Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of GHS Interactive Security, LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that GHS Interactive Security, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for GHS Interactive Security, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on GHS Interactive Security, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 28, 2006 Business started: 07/19/2005 in CA Business started locally: 07/19/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Security and Investigative Services
2420 Del Paso Rd Ste 270, Sacramento CA 95834
Phone Number: (916) 322-4000
The number is 7267.

Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. John M. Bergher, Executive Vice President Marketing & Customer Care Mr. Gordon Johnson, President Mrs. Cindy Sullivan, Director of Customer Care
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John M. Bergher, Executive Vice President Marketing & Customer Care
Principal: Mr. Gordon Johnson, President
Customer Contact: Mrs. Cindy Sullivan, Director of Customer Care
Business Category

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Security Systems Consultants Video Equipment - Supplies & Parts Home Automation Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service

Products & Services

GHS Interactive Security, LLC offers the following product(s): Alarm Systems.

Products & Services

LifeLine Security and Automation, Inc. provides full home security service. LifeLine Security and Automation,Inc. is a GE Security Authorized Dealer.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

GHS Interactive Security, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1324 Coldwell Ave

    Modesto, CA 95350

  • 2081 Arena Blvd Ste 260

    Sacramento, CA 95834

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had service from GHS since September of 2014. The technician who installed my original security system with *********** came by to upgrade my equipment. I agreed to sign the invoice as it is standard to do so with most system upgrades. What the technician failed to inform me of was that he was signing me up for service with another security company. At no time did he state that I was signing a new contract let alone that it was with a different company. When I discovered I was being billed by both companies I called and asked why. I was informed that I had signed a contract with another company and that they would call and cancel the contract with ***********. After calling the technician several times with the response of i'll be there Monday he never showed so i called the company and they continued to give me the run around and no one to fix the issue . I was told, on a recorded phone call, by a rude manager that the contract with ghs would be canceled when i asked who was going to reiemburse me with my money the manager changed his mind and called me back and said that they could not cancel my contract or even refund my money even though i recieved a text stating they would reimburse me $224.00. I spoke to the manager again and i told him not to bother refunding me all i wanted was for them to come get there equipment out of my house because i did not trust them with my home and i wanted him to cancel my contract the way he said he would and to deal with the fradulent employee they had working for there company because who knows how many others he does this to on a daily basis. After, I was still being billed so I called again. This time I was told I would not be able to break the contract and I was still going to be billed. Since then they have retracted the offer to cancel my contract and I am now being billed by both companies. I asked the manager to speak with someone above him and i left 2 voicemails and i still have not recieved a call back and nothing has been done.

Desired Settlement: I would like for GHS to keep there word about letting me out of the contract and refunding the money i was being doubled billed for since they never canceled the contract with *********** as they said they would. I would also like for them to come and take there equipment out of my home and to investigate the employee who is working for them because as far as i'm concerned what he did is called fraud. I was misled into thinking that it was only a system upgrade.

Business Response:

1.       Why did your sales person not identify himself as being from GHS?

a.       Our sales representative did identify himself as being from GHS; all GHS representatives are instructed to wear a GHS-approved shirt when conducting business in the field. An image of the shirt ****** ***** wears, which prominently displays the GHS logo, is attached(“GHS Rep Shirt.jpg”).

b.      In addition to sporting the GHS uniform, the physical paperwork the sales representative presented to the customer (which they executed and is attached) is also prominently branded GHS (displays our logo and branch address on each page).

2.       Why was the customer not aware that she was signing a new contract with your company?

a.       GHS Response: The customer’s executed GHS contract, which is prominently branded GHS and displays our logo and branch address on each page, is attached (“*****__******_GHS executed contract redacted private info BBB.PDF”). This document clearly conveys what the transaction is, as is stated by the header at the top of page 1: “Security System Sale, Installation and Services Agreement – Residential Retail Installment Contract”.

b.      In addition, after a customer signs up with GHS, our representatives provide customers with GHS signs and stickers in order to help protect their premises, all of which clearly display the GHS logo. Pictures of our signs and stickers are attached “GHS Window sticker NEW Larger – ***********F”.

c.       Lastly, 15 days after a customer’s account is installed, a GHS Representative calls the customer to conduct a “Happy Call,” the purpose of which is to ensure that the customer is happy with their system and aware that they have signed a36 month agreement with GHS. Please find attached (“******* ***** **** ****** ***** ** ****** ******”) a recording of the ***** “Happy Call”: The GHS call center representative clearly identifies that she is calling on behalf of GHS, and that the call is being recorded. Our representative also personally speaks with ********* *****, who does not mention any concerns with regards to her account at that time.

3.       Were the above questions addressed during her numerous calls to your billing department?

a.       GHS Response: [We request that the BBB please review the detailed notes in the table below.]

b.      As you can see from the relevant, bolded notes on this customer’s account, below, calls that were made to (and from) our billing department were handled professionally and courteously by GHS representatives. In fact:

                                                               i.      The notes below record multiple instances of the customer either hanging up on our representatives, or not answering the phone.

                                                              ii.      In addition, ****** ***** made several attempts to meet the customer at their home to provide them a rebate for the duplicate charges they received from their old company, but the customer consistently “no-showed” and wasn’t available at the time of the appointment(s).

                                                            iii.      The notes below also record the fact that ****** ***** did indeed call the customer’s old company to assist her in getting out of her old contract, as was promised.

Notes for ****** ***** (exported from our Customer Relationship Manager, Security Trax):

Created

Note

****
03/05/2015 | 6:35 PM MST

Follow-up Call
* Called customer/ LMOR
* Attempt to resolve delinquent balance of 1439.68

****
03/05/2015 | 2:37 PM MST

Past Due
LM @1:37 PST

****
03/04/2015 | 12:07 PM MST

Dispute
* Called**********/ Went dead after several rings
* Attempt to resolve billing issue.
* Attempt to resolve delinquent balance of 44.99 (Initial Payment)
* Time call set
* New Past due balance is 1439.68

NOTE: Options are to cancel or to rebate customer $224.97

****
03/03/2015 | 12:32 PM MST

Dispute
* Called**********/ LMOR
* Attempt to resolve billing issue.
* Attempt to resolve delinquent balance of 44.99 (Initial Payment)
* Time call set
* New Past due balance is 1439.68

NOTE: Options are to cancel or to rebate customer $224.97

****
03/02/2015 | 11:46 AM MST

Dispute
* Called customer/ LMOR/ Left extensive courtesy message/
* Attempt to resolve billing issue.
* Attempt to resolve delinquent balance of 44.99 (Initial Payment)
* Time call set

NOTE: Options are to cancel or to rebate customer $224.97

** **
02/11/2015 | 4:44 PM MST

FOLLOW UP
LM > Cannot let customer out of contract.
* Try to work with her; pay out *********** account and overdraft fees.

** **
02/06/2015 | 9:00 PM MST

FOLLOW UP
LM at7:58pm PST.
* Options are to cancel or to rebate customer $224.97.
* If customer calls back, please let me know how she would like to proceed.

****
02/06/2015 | 3:15 PM MST

ESCALATION
- Spoke with rep. ****** ***** who said to try and save this account since the client no shows and he cannot get ahold of her if we can send her a check for the $224.97 she is requesting.

- Cld ****** ***** to see if this is acceptable, lmsg vml
- Texted because she is at work and can't receive calls.
- Waiting to see if this is acceptable.

****
02/06/2015 | 1:20 PM MST

ESCALATION
- Advised ****** that *** spoke with client and tried to offer 2 months to save, but she would not accept it and wanted to cancel.
- I called ****** and advised.
- He said not to cancel anything.
- That he would call her right back.

S. J.
02/06/2015 | 12:32 PM MST

ESCALATION
- Customer called about issue below, wanted to be transferred to billing dept.
- While trying to resolve cust hung up.
- Spoke with ******* about account, advised ****** will try to pay off the buyout for other alarm co. onMonday 2/09.
- Called cust to advise, LM.

****
02/06/2015 | 12:24 PM MST

ESCALLATION
- Spoke with ****** and he said he went by this last Monday.
- They were scheduled at5 PMand she no showed.
- He left his business card.
- ****** says he paid her October and November.
- That he showed up to help her cancel her old account and wasn't there.
-Mondayhe will go back to see her and square it away.

****
01/21/2015 | 1:50 PM MST

FOLLOW UP CALL
- Spoke with ****** *****
- Says he is reimbursing the overdraft fee.
- To try to get a new cc or ach to bill mmr too.

****
01/09/2015 | 4:03 PM MST

BILLING
- Called and customer hung up on me.
- cld back ,no answer.
- Balance: ($44.99)

****
01/07/2015 | 5:49 PM MST

FOLLOW UP CALL
- Spoke with ********* *****.
- She stated nobody would be home until6:30.
- Rescheduled for6:30 on Thursday, 01/008/15.

** **
01/07/2015 | 5:37 PM MST

RESCHEDULE
LM with customer at4:24pm PST.
- I moved the appointment to 01/08/15 at 4:30pm PST with Vrej.
- I spoke with ******. He is going to visit the customertomorrow.
Could you please try and contact the customer and confirm the new appointment? Thank you!

****
01/02/2015 | 7:33 PM MST

RESCHEDULE
- Cld and spoke with *********.
- Rescheduled forFriday, 01/09/20105 at 10-11.
- She can only do earlyFridayor after4:30 PMother days.

****
12/30/2014 | 5:59 PM MST

FOLLOW UP CALL
- ****** says he has known this client for 7 years.
- That he is sure that they send in NOC to ***********.
- He spoke with client and to have them call him if *********** calls again.

** **
12/30/2014 | 5:01 PM MST

CANCEL PENDING
Texted ****** Mr. Santo *****' primary phone number.
- He is going to call the customer.
- According to ******, he sent in the notice of cancellation to *********** on this customer's behalf.
Please follow up with ******.

****
10/14/2014 | 12:07 PM MDT

Happy Call
-Completed
-File Uploaded

 

It is unfortunate that the customer was not happy with the fact that she is legally bound to the contract which she signed, but yes, her questions were answered.

In sum:

The BBB’s last email to us requested us to “Please send in an additional response that addresses the issues above. Please keep in mind the reason the individual is asking to cancel and the communication error that seems to of occurred during the SALES PRESENTATION”:

We have kept in mind what you have requested; the results of our investigation and the notes on this customer’s account above, along with the supporting documentation we are attaching, do not support the claim that there was a communication error - neither in the sales presentation by ****** *****, nor in the subsequent calls/interactions between GHS and the customer.

Please advise, and thank you for your time.

1/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November13th I was approached by two GHS salesman.After saying no to their security system twice they added that the first two months of service would be free.so I agreed to their services. I gave them two checks they asked for because they would need proof for their headquarters.One check was voided n they said they wouldn't cash in the other check till after the two free months were over.Everything was going great till I tried to pay my electricity bill but didn't have enough money in my bank account.I checked my account and one of the checks I wrote out was cashed in on November 21st.Because of this I was unable to pay my electricity bill which ended up getting disconnected.I called the company and they said that I would be receiving a rebate check for the check that was cashed.I left it like that and continued on.Well I got paid on December 16th and checked my account before I went to pay my bills and noticed that GHS had withdrawn yet another payment the very same day I got paid.Later that day I called them and told them I wanted to terminate service due to the fact that the contract should be voided because I never received my two free months in fact I had been charged twice within a month.They told me I would need to talk to a manager which wouldn't be in till 3:30 pm of the next day.The next day we were able to speak to a manger after 3 times of being put on hold and being hung up on.The manager I spoke to was named ****** out of the Fresno ca office.She was the most rude manager I have ever spoken too.Nothing was solved in fact we argued a bit.She is the only manager I know who has never apologized for what my family has gone through and had the nerve to argue with us which was very unprofessional.We turned to GHS to protect our family and instead ironically they're stealing from our bank account!Our first payment shouldn't had to be paid till January of 2015 so I dont know why they are taking money from a family of six,this has just been such a stressful situation.

Desired Settlement: I would like our money back and would like to terminate service with GHS.I believe there are terms to breach contract do to the fact that they are taking money out of my bank account without my permission.No one should be robbed of their hard earned money especially from a company that is supposed to protect you.I hope this matter can be resolved.It has been very stressful on our family especially around the holidays because money is tight.

Business Response: We are trying to do everything possible to satisfy this customer, as expressed by our multiple attempts to contact them.
Additionally, although their contract states they are legally responsible for 100% of the outstanding balance on their
account, we are willing to work with them as much as possible and have lowered that amount to 80% of the remainder
of their contract. The contract they signed is legally binding, and if the customer chooses to cancel their contract instead
of work with us on becoming satisfied GHS customers, then they are legally responsible for that amount.
(Contract Attached)
We would like to once again remind the customer, and the BBB, that the reason we have customers sign a 36 month
agreement that we hold them to, is because all of the equipment and installation is provided to our customers free of
upfront cost. If we made it a common occurrence to simply let customers out of their contracts because they claim to be
“not aware” of not being able to cancel the contract after 3 days (even though we have physical proof – their initials on
the executed contract which clearly states any customer is responsible for 100% of the balance of their account if not
cancelled within the 3 Day Right Period), our company would not be able to function as a profitable business.
Please review the attached customer account notes and executed contract with GHS, and consider our response and the
fact that we are willing and able to do as much as possible to satisfy this customer, within the legal confines that the
executed contract sets forth. If no resolution can be made, we are happy to cancel the customer’s contract, but the
customer is still responsible for the balance (now lower amount: 80%) of the contract term.
(Customer Account Notes Attached)

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

Please find attached our response to this customer's complaint. We have included the following:

-GHS' Response to Complaint
-Customer's Account Notes
-Customer's Executed Contract with GHS (clearly states 36 month term)

Thank you,

****** *******
GHS Security

12/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

We hired GHS alarm system. WE were not aware of not being able to cancel the contract we haven't even had it one month and they will not help us. The alarm system is pretty much useless to us because we are always home! So really we do not need it we have no use for it. WE have tried to reason with them on the matter and they just do not want to help come to a medium resolution with us. please help. The address we have for the business was provided by ******* ***z a GHS Representative they told us that is the Central Office.

Desired Settlement: Suspend my contract. even if we may have to pay a small fee.

Business Response: Please find attached our response in .PDF format, along with a copy of the customer's executed contract.Thank you,****** *******GHS Security

Business Response: Please find attached our response in .PDF format, along with a copy of the customer's executed contract.Thank you,****** *******GHS Security

Business Response: We would like to preface this response by stating that the reason we have customers sign a 36 month agreement that we hold them to, is because of the equipment and installation is provided to our customers free of upfront cost. We have over $1500 invested in this customer, and if we made it a common occurrence to simply let our customers out of their contracts because they claim to be “not aware” of not being able to cancel the contract after 3 days (even though we have physical proof – their initials on the executed contract which clearly states a customer is responsible for 80% of the balance of their account if not cancelled within the 3 Day Right Period), our company would not be able to function as a profitable business. The customer, Gloria Lucio (and spouse, J ********* *******) states “we haven’t even had it one month and they will not help us. The alarm system is pretty much useless to us because we are always home! So really we do not need it we have no use for it. WE have tried to reason with them on the matter and they just do not want to help come to a medium resolution with us” If this customer feels that the alarm system is “useless” simply because they are always home, then this customer had every right to cancel within the 3 Day Right, which is clearly stated in the contract the executed. Additionally, if the customer did not originally want an alarm system, why did they sign up for one? It is not the fault of GHS that this customer decided to change their mind; by executing a legal and binding contract with GHS, they are legally responsible to pay off the account upon their decision to cancel. Regarding the “they will not help us” statement: In the highlighted customer account notes below (see attached), it is blatantly apparent that this statement is simply not true. Our Administrative Team has made the following attemps to help the customer, per the customer’s account notes below: ·        Made 3 Happy Calls to this customer to ensure their satisfaction with GHS ·        Mailed a follow-up Happy Call Letter in addition to the phone calls ·        One day after the customer requested a cancellation, a GHS representative received no answer and left a message. We can and are willing to do whatever it takes to make this customer happy. Please review the applicable highlighted account notes for this customer, which illustrate our attempt to communicate to the customer that even though they claim the BBB told them they “legally have 30 days” in which to cancel, the reality of the situation is that the customer executed a legal agreement with GHS (attached) which holds them to be responsible for 80% of the balance due if not cancelled within the 3 Day Right: The customer stated that as a resolution, they would like us cancel the contract even if they have to pay a small fee: “Suspend my contract. Even if we may have to pay a small fee”. We are happy to cancel the contract, but the customer is still responsible for 80% of the contract term. Please work with us to remove this complaint from our record as we work hard to maintain our rating with the BBB and continuously strive to maintain excellent relationships with both our customers and consumers. Thank you, Gordon Johnson gjohnson@ghssecurity.com GHS Interactive Securtiy LLC Cell: ###-###-####

Consumer Response: We have received calls to which ****** ***** told the rep I do not speak English and they said we will call back and they never did and we have never received and correspondence from you...furthermore my home was already equipped with the alarm system and all we got was the main screen panel and your more than welcome to come get it from the house.. when my husband magdaleno spoke with you he told you he didn't wanna pay so much for the cancelation and asked if there was anyway you can help him out and lower it  and he was threatened with collection or he would be taken to court. We shouldn't have to pay this much and for that we do not accept your resolution. If I canceled now or three days after the contract was signed you would still be $1500.00 invested so please do not use that as an excuse.

