BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Delta Bay Construction & Roofing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Delta Bay Construction & Roofing, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Delta Bay Construction & Roofing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 27, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1992 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1992 Business incorporated: 12/09/2010 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Joe Azevedo, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Joe Azevedo, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Tool & Utility Sheds Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Building Construction Consultants Contractors - Acoustical Ceiling Contractors - General Contractor - Electrical Electricians Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor

Alternate Business Names
Delta Bay Construction & Inspection
Products & Services

Delta-Bay Construction & Roofing Inc. specializes in kitchen & bath additions, roof inspections & certifications, and ADA/Handicap accessibility modification and remodeling.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 430-9995(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Delta Bay Construction was hired to repair water damage done to drywall on ceiling, walls and base boards. Carpet and under pad was also damaged. May 28 was the agreed upon start date. May 27,contractor called to say he was unable to start that day due to other work obligations. I explained I had taken 3 days off of work to have this work in my home started. I suggested I could use these days to interview ,get est and hire a different contractor if he was not starting May 28 or 29. The contractor agreed to start May 29 stating the dry wall should be completed in 3 days,allowing an additional day for total drying and more complete sanding. Painting could start on the 5th or 6th day. Today is June 18, and the job is incomplete. The paint is blotchy and does not match the existing paint. The painter continues to attempt to fix the paint job, but is still using the paint that doesn't match! This contractor was also hired to install new lamanete wood floor in the same room. Since seeing the slow, progressing ,sloppy work getting done in my home I no longer want this company to complete their shoddy work. I have been inconvienced for this company to slowly do shoddy work. I have had my home open for Delta Bay construction 10 days and the room is getting worse instead of better. I also had an estimate and agreed to have this construction company install wood lamite flooring after prepping. After dealing with this company for several days I no longer want them in my home... work is shoddy and they are unreliable.

Desired Settlement: Completion of the job in a polished, neat, efficient, and timely manner. Paint the walls and trim neatly to match the remaining walls, Stop using the wrong color on the walls or paint all the walls,and trim to match. I want the flooring installed correctly and effiecntly. I want the contractor to actually show up when he states he will be available to work on my house. Since these things are not being done I think I should hire a new ,fresher contractor.

Business Response: We apologize for any inconvenience the lengthy process may have brought upon you, your son, and your neighbor. I believe(in the last communication we had) you decided to terminate your contract with us. You decided to compensate us on the work that you saw as completed and, at your request, that is where we parted ways.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr Jose Azevedo (Lic #969827) was hired to do the work because he has knowledge of 203K Loans. Along with him Mr ***** ****** was also hired to over see Mr Azevedo/Delta Bay Contruction work. He made his estimate in October 2012 of $30,000.00 and the bank approved for $5,000.00 in case we needed it for supplies. We were toled by Mr Azevedo that they would be done a week or two before Thanksgiving. Mr Azevedo put our house work last and was done in March 2013. His employees damaged our garage door and the cabinets were not done properly. There other things in the home that were done that looks "sloppy". Now he's charging us close to $3,000.00 because he went over his budget. His workers are messy and we are not happy with the work he done at the house. He's not responsible for his employees when they do damages. We will never be happy for his work and do not recomend him. This was a nightmare, we are unhappy of the work he did (workers). I also want to put a complaint on his Bond. I need help. My mother is 80 old I can't afford to have her get sick over this. Please help.

Desired Settlement: I want Mr Azevedo to pay us for the mortage payments from 6 months of not living in the home and for the utilities, damage to our garage door. I want complaint against his Bond. They have put strees on me and my family because of this. We don't feel we should pay what he did not put in writing. Mr ****** never received a letter when he supposly did up grades. Please help us.

Business Response:

 Based on ***** ***** ****** complaint, she expected completion of this project in 91 days or less in reliance of her misunderstanding Mr. Azevedo when he stated the Job should start by or before Thanksgiving 2012. However, work commenced in September 2012.  The subject property required an extensive rehabilitation to make it habitable and must have been disclosed during the purchase of this property.  Notwithstanding the fact ***** received a copy of the work required to rehab the property from her loan consultant ***** ****** and an estimate from Mr. Jose Azevedo d.b.a. Delta Bay Construction & Roofing, Inc. describing the scope of work.

 

Mrs. ****** made no mention of damage to her garage or who caused the damage until she was contacted about the money she owes for the outstanding balance of $2,588.78.  When Delta Bay Construction & Roofing completed the project, the home was cleaned and there was a walk-through of the property prior to her moving in with Mr. Azevedo, Mr. ****** and ***** ******. 

 

Mrs.  ****** makes reference to her Loan Consultant Mr. ***** ******, hired to oversee Mr. Azevedo.  As you can see, in the aforementioned facts, anytime a change order was made, it was at the request of ***** and forwarded to her Loan Consultant.  At the end of every estimate, the price is listed and so are the details with itemized pricing for each line item.  Mrs. ****** was made very aware of the costs, her loan consultant was informed as well as involved and they had more than one meeting. 

 

Delta Bay Construction & Roofing, Inc., is not responsible for the ethical, professional or acting capacity of her Loan Consultant.  Mr. Azevedo did make her aware when her changes exceeded the amount of the contingency money and discussed many items at great lengths with her and Mr. ******.  

 

Mr. Azevedo told ***** she could move in her house in April 2013, but she did not move into her house.  She made no mention of not being able to move in until 2 months later when she asked ***** ****** to find out a move in date for her and this is also after Mr. Azevedo told her when she could move in, in April 2012.   There were some things beyond our control, but she was given verifiable facts any time there was a delay, reorder, installation or delivery, she and her loan consultant Mr. ***** ****** were notified by phone call or via e-mail.

 

We were trying to avoid legal actions and have offered Mrs. ****** payment plans, tried reaching out to her have this matter mediated but she refuses to cooperate. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business is trying to double charge me for services. This business is trying to charge me twice for services they provided. They are also trying to charge me for issues they came across during the repairs that were caused by not doing their bid correctly the first time. For example they are trying to have me pay for the fact they counted the wrong number of windows but yet installed the right number. Rather than bidding for 9 they bid for 8 but still installed 9.

Desired Settlement: I feel that any charges they are trying to gain from me shouldn't even be considered for collection. I also wish to bring to someone elses attention of their "sneaky" tactics to get more money from their clients.

Business Response:

Mr. ******** knew all along what the extra work was because his father and him requested the additional work to be performed.  Additionally, the type of loan program for home remodel that they secured has a 10% extra contingency money available to cover unforeseen expenditures, upgrades and additional work as a consequence of modifications not imagined or expected at time of initial scope of work.  The window issue is correct, but that’s why the overlooked or unforeseen contingency money is used for.  I met with Mr. ******** and his father on several occasions and all was explained and understood by all parties.

 

It was a pleasure working with Mr. ******** and his father, bit I am a bit confused about the motivation for the complaint. I firmly believed that everything was well and clearly resolved with Mr. ********.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved