BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pre-employ.com, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pre-employ.com, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pre-employ.com, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 24, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1994 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated: 12/31/1998 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Mather, President Ms. Deanna Marquez
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Mather, President
Business Category

Screening - Background & Employment

Alternate Business Names
My Background Check.com
Products & Services

Pre-employ.com, Inc. provides pre-employment screening services.


Additional Locations

  • 2301 Balls Ferry Rd

    Anderson, CA 96007

  • 3655 Meadow View Dr

    Redding, CA 96002

  • PO Box 491570

    Redding, CA 96049

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The site MyBackgroundCheck.com promises to show you what your background check looks like. NOT true. The site sent me an e-mail to let me know my Background check was available. Upon login, It just indicates that it is "complete" and there is no data whatsoever. I cannot tell if anything was actually done, it just says, "complete." I e-mail them, they respond saying to call them. I call their telephone #, and extension, in any combination, and they just say to leave a message. I completely believe this is a scam.

Desired Settlement: a refund, or an actual copy of a background check showing what actual employers would see if they ran a background check on me.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response
I was contacted by the site administrator, who verified that the incomplete looking forms I wa viewing were incomplete because there is NO criminal background for me. Please delete my complaint, or consider it satisfactorily resolved.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was overcharged for services requested. Items that appeared as $0 during the order were charged for. On April 30, 2013 I completed a request for a background check for volunteer work. The company that I was volunteering with had an agreement with MyBackgroundCheck and that is who I was told to go through. I completed my order and at the screen where it asked for jurisdictions for crimincal background check I asked for the jurisdictions I lived in previously. All areas appeared as $0.00. I authorized the payment for $24.95 and when I received my emailed receipt it indicated that I was charged $62.95. I emailed the company and got no response. I then found a phone number and called on May 7, 2013. I was told that the difference would be refunded. I also questioned why my background check was not completed as the company I was volunteering for ***** to ***** a resource for families with premature children) was told that if the check was not completed within 3 days it would be free and it was over a week. Mysteriously I received an email a few minutes later advising me that my background check was completed. I was told that there was a "glitch" in the system that sometimes caused billing errors such as this. That day I received an email indicating that no refund would be issued. I wrote back and advised that I spoke with someone and that they indicated a refund would be issued. ***** then emailed me back indicating that I spoke with her and that it was sent to her supervisor. I again waited and heard nothing. On May 31, 2013 I followed up again and told that this was given to the owner for his approval. I have not heard anything since that date. Order information- Full Name: ******* ******** ***** Order ID: XXXXXXX Order Date: 4/30/2013 Amount Charged: $62.95 Package Ordered: Volunteer Background Check Order Code: *****

Desired Settlement: Based on the agreement with the volunteer agency I would like a full refund. If that is no possible I would be happy with a refund of $38.00, the difference between what I agreed to pay and what I paid for this service.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ** ******** Compliance Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ** *** Contact Email: *********@pre-employ.com Per your request, this issue has been reviewed and resolved. Please note, a full refund will be supplied to you. You should have access to the funds within 24-48 hours depending on your financial institution. We apologize for the inconvenience. We will be sending you a copy of the refund receipt.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/3/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service