Business Response: Attached please find our 2nd response to the customer, along with notes and supporting documents as .PDF files.

Thank you,
****** *******
GHS Security

Business Response:

Based on notes in this customer's account, GHS has provided the following equipment/services for Ms. ***** and Mr. ******* (equipment list also attached as .PDF): Glassbreak Sensor Smoke Detector Door Contact Touchscreen Keypad Cellular Module Comission Installation Fees Data Entry & Administrative Costs All of the equipment is now used, and cannot be resold for profit by GHS. If this customer would have cancelled within their 3 Day RIght (as stated in the contract, legally binding, which they signed) GHS would have been responsible for 100% of the cost of the equipment and services we already provided, and would have accepted this responsibility without any hesitation because of the legally binding contract that both parties executed. ?In the same fashion, although the contract states the customer is legally responsible for 100% of the outstanding balance on their account, we are willing to work with them as much as possible and have lowered the amount to 80% of the remainder of their contract. The contract they signed is legally binding, and if the customer chooses to cancel their contract instead of work with us on becoming satisfied GHS customers, then they are legally responsible for that amount. (Equipment list Attached) The customer also states that "We have received calls to which Gloria ***** told the rep I do not speak English and they said we will call back and they never did and we have never received any correspondence from you" - we have added a note in the customer's account to have a Spanish-speaking GHS Administrative Team member call the customer, and offer a free technician visit in order to come out to their home for a Product & Services Training, free of charge. We are willing to do whatever possible (within the confines of the legally binding contract) in order to satisfy this customer. (Customer Account Notes Attached) In addition, it should be noted that we have a descriptive, interactive GHS website (through our Interactive Platform, powered by Alarm.com) which is shown to our customer's during installation in order to help them learn about the 100% Spanish and available 24/7, for our Spanish Speaking customers: https://www.alarm.com/US/GHSInteractiveSecurity-ca (Interactive Website Print Screen Attached) We would like to once again remind the customer, and the BBB, that the reason we have customers sign a 36 month agreement that we hold them to, is because all of the equipment and installation is provided to our customers free of upfront cost. If we made it a common occurrence to simply let customers out of their contracts because they claim to be "not aware" of not being able to cancel the contract after 3 days (even though we have physical proof - their initials on the executed contract which clearly states any customer is responsible for 100% of the balance of their account if not cancelled within the 3 Day Right Period), our company would not be able to function as profitable business. Please review the attached equipment list and website screenshot, and consider our response and the fact that we are willing and able to do as much as possible to satisfy this customer, within the legal confines that the executed contract sets forth. If no resolution can be made, we are happy to cancel the customer's contract, but the customer is still responsible for balance (now lower amount: 80%) of the contract term. Please work with us to remove this complaint from our record as we work hard to maintain our rating with the BBB and continuously strive to maintain excellent relationships with both our customers and other consumers. Thank you, ****** ******* ************************ GHS Interactive Security LLC cell: ***** ********

Business Response:

Based on notes in this customer's account, GHS has provided the following equipment/services for Ms. ***** and Mr. ******* (equipment list also attached as .PDF): Glassbreak Sensor Smoke Detector Door Contact Touchscreen Keypad Cellular Module Comission Installation Fees Data Entry & Administrative Costs All of the equipment is now used, and cannot be resold for profit by GHS. If this customer would have cancelled within their 3 Day RIght (as stated in the contract, legally binding, which they signed) GHS would have been responsible for 100% of the cost of the equipment and services we already provided, and would have accepted this responsibility without any hesitation because of the legally binding contract that both parties executed. ?In the same fashion, although the contract states the customer is legally responsible for 100% of the outstanding balance on their account, we are willing to work with them as much as possible and have lowered the amount to 80% of the remainder of their contract. The contract they signed is legally binding, and if the customer chooses to cancel their contract instead of work with us on becoming satisfied GHS customers, then they are legally responsible for that amount. (Equipment list Attached) The customer also states that "We have received calls to which Gloria ***** told the rep I do not speak English and they said we will call back and they never did and we have never received any correspondence from you" - we have added a note in the customer's account to have a Spanish-speaking GHS Administrative Team member call the customer, and offer a free technician visit in order to come out to their home for a Product & Services Training, free of charge. We are willing to do whatever possible (within the confines of the legally binding contract) in order to satisfy this customer. (Customer Account Notes Attached) In addition, it should be noted that we have a descriptive, interactive GHS website (through our Interactive Platform, powered by Alarm.com) which is shown to our customer's during installation in order to help them learn about the 100% Spanish and available 24/7, for our Spanish Speaking customers: https://www.alarm.com/US/GHSInteractiveSecurity-ca (Interactive Website Print Screen Attached) We would like to once again remind the customer, and the BBB, that the reason we have customers sign a 36 month agreement that we hold them to, is because all of the equipment and installation is provided to our customers free of upfront cost. If we made it a common occurrence to simply let customers out of their contracts because they claim to be "not aware" of not being able to cancel the contract after 3 days (even though we have physical proof - their initials on the executed contract which clearly states any customer is responsible for 100% of the balance of their account if not cancelled within the 3 Day Right Period), our company would not be able to function as profitable business. Please review the attached equipment list and website screenshot, and consider our response and the fact that we are willing and able to do as much as possible to satisfy this customer, within the legal confines that the executed contract sets forth. If no resolution can be made, we are happy to cancel the customer's contract, but the customer is still responsible for balance (now lower amount: 80%) of the contract term. Please work with us to remove this complaint from our record as we work hard to maintain our rating with the BBB and continuously strive to maintain excellent relationships with both our customers and other consumers. Thank you, Gordon Johnson gjohnson@ghssecurity.com GHS Interactive Security LLC cell: ###-###-####

Consumer Response: We would like to tell you we have come to a personal agreement with the technicians that visited our home and we would like to dismiss our complaint thank you for all your work

Consumer Response: We would like to tell you we have come to a personal agreement with the technicians that visited our home and we would like to dismiss our complaint thank you for all your work

11/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I and my husband had a very bad experience with this company.first of all the sales rep came to the door and promised that this is the best system and we will not have any issues using it and we will have a good service, which was never true. After the system was installed the sensors kept falling of and when we called the company they wanted to charge us for the technician to come and fix their mistake.they never accepted that is their responsibility to take care of it,they just sign you up with 3 months free and after its your responsibility. My husband got frustrated with the situation and called in to cancel the whole thing but they would ask us to pay 1370 dollars, which is ridiculous for the service that we received throughout this experience.my husband offered them a settlement amount but they said no and made it sound that we will be in trouble and sent to collections.

Desired Settlement: Company comes and takes their equipment for our house and cancels the contract.

Business Response: We would like to preface this response by stating that the reason we have customers sign a 36 month agreement that 
we hold them to, is because all of the equipment and installation is provided to our customers free of upfront cost. We 
have over $1500 invested in this customer, and if we made it a common occurrence to simply let customers out of their 
contracts because they claim to be “unsatisfied” after our numerous attempts to please them, our company would not 
be able to function as a profitable business. Our competitors quite often “coach” customers into situations such as this, 
trying to pick apart our company. Regardless, we have still offered this customer several opportunities to have a 
technician come out to fix the problems they claim to be having for free, yet the customer has unreasonably denied us 
the opportunity to make them happy. We can and are willing to do whatever it takes to make this customer happy.
Regarding the customer’s equipment issue: they state in their BBB Complaint that “After the system was installed the 
sensors kept falling off.” We have had thousands of systems installed and this is NOT a common occurrence; we find this 
statement to be fairly suspicious. Nevertheless, it should be stated again that we have continually offered to have a 
technician visit their residence to fix whatever issues they have had, free of charge, only to be denied the opportunity.
The customer, **** ******, is stating that she wishes to terminate her contract with GHS. She states that “My husband 
got frustrated with the situation and called in to cancel the whole thing but they would ask us to pay 1370 dollars” - this 
is true; GHS has provided a service to this customer, the customer has signed a contract with us, we have done all we 
could do to make the customer happy and per the legal contract that the customer signed, they are legally responsible 
to pay off the account upon their decision to cancel (which does not comply with the contract they signed). We can and 
are willing to do whatever it takes to make this customer happy.
Per the customer’s account notes below (and attached .PDF):
• GHS has made multiple technician visits (free of charge) to the customer’s residence to repair equipment
• GHS has replaced and repaired the faulty equipment (free of charge) and 
• GHS is now offering the customer a discounted opt-out of what is due on their account should they decide to 
terminate their contract, 80% of their total instead of 100%, 
• The above illustrates that even though we have done everything we can on our end to satisfy the customer, she 
still insists upon cancelling 
• The customer has refused our multiple attempts and offers
• The customer has declined any opportunity to honor the contract they have signed with GHS
• The customer signed a contract with GHS that states that if the account is cancelled within 36 months, they will 
be liable for the amount due on the account. They were made aware of this and presented this fact in writing, 
on their copy of the contract, from Day 1.
Please review these highlighted notes which record the multiple attempts we have made to make this customer happy 
& satisfied, to no avail and no fault of ours:

We believe that someone working with our competition may be coaching this customer on how to try and get out of 
their contract. The customer has no reason to be so unsatisfied, as you can see from our notes on the account and 
actions the past month we have done everything possible to satisfy this individual.
The customer stated that as resolution, they would like us to take back our equipment and cancel the contract. “…comes 
and takes their equipment for our house and cancels the contract.” We are happy to cancel the contract, but the 
customer is still responsible for 80% of the contract term.
Please work with us to remove this complaint from our record as we work hard to maintain our A+ rating with the BBB 
and continuously strive to maintain excellent relationships with both our customers and other consumers.

10/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Per my contract with GHS, if they are unable to provide me service then the contract is void. I am moving to a location where they will no longer be able to provide a service for me. However when I contact them they only response I received was to transfer the service to a friend of family. This ins not an option. They said my only other option was to pay out the rest of the contract, which is not a prorated amount, but instead the exact amount as if I was to continue service.I was told my concerns were forwarded to management and someone would be reaching out to me.A few days later I received an e-mail stating that they just wanted to follow up with me because they heard *** ***** had spoken with me and that I was happy to keep my system. None of this is true. I nobody from GHS had even attempted to reach out to me. I replied explaining that I never spoke with a ** ***** and that I am still waiting to hear from someone at GHS.This has not been going on for several weeks and they are no longer responding to my e-mails and I have no solution.

Desired Settlement: Because my contract stated that if GHS can no longer provide me service my contract is voided, I would like just that, my contract voided.

Business Response: Please find our response and resolution to this customer’s complaint, below.

The customer states that “if they are unable to provide me
service then the contract is void.” This is a true statement, but GHS is
WILLING and ABLE to provide this customer with security services at his new
place of residence. Based on the customer’s statements below which we have
received via email and are attached to this response, it seems the customer is
moving back in with his parents and it is not a matter of GHS being able to
provide security services to the customer/customer’s parents based on where
they reside geographically; it is an issue of them not wanting such services.
In this case, the 36-month contract the customer signed takes precedence over
his (or his parent’s) wishes not have a GHS security system, thus not honoring
the contract ***** ****** has signed with GHS.

A history of our emailed correspondence (newest to oldest)
is pasted below as well as attached as a .PDF to this response. Please work
with us to remove this complaint from our record as we work hard to maintain
our A+ rating with the BBB and continuously strive to maintain excellent
relationships with both our customers and other consumers.

 --

 ***** ****** Final response, Email time/date stamped 9/16/2014 1:12 PM PST:

 “While I appreciate you reaching out to me on this issue, I
wish the communication within GHS would be a little better.  I have
explained multiple times now, that option 1 is not possible because where I am
moving, installing the alarm system is not possible.  As for option 2, I
have no problem giving you the equipment back.  However even with a
$250  credit applied to the original quote I received from ******* ******,
that puts me at $1153.74 that I would be paying for service I will not receive.
And according to my contract I should be paying nothing.  The way your
company is trying to squeeze me for money for services I will not receive is
surprising and shameful.” Email time/date stamped 9/16/2014 1:12 PM PST

GHS response, Email time/date stamped Tue, Sep 16, 2014 at 11:28 AM PST:

 “Good morning *** ******,
 
Thank you for your emails and I have spoken with *******
*******, whom you have corresponded with.   I am in the Dallas office
this week and have been informed of your concern.  I apologize for any
inconvenience and thank you for relaying the details in your previous
emails.  My goal is to find options in reaching a symbiotic
solution.  The security industry operates on agreements like our (GHS) 3
year term or in the case of some of our competitors, a 5 year agreement. 
The structure of the agreement enables us to protect homes like yours at
affordable rates without compromising the level of service or quality of
equipment; a commitment which we value from a provider and consumer standpoint.

Our move policy enables us to keep you protected without
extending the life of your contract, a true financial benefit to our clients
whom choose to relocate.  I understand that you are moving and as stated,
you do enjoy the benefits of the system.  We are able to provide services
geographically in your new location, which is the defining factor of the
policy.

I respectfully submit the following two options; offered as
concessions and both are outside GHS obligations.  

Option #1

We will move your system and despite being in the first year
of your agreement, GHS will waive the $99 fee. The free move is usually
contingent on being in service for at least 12 months.  We will also
provide an additional Door / Window sensor at no charge as a further concession
in the new location.

Option #2

If we are able to retrieve the existing equipment, we will
reduce your termination fee by $250 and release you from the balance of
contract after payment of the reduced amount.

 Please review at your convenience and thank you for your
consideration.”

 ***** ****** response, Email time/date stamped 9/16/2014m 10:54 AM PST

“I will be moving in to my parents’ house and they are not
interested in having an alarm system installed.”

GHS Response, Email time/date stamped On Tue, Sep 16, 2014 at 10:20 AM PST

“*****,

Thank you so much for taking the time to respond, I greatly appreciate your
assistance with helping us get to the bottom of the matter.

We are working on resolving this now; may I first ask, why will GHS “not be able to
install an alarm system” at the place you are moving to?

Again, thank you for your time. We are doing everything we can to make sure you’re a
satisfied customer.”

***** ****** Response, Email time/date stamped 6/16/2014 8:17 AM PST

“I'm not sure why my account shows I have spoke with multiple employees at
GHS.  The only person I have had any communication with is ******* ******,
who has sent me a few e-mails.  Basically my issue is I need to move, the
place I am moving you will not be able to install a alarm system. 
According to my contract, if GHS is unable to service me them my contract is
void.  I don't understand why this is such a issue to deal with.  I
enjoy the convenience of my alarm system and being able to control it and my thermostat
from my phone.  I will probably get another system once I am able
too.  But I don't know if I want to go back to GHS with the way this
situation is being handled.  And for the record, I was scheduled to
install an *** security system (for less money) but canceled it the day before
and went with GHS because the rep that I spoke with was very courteous, and
helpful.  But I am beginning to regret that as well.”

GHS initial response to consumer, directly in response to review, On Mon, Sep 15, 2014 at 11:28 PM PST

“Dear *****,

I am writing from the office of the Executive Vice President of Customer Care at
GHS in an effort to rectify the problems you are experiencing. At GHS, we
sincerely do our best to ensure the happiness and satisfaction of our
customers, and I am very sorry that this is not the case at the moment, ***
******. I do hope to change that.

You recently, today, posted reviews of GHS on both the BBB and Yelp websites; I
sincerely apologize for the issues you are facing and am writing on behalf of the
EVP of Customer Care to swiftly rectify any problems you may be facing as a
customer of GHS.

We are willing to do whatever is necessary in order to address your concerns and
ensure your happiness and satisfaction as a customer. I do see notes on your account
that indicate that multiple GHS employees have been in contact with you - both
verbally and via email - as well as *** *****, whom you mention in your review,
regarding your concerns. It seems that there may be a lapse of communication
between GHS representatives and yourself when it comes to how you are
discerning your GHS contract I apologize for that completely.

Thank you so much for your time; I hope you are able to respond back to me so we can
work together to fix the problem and satisfy you as a customer and consumer.

I eagerly await your response and hope to rectify this situation as soon as
possible.

My apologies,

******* **”

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
GHS is stating that the reason my contract is still void is because they are willing and able to install the alarm system at my parents house. I do not have the authority to permit them to do this. Essentially they are saying I will not allow them to install the system. But its not up to me, its not my property. They have not made any effort to compromise. They are requesting the full dollar amount of the contract even though they will not have the cost in providing services. They haven't offer a prorated termination fee, the best they have offered is to take the equipment back and give a $250 discount off the full contract price. This will leave me with holes in my wall, and no thermostat for the AC unit. These things would have to be fixed/replaced before I leave. Im not asking for them to let me out of the contract free and clear, but I would hope they would at least give me a prorated termination fee as they would no need to pay ********* for the monitoring service for the next 2 years.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

Please find below a summary of recent contact by the customer, as well as what we have personally/privately responded to ***** ****** as a hopeful resolution to his issue, below:

--
 
GHS Sent to ***** ****** Wed 9/24/2014 9:00 PM:

“The [GHS] move policy was outlined in your welcome packet
brochure; we are happy to re-send it to you (the documents mentioned in this
response are being mailed out tomorrow, 9/25).  The issue we are
addressing [with you] is not regarding a “move”, but an early cancellation of
your contract. However, we will go ahead and send you our brochure which
indicates a “free move after 12 months of service.” We will also have copies of
your executed documents sent via US mail tomorrow from your local office. 
 
Please note that we are offering this despite your GHS system
not being in the location listed on your contract for a full 12 months. 
 
As you know, the low down payment we offered is designed to
enable you to install our equipment, which GHS then pays back many times
your monthly payment. 

Our Costs:

We do not use re-provisioned equipment, so all new
panels and sensors are paid up front by GHS. 
The GHS technician who installed your system also paid
for by GHS, and must be compensated for his time and vehicle costs, which
is owned and operated by GHS, and is also a direct cost to us.
In addition, the GHS sales representatives who
presented you with this opportunity are paid on commission; again, to keep
initial costs down for you, our customer.
 
In essence, our model is frontloaded with costs to us as a
company, and year 3 is often the point where we break even.  When the
retail value of equipment and labor is paid by the client, your assessment in
the email below applies.  But this is NOT the case with regards to your
account, and our 3 year term is often shorter than that of our competitors, who
typically have contract lengths of 5 years. 
 
In addition, *********, UL Monitoring and Service Expenses are
also associated with our cost structure, but are not a significant factor in
the front loading of expenses being discussed so early in a contractual term.”
 
--
Sent by ***** ****** to GHS on Wednesday, September 24, 2014 6:08 PM

"Yes can you please forward me the documentation stating that
contract was referring to geography.  Preferably a copy of the version I
signed.  What I don't understand, is assuming you have to pay ********* for the monitoring service, and that is
built into my monthly bill, why is it that you can even offer me a
prorated termination fee if you will not be paying them for the monitoring
service.  The moment I turn off service, your overhead on my service
becomes $0.  Anything extra I give you as a termination fee is just
profit.  I would think in the interest of saving a customer for the future
you guys would be somewhat flexible.  What would your profit be if I
continued service for the rest of the term?  I'm sure if you just made
that the ETF it would cost much less plus be easier for both parties to
swallow.  Initially I just wanted to put my service on hold until I was
able to move back out of my parents house, but I was told that was
impossible.  You guys should really try to be somewhat flexible with your
customers.  It is possible to be flexible and still keep up your profits."

--

Please work with us to remove this complaint from our record as we work hard to maintain our A+ rating with the BBB and continuously strive to maintain excellent relationships with both our customers and other consumers.

-GHS

8/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 11,2014 I approach by a saleperson in my neighbor that I needed to change my alarm systembecause criminals are cutting phone wire. He told me everything would be free the equipment and advation fee would be waive if I purchased today. I got the new security.The saleperson was suppose to contact ADT with a letter that I was going with a new provider it did not happen.I have tried to contact them several times they have not return my call it sneaky practice they are trying to charge me an adviate fee 299.00.Iwant them to redo the contract.Thanks******* ******

Desired Settlement: Iwould like for them to redo the contract and we can discuss the matter.

Business Response: Response:

Please find our response and resolution to this customer’s complaint, below.

The customer stated that as resolution, they would like their contract re-done. We have issued a rebate of the $299 activation fee as the customer requested.

In addition to resolving the situation as described above, there has been some discrepancy on what the customer has communicated to GHS. The customer initially stated in their complaint that a sales person in their neighborhood would provide them with free equipment and a waived activation fee if the system was purchased that same day. This was not the case. We have spoken with the sales representative that sold to this customer and he stated that the customer completely understood there was a $299 activation and that he made a call to the customer on the 21st or 22nd to explain that the fee was NOT waived, and that the customer stated that they were fine with that.

However (and this is why we have rebated the $299 fee) our sales representative made a second call later that week and got a totally different response from the customer, stating that he had “no recollection” of ever speaking with us. Our representative again explained everything the same way he did the first time, but the customer didn't want anything to do with the deal which is why we have credited them back the $299 activation.

We are complying with the consumers wishes, and there is no reason for this complaint to be on our BBB record as we have successfully resolved the situation specifically as the consumer desired, regardless of the miscommunication we received on the customer’s end. We are happy to provide recorded phone calls of the above incidents if needed.

Please work with us to remove this complaint from our record as we work hard to maintain our A+ rating with the BBB and continuously strive to maintain excellent relationships with both our customers and other consumers!

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Thank you BB for intervening the company did redo the contract. Some of the things they mention was not true but the matter has been resolve.

 
thanks
******* ******

7/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales agent under supervision of Commercial Account Manager **** ****** did the following1. Misrepresented company initially as associated with our current security company, Guardian. It was only later as paperwork was being filled out that they admitted they were in competition with our current security system company, Guardian when we questioned the new contract time and we still had an existing contract with our current company so this didn't make sense.2. Misrepresented the reason for visit, in the early evening by the way, as due to a necessary upgrade because Galt City ordinance was to change and police would no longer respond to alarm calls unless a speaker/ camera system was installed or we provided a private security company hired by us to verify the alarm as legitimate and not an accidental false alarm. We called police next day and found this to be untrue.3. Assured us that the credit check would be soft and it indeed turned out (as I was alerted by email) to be a hard inquiry that goes on my credit record for two years and can lower my credit score.4. Their visit was late not allowing us to phone - checking and verifying information as it was after normal business hours.

Desired Settlement: 1. The hard inquiry be removed from my credit report.2. The contract be cancelled with no fuss as I faxed and mailed the cancellation form (return receipt requested) all on 6/19/2014.3. No further sales contact be made with us4. A public notice be available on the BBB website outlining the complaint and resulting outcome (solution). 4. No payments be collected through my bank as result of voided check they received

Business Response: Please find our response and resolution to this customer’s complaint, below.

The customer states:

1)     “**** ****** misrepresented the company.” **** ****** did follow up with the plaintiff whom stated that they could not entirely remember what **** said that was misleading, and that he is a victim of stroke.  Unfortunate, but that his memory is affected.  We feel this was misunderstanding and not misrepresentation.

2)     “Misrepresented reason for visit.” Same as #1, above.  The reason for the visit was to obtain new business for GHS within field sales guidelines set forth in our policies and procedures.  Again, we feel this was miscommunication of details, not manipulation of fact.

3)      “Assured us the credit check would be soft…but turned out to be a hard inquiry.” GHS has filed a Credit Reversal with Trans-union and will be sending written documentation to the customer indicating there will be no charges nor changes to their account. It is unfortunate that there was this misunderstanding, but charges are being reversed.

4)     “Their visit was late…not allowing us to phone to check/verify information.” GHS offices are open until 9:00 PM PST; while we are unable to verify the time of this event, we do not allow our employees to knock on consumer’s doors after 8:30 PM (in compliance with municipal guidelines) which means our offices were still open and did not receive a call to verify credibility. We will reiterate to our employees and marketing contractors all municipal guidelines, and remind them to remain compliant and also allow for verification with local office during staffed hours.  Apology has been extended to the customer via phone call.

The customer indicates that they want the following in order to settle the situation, which we have done:

1)     “Hard inquiry be removed from credit report.” Done and verified with the credit union today, written documentation to be sent to the customer.

2)     “Contract be cancelled.” The customer was cancelled with no penalties the moment we became aware of the request.

3)     “No further sales be done with us.” We have made note of the customer’s name and address in our Customer Relationship Software to ensure that no GHS representative initiates contact with this customer again.

4)     “No payments be collected through my bank.” No payments have been collected from this customer from GHS.

We are complying with the consumers wishes, and there is no reason for this complaint to be on our BBB record as we have successfully resolved the situation specifically as the
consumer desired. In addition, this person is not a customer of our business and this complaint should not reflect negatively on our company as it is not a true representation of how we serve our customers.

Please work with us to remove this complaint from our record as we work hard to maintain our A+ rating with the BBB and continuously strive to maintain excellent relationships with both our customers and other consumers!

4/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Incredibly rude and overly persistent sales people. They came by way late (near 9pm) in the evening waking my children up. Flat out rude and discourteous sales people. Had two salespeople come by in 24 hours after telling them both we didn't want them at our house. Even after telling him to leave, he just stood there and started going into another sales pitch.

Desired Settlement: Stop soliciting at my house!

Business Response:

The consumer making this complaint is NOT a customer of ours and does not do business with us. Our company and our sales rep technically did not do anything wrong; they were just doing their job and were in compliance with any neighborhood sanctions regarding door-knocking.

Please work with us to remove this complaint from our account as we work hard to maintain our A+ rating with the BBB and continuously strive to maintain excellent relationships with both our customers and other consumers alike.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

There is clarification needed on my part in regards to the complaint. The salesperson came by twice in a 24 hour period even though he was requested to not solicit again. He violated our request to not solicit. That is not in compliance with neighborhood soliciting guidelines.

Sincerely,

****

3/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 13,2014 A mini van wrapped with GHS dropped off salesmen at 830pm. That is way too late for professional business to work. The salesman that came to my house was talking loud enough for anyone with a window open to hear. After telling salesman I already have a system, he tries to talk down my system, which is actually the same quality as their system. Again 830pm in my neighborhood is usually time for little kids to be going to sleep, not doorbell ringing.

Desired Settlement: send out flyers instead of people going door to door. Use USPS or have door to door man hang flyers on doors.

Business Response:

The consumer making this complaint is NOT a customer of ours and does not do business with us. Our company and our sales rep technically did not do anything wrong; the consumers opinion of what is “professional” shouldn't affect our BBB rating. Our sales reps were just doing their job and were in compliance with any neighborhood sanctions regarding door-knocking. In addition, we do have a direct-mail campaign that we use to market the company to consumers as well, but the majority of our customers are signed up by our door to door sales reps.

 

Please work with us to remove this complaint from our record as we work hard to maintain our A+ rating with the BBB and continuously strive to maintain excellent relationships with both our customers and other consumers.

12/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a contract for an alarm system that Was installed in my home. The house burned down and the alarm system is now gone. I was billed for the next month of service after the fire june 18th 2013, but was able to suspend the service until the house is rebuilt and a new alarm installed. Please not that the alarm was mostly pre installed in my home and lifeline only supplied the main keypad and a smoke alarm. This month nov 2013 billing started again. I have not had the home fully rebuilt or an alarm installed yet. I contacted the service (monitronics) who then connected me back to lifeline securities. The were to call me back Tuesday nov 19th it is now the 27th and (**** who I was told would call) has not. Monitronics refuses to suspend or cancel service, lifeline will not get back to me on suspending service or installing a new complete system that includes the pre wired sysem the "pirated" off of. However I was told for 80 percent of the contract cost I could cancel. That 54.99 per month times three years. Over 1500 dollars from a fire caused by an act of god to cancel or 54.99 a month for services I am not receiving. either case is a blunt disrespect and greedy factor. I was also told That when the sysem is installed it would only cover 2 doors and three windows on a wireless set up. My previous install was hard wired 12 windows 4 doors. so they can not even re install what I had if they wanted to.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would request that 1. service is cancelled and contract removed without any further charges or 2. service suspended with out charges until the house is rebuilt and has a working alarm in it( est. jan / feb 2014), the 3 months of charges that were automatically withdrawled from my bank account be refunded, and new alarm be equal to what I had to include all doors and windows plus fire alarm.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response
This complaint has been resloved by the company with above satisfactory results from customer service.

12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told upon signing with GHS that I would be refunded the penalty charges from monitronics for switching. I would not have switch if there was no refund. I have called numerous times and wish the last conversation. I was told the check was in the mail. Never came 0 further calls, just went to voice mail. This is fraud, saying there is a rebate and failing to follow through. I would like my rebate and for others to be warned. There is a Fresno Office, but it doesn't appear on the invoice. The peanalty was paid by my credit card and is highlighted.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Send me a check for $349.54 from GHS and warn others.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Thank you for following up. I think my Admin explained our emails had changed and one person in our company received it, but I didn't to follow up. I did find that ********** was mailed to Mrs. ***** on 11/4 for $349.54. Per our bank records, the check has been cashed, so we are confident Mrs. ***** should be satisfied at this time. If you need any more information, please do not hestitate to call me. Thank you, **** ******

9/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are at odds because I need to cancel the contract. I think I am within the tree days. They say I am not. Please check the conflicting dates. 1.We started the contract on July 18. we completed the signing of the contract July 22, 2013. Other conflicting dates. GHS theft guarantee 07/22/13. 2. alarm certificate 7/14/13 changed to 07/22/13. 3. Welcome to alarm.com 07/19/13 to 07/22/2013 Schedule of Protection & Services. 07/18/13 is incomplete (items) 6,7,8,9 & 10. After mailing the letter of cancellation, I phone to speak to the CEO of the company. I was told he would be in around noon. I asked for a return call. To this date that has not happened. They gave the info. to the installer & he called gain saying there was nothing he could do.

Desired Settlement: TO cancel the agreement!

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We spoke with Mrs. ***** and removed her system for her. We voided her agreement and refunded her the month of monitoring she had paid. She agreed to pay the install fee of $99 and was very content that things were handled in the way we did. She also said she would withdraw her complaint.

9/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The salesmen pushed me to sign up before telling me the exact cost. ON 8/8/13 I was at a friends house when the door to door salesman came by and introduced this product i asked if they were in my area and they said yes. the salesman i was dealing with was new so he called in someone else that was in the neighborhood this new person named ***** came in the home and tried to sell us on the product which i was impressed with. ***** pushed me to sign up with them which in turn caused the other salesman to go through the entire presentation and all the paperwork with me after I had already informed them that i had to discuss the matter with my husband before i could accept anything. I was pressured to give out my social # and address just so they could tell me the price for what i was told would be a free installation. Later that night i called and cancelled the installation as my husband was upset i had signed up without his input. After cancelling I realized this company now has my social and my address but what upset me the most was ***** then called me and was rude to me for cancelling even after i had explained the situation. I guess he didn't understand that i couldn't afford to pay $170.00 to start and then pay $50 a month. Times are harder than i thought and it just doesn't fit our budget but that does not mean this employee has the right to call and harass me after he pressured me into signing up to begin with. I fell this company should really see what there salesman are up to because i had to give all my info before they could give me a price now i feel like i have no security for my own credit. The salesman that gave me the run down i believe his name was ***** he was nice but new and kinda just went with what ***** said. You probably shouldn't have people like ***** going door to door. i don't want anyone else to have to deal with this i feel i was taken advantage of all while trying to find out about security for my home and family.

Desired Settlement: I do not wish to receive settlement for this just the satisfaction that hopefully my personal information was destroyed or that it be returned to me to destroy.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We spoke with Ms. ********* and assured her all her documentation had been shredded and destroyed as we do with all cancelled accounts. She was very satisfied and actually said when she could work the system into her budget, she would be calling us back.

7/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The service did not meet the stated level of security. I canceled within the three day limit. The technician cut two plugs off my own system. On May 22nd I signed a service agreement which was to take my cameras, motion detectors, smoke detectors, carbon monoxide monitor, six door sensors and make them accessible to me on my cell phone and computer as well as from the speaker in the house. Without telling me they consolidated all that input to three detection points. Even those were not accessible on my computer as advertised. To get the cancellation to them within the three days my friend drove to the office on Saturday afternoon to find the building and office closed. Through a stroke of luck he was able to enter the building and slip the cancellation notice under their office door. When the technician came to retrieve their equipment, he cut and removed the plugs and transformer which operated my own camera and security system. I called several times to resolve the issue. They have not responded. I can no longer use over $5,000 worth of surveillance items which depended upon MY plugs and transformers.

Desired Settlement: I want them to replace and install my plugs and equipment

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******/Office Manage Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@ghssecurity.com When our sales rep, ***** ***** was in Ms. ************ home filling out paperwork for the install of her security system, she specifically told ***** that her cameras and surveillance equipment was non-operable. She asked if our system would incorporate her cameras and if after our system was installed, would her cameras work? ***** told her no. We sent out our lead technician on 5/30 to help her with a piece of equipment she was having trouble with. At that time, cameras were not working. After she cancelled, our technician, ***** ***** who had done the original install on 5/22, went to remove the equipment from her home. ***** only took what he had previously installed. He did not cut any wires to anything she had existing. The only wire he cut was on our transformer that was plugged into the wall. Ms. ********* called after the removal and asked why he didn't hook back up her old system. Her old system was inoperable and it states in our agreement "If the equipment is removed, I understand that I am responsible for all required repairs to walls and/or frames". It would impossible for us to hook up any other company's system. Security panels have lock codes and cannot be accessed without proper authorization. Ms. ********* had no valid reason to cancel. We honestly believe at this point with the several interactions we have had with her, that she has issues and is incapable of making legal decisions and decided it was better to just remove the system without any further delay. She told our technician and sales reps that she has "booby traps" set up around her house to catch intruders she believes are breaking in and carving out her concrete steps from the inside (?) and trying to poison her coffee with "liquid acid".

Consumer's Final Response
I received my first information on this response by GHS today, when I received a letter the case was resolved w/o letter. I opened the letter after I checked on-line to see how the case was going. I was surprised at the content when I down loaded my case number. I received no letter "Forward Business response to Consumer 6/20/2013" First, I did not tell ***** **** that my cameras were non-operable, and I relied upon them, but did not always have them on. Of course, that would make my "reported" statement, Would my cameras work after you install your system? sound ludicrous. But that is patently untrue. I have some disks taken from my operable camera system during the period at issue, which I would be glad to present to you. **** states that on 5/30, their lead technician come to help me with some equipment I was suppose to be having trouble with. Sounds bad for me. But, the problem was a piece of their equipment which was supposed to take pictures activated by motion. The piece had not been installed. He installed it, and I thought we worked well together, but I did have a finely tuned scope of where a camera would work, and where it would be of no avail. He placed it where I thought best, I have no problem with that--except that when I tried to access the pictures on my MacBook Pro, no image came up, even though there were about five pictures of the technician, and I was supposed to be able to access them while I was traveling. They write as thought I am the problem, but the service did not work as it was said to work. I gave them a great deal of my time, trying to make myself available for their entry, helping them by continually accepting less than what I was promised, but when they could not make it work at all, I had to cancel. They write as though I am the problem, but the service did not work as it was said to work. I gave them a great deal of my time, trying to make myself available for their entry, helping them by continually accepting less than what I was promised, but when they could not make it work at all, I had to cancel. Then I read the personal lible, as a means of discrediting me, and falsifying their testimony...My old system was operable. I did not ask them to hook up my old system. The only part I thought was "broken" until tonight, was the power connection, because the plugs which ran my systems had been cut at the plug.. I will try to copy the draft I wrote, before I close up for the night. I do have more to offer regarding my complaint about GHS Interactive Security. I was to told were given 30 days to respond, so I might start looking at my case on line about June 27th to see what was happening. I looked to find the case closed. 1. I can provide evidence against each statement Mr. ******* made to take an expeditious but scurrilous approach to avoid reprimand. 2. You may find it used by unethical businessmen: Expeditious, egregious slander and libel, to call an older woman with exigent security needs "incompetent", rather than letting the woman have a chance to defend herself. 3. Since he has put my competency at issue, I now request that he back that up with paying for an independent psychological battery of tests. That was a cruel thing to do to someone who has just lost all her security coverage, because they use a new client's existing wiring, to put it out over the internet, so a person can monitor their system from their iphone, or my MacBook Pro,and actually see what is going on in real time. Well, he did not get his system to operate properly (perhaps it was because he was trying to get too much information into three portals.) But, it did not work; and I made every effort to help get it to work, before the three days were up on the trial period. 4. Now I find, that the wires were not mistakenly cut off the power plugs, because they thought the adapters were theirs.(I didn't think the old one from 1992 Brink's could be mistaken for their power supply--they look like tank trucks next to Tonka Toys. But, some people are not that bright, and mistakes do happen.) I went to get photos of the box and key, because Mr. ******* testified that the security panels are code protected so they could not have gotten into the boxes. When I went in to get a photo, and opened the box with the key placed on top, as security companies will do, the adapters, wires, their stripped box, and cover plates fell out on top of me. The entire box was gutted, and stripped of its order. I have pictures of the wires, where their wire was cut in on my system. and that the removal of the plugs by cutting the plugs off, was just vandalism. I was willing to take the holes in the wall, because they explained that in words, and writing. But, the wonton destruction of my existing system, I believe, merits another look, and a new remedy. 5. First my entire system needs to be brought up to the level of function it was at before their company destroyed mine. Next, since he accused me of incompetency, we both be given a serious battery of psychological testing at hiss company's expense. He can have his test of my mental capacity; but how does Mr. ******* treat the world around him? Is it that he is a psychopathic deviant, or is he just a liar? He has gotten you, BBB,, to find in his favor, with no chance for me to rebut his lies he has presented to you. (I was told to check June 27th), and no mail reached me for GHS.) He can obviously manipulate the system, and come across as very likable, even perhaps sympathetic, " sorry for the poor woman who shouldn't be be held to the terms of the contract." (He did not meet the terms of the contract with me, and despite his trying to keep me from canceling on time, he had no legal right to hold me to a contract.(Does that sound like I am "incompetent?") If you look at my evidence, you will find that there was more damage done to my equipment than I could possibly have expected when I first filed the complaint. BBB,I am saddened that General Electric, the company our family has worked with and for for two generations, has its name attached to this corporation. Service, Reliability and Integrity are what gave GE its reputation for Quality Products and Service. I am going to write our new CEO immediately. He has taken GE back on the path our family believed in, and he will appreciate learning what GHS is doing to its customers. The worst of our society come s across like this author, or the persons who conned you. I will show you what me code protected security panel looks like now. 6. P.S. If their case is that my camera system was not working, I have disks taken form my cameras after their installation, but when I went to look at my video display after the man left, the monitor showed, "no signal". It was wireless system in part. The man who removed the power supply did look surprised when I told them that much of my system was wireless. I tried to be nice to *****, and said if he would just fix my power cord, I would not tell his employers. But, instead of treating me with equal courtesy, he apparently told some of the problems I was contending with regarding a serious threat to my to my life, safety and security. With adroit twisting, they can make an exigent need of rapid security response sound unreasonable. Finally, I would like to thank the astute woman I spoke with regarding this complaint. She seemed to understand the significance of the three day cancellation period ending on a weekend. I wonder if you will understand the significance of GHS responding quickly to impugn me personally.

Business' Final Response
We stand by our original response. When our sales rep, ***** ***** was in Ms. ************ home filling out paperwork for the install of her security system, she specifically told ***** that her cameras and surveillance equipment was non-operable. She asked if our system would incorporate her cameras and if after our system was installed, would her cameras work? ***** told her no. We sent out our lead technician on 5/30 to help her with a piece of equipment she was having trouble with. At that time, cameras were not working. After she cancelled, our technician, ***** ***** who had done the original install on 5/22, went to remove the equipment from her home. ***** only took what he had previously installed. He did not cut any wires to anything she had existing. The only wire he cut was on our transformer that was plugged into the wall. Ms. ********* called after the removal and asked why he didn't hook back up her old system. Her old system was inoperable and it states in our agreement "If the equipment is removed, I understand that I am responsible for all required repairs to walls and/or frames". It would impossible for us to hook up any other company's system. Security panels have lock codes and cannot be accessed without proper authorization. Ms. ********* had no valid reason to cancel. We honestly believe at this point with the several interactions we have had with her, that she was not going to be satisfied no matter how many trips we made to the house or what we did, so we decided it was better to just remove the system without any further delay. We released her from her binding agreement voided the whole transaction.

3/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Door to door sales using false claims This company canvasses my neighborhood regularly using aggressive high pressure sales tactics and makes false claims that you are in danger if you don't use them and your neighbor has it. They have a long list of complaints on yelp.com. Me and my neighbors are tired of being harassed by them.

Desired Settlement: A cease and desist of these door to door harrasments.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
In response to the conplaint above. We have installed 10,000 plus happy customers in Northern California by selling door to door. We have had a few complaints in the past and we address them as well as suspend any employees for false claims. I understand that people can sometimes get upset because we knock door to door for our business but if we aren't truthful to our customers, we wouldn't have any. We have installed hundreds of happy customers in the Oakland area and will continue to do so and we will also continue repremand our employee if they are using false sales tactics. We are not in the business of trying to upset anyone, we are just trying to help people better protect their families with a system that is less likely to be defeated in an emergency situation. We have had complaints on yelp in the past but have resolved the problems and they have stopped. We also have customers thanking us for what we did for them. We aren't going to always make everyone happy but we want to do our best to do so. We will continue to do our best to limit these complaints and train our employees to say the proper things. I promise that there are no pushy or false training tactics that our company is training to our employees and we will address this complaint today with anyone who was in that area. Thank you for letting us know about the incident so we can handle the situation promply.

3/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CANCELLED BEFORE 3 DAY NOTICED AND MONEY WAS KEPT CANCELLED ON 2ND BUSINESS DAY, THEN MY CHECK WAS CASHED ON 8TH DAY AFTER THERE PAPERWORK STATES ALL MONEY NEGOTIATED AND PROMISED WILL BE RETURNED WITHIN 10 DAYS. THEY HAVE 2 PAPERWORK WHICH I HAVE THAT CONTRIDICT THEMSELFS. ONE STATES WHICH I DIDNT CIRCLE ANY BOXES THE TECH ALREADY DID SO AND I DIDNT CATCH TILL AFTER CANCELLED THAT AFTER INSTALL MY INSTALL MONEY WILL BE KEPT. THE OTHER FORM WHICH I SIGNED LAST STATED THE 3 DAYS TO CANCEL FORM: THIS FORM IS THE ONE IM GOING BY AND IT STATES: YOU MAY CANCEL THIS TRANSACTION, WITHOUT ANY PENALTY OR OBLIGATION, WITHIN THREE BUSINESS DAYS FROM THE ABOVE DATE. IF YOU CANCEL, ANY PROPERTY TRADED IN, ANY PAYMENT MADE BY YOU UNDER THE CONTRACT OR SALE, AND ANY NEGOTIABLE INSTRUMENT EXECUTED BY YOU WILL BE RETURNED WITHIN 10 DAYS. THINKING ABOUT FILLING FOR REFUND THROUGH STOCKTON SMALL CLAIMS COURT AS I HAVE BEEN ADVISED.

Desired Settlement: MY 99 DOLLARS RETURNED, I'M WILLING TO ME HALF WAY.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We do have a policy that if the customer cancels after the install, they willing wave the returning of the activation fee. Being that Mr. ****** claims that he did not circle the acknowledgment of that himself and it was done by the technician, we will be refunding the $99 to Mr. ******. This is the first we have heard anything regarding this issue. We have no record that Mr. ****** has called our office regarding this issue.

10/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales Representative from company has not fulfilled his agreement with us regarding previous ADT contract with other company. Sales representative from Lifeline came to our home and talked us into switching from our old ADT provider to Lifeline. As part of the agreement for switching Lifeline agreed to pay the rest of our contact with our old provider (total was $725.46) and we would pay Lifeline the new monthly fee for monitoring. We signed up on July 31st, 2012. It is now October 1st, 2012 and we have not received a payment from Lifeline yet. I had to pay off the old contract 10 days after cancelling with them and expected a check from Lifeline as promised a few days after that. I have called and emailed my Sales rep several times and he always tells me he will take care of it and that he has sent out other buyouts but I have yet to receive anything. At one point I was told 3 checks would be sent out, one a week, to pay off the buyout owed me. I feel that after 2 months this should have been resolved by now. I am willing to keep my contract with Lifeline if they can please give me the money owed me. If I do not get the money owed me I would like my contract to be voided and automatic monthly payments for my monitoring to stop.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the payment of $725.46 owed to me plus 2 months of interest (since I had to put on my credit card)for $15, total settlement of 740.46.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Stated it seems she was calling the old rep. directly, and not their office.Also stated had they known about the amount due it would have been taken care of immediately. Also stated they left a message for the consumer letting her know they are happy to pay the bill.

8/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: got a new alarm system when we set it an hour later it activates that there is an intruder and in reality no one is near the house sest off by itself. On july X XXXX i put a new alarm system in i used to have adt switched carriers to lifeline on july 4th we went out on vacation set the alarm and the system activated by itself they called the police because they could not get a hold of me and it was a false alarm the police is charging me $364 for coming to my home. So i called lifeline and the technition came back July 10th he said that the sensor box was open no one had touched that box besides him. So he fixed that problem. I thought good no more problems. Well i was wrong then i set the alarm again on July 11th and not even a half hour i was gone the alarm came on they called me this time i did answer the phone they said it was the window sensor i told her not to call the police and i will be there in 5 minuetes. I got their and their was No intrudor. I set the alarm acouple of more times and same thing they will call me my alarm came on again by itself. So finally i called them back the technition came on Saturday the 14th. He said my sensor was no good but it was good when adt was using and he wanted to charge me 35.00 dollars to put a new one. at this point i told him not to put it on i have my windows with no sensors now. I did pay 118.00 for the first month service and installation fee. So my husband called lisa the manager and she argued with my husband that that was not their fault we tried to cancel but i did sign a 3 year contract with them. I didnt get the bill from the police deparment till last week July 18 they gave me 15 days to pay it all i want is for them take in consideration it was their technitions who did not install corrrectly and to pay for the 364.00 cause i am still stuck paying a 49.99 a month for 3 years for their not so good service.

Desired Settlement: i want them to pay for the vallejo Police department fine of 364.00

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******/Office Manage Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@lifelinesecure.com We installed an alarm system in the home of ****** ****** on 7/3/12. At the time of the install, the technician used some of the customer's existing ADT equipment and installed some new sensors and a new upgraded keypad. When the technician left the home, he had received a confirmation number that all signals had been registered with the monitoring station. On July 4, the alarm was tripped twice by a piece of existing equipment that our company did not install. We do not warranty exiting equipment. The monitoring station made a total of 6 phone calls on the two alarms. No one answered any of the calls and messages were left. Dispatches were made per the policies and procedures outlined in the customer's agreement. If dispatches weren't made, and a real emergency were taking place, our company would have been liable. When I asked the customer why no one answered any of the 6 calls, I was told it was a holiday and they don't answer their phones on holidays. (?) When we went back on 7/10, the request on the service ticket was for extra training. There was no mention of the sensor being tampered. Our technician didn't touch any equipment at that time besides the keypad during the training. We returned again on the 23d of July to check the sensors and it was determined it was the existing sensors falsing at that time. Yesterday we scheduled another service for the customer to go out and replace the old existing ADT sensor with a new wireless sensor at no charge to the customer. (normally trip fee and sensor charge would be $85). The alarm we installed performed as it should. The monitoring station followed all procedures by calling all numbers listed and dispatching when no contact was made. As I stated to the customer, we did everything we were obligated to do, the equipment that failed was existing non warrantied equipment, and if an alarm company were to call 6 times in one day, regardless of it being a holiday or not, it would probably have been a good idea to answer the phone. That would avoided all charges incurred by customer.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Because the technician did touch the existing sensors he opened one by the kitchen and probably did not snap it back together because when he came on July 10 the technician seen that it was opened and said that could be the problem. I asked if our sensors that we had prior to Adt which we never had a problem would work they said yes. I was paying Adt 33.99 never had problems. Now I am paying 49.99 . They should at least pay half of the city of Vallejo bill for not installing the system correct in the first place..

Business' Final Response
When our technician went out on 7/10, that was to give the customer additional training. The technician did not touch the piece of equipment that caused the false alarms. The issue of the false alarm fees comes directly from the customer not answering repeated phone calls from the monitoring station. A total of 6 calls were made and a total of 6 messages were left. When the customer stated they received all the calls and messages but did not respond or answer because, "it was a holiday" doesn't seem sufficient enough reason for our company to pay fines inccured by them. If they would have answered ONE of the calls, there would have been no false alarm fees. Again, the equipment that falsed and caused the issues was existing equipment not installed by our company. The day we received the first BBB complaint, our company was already scheduled to go out to replace the existing equipment at our cost and waived the service trip fee, totaling about $85. That is approximately 1/3 of the false alarm fees and we feel based on the customer not responding to the repeated emergency phone calls placed to them and their emergency contacts, that that is a fair settlement of charges. If they would have answered one of the first 3 calls, the second false alarm would not have occurred and their fee would have been half of what they received. They caused the second fee by not answering on the first calls.