BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Home Team Financial, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Home Team Financial, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Home Team Financial, Inc. include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Home Team Financial, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 22, 2009 Business started: 11/11/2009 in CA Business started locally: 11/11/2009 Business incorporated: 12/09/2009 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Cam Villa, Owner Mr. Jason Moulton, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Cam Villa, Owner
Business Category

Real Estate Consumer Finance & Loan Companies

Alternate Business Names
The Money Store of California

Additional Locations

  • 5701 Lonetree Blvd Ste 203

    Rocklin, CA 95765 (888) 264-6615

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Falsely led me to believe they could refinance me. Refuse to return calls and make situation right!!! Worked with **** ***** for over 6 months to refinance my house. Told everything there was needed to know to see if I was eligible, and he told me there was nothing stopping me and he even talked to the underwriters and titling company. Also told me that if it didn't work out he would refund my appraisal fees. Well after lots of work and hurrying to finish my deck because that was all that was left before i could refinance, he tells me I am not able to refinance because of the titling on my deed. Which is fine besides the fact that I told him this was an issue from the get go and he reassured me that it wouldn't be. Home Team financial has let **** go and I have been trying to work with ***** about making this situation right, but he has refused to return my calls or give me a straight answer on refunding me my appraisal fees which were $625.00. I have tried to work with them and they are not handling this situation proffessionally like they should. I understand that we all make mistakes but once we realize them they should be corrected and Home Team Financial is not doing so or acting like they care. I would not recommend using them for your financial needs because they are very misleading.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded my appraisal fees like i was told from your former employee ****.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@hometfi.com This is the first I have heard of this. I will reach out to the client and settle this matter. Thank you ***** ******* President

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have received 4 recorded phone messages from this company asking for "information to add to our file". Have never done business with this company. We have received 4 messages in the last couple of weeks. 2 from an assistant to "***** *******", and 2 from "***** *******". In all cases, the message asks for a call back to provide information to "add to our file". We have never done business with this company, and we are on the National Do Not Call List. I notice another complaint about unsolicited contacts in this company's BBB file. Phone messages from the callers leave no company name, just the individual's name and contact number. When I called the number to request that they not contact us further, the caller answered with "Home Team Financial."

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* - President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@hometfi.com Our company has a strict policy in regards to the DNC list. We scrub all list against the DNC and immediately remove people upon request. Our previous complaint was resolved as such Home Team has removed this gentleman from our call list and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused, he will not receive a message or call from our company in the future. Please allow up to 3 business days for this to register with our platform. Thank you

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Deceptive phone calls being received from company. Received numerous phone calls from someone named ****** who leaves voice mails stating she is calling on behalf of ****** and that they need to speak with me to close my file. I have no business with this company.

Desired Settlement: I would like the BBB to investigate their sales practices regarding the messages they leave. I am on the National do not call list and have never done business with nor heard of this company before. They should not be calling and leaving me deceptive messages that make me think someone may have stolen my identity.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Home Team is a national lender that is registered and scrubs all data against the National DO NOT CALL List. We have protocol in place to ensure that anyone that asks is immediately put on the list. This is the first contact we have had with ****** ****** and I have personally added her to the National Do Not Call list. She will not be contacted by any of my staff again. Please allow 48 hours from today for here contact numbers to take effect. Thank you and I hope this resolves this matter. Sincerely, ****** ****** President/CEO Home Team Financial

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company calls / leaves deceptive voice mail like it's from someone I've dealt with then asks me to call them. Will not take no for an answer. The company has called several times leaving a deciptive voice mail designed to elicit a callback. Then when called back they inform the caller what they are actually selling (a mortgage). When told to not call again am not interested, the hard sell starts and also it will take 10 (business) days to get you off their call lists. When I called tonight in response to their ongoing calls I told the person, do not call me. What does this person do? They call me right back to harrass me some more. Our phones are all on the government "Do not Call" registry. I shouldn't have to resort to making a complaint to the BBB to make them go away but if this works, great.

Desired Settlement: If we don't hear from this company again I will consider it settled.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
This person has been put on our Do Not Call list. Our system has several fail safes in place to not repeat call someone that request to be put on the Do Not Call list and we report all these request to the Do Not Call Regestry. There are many competitors in the market place and I suspect if he recieved a follow up after requesting to be put on the list it was not from our company.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved