BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

SiteSolutions.Com - Established in 1995. SEO Experts providing Search Engine Optimization services to over TWO MILLION websites. Guaranteed Google Page One placement*. Call for details. All service & support located in the U.S.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SiteSolutions.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SiteSolutions.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SiteSolutions.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 26, 2007 Business started: 12/09/1998 in CA Business started locally: 12/09/1998 Business incorporated: 12/01/1998 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stephen Lochmiller, VP Sales/Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Lochmiller, VP Sales/Marketing
Business Category

Search Engine Optimization Services

Refund and Exchange Policy
All services & work performed are custom programmed to meet the needs of each client's specifications. All orders are placed via written agreements which contain a No Refunds policy.
Products & Services

SEO - Guaranteed Page One Search Engine Optimization, SEM - Search Engine Marketing, SM - Social Media, VIDEO - Video Production / Webcasts. PPC - Pay Per Click. Many of SiteSolutions.Com's services supported by Google's Agency Team. *Details Call


Additional Locations

  • 5098 Foothills Blvd # 3136

    Roseville, CA 95747 (916) 771-4756 (877) 855-2003

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 771-4756(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/16/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company did nothing for the $399 that i spent for SEO website services. They claim to do work but it was just a bunch of ****. This compnay was suppose to do SEO work for my website. They did little to no work, They made promises that gave a guarantee that they did not honor. The SEO work was nothing more than a scam to get my money, they claimed they uploaded some keyword to my website and did research work. THey did not do any reports to prove that they did any seo work, tey did not provide any keyword ranking reports. They basically took my money and told me to do all of this work myself and that my site word get ranked. They did not honor their money back guarantee. I am going to make sure that I make a formal complaint on every internet website to make sure that everyone know that this company is a scam.

Desired Settlement: i want a refund of my $399.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Well it seems that we have another person that signs contracts without reading them. The customer signed a contract with us that is very clear about what is and is not included. It includes a very detailed NO REFUNDS policy which he initialed and signed as acknowledged and agreed. I'll be sending my response online probably this weekend. I know that we have talked about our No Refunds policy before and about how people apparently sign contracts with no regard to the term and conditions to only complain later that they have been taken advantage of. JUST AN FYI FOR FUTURE REFERENCE: Every customer that we take on must complete and sign a 10 page agreement which, in great detail, lays out all of the who, what, when, of the relationship. Here is the language of the NO REFUNDS portion of the agreement that they read, initial, and sign. The following area is set off in a BOX, and at the bottom they initial it and then directly below it they sign it. By my signature below, I hereby certify that all of the information contained herein is accurate and complete, and that I am the authorized cardholder mentioned herein, that I am hereby acknowledging and fully accept and agree to be bound by all of the terms and conditions contained herein and on pages 1 through 10 inclusive and to the attachments hereto labeled as Exhibits A, B, and C and in the posted Terms And Conditions for OFC, which are publicly posted for my review at SiteSolutions.Com/ssterms.aspx, and by this reference, I hereby acknowledge, accept, fully integrate herein, and agree to be bound by said posted Agreement and Terms and Conditions in their entirety as if fully set forth herein above my signature. I further hereby acknowledge and attest that I have read, fully understand, and agree to be bound by all of the Terms and Conditions contained therein including, but not limited to, OFC's No Refund Policy as shown in item 5 (including 5.1 of the posted Terms And Conditions, which is shown, in summary form below) and to item 5.5 regarding costs of collections. As such, I hereby authorize OFC to immediately charge the above-mentioned credit card in the amount shown as the TOTAL. Plus OFC is hereby further authorized to charge for any other charges for additional subscription services that I have herein or will in the future authorize. NO REFUNDS: OFC & SITESOLUTIONS.COM HAVE A NO REFUNDS POLICY: I, the undersigned, hereby attest and certify that I am the authorized credit card holder and user of the card show above and that I am hereby hiring OFC on behalf of myself or, my company or, my employer or, my client, to render specific subscription services on my/our behalf. I hereby acknowledge that as a result of my hiring OFC to provide the subscribed services, that OFC is immediately incurring costs and expenses relating to research, content creation, copy writing, setup fees, processes, programming and or various other procedures required for OFC to perform and fulfill the requests made by me as contained herein. I fully understand and acknowledge that OFC has entered into this subscription agreement 100% conditioned and contingent upon my acknowledgement, agreement and acceptance, as shown by my initialing and signature below, that OFC has a published and binding "No Refunds Policy" and that I hereby agree that I am and that I shall continue to be bound by said No Refunds Policy in its entirety without exception, and that I shall in no way instruct, my bank, credit card company, or financial institution to interfere with payment for said subscribed services in any form including issuing instructions to reverse said payment in any manner including, but not limited to, charge backs to OFC for the subscribed services mentioned herein and or for any other future subscription activities with OFC provided for and on my behalf. If at anytime I have an unpaid balance due OFC, I acknowledge that OFC will utilize various collection remedies available to OFC including legal action and that I agree to pay for any and all costs associated with said collection activities including, but not limited to, collection agency costs, court costs, filing fees, attorney?s fees etc. Card Holder Acknowledges & Agrees To OFC?s No Refunds Policy By Initialing Here __________

