This business is not BBB accredited.

The Coachworks

Phone: (209) 832-5956 Fax: (209) 833-6390 22900 N.MacArthur Dr., Tracy, CA 95376 http://www.thecoachworkscollision.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that <em>lowered</em> the rating for The Coachworks include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for The Coachworks include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Coachworks
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 06, 2002 Business started: 01/01/2002 Business started locally: 01/01/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 222450.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Sutherland, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Sutherland, Owner
Business Category

Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Customizing Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

The Coachworks specializes RV and auto body collision repairs services.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    22900 N.MacArthur Dr.

    Tracy, CA 95376

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Coachworks, *** **********, agreed to paint my 1966 Chevelle Malibu 2dr to my 100% satisfaction. It was a long-term project at which he failed. Coachworks, *** **********, agreed in 2007 to paint my 1966 Chevelle Malibu 2dr to my 100% satisfaction. It was a long-term project at which he failed. He did not complete the job, no chrome, no windows, and in addition after the 6 year project was supposedly completed he had lost many parts. I paid him over $13,600.00 for the paint job and an extra $1,134.26 for parts he said he needed but to my surprise he never bought. I have asked ** ********** for the return of 40% of the $13,600.00 and the $1,134.26 for parts he never ordered. He has failed to respond to my emails and certified mail.

Desired Settlement: I have asked ** ********** for the return of 40% of the $13,600.00 and the $1,134.26 for parts he never ordered. He has failed to respond to my emails and certified mail.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
** ******* sorry for the Delay in responding as I moved the shop in June and did not see your email tell I received A letter from the BBB.I sent a copy of the est.as you can see on the est. it was for a two stage paint job.you picked out a tree stage color which I explained to you was more materials & labor.I only charged for the extra materials.I sent a copy of the receipt for the powder coat. the est. said frame I also did the rear end & some brackets no extra charge.and a copy of the receipts for the parts you wonted to replace.I was never supposed to assemble other then sheet metal latches & door & trunk seals.You saw the car before you moved.I was finished at that time.You were vary happy with the job.Then I stored it for 6 Months under a cover in a separate building tell **** was ready to work on it and he said I was not done with it. **** Has been Lying from the start!!!. I fully intended on checking it over before it was sent to you but no one told me it was going. you know I would have fixed it wen it was hear. It is obvious to me that **** was hiding the damage from me .A call to talk to me before it left would have solved the problem. Your car left my shop over a year ago and any damage was caused in ***** shop or in shipping. although I would Like to help the car would have to be here. It never should have gone out to you in the condition you described.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ** ********** failed to complete the job that I paid him a more than fair price to do, and I have quite a bit of proof to substantiate that claim. To date, I have not heard a word from **. ********** admitting that the job was incomplete. He has made no attempt to settle the matter. Therefore at this time, I am renewing my complaint with the BBB and my demand for the refund of 40% of the payment for the original paint job, $5,440.00 ($13,600.00*40%=$5,440.00), plus the extra money I gave him to buy parts which you never bought, $1,134.26, for a total refund of $6,574.26. If no settlement is reached, which I assume it will not be, I would hope that this unsettled complaint appears on any inquiry report from the BBB pertaining to The Coachworks and **** **********. Thank you. **** *******

Final Business Response
1. When you chose the color you were told it would be a 3 stage paint and the materials would be extra. The estimate calls for a 2 stage, you were given the option to choose a 2 stage color and you said this is the color you wanted and you would pay the extra. 2. After doing the lower control arms you told me you had upgraded lower control arms. 3. The parts were purchased from *** **** on the date as per the receipt. I didn't white anything out on this receipt. 4. I did everything stated on the estimate line by line and you paid for parts at my cost not on the estimate. You also inspected the car before you moved and were very happy with the paint job. All the conditions you brought up you agreed to. As you said in your email the car left my shop 18 months before you got. In that 18 months you never once communicated to me that there was any problems or missing parts or that the car was leaving the other shop. As I said any warranty is place of purchase only. I should have been notified before it left the area.

Consumer Response: As yet I have NOT heard a single thing from **** ********** or anyone from The Coachworks in Tracy, CA regarding my complaint and demand for restitution. I have sent a letter, certified - return receipt requested, but Mr. ********** has so far refused delivery and has not picked it up from the post office.

There are so many things that he did not do to the car for this paint job that it is hard to list them all. I have taken he car to mechanics and a body shop locally and the costs will far exceed what I am asking of Mr. **********. For instance:

No windshield or rear window - lost?
None of the side or quarter windows operate
Both doors do not close and are misaligned
The trunk does not close and is misaligned and locking hardware is missing
The hood does not close and is misaligned
No gas tank...

...and that is just a small list.

I'm not surprised that he is ignoring your notice and I doubt that he will respond. Please keep me up to date, thanks.

Business Response: Mr. ******* sorry for the Delay in responding as I moved the shop in June and did not see your email tell I received A letter from the BBB.I sent a copy of the est.as you can see on the est. it was for a two stage paint job.you picked out a tree stage color which I explained to you was more materials & labor.I only charged for the extra materials.I sent a copy of the receipt for the powder coat. the est. said frame I also did the rear end & some brackets no extra charge.and a copy of the receipts for the parts you wonted to replace.I was never supposed to assemble other then sheet metal latches & door & trunk seals.You saw the car before you moved.I was finished at that time.You were vary happy with the job.Then I stored it for 6 Months under a cover in a separate building tell **** was ready to work on it and he said I was not done with it. **** Has been Lying from the start!!!. I fully intended on checking it over before it was sent to you but no one told me it was going. you know I would have fixed it wen it was hear. It is obvious to me that **** was hiding the damage from me .A call to talk to me before it left would have solved the problem. Your car left my shop over a year ago and any damage was caused in ****s shop or in shipping. although I would Like to help the car would have to be here. It never should have gone out to you in the condition you described.

Consumer Response: Following is my response to Coachworks which I CC'd to ************************ *** ********************
"From: **** ******* ******************** **
To: '**** **********' ******************* *** ***********************
Cc: ******************
Sent: Thursday, August 22, 2013 11:34 AM
Subject: RE: **** ********** - Coachworks

Mr. **********,

As you said, the original estimate was for a paint job on my 1966 Chevelle. I wonder how many paint jobs you do without finishing the job....?

Point by point from your email below:

1. As far as the extra $600.00 for the paint, you had the car since 2007, yet you didn't decide to tell us about the $600.00 extra until August of 2010. You never did provide us with the name and number of the paint or the receipt for same.
2. The frame and rear axle housing was powder-coated and you were paid for that. Then the rear end went out to "The Rear End Shop" for mechanical work and gearing. You may have had the braces done, but I never received them and had to order replacements from PST.
3. I'm not sure where the receipt from *** ****, dated 9/27/2012, came from or what it was for. The only extra parts I ordered through you were ordered on 5/22/2010 and paid for with check #1014. You seem to have 'whited out' that part of the order form that you sent to me, I have the full receipt. Besides you did not even have my Chevelle on 9/27/2012.
4. You say that you were only supposed to assemble sheet metal, latches, the doors and trunk. When we received the car the fenders, hood and trunk were all misaligned with gaps of varying width present in all pieces. Both doors, the trunk and the hood did not close right partially due to the misalignment and also due to the fact that weatherstripping and bumpers on the doors, trunk and hood were not installed by you as they should have been. The windows in both doors were not installed and working and there was no windshield or rear window although you had them or were paid for them. I also assume that sheet metal included the chrome on the car including the bumpers. None of that was done....none of it!
5. Before I relocated my family in 2011 my wife and I inspected the car. We were not 100% satisfied with just the paint, although the contract called for 100% satisfaction, but we both expressed our complete dissatisfaction with the rest of the car. You recommended we take the car to a person to finish the car because you were too busy. I had to pay other people to complete the job, persons in Tracy and in Tucson. As you said, even '****' said you weren't finished with it.
6. You said you would have checked the car before it left. After 18 months sitting right next door to your shop I had a shipping company with a very large enclosed trailer come and remove the car. It's hard to believe that you didn't see it go. The body, which was your responsibility was still unfinished and the car was not yet running. I have paid almost $10,000.00 to mechanics and body shops here in Tucson to get the car finished properly. The people here describe all of the work done as shoddy and irresponsible, at best! As you said, the car should never have gone out in the condition it was in.
7. There are so many other things that weren't done, or done poorly, that they are too numerous to list here.

In light of all of the above, at this time, I renew my complaint with the Better Business Bureau and demand that you refund to me 40% of the payment for the original paint job, $5,440.00 ($13,600.00*40%=$5,440.00), plus the extra money I gave you to buy parts which you never bought, $1,134.26, for a total refund of $6,574.26. Please send a cashiers check to me for $6,574.26 within 30 days at the following:
**** ******* **** ** ***** **** ******* ******* *****
###-###-####"

This morning Mr. ********** responded directly to me with the following:

"From: **** ********** mailto:******************
Sent: Friday, August 23, 2013 9:23 AM
*** **** ******** *********************** ******** *** **** ********** * **********

MR ******* That is the receipt from *** ****! And The cost. Any warranty is place of purchase only. as I said a call would have salved all the problems. call *** **** the # is on the receipt. Be for you call me A Liar."

I'm unsure what that means, but it is obviously not an effort on the part of Mr. ********** to settle my claim. I am going to email Mr. ********** to let him know that any further communications should go through you at the BBB. Thank you.

**** *******

Business Response: 1. When you chose the color you were told it would be a 3 stage paint and the materials would be extra. The estimate calls for a 2 stage, you were given the option to choose a 2 stage color and you said this is the color you wanted and you would pay the extra.

2. After doing the lower control arms you told me you had upgraded lower control arms.

3. The parts were purchased from *** **** on the date as per the receipt. I didn't white anything out on this receipt.

4. I did everything stated on the estimate line by line and you paid for parts at my cost not on the estimate. You also inspected the car before you moved and were very happy with the paint job. All the conditions you brought up you agreed to. As you said in your email the car left my shop 18 months before you got. In that 18 months you never once communicated to me that there was any problems or missing parts or that the car was leaving the other shop. As I said any warranty is place of purchase only. I should have been notified before it left the area. (******** - ******* Business Rebuttal Response.pdf)

Consumer Response: Mr ********** failed to complete the job that I paid him a more than fair price to do, and I have quite a bit of proof to substantiate that claim. To date, I have not heard a word from Mr. ********** admitting that the job was incomplete. He has made no attempt to settle the matter. Therefore at this time, I am renewing my complaint with the BBB and my demand for the refund of 40% of the payment for the original paint job, $5,440.00 ($13,600.00*40%=$5,440.00), plus the extra money I gave him to buy parts which you never bought, $1,134.26, for a total refund of $6,574.26.

If no settlement is reached, which I assume it will not be, I would hope that this unsettled complaint appears on any inquiry report from the BBB pertaining to The Coachworks and **** **********. Thank you. **** *******