Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A.W. Smith & Associates, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A.W. Smith & Associates, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on A.W. Smith & Associates, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 06, 2005 Business started: 04/26/2000 in UT Business started locally: 04/26/2000 Business incorporated 03/26/2003 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Insurance
CA 94105
www.insurance.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 927-4357
The number is 0786649.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. A. William Smith, CEP, RFC
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. A. William Smith, CEP, RFC
Business Category

Retirement Planning Service Estate Planning & Management

Alternate Business Names
A.W. Smith & Associates Executive Planning & Advisory Services, Inc.
Products & Services

A. W. Smith & Associates, Inc., Specializes in Advanced Retirement Programs and Plans.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

A.W. Smith & Associates, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1100 Melody Ln Ste 116

    Roseville, CA 95678

  • 3088 Big Bear Dr

    Roseville, CA 95747 (888) 692-7738

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In December of 2012 I went to see ***l Smith of A.W. Smith & Associates, Inc. after hearing an advertisement on the radio about protecting your assets. Mr. Smith advised he had an investment that was full-proof and would make you money in 10 years. My wife and I visited him at his office and he told us that if we invested 25,000. it would pay us back at least 2 times in 10 years. My wife asked this must be a pyramid, Mr. Smith replied emphatically that it was not. (It is a pyramid!) We returned for another office visit to sign papers and Mr. Smith wanted $50,000. Mr. Smith advised he had my husbands approval. I said no and ***l signed the papers anyway. This Mr. Smith is a Snake Oil Salesman just as in the old west. days. We have received approximately 700. on our investment as of 8/2014. I have called repeatedly about this matter to Mr. Smith. Finally about a month ago he tells us the trust company has closed down the Dental Franchises. As of a statement dated 6/30/2014 we had a balance of $50,450. I ASKED WHERE IS MY MONEY MR. SMITH ADVISED A LETTER WOULD BE FORTHCOMING AND WOULD GIVE US OUR MONEY BACK. THE LETTER SAYS NOTHING ABOUT THAT JUST THE PROGRAM IS CLOSED. I want to know who has my money and how do I recover it. We are going to file suit and a class action suit as there must be hundreds of people that have been duped by this man and his company (which is conventily located in Arizona). ***l *** **** **. and ****** ****

Desired Settlement: Return all of the $50,000. Someone has our money it can't have disappeared off the face of the earth. Some funny bookkeeping is going on. This business should not have an A+ rating. How many other people have lost their life savings???

Business Response:

 


This law firm has been consulted by Aghee Smith of American Estate and Insurance dba AW Smith & Associates regarding your allegations.

 

Mr. Smith informed this office that American Estate and Insurance received a copy of a complaint which ****** **** filed with the Consumer Complaint Agency.  You specifically allege that Mr. Smith stole $50,000.00 from you by leading you to believe that you were investing in a dental franchise and by failing to disclose that the owner of the company was under indictment in three states.  In closing, you liken Mr. Smith to a snake oil salesperson.

 

Mr. Smith and American Estate and Insurance dispute your allegations.  Moreover, the way in which you were treated did not warrant these accusations.  Contrary to your allegations, neither Mr. Smith or American Estate and Insurance received any funds from you nor did you conduct business with Mr. Smith or American Estate and Insurance.  According to Mr. Smith, you remitted funds directly to Dental Support Franchise as per the franchise agreement which you executed.  At that time, the Dental Support Franchise was in good standing and under no allegations of fraud.  As of the date of this correspondence, the allegations against Mr. ******* have not been proven.  The franchise agreement which you executed fully disclosed that it was a registered dental franchise.

 

Accordingly, Mr. Smith and American Estate and Insurance demand that you immediately cease and desist.  From the information provided to this office, there was no fraud committed by either Mr. Smith or American Estate and Insurance.  You were provided with an offering circular and franchise agreement which enabled you to make an informed decision when you decided to become a franchisee.  Your baseless allegations and the comparison of Mr. Smith to a snake oil salesperson constitutes trade libel as you have wrongfully impugned the business reputation

of Mr. Smith which he has spent over forty years in building.  This also constitutes an unfair business practice in violation of the California Business and Professions Code because of your unethical and unscrupulous conduct.

 

Mr. Smith and American Estate and Insurance have been advised as to their legal rights and remedies regarding this matter should you fail to comply with their demands.  This includes the filing of a lawsuit in which case Mr. Smith and American Estate and Insurance would seek damages for your wrongful conduct.  You may direct any response in writing to this law firm referencing our file number.

 

Nothing in this letter shall be construed as any waiver of Mr. Smith and American Estate and Insurance, all of which they expressly reserve.

 

 


Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.