BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that T-Com Home Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for T-Com Home Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on T-Com Home Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 24, 2011 Business started: 08/23/2004 in CA Business started locally: 08/23/2004
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronics and Appliance Repair
4244 South Market Court, Suite D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
Fax Number: (916) 921-7279
HomeProducts@dca.ca.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Keith Thompson, Owner Mr. Mike Carr
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Keith Thompson, Owner
Business Category

Satellite Equipment & Supplies Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite Internet Services Telecommunication Equipment & Systems Service & Repair Internet Marketing Services Satellite Communication - Common Carrier

Alternate Business Names
T-Com Marketing Solutions T-com Satellite
Products & Services

All items on check list not completed; emailed seal information to the company.


Additional Locations

  • 2229 El Reno Ln

    Redding, CA 96001 (530) 209-7019 (530) 245-0801 (530) 921-5156

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (530) 245-0801(Phone)
  • (530) 921-5156(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have ****** t.v connected since Feb 14,2013.At the time they connected it, I was not told it was for 2yrs, nor did they explain the contract with me. I am paying $34.99 a month and they are taking it ******ly from checking account. I called them this morning to have it disconnected and was told I would be liable for a early fee of $480. I have had this only since Feb.14th. I feel they have taken advantage of me, were in a big hurry to get the service connected.. Thanks

Desired Settlement: I only want them to come and get their equipment and be no charge to me.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We are very Sorry to hear this customer is upset. I asked her if she would like **** for 1yr contract and She stated No because she owed them money. That she wants ****** Tv and I said ok, that is a 2Yr contract and she stated she just wants off *******, its to high for her!!She wants ******! I did everything as a Sales Rep and I did explain everything to her and she agreed that she understood. So we then place her order and Installed her on the day and time she wanted.That was on 2/14/13 She was very Happy with her service. Now, we dont understand where or why she is feeling this way now. Per her ****** Tv Contract that she signed States. Early Cancellation Fee: If you do not maintain your base level of programming for the full term 24 mos. we will charge you an early cancellation fee. The maximum fee is $480.00 for new customers.We prorate the fee, so for each month you've fulfilled your programming term agreement, we deduct $20.00 from the fee.If you have fulfilled 14mos. of a 24mo. agreement, your ECF would be $480.00-$20x14, or $200.00. She knew this before signing this agreement per installer and myself as her sales rep. It goes on to say the your giving ****** Tv the right to charge this fee to the credit or debit card you have on file with us.We in no way have ever taken Advantage of Anyone regardless of Age or Race. Corp sets the Policy and we as Retailers enforce it or We could not be in Business providing our customers with ****/****** Tv. Thank You

Consumer's Final Response
On my phone call to them I was told nothing of any contract. Originally wanted dish T.V. Carment caleld back shortly an asked if I had "dish' previously. As check on it showed I did. I had completely forgot I had it while in Montana in 2009. The circumstances at that time was I decided to return to CA after 5 months there. The apartments I was returning to did not allow dishes on their patios, hence I told them I couldn't use it. Obviously that account is what showed up. When ****** called me back. She ENCOURAGED ME TO TAKE DIGETAL THEN AS THE DISH ACCT. WOULDN'T SHOW UP. I agreed but said I had charter for the rest of the month. (feb.) Her reply was they will refund what isn't used. Digital was installed 2-14-13. On the following Tuesday with weekend and holiday I called and told her I didn't want it. That she never told me it was two years contract. I said at 78 years one year was enough- plus the idea that they can raise prices whenever they want with a 30 day notice-which does no good as far as my income-s.s.-goes. Once cannot get out of the contract regardless of rise in prices!! I cannot afford this. She told me to stop calling her, to contact corp. office. Which I did. The info. she said she gave me was baloney.She is the one that did the talking and gave me advice on Digetal T.V. (DirecTV) I have been "Bullied" and am fed up with their (her) lies!!!

Business' Final Response
we have nothing to do with the contract between DirecTv and the Customer. Where the customer signed her name it clearly states right above her signature that it was a 2 yr contract. The customer does not have a contract with our company, she has a contract with DirecTv, we are only a grateway for the installation. We are the ones that installed it, but the contract she signed is with DirecTv. Packages, prices, and term agreement is with Directv. We are sorry the customer feels we did wrong, but the service provider is with DirecTv, Here is DirecTv phone number which we gave her. X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. We carry a high ranking with BBB, and we work as hard as we can to try to keep that ranking. Thank-You very much

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

10/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took money out of checking acct without authorization Filled out form out a Home Show to get info about dish, told them needed to check at home to see if all channels we wanted, we could get from them. They were to do a credit check, call the next day, in the meantime, we were not ****** with channels we were to get so called and left message did not want with sales rep that same day, called again the next day to Independent Owener, left mess, spoke with employee told DID NOT WANT, there was no amount or authorization given by me to take money out of my checking but they did so anyway.

Desired Settlement: Refund of money back into my checking acct

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: Carmen Office Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@t-comhomeservices.com This customer was not mislead as she is on ****** ** right now and know's that her 1st pymt is always taken out upon quailfing. The sales rep. told her that and she still signed up giving all info to him to get quailfied.She also was told that Monday am the office will quailfy her. She was ran that morning. She then called the office a few days later to make sure we have this one program that her husband must have and was told by her friends that **** does not carry that channel. I called her back and Yes **** does carry that Channel and told her. She stated, ok I'll let my husband know and get back to you.She then called back saying she's just going to stay with ****** ** so I told her ok, I will Cancel your Order out and am sorry to lose you but, if you change your mind please give us a call. She said ok.She then came into my office on Friday 9/21/2012 with her Husband Yelling at me and kept threating to slander our Company by telling me. Your Company wont be in Business long after I get Through With You and I'm telling everyone I know to stay away from you!!!! I'm going to file all kinds of complaints on your company, etc.. After being treated this way from them for about 10min. I had to finally ask them to leave, that there is no need for this.You were fully told of the policies and yet you still signed up for ****. Our Company has a very good reputation and we do our Best to help all customers and Your the first that is Unhappy with us and I'm sorry for that. She Continued Yelling at me. I told them to Leave and Escorted them to our Door.She continued Yelling as they walk to there Truck. Can't Please everyone I guess. Thank You

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1