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all, I did read the contract before I signed it. However the whole point of having a contract is that the company that you sign the contract with is supposed to perform a service in return for compensation that they receive from the client. Since SEO work is aN area in which a lot of companies know in advance that they can do little or no work and still get paid for not providing the service they promise, Site Solutions is no better than any average run of the mill SEO company. Tha t is why the company will ask for money in advance of doing the work because they know that once they get the cash, they really don't have do anything else. Just because they put a bogus refund clause in their contract, this clause is just to protect them from the many customers that end up wanting a refund for non performance of work. As the saying goes, a contract is not worth the paper it is written on. This is certainly the case in this situation. I still contest that they did not do the work that they were hired to do, and I would strongly recommend that NO one do business with them. There are other more reputable so called SEO companies that you can use. Site Solutions is obviously a company that does not care about customer service, and would rather have a former customer file a former complaint than refund the money. AGAIN, I WOULD WARN ANYONE WANTING TO DO BUSINESS WITH SITE SOLUTIONS TO STAY AWAY FROM THEM.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

9/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Site solutions failed to deliver the services they said they would I contacted site solutions about doing some search engine optimization on my website to help my search results with Google. I signed up with them on or around May of 2011 after they told me that there services would provide me with the results I was looking for. When Site solutions took over my search engine ranking actually went down. They told me I had to rewrite my site so I paid them to do so. That did not help my ranking I contacted them later in the year about the status of my site they told me that I should upgrade my service to a higher level to move the SEO process along so I upgraded my service. Months went by with no results so I contacted them and the response was that they were going to take it upon themselves to cancel my service. The other day they sent me an email saying that they had an engineer look at my website and they found a bunch of problems with it. I have asked them multiple times if there is a problem with my site and they said no. After I started questioning their services they are quick to backpedal and drop me. I have asked them for a refund because I feel I was not provided with the service they said they promised to give me but they refused the refund. I have gotten no proof of any of the work done on my site and I have spent thousands of dollars with them. I have ALL correspondence between myself and site solutions since I have started with them. I also have done some research on the company and there has been numerous complaints lodged against this company including with the better business bureau

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the money I had paid site solutions. Like I said before I have all emails and online chats that I have had with site solutions that will prove there neglect in this matter

