Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Roof Guys

Phone: (916) 515-1790 1911 Douglas Blvd Ste 85-380, Roseville, CA 95661

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Roof Guys meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Roof Guys include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Roof Guys
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 27, 2009 Business started: 08/15/1991 Business started locally: 08/15/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 625052.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Brian Warren, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Warren, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Contractors - General

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights

Additional Locations

  • 1911 Douglas Blvd Ste 85-380

    Roseville, CA 95661 (916) 515-1790


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/28/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired ***** ****** under his company Roof Guys to repair and recoat my roof when I first purchased my home. It was to seal and make leak proof, I paid $3500. The job was not completed properly and we had leaks within days. We gave him the chance to make right, we have yet to have a leak free roof, going on 2 years. EVERY rain we have leaks and repeat leaks. He doesn't answer phone calls or return emails. He comes out and "fixes" the leak the first rain after it's leaking again.

Desired Settlement: Replacement or refund in full plus damages

Business Response: On October 18, 2012, **** ******, a realtor called for a roof inspection on **** ******* **** *********** **  *****.

The roof was a flat cap sheet roof that was approximately 15 years old and in poor condition.   A roof replacement was recommended to Ms. ******.  
She asked for a repair estimate that would include a two year certificate of warranty.   Repairs were made to the roof for $3,500 and a two certificate of warranty was issued on November 10, 2012.
The two year certificate of warranty states . . . should any leak occur, Roof Guys shall repair the roof leak at no charge. . . In no event whatsoever, shall Roof Guys be liable for any personal injury or interior damage that occurs as a consequence of a roof leak.
** ******** contacted us in February, 2014.  Her roof was leaking below the air conditioner and at her fireplace.  
Repairs were made to the roof several times.  In the spirit of good customer service, repairs were made to her ceiling, even though the 2 year cert. expressly stated that we were not responsible for interior repairs.  The ceiling repair cost my company $600 in labor and material. 
On June 25, 2014, I recoated the entire roof and performed new seam repairs at all laps.  In the spirit of good customer service, I extended her certificate of warranty 6 more months to get old roof through one more winter.   I explained to her hustband that her roof is 18 years old and needs replacement.
It appears that an air conditioner repairman damaged her roof after the summer repairs.  A toe kick was noticed which made a small tear in the roof.  
Last month, in December, 2014, I applied a new coating and provided a commercial dehumidifier to dry her ceiling.   It rained over an inch after the final repair. 
On December 21, 2014, ** ******* email me to say, "*****, your most recent patch job seems to have fixed these two leaks for now."  

My company spent over $2,200 in labor and material to recoat and repair the roof a second time.

I stand ready, willing and able to service the roof until June 25, 2015 when her extended certificate of warranty expires. 
I've attached supporting documents and emails.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
First and foremost Roof Guys wasn't hired during the escrow process to give a 2 year roof cert, **** ******* only asked for an estimate. After we purchased the property in November 2012 is when we hired Roof Guys to recoat the roof. We didn't hire him to give a 2 year cert. We hired him to make the roof leak proof.  Never once did ***** of roof guys ever tell us the roof needed to be replaced, if that was the case I would have NEVER paid him $3500. He informed me that by recoating the roof would make the roof like new and should last at least 5 years. This whole transaction was between Us (****** and ** ********) after the close of escrow. The first leak was within a couple days of his recoating which was not in the bedroom or fireplace area but in the kitchen. Which every repair that he has done continued to leak rain after rain. I have asked ***** time and time again to please furnish a copy of this suppose 2 year cert that I signed stated that he isn't responsible for anything except the leaks, all he has done was call up **** ******* and harrash her asking for this suppose document that doesn't exsist because it wasn't part of escrow. All he ever gave us is the "contract and final bill" that  I have supplied. Repairs have been made several times to the roof over the past 2 years which never fixed the problems. Come to find out (yhrough another roofer) the leak at the air conditioner is/was because the roof part under the air conditioner has never and is still NOT sealed. He never sealed that area of the roof. The whole roof was never sealed properly in the first place which would explain the leaks within days of the coating. ***** is stating that I contracted him starting in 2014. The first contact with the roof issues after paying him started in November 2012 and has continued every time it has rained! Every rain I have had to call ***** because of leaks.  In June when he recoated the entire roof he told me he was extending my warranty a year. Which only extended it 6 months because I was already under warranty until November 2014 so he cheated me out of 6 months right there. This new warranty is the only paperwork that we have that states he isn't responisbile for any damage caused by the leaks. In December he finally put a good product over the areas that continuely leaked which he should have used on the whole roof. But he only coated the two areas by the fireplace and over the bedroom. This roof hasn't been leak free since the beginning after hiring Roof Guys. This last rain is the only leak proof time we have had and we've been dealing with leak after leak of the same areas for 2 years because his "patch" jobs never worked. I did not hire Roof Guys to do patch jobs I hired them to make my roof Leak proof. Attached are pictures to show no coating by the air conditioner where we have been having leaks. I also have tons of pictures showing the extensive damage into the house as well as patch job after patch job.
** ********

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Won't respond, work unfinished,will not do as contract states, ignores me, makes excuses, gives me the run around.

Desired Settlement: Call and resolve issues with roof as it still leaks.On contract states that he will repair the roof if it leaks at no charge. He did everything to the roof except repair the leak.Roof leaked the first storm in the same spot. I want it fixed.

Consumer Response: Consumer states that  during the storm business did come out to stop leak. On January 9th business came out to redo the initial job. As of today consumer is satisfied. Business has been in constant contact and been very attentive to consumer concerns.