BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are You the Business Owner of Commercial Appliance Service, Inc?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This Business is not BBB accredited

Commercial Appliance Service, Inc

Phone: (916) 567-0203 Fax: (916) 567-0266 View Additional Phone Numbers 281 Lathrop Way Ste. 100, Sacramento, CA 95815 http://www.commercialappliance.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Commercial Appliance Service, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Commercial Appliance Service, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 19, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1981 Business started locally: 01/01/1981 Business incorporated: 11/20/1992 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronics and Appliance Repair
4244 South Market Court, Suite D, Sacramento CA 95834
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
Fax Number: (916) 921-7279
HomeProducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 44931.

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 777830.

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 777830.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Todd Eichman, Owner Jim Mucher, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Todd Eichman, Owner
Business Category

Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service Refrigeration Equipment - Supplies & Parts Appliances - Small - Service & Repair

Products & Services

Commercial Appliance specializes in O.E.M. parts distribution and factory authorized service for the Food service Industry.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    281 Lathrop Way Ste. 100

    Sacramento, CA 95815 (209) 234-0200

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 234-0200(Phone)
  • (800) 464-2222(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company came out to repair an appliance. Did not do proper repair and we had to call them back. Charges us traved Charged us travel time for 2 trips In January 2012, we contacted company to come out and repair out ice manchine. Came out and charged for travel time plus parts and labor. The ice mahcine stopped working the next day. They came back out and said it was a different part that was causing the issue and again charged us travel time, plus parts and repairs. In addition, after requesting a credit card of a former employee be removed from their file, this Company continued to rack up over $1000 worth of charges on this card. This happened not once, but TWICE. When the issue was brought to the Company's attention, the response was that "accidents happen". There was no apology or acknowledgement of the fact that someone completely unrelated to the Company was charged. Not only is this an awkward situation for the Company and former employee, but completely unacceptable that despite multiple requests to delete that credit card information, it was not.Yesterday, same problem with the machine, they came out today June 27,2012 and charged us travel time, parts and labor. Machine is still not working and they advised they will charge travel time to come out again. I stated that if the problem had been diagnosed correctly the first time-the additional trip would not be necessary. The Customer Service rep, ******, was rude and unprofessional and told me to call another company.

Desired Settlement: I feel because of their incompetent service techs and the fact they did not fix the machine on 6-28-2012, which was a repeat occurence with this company, we should not be charged for this service.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******/Service Manage Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@commercialappliance.com Commercial Appliance has a 90 day parts and labor warranty on the repairs performed. If the unit has a "different problem" when we return we would have to charge for the additional parts and or labor. I've explained many times with this customer that we can only warranty the parts and labor we installed. The machine was repaired and operating when the technician left. It went through 3 cycles in 60 minutes. It was working as designed. I explained if the filter failed we would honor the warranty. If it's something different we would determine what is fair for both companies when billing. As far as the previous call, we issued credit for additional work required on the machine that was not part of the original repair. ****** said that she was going to "call someone else" & I told her to go ahead if she would like to. We can not repair the entire machine for any other failure, just the parts installed and the labor to repair the defective part. The accidental charging to a former employee, we started a new computer system in January and unfortunately his card was on record for the charges. It was an honest mistake. We are human and not perfect and we did in fact apologize, I did, ***** (one of our Service Associates), ***** (our Office Manager). We even spoke to the gentleman who's card was ran and he was completely understanding of our situation. We will still honor our warranty if it is something we installed that failed. If it is something different, we will charge for the additional repairs, waive the travel & fuel surcharge. We will not honor any warranty if another service company determines the filter we installed has failed. Our technician is "factory trained" his most recent training was in April of this year along with 6 other technicians. Scotsman has a training every year and we send half of our technicians every year. They are qualified to repair their machines.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In regards to charging an incorrect credit card; the company did apologize to us in January when the first incident occurred. They advised it was an accident and then guaranteed us that the credit card information for our former employee had been destroyed. However, the credit card information was not destroyed as guaranteed and they again charged the former employee for services in April 2012. At this time, ****** the manager, did not apologize, was very unprofessional and stated "accidents happen" I find this very unethical as a company. ****** states that "Our technician is "factory trained" his most recent training was in April of this year along with 6 other technicians. Scotsman has a training every year and we send half of our technicians every year. They are qualified to repair their machines." On three separate occasions, his techs failed to diagnosis and fix the problem on the first visit and a second trip with additional travel time charged was needed. I can only assume that in fact his techs are not competent to fix the machinery, or this is their standard process, always requiring a second visit! Finally, It was ****** who first told me to call someone else, not the other way around which he stated in his response. Of course, I have no intention of ever calling this company for service again.

6/11/2012 Billing/Collection Issues