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The customer came to us with a website for which he desired to be found for a very focused topic. We were successful obtaining page one positioning for his website for that topic. He then later decided to change his focus and asked us to move our target to the new set of topics. As we explained, this was just like starting over. We changed our direction for him and proceeded to move to the new topics. He began to become frustrated with the time it was taking to bring about the results for the new topics he moved to. We offered him advice as to what needed to be done and most often he did not make the recommended changes. ===== Here is one of our responses: *** (not his real name), it is important to review what we are and what we are not. We are not a website development company that creates websites from scratch. Therefore, we must work with the client's existing website be it expertly built from an SEO perspective or not at all. There is only so much on-site tweaking one can do without calling for a site rebuild. In the great majority of cases, our service proves more than enough to accomplish numerous page one organic results. Our track record consistently has proved this to be the case since 1995. We are pleased that you have contracted with a developer to rebuild your site from scratch. It appears you made a good decision on rebuilding. ===== However, he then proceeded, on his own, to make major changes to the SEO work that we had done thereby canceling our efforts. He was under a signed agreement where he agreed that he would not remove or alter our SEO work as it would destroy our chances of page one results. There was much discussion about this without any resolution. Here is what we sent him as a result of not being able to come to an agreement. Your agreement with us relates solely to the URL, http://www.(privacy issue).com. As such, our meta tag work, backlinking, and any Social Media were all performed on and pertaining to that specific domain name. You have now changed the resulting URL by modifying the DNS or by meta tag redirect. By doing so, you have caused three problems to arise: 1) Most search engines do not work well with, nor do they like redirects be it DNS or Meta Tag Redirects. Their experience with redirects have not been positive. This is why redirects are not used in most professional SEO campaigns. 2) All of the work we have performed thus far that relate to the original domain is of no future value and 3) Since our agreement is based on the URL http://www.(privacy issue).com, the URL change you have made breaches the agreement. Now that you have redirected away from your original site, we recommend that you do not spend any additional money there for SEO. Instead any future dollars should be directed to the new URL. Therefore your options are: 1) Continue on with the new site and the new SEO company or, 2) Establish a new agreement with our firm relating to the new site. Since we would be starting over from scratch, it world require the signing of a new agreement and the payment of a new setup fee. Please let us know your decision. ==== Again, numerous emails and conversations passed without resolution. We then sent him a report on his site: In comparing his two sites, S########Group.Com and My###########Inspection.Com there are many major factors in several areas that are giving his new site a definite advantage over his old site. In an overall comparison of the two sites from a layout and programming perspective, the original site would require a complete rebuild. This site can have only so much SEO performed on it without having a complete rebuild. Since SiteSolutions was not the designer of the site, they were limited in the scope of what could be done. Therefore, please read my findings and review my summary at the end. Differences: 1) Domain Name: According to **** *****, Google lead engineer, Google does place value on what words are mentioned in the domain name: a) Old site domain name has no relationship to what a person would be searching to locate the services being offered by the client. b) New Site: Domain name Includes several of his keywords in it therefore giving it favorable algorithm influences in the engines. 2) Page Layout a) Old site is poorly laid out from an SEO perspective. Client bought the site to SiteSolutions requesting assistance in positioning. Within the scope of being able to work within the limitations of the site design, SiteSolutions provided meta tag installation and page text modification. However, without a major redesign, the site has built-in limitations as to what a SEO company can do with it. b) New site was built with proper page layout thereby giving the programmer the opportunity of providing favorable SEO techniques to improve positioning. There really is no favorable comparison between the two sites' structural layout. One is poorly structure, the other properly structured. 3) Programming: a) Old Site: within the limitations of the structural limitations of the site, proper SEO is limited in what can be done. For example the installation of adequate Header tags is almost completely limited by the structure of the site itself. b) New Site: From day one, this site's basic structural layout was set to be able to provide the SEO individual with a properly laid out pallet for the application of today's needed SEO techniques. These include H tags that when applied not only allow for the SEO value but also fit well within the structural design of the site itself. To properly apply H tags to the old site is very limited due to the basic layout of the site. The new layout allows for major keyword emphasis and Geographic emphasis within H tags. Recommendation, since the two sites are owned by the same individual, it is recommended that; 1) Either do a complete structural redesign of the http://www.solidcitygroup.com website thereby allowing for proper SEO application or, 2) Focus all energies behind the new site which has the structure to provide the application of SEO techniques that are proving effective for his keywords and geographic constraints. Unless there is a compelling reason to keep the original site's layout coupled with a nondescript domain name, we recommend the following: a) Move all of your SEO energies to the new domain. b) Resubmit all Social Media articles that have been written for the old domain and change the linking to point to the new site. c) Contact all established back linking locations associated to the old site and have them point to the new site. d) Modify the old site to provide linking to the new site thereby capturing any residual SEO value associated with the old domain name. If these recommendations are not acceptable, it is our recommendation that SEO services on the old site be discontinued. ===== It is very clear that we have given him our best efforts plus a vast amount of information and recommendations which he chose to not follow plus he altered, removed and damaged what SEO programming we did do for him. He violated our agreement by reversing our changes. He even went so far as to TAKE DOWN his website and send the visitors over to a new site thereby causing major issues with the search engines due to DNS issues. We have tried everything we could to satisfy him to no avail. We have fulfilled our side of the written agreement which he, on several occasions chose to violate and thereby damage our efforts. Included in this agreement is a No Refunds policy which is read, acknowledged, initialed and signed. Something that the client failed to mention is that in the signed agreement, we charged a one time setup fee, which we performed 100%. This included performing SEO programming changes to his website. This was delivered and paid for. What he failed to mention is how many months we continued to perform services for him at no charge while we were trying to resolve his issues. This was part of our agreement which we lived up to. We have performed as agreed and as per the terms of the signed agreement. The client did not.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The website was developed for a specific keyword of Long Island home inspection. The keyword that was removed was Long Island thermal imaging it is a service that we had no longer provided. The main keyword was always Long Island home inspection that was the purpose of signing up with site solutions when I had told them to remove thermal imaging from my keyword searches they told me it was not going to be a problem. The only SEO changes that were made were the ones that I paid site solutions to do. I had asked site solution multiple times if there was any problems with my website that would cause it not to be found in the search results here is one of the responses I got from them I have your SEO service for almost a year and have not realy seen much results. I upgraded a few months ago hoping that it would boost my ranking but even with the upgrade my position has not moved. Is there some problem with my site? or maybee is there a problem with the service I have? ï�� Call accepted by operator xxxxx. Currently in room: xxxxxxx, yyyyy yyyyy. ï�� Cxxx
ï��There is not a problem with the service and the site was evaluated at the time you signed up with us.
 If they evaluate the site when I first signed up why is there a problem all of a sudden now? Here is another email where they recognized there was a problem with the work that they were supposed to be doing but never did. We are going to continue to work on http://www.sxxxxx.com, and it is apparent that some changes need to be made. Engineering is going to re-evaluate the meta tag programing and re-do the meta tags (at no cost to you). We also suggest that you make a duplicate of your new site over on to http://www.xxxxxx.com . Be careful about links so that if you move it the links still work after being copied.   Please let me know if you have any questions or concerns.   Have a good weekend.     Sincerely,  Crxxxx At this point I question their work and told them that I had hired a different SEO company to work on a different website that I also own. They abruptly canceled my contract here is what transpired Crxxxx I have paid thousands of dollars to your company and did not request for you cancel the diamond package. I have an SEO company to maintain another domain name that has nothing to do with your company all I want to know is how they can do this so quickly and your company cant. I would like to be provided with a copy of every contract agreement that was signed and how much was paid to your company thru the course of the year. Again I have not authorised you to cancel my Diamond account nor do I want it canceled. Txx xxxxxx Here is there response It is important to review what we are and what we are not. We are not a website development company that creates websites from scratch. Therefore, we must work with the client's existing website be it expertly built from an SEO perspective or not at all. There is only so much on-site tweaking one can do without calling for a site rebuild. In the great majority of cases, our service proves more than enough to accomplish numerous page one organic results. Our track record consistently has proved this to be the case since 1995. We are pleased that you have build a new site that appears to be SEO friendly and is having success in Google. I will advise accounting that you have moved in a new direction and we will cancel all accounts. The social media account was on HOLD but I will have it canceled. As far as the Diamond Program for which you only pay monthly fees if we have page one success, this account will have to be closed as well. We can not continue this service as you have moved to a new domain/doing a redirect and hired another SEO company. So basically what this tells me is when I had another website built that had nothing to do with their company and I question their work they had canceled my service
 in hopes that my new search engine optimization company would not find out the work that they were supposed to do was never provided. All the information that they are providing me now was never told to me when I first signed up. if I had known all of this in the beginning I would have never signed up with site solution. After doing much research online I have come to realize that I am not the only person that this company has taken advantage of. I have saved every email that has transpired between myself and site solutions and also every online chat conversation. I have also taken screenshots throughout the course of my so-called SEO work to prove that the work they are stating that has been done in fact has not.

Business' Final Response
We have provided a very detailed response. There is nothing additional to add to the conversation. The customer signed a contract with our company, then proceeded to violate the contract on numerous occasions, is providing false information in his reporting of the events. Our customer support team has spent hours on the phone with the client explaining and re-explaining our service, what had been done, what was being done, and what was going to happen. In addition, later on in the communications, it became necessary to alert the customer to contractual violations he was making which was discussed and emailed in detail. His violations negated our efforts in assisting him with what he had contracted us to perform. Our public response provided factual data which is backed by signed contracts, emails, voice recordings etc. Any ongoing conversation with the client in a public forum to rehash his baseless claims does nothing to further the outcome for either party. Therefore we will not be providing any additional input to this matter. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to respond but since it is the client that has taken the agreement into a violated stated, we will not longer respond via a public forum. One final note: He read, the entire agreement, hand initialed each page, further, he read, acknowledged and agreed to (via initialing and by signature) that we had and have a No Refunds policy. His purchase was predicated upon his acceptance of that policy which he did. Here is the text of the No Refunds agreement which he initialed and signed attached. Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

5/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/21/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues