hue & Cry representative emailed both the signed proposal and contract to the customer. After the customer voiced concerns that they were unaware of their contractual obligations, Hue & Cry had two representatives attempt to explain the contract and our policy for cancellation to the customer. When the customer was still unsatisfied, the situation was brought to the attention of the owner of the company. After reviewing the facts, the decision was made to hold the customer to the terms of the signed contract. At no time were Hue & Cry representatives rude. Hue & Cry strives to offer great customer service and we thank our valued customer for the opportunity to address their concerns.

Consumer Response:

We were gone for a while on a family matter and also on a vacation.  I am just getting into your site today, 9/5/14.  You have already CLOSED this matter so I just want to say that there has been NO RESOLUTION in this matter and this was just a waste of time.  Hue & Cry does not care what they do to their customers and their statements do not address the fact that we repeatedly emailed for this to be resolved and for us AFTER paying for installation and 3 years of monthly charges to be released from a 5 year contract.  It was a REASONABLE request and they were very unkind in their reply "we are going to hold you to the contract".  Their installer damaged our bedroom wall which we will have to fix on our own.  How is this fair???  They could have easily been reasonable about this, but chose to strong arm us.  That is the level of their "customer service"!!!

AGAIN, THIS HAS NOT BEEN RESOLVED!

**** *********
9/5/14

Have a wonderful Day!
Anne & Todd Schindler
** *** ***** ******* ******** **  ***** **** ************* **** ************** **** ************* ********************* ***********************  ** *** *** ***********************

Business Response: Our services are designed with a contract in mind. This is how we are able to lessen the amount due at the time of the installation. This customer was given a discount and agreed to the five-year contract terms not once was any damage to any walls reported to our office this is news to us the customer canceled their services with us December 2012 on the bases they never used it. Our last service appointment was at no charge to the customer, at what time they had requested a bid for additional services. 

Our office is always willing to work with our customers an would be happy to reinstate there services an reverse the invoice for the amount billed out.
It is our standard practice to have all customer sign a contract as with any type of contract if canceled early there are penalties.
We do appreciate all feed back an will take it into account when making changes to our procedures.
Thank you,
Hue & Cry Inc. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: again, we PAID for the installation which was costly to us and always paid our monthly fees on time.  We did not report the damage done to our bedroom wall even though the installer pointed it out to us.  That was our good will!!!  We only asked to cancel our contract in November of 2013 after we had been on service for three years!!!  Hue and Cry were not out anything.  Also ******* on December 10, 2013, her initial response to our email to cancel, replied back instructions for us to respond back with a brief description of why we were canceling service.  Quote "As soon as I receive your response I will take that as your written 30 day notice to cancel." Then on December 27, 2013 quote from ******* "I spoke with my supervisor and we are going to hold you to the 6 year agreement you signed"  How is that for their "customer service"??

Again, they did not have any overhead costs on this, they just strong armed us with no diplomacy or kindness whatsoever!!! 

We do not accept their response!!  They need to do what is right!!

**** *********

Business Response: Company has included cancellation contract showing 11-30-13. There was no record or notice about a damaged wall when the company serviced the customer so they would not be responsible for subsequent damage that occurred after the company's service.

4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a complaint with the Hue and Cry alarm systems (not the original alarm system we bought). Through the years my alarm system has changed through several companies. Recently, I have been sending checks every September to Hue and Cry, my system payment was up to date when I requested a repair service in May 2013 to repair a "contact" on the garage side door which was preventing me from setting the alarm. A man came out and repaired the contact. He had me sign what I thought was the repair work sheet. He said he would mail me my signed copy because he didn't have a copy for me. My daughter and granddaughter were there and witnessed it. I did not receive a copy of the repair sheet that he said he would send and as time passed I forgot about it since the problem was fixed. I had been planning on putting my house up for sale since my husband passed away. My intention was to sell it at the beginning of summer 2013 and move into a senior living residence, which I have done. Summer was supposed to be a good time for families looking for homes. I made my last yearly payment in September 2012 which was still in effect at the time of the repair work. I contacted Hue and Cry on May 7, 2013 to let them know that I was putting my house on the market and would no longer need their alarm system services after the contract ended. That is when I received a copy of this contract. I read it and saw my signature. I also read the part that said I had 30 days to review the contract which I had never received.

Desired Settlement: I would like this contract rescinded because my intention was not to sign a new contract for my home alarm system when I was planning to sell my home that summer. I would not like my credit affected by this company in any way since I have a near perfect credit score. I do not want any more dealings with this company.

Business Response: In response to the complaint against Hue & Cry Inc. by ****** ********, we have done all we can to amend this issue. On March 31, 2014 we left her a voicemail explaining that any contact she had with Hue & Cry had been rescinded. Additionally, we informed her there are no outstanding dues and her credit will not be affected by Hue & Cry Inc. We reminded her that we provided her with two free service calls. As of December 2013, her account was fully cancelled.

8/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was advised by Hue & Cry that a discounted price for alarm system required monitoring service for three years. Wasn't vebally advised of add on term. On October 22, 2008 I was provided an estimate for the installation of an alarm system in my residence. I was given the option of a discounted equipment and installation cost that required, "a 36 month contract at $29.95 for monitoring, billed quarterly" or, "a non-monitored system" at a higher cost for the equipment and installation. I was given the impression that after I fulfilled the 36 month contract I had no further obligation for monitoring service. I was never advised that if I don't cancel the monitoring service at the end of the contract, the contract will continually renew for two year terms. In April of 2009 I had the alarm system installed in my residence. I was provided a contract, based on the information I was previously provided I signed the contract that was presented to me without reading the fine print. In February 2010, Hue and Cry increased the rate for monitoring by $4.50 per quarter. I didn't read the fine print in the contract that I signed so I wasn't aware that Hue and Cry was violating the contract by raising the cost for monitoring. I paid the increased cost without question. In April of 2013 I called Hue and Cry to cancel the monitoring service for the alarm system. I was advised by the representative that I was still under contract and could not cancel without paying the remainder of the contract. I explained that I'm no longer under contract because I was told it was a 36 month commitment for monitoring service and that commitment started in April of 2009. I explained that I paid for the monitoring service for well over the 36 month commitment. The representative informed me that because I didn't cancel after the initial 36 month commitment my contract rolled into a new 24 month contract term. When I expressed my dissatisfaction with that she said she would email me a copy of the contract. When I read the contract, it did in fact indicate in fine print what the representative related. However, the contract was contrary to the information I was provided prior to signing the contract. Hue and Cry's attempt to resolve the issue essentially equated to them trying to receive more funds. The options really involved new contracts for Hue and Cry, new installation and lease charges, or keeping the remainder of the current contract. I explained that I fully appreciate requiring an initial three year contract term for monitoring service to offset the discounted price for equipment and installation. However, to put in the fine print of a contract that after the three year term I will be locked into a two year term is bad business. Allowing a customer to cancel the contract at any point after the initial three year term does not come at a cost to Hue and Cry (other than their revenue for monitoring service).

Desired Settlement: Terminate the contract as of April 2013, reimburse me $94.35 for the charge debited from my bank account in May 2013, and reimburse me for the overcharged amount totaling $58.50 (February 2010 through April 2013). The total amount due to me is $152.85.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Please see all the correspondence attached. He had agreed to keep the monitoring until April of 2014 as stated below and we agreed to move him back down to the original monitoring rate, and applied a credit to his account for the increased difference he had paid. What he submitted to you was asking that he be terminated as of April 2013. **** has agreed to honor that and let him out of his contract and refund May. Thank you, ******

Consumer's Final Response
Hi ******** I wanted to let you know that I received the credit from Hue and Cry. Again, thank you for your help. ****

4/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cancelled service 12/3/12. On 3/1/13 they charged my debit card. 8 phone calls & 3 e-mails later still no official cancellation or refund. On December 3, 2014 I called to cancel service, was told to send a confirming e-mail and did so on December 4th. I never received a response to that e-mail. On March 1, 2013 Hue and Cry charged $100.50 my debit card. When I called on March 4, 2013 to ask why and for a refund of that amount, they stated that I had never been "officially" cancelled, but that someone would do so immediately and send an e-mail reflecting that cancellation and would process the refund. I have now made six additional phone calls and have sent three e-mails in an attempt to get them to officially cancel my service and refund the incorrect charge.

Desired Settlement: E-mail or letter reflecting cancellation of my service and refund of the $100.50 incorrectly charged to my debit card on March 1, 2013.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The cancellation was received December 2012. This employee has been in and out of the hospital and the cancellation was missed. It was sent through on March 12, 2013 and went through our cancellation process. $132.00 Refunded 3/27/13 to Ms. ******'s credit card.

11/12/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hue and Cry agree to cancel our security alarm service without penalty since we had never signed a contract with their company. They failed to honor. I had contacted Hue and Cry Security Systems by phone on August 29, 2012 to cancel services. It is important to note that we had never signed a contract with Hue and Cry. I spoke to Kathy Harrold, Sales and Retention Representative. Kathy stated she will honor my request to cancel our security alarm services without penalty and stated September 2012 will be the last billing statement that I will have to pay. Kathy asked that I send an e-mail to state my request to cancel. I sent an e-email to Kathy (k.harrold@hueandcry.com) and stated the following, "Dear Ms. Harrold, This letter is to inform Hue and Cry Security Systems, Inc. of the Tam's cancellation of service. As we had discussed over the phone on August 29, 2012, I will be charged my final payment of $24.00 for the month of September 2012. Thereafter, it is agreed upon that I will not be charged for further service or penalty fees. Thank you and your company for your many years of service. Please reply to confirm receipt of this letter and the agreement stated above. Thank you, Howard Tam (Bill Pay ID: 10891)." I have not yet received a response from Kathy Harrold nor Hue and Cry. I paid my September 2012 billing statement by personal check on September 4, 2012. On September 17, I received a billing statement from Hue and Cry requesting payment for the month of October 2012. I contacted Kathy on September 19, 2012 at 3:00pm and still yet received a response for the status of my service cancellation.

Desired Settlement: I would like Hue and Cry Security Systems to honor their promise to cancel my security monitoring services immediately and without penalty charges.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Mr. ****** was upset because we did not close his account and continued to bill him. Unfortunately, ****** went to the hospital that day and upon returning was so overwhelmed and was trying to catch up as fast as she could. Once we received notification from you that there was a problem I contacted ****** who immediate called and emailed Mr. ****** to apologize for her mistake. We have resolved this issue with the customer. The account is closed and the balance of account is zero. Have a great weekend, ****** ****** Accounting/Office Manager Hue & Cry, Inc. (Please see attached the correspondence between Mr. ****** and ****** ******.)

10/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company installed new security system of which components will not work. Have asked them to reinstall old system. Will not reply to telephone calls. I have had Hue and Cry security monitoring & service for several years. Recently had an upgraded security system installed. Video cameras will not work as described, lighting automation will not work. After several service visits, the system is still not working correctly. I have asked them to reinstall my old system to which they have asked that we continue to work on the new system. Last service visit did not fix the problem. Service appointments have been cancelled by the company, or not scheduled at all--after requests for follow-up. I have again & again asked that they remove to non-functioning equipment. When I call, I am forwarded to voice mail, with no return phone call. I am being charged late fees for a bill I have not seen. I have repeatedly asked for an itemized statement, but none has been sent. They have double billed me on prior work--showing two different amounts. I believe the later has been corrected.

Desired Settlement: I want the non-functioning equipment removed from my home, as I have repeatedly requested. Then, I want an itemized bill showing the correct amount, reflecting the newly installed components (minus what is to be removed), including the $500 credit I was given toward my old system, which was functioning properly. And, show a $280 credit for a bill I had already paid toward the new system. Lastly, I have had two disturbing and harassing phone conversations from sales staff, citing how I am the only one who has experienced a problem/complaint about the new system and how much the service visits are costing the company. I want those to stop and only talk to company representatives who can solve problems.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
customer states: I have been contacted by the company and they have resolved the issue. Thank you for your service organization. I believe filing my complaint with you moved them to action. Everything is good, and I continue to use Hue & Cry to monitor my alarm system. They made corrections to the new alarm system that I had been trying to have